Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Tony Holohan just confirmed that there are an additional 108 probable deaths as of today not yet on the confirmed list.

Ok, but just to be clear. How many probably deaths are there and are those probably deaths included in the number of confirmed deaths?

And also just to be clear, 4 more journalists are going to ask the same question in slightly different ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

He's not at any press conferences with Leo and Simon H anymore, and we probably won't be seeing himself and Leo together much for the foreseeable, because they've been trying to avoid him and Leo being in the same room as much as possible since sometime in March, as he is the only one that can take over from the Taoiseach if Leo gets sick (erm, while this never-ending government formation drags on anyway and we have them instead of MM and Leo or whoever we end up with after this.) so they're trying everything to avoid both being getting sick. I read they've only been in the same room as each other as few times as possible since- even when both were in the Dail at the same time as each other for the clapping for the HSE a few weeks ago, Simon was as far from Leo as possible. Apparently it was noticeable on the day. According to what I read all their speaking together is done over phone and video-conferencing for now, even their staff have little to do with each other. I'd say Simon's covid scare gave them all a bit of a fright, since he'd been around a lot until then. (though he did test negative in the end. He was the senior politician that there were articles run about needing to be tested, he later confirmed he was negative.)

Don't know why he's not more present in the media on his own though. He was for a while. He is one of the FG negotiators for government formation though, so you're right, he has maybe been pretty busy there?

(Also, hi, and apologies if I'm butting in :D I've been reading these threads for weeks but I'm a bit stupidly shy even online, so it took me ages to join. Hope I'm not doing this all wrong.)
    Welcome. You may be just a bit too sensible and rational. Try to develop your crazy off-the-wall side a bit more.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Why couldn't you sanatise your gloves? Masks are more about prevention of spread to other people so don't see the issue there.
    A whole lot more straightforward and I'd imagine more sanitary to change the gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

quartz1 wrote: »
    So possibly 44 current plus 108 who they now suspect mage have died from it ..... possibly 152 ?
    Not today for today. They could be added over a number of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

Basically 44 with 108 pending to be confirmed in the labs as I understand it.

So they died then tested postmortem or died while waiting on results wtf is going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭endacl

speckle wrote: »
    Me and my cat just rang my 90+ year old friend to gently chat to to make sure he was ok as possible. And let him talk to my cat who he used to catsit for who is the same age to cheer him up.

You have a 90 year old cat?!?

Are you absolutely sure somebody hasn't been sneakily swopping your cat every few years for the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,206 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Ok, but just to be clear. How many probably deaths are there and are those probably deaths included in the number of confirmed deaths?

And also just to be clear, 4 more journalists are going to ask the same question in slightly different ways.

As I understood it he said 108 probable deaths yet to be included.

If they are probable then you'd expect a good portion to be included in coming days.

But the way he answers make me understand the journalists frustrations - it took some time to get to the 108 figure there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Does there seem to be a lot of playing with numbers going on these past few days? In the beginning they could say 1, 7 , 10 or whatever, without this present confusing melange of maybes and who knows and soon to bes and already pasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,096 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

endacl wrote: »
    You have a 90 year old cat?!?

Are you absolutely sure somebody hasn't been sneakily swopping your cat every few years for the craic?

Fùck sake Enda no one was meant to tell him this was Snowball XIII.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭quartz1

So Dr Cullinane one of the Dublin Coroner may have raised concerns last week about reporting and they are having a second look thinking about adding 108 ... .... . . Will Death Certs be revised ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭lostatsea

I have never seen such numerical illiteracy among our journalists. Having said that, how hard is it to deliver a few simple numbers in a clear and concise fashion. Some of these briefing remind me of a foundation level Maths class with a lousy teacher trying to explain a few numbers to a group of students who are simply incapable of ever getting it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PixieValentine

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Welcome. You may be just a bit too sensible and rational. Try to develop your crazy off-the-wall side a bit more.:D

Ahaha, thanks! :D (Would have said before this I’m not sure I really HAVE much of one to develop, but ya never know, by the end of us dealing with this virus and "stay at home" measures/lockdown/your description of choice for this mad time etc that may be a very different story altogether, so I'm sure I'll get there in the end…. :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,212 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

As I understood it he said 108 probable deaths yet to be included.

If they re probable then you'd expect a good portion to be included in coming days.

But the way he answers make me understand the journalists frustrations - it took some time to get to the 108 figure there.

At the start of it I was thinking, "those stupid journos", but as more and more numbers were being quoted, with more and more caveats being attached to each once it wasn't hard in the end to understand the confusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

If one was a suspicious person one would think that the HSE are conspiring to make journalist and the general public seem functionally innumerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,206 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

All he had to do was mention the 108 figure at the start and then no confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Estimate of at least 28,000 unreported deaths in the month of March in a study of these 4 countries and three other cities alone in the New York times. The places looked at are UK, Spain , France, Netherlands, NYC , Jakarta Indonesia and Istanbul Turkey.
    Sweden and Belgium are also included in the study is merely to show that the number of excess deaths in March very very strongly correlated with the number of reported coronavirus deaths in March in these two countries.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/04/21/world/coronavirus-missing-deaths.html

Most worrying is the fact that thousands of people appear to have died in Jakarta and Istanbul from coronavirus in March. Who knows how many have died in those countries overall since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Furez

is_that_so wrote: »
    A whole lot more straightforward and I'd imagine more sanitary to change the gloves.

Your possibly filthy paws are all over the gloves as you put them on. Use sanitizer after putting them on. More straightforward to give them a squirt and less wasteful too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Postive news today. Less deaths amd less cases.

Getting there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Bsharp

A journalist should ask how the communication process works from on the ground hospital etc reporting of a specific case to the nightly briefing, help us get an appreciation of how messy the process is and how many systems the information passes through.

Presume the HSE didn't have a centralised and efficient data management and reporting system before this kicked off? Would it even be manual entry from a written note at the start of the whole information process?

I'd say the quality / streamlining of information available is one reason for the figures being reported the way they are

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,375 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

So you think 'Th' is not common in English ?

Not here. It is DEES DAT and DOSE in some parts.

1. Advertisement
    2. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,206 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Smelly Sock; December 31st, 2020
      Postive news today.

Getting there now.

3. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,894 ✭✭✭Worztron

I presume the Dail bar is closed?

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

4. Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Allowing someone to Define, Alter and Change a metric which they are effectively being judged by is a failure in itself.

As sad as the deaths are etc. They are the only thing which we have to use as a measure of how well the HSE and the government is responding.

All of the confusion is totally predictable. Look at bankers and financial institutions.

They need to be clearly defined and reported. They won't as they are politically loaded.

5. Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

is_that_so wrote: »
      Young one in the local shop put sanitiser on her gloves!
      Good for her. For obvious reasons. Many don't do it enough.
      What was your issue with that process?

6. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Maestro85

lostatsea wrote: »
      I have never seen such numerical illiteracy among our journalists. Having said that, how hard is it to deliver a few simple numbers in a clear and concise fashion. Some of these briefing remind me of a foundation level Maths class with a lousy teacher trying to explain a few numbers to a group of students who are simply incapable of ever getting it!

I am getting flashbacks to my Inter Cert prep classes.... :P

7. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
      RIP today's deceased

Are the 44 not over a period of previous days, like the 77 were?
      It's not a Daily thing, just a maths "announcement on a certain day" thing.

I don't mean to upset anyone, I am just asking if every day "total" mentioned is just a collective total?

May those who have passed Rest In Peace.

8. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

Worztron wrote: »
      I presume the Dail bar is closed?

You might be able to get a carry-out

9. Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

lostatsea wrote: »

You need to watch this prerequisite video to understand.....

10. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Oil at negative prices , when can we get paid to buy petrol?

Dundalk, Co. Louth

11. Advertisement
    12. Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,375 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Oil at negative prices , when can we get paid to buy petrol?

When we all have electric cars.