Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters & Gemma O'Doherty to challenge lockdown in the high Court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

One of the daftest things I've seen of her is the way she goes at the people in this shop for not selling pork. Just being flat out derogatory here

https://twitter.com/Ireunderworld/status/1249794142395342855

She actually made an idiot of herself with the rashers and sausages. She asked the question and the guy pointed that they are over in the other fridge.....then she remembered it was pork she was after.....she couldn't even get that right

Problem is more and more people are veggies so its a stupid video.....

To get attention soon she will be on the vegan trip to keep herself relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

krissovo wrote: »
    Oh feck, just noticed that my cousin is in the crowd. He unfriended me and my father in law last week after we replied to nonsense conspiracy post. The last few years he has been slowly declining.

saved you the hassle so

If you remove the flags, it kind of looks like a wedding photo, you know the one they get before everyone gets hammered at the reception

Just a very scruffy wedding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

That picture is like a real life picture of the beano comic characters

I can't actually believe this. Apart from the insensitivity and the anti-Muslim overtones, it's the hypocrisy of this that is particularly galling. The right-wing conspiracy types get so exercised about perceived infringements of free speech and personal liberty, yet here's O'Doherty deciding what someone can and cannot sell on their own premises.

They rail against the 'libtards' for denying freedoms, yet it is clear that many from the conspiracy theory ecosphere have authoritarian personalities, and their conception of 'freedom' is both narrow and oppressive.

The truly frightening thing is that such thinking, which helps empower tyrants around the world, is becoming ever more pervasive.

Right wing? I would have said that the majority of protesters that talk about freedom of speech and personal liberty in their rants are left wing, or at least claim to be.

That's true re costs and not only that, the Court has the power to award costs even if an applicant loses a JR case if the case is deemed sufficiently public interest. I think the Debenhams debacle proves that it is.

If anyone's actually bothered to read the detailed Court report from yesterday as opposed to just shouting "fruit loops" (yawn) the Judge acknowledged the applicants have raised issues on aspects of the legislation that will require serious examination.

Hold up, the judge hasn't made any claims about the challenge. He actually dismissed a number of their challenges. All he said was they have raised QUESTIONS on the legislation that require consideration. Put it another way, some of their questions are real questions. Whether those questions are accurate or even genuine regarding this actual legislation hasn't been considered yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Right wing? I would have said that the majority of protesters that talk about freedom of speech and personal liberty in their rants are left wing, or at least claim to be.

:pac::pac::pac:

Ah come on now - these guys are all racists, homophobes, islamophobes, pro life, hardcore conservative catholics, anti marxists and anti socialists

They talk a nice talk about freedom of speech and personal liberty but in reality they are authoritarians who want the gardai, government and media controlled in their worldview only.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Ah come on now - these guys are all racists, homophobes, islamophobes, pro life, hardcore conservative catholics, anti marxists and anti socialists

They talk a nice talk about freedom of speech and personal liberty but in reality they are authoritarians who want the gardai, government and media controlled in their worldview only.

What guys? Who are we specifucally looking at? And why are you now bringing in other unhealthy opinions into it that were not mentioned by either myself or the person I quoted?

I referred to those that shout a lot about freedom of speech and personal freedom. No other aspects. Personal freedom is a prime example, That's pro choice not pro life argument. Never heard a pro life rally shouting about personal freedom of their own bodies. Have you?

we only taking about Gemma? Then I would say it's a mix of left and right, jumpers who just like hearing what is good for them and outsight nutters who don't really follow a political path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Merry Prankster

What guys? Who are we specifucally looking at? And why are you now bringing in other unhealthy opinions into it?

I referred to those that shout a lot about freedom of speech and personal freedom. No other aspects. Personal freedom is a prime example, That's pro choice not pro life argument. Never heard a pro life rally shouting about personal freedom of their own bodies. Have you?

we only taking about Gemma? Then I would say it's a mix of left and right, jumpers who just like hearing what is good for them and outsight nutters who don't really follow a political path

I know a number of these types, most claim to be apolitical (or, occasionally, libertarian), yet ALL of them have views that align with the right and denigrate the left. They hate 'social justice warriors,' (the use of this term is a dead giveaway), welfare programmes, feminism, immigration, mainstream media (yet trust RT!!!), arts and humanities degrees. They also have a weird obsession with supposed paedophile rings.

They disparage the 'sheeple' who blindly swallow the lies of the MSM, yet they peddle unhinged nonsense that generally serves to undermine trust in western politics, institutions and media. Which coincidentally serves the interests of someone like Putin. Hey, this conspiracy lark is fun after all!

I know a number of these types, most claim to be apolitical (or, occasionally, libertarian), yet ALL of them have views that align with the right and denigrate the left. They hate 'social justice warriors,' (the use of this term is a dead giveaway), welfare programmes, feminism, immigration, mainstream media (yet trust RT!!!), arts and humanities degrees. They also have a weird obsession with supposed paedophile rings.

They disparage the 'sheeple' who blindly swallow the lies of the MSM, yet they peddle unhinged nonsense that generally serves to undermine trust in western politics, institutions and media. Which coincidentally serves the interests of someone like Putin. Hey, this conspiracy lark is fun after all!

And yet they claim to be left. That was my point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Who is claiming to be left?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Who is claiming to be left?

I will answer that question when you address mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

So Fascists would be a better title than liberal .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

growleaves wrote: »
    Her palm is facing upwards. It is nothing like a military salute of any kind.

You can clearly see her thumb facing the camera but I agree that she is probably too stupid to salute and is actually pointing at a plane dropping chemtrails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭tjhook

I'm not responding to anybody in particular here. I can completely understand the vitriol aimed at GO'D, but I wouldn't necessarily feel the same. I'm not a medical professional, but I wouldn't be surprised if there's some kind of an imbalance there.

She seems to have had a change of behaviour around 10 years ago, and the change has been accelerating since. Put it this way, she was a serious journalist before that. But she has changed to the extent that there's no way she could/would be given the same opportunities now. Or succeed at the job if she did get it.

Some conditions can cause personality changes that aren't always pleasant E.g. alzheimer's can do that in older people, and I wouldn't hate them for it. I wonder if the situation here might be something along those lines. Having a group of "supporters" could add to her certainty that she's correct and rational, and reinforce her behaviour.

TLDR: I have some sympathy for her, especially if she's not getting the help she needs. Or maybe I'm just getting a little too lilly-livered in my old age :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

Do you mean Gemma and her crew claim to be left? I don't think they do at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Lock her up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

tjhook wrote: »
    I'm not responding to anybody in particular here. I can completely understand the vitriol aimed at GO'D, but I wouldn't necessarily feel the same. I'm not a medical professional, but I wouldn't be surprised if there's some kind of an imbalance there.

She seems to have had a change of behaviour around 10 years ago, and the change has been accelerating since. Put it this way, she was a serious journalist before that. But she has changed to the extent that there's no way she could/would be given the same opportunities now. Or succeed at the job if she did get it.

Some conditions can cause personality changes that aren't always pleasant E.g. alzheimer's can do that in older people, and I wouldn't hate them for it. I wonder if the situation here might be something along those lines. Having a group of "supporters" could add to her certainty that she's correct and rational, and reinforce her behaviour.

TLDR: I have some sympathy for her, especially if she's not getting the help she needs. Or maybe I'm just getting a little too lilly-livered in my old age :)

Many believe she had a severe breakdown when her husband died, some have claimed in the current affairs thread on her that her family have said they are very worried about her behaviour since then and that they are unfortunately not able to reach her to help. Its quite tragic really but she is getting more and more dangerous which is why people are having less and less sympathy for her.

Lock her up!

She would win then.....let her off to her own devices but dont put a TV camera in front of her,......

If she had any interest in politics or the current crisis she wouldn't be doing a bad interpretation of a wedding photo in front of the courts!!! its sad she is so desperate for coverage she has to do something like that

To see what Gemma really thinks of this whole. Look at the video on her twitter. Now I hate giving her traffic but it has a prupose

https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1252928493412847618

Look at 21 seconds into the video. From my point of view that is pure disdain in her face when looking at John Waters....pure disdain......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭eleventh

To those who don't want legislation to be questioned
    you really don't have to do much to get your wish. Totalitarianism is on the way.

Most here want to speed it up by the sounds of it.

The government must be glad to have such support. All they have to do is pay people 350/week to sit on social media posting on how much they dislike people who disagree with the government and how much they want lockdowns to continue(or escalate).

It is sad that so many are almost begging for their own demise, seemingly unaware that that is what they're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,517 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

eleventh wrote: »
    It is sad that so many are almost begging for their own demise, seemingly unaware that that is what they're doing.

The level of irony in that part of your post is absolutely staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭eastie17

you really don't have to do much to get your wish. Totalitarianism is on the way.

The government must be glad to have such support. All they have to do is pay people 350/week to sit on social media posting on how much they dislike people who disagree with the government and how much they want lockdowns to continue(or escalate).

Christ, go live in Murica, good lad. Plenty of other head the balls over there

How much do you get off the social a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

krissovo wrote: »
    Oh feck, just noticed that my cousin is in the crowd. He unfriended me and my father in law last week after we replied to nonsense conspiracy post. The last few years he has been slowly declining.

Usually they would start bombarding you with posts and videos if you question them or laugh at the whole idea.

Guy in the front far right with the flag looks like someone that went to UL in the late 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,696 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Pathetic attention seeking wafflers these two...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Absolutely. Something has happened to her.

I am not sure why people aim vitriol at her, I think the videos of people running after her shouting abuse at her is just as bad as the cr*p she gets up to

Personally I think she seen the money Katie Hopkins was making and decided that was a route to take career wise. It just hasn't gone according to plan.....

She hasn't the exposure that Hopkins got and ended up with the shower in that picture. Its just going downhill and it aint going to get any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    To see what Gemma really thinks of this whole. Look at the video on her twitter. Now I hate giving her traffic but it has a prupose

https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1252928493412847618

Look at 21 seconds into the video. From my point of view that is pure disdain in her face when looking at John Waters....pure disdain......
    The way she keeps trying to get her copy of the Constitution back off John, as he waves it about to underline his message, is the stuff of comedy gold.

But, for me, its about the merits of the case rather than the human failings of the individuals.

What I find a bit sad is that the only people raising the topic are a bunch of angry cranks. There's plenty to question, but no questions.

Just all silenced with a rhetorical "you're not in favour of death, are you?"

I got an Irish language version of the Government Covid instructions today. Think about the process that made that happen. Any questions?