Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

VonLuck wrote: »
    People still don't seem to get why the measures are in place. It's not about you or I being "at risk". It's that if you or I catch it, spread it, overwhelm the healthcare system and then put everyone else at risk.

He only cares about himself.

VonLuck wrote: »
    People still don't seem to get why the measures are in place..........

Indeed, it's mad.
    The seriousness of Covid19 is lost on so many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

If people see case numbers, ICU figures and deaths dropping over the next 2 weeks they won’t accept anything other than a significant loosening of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,377 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I was just reading about this. How the Hell was it allowed happen?

https://extra.ie/2020/04/19/news/irish-news/convoy-uk-travellers-curragh

“A convoy of 25 families and caravans arrived in Ireland by ferry in the midst of lockdown before making their way to the Curragh in Co. Kildare where they set up camp, the Irish Mail on Sunday can reveal.

Gardaí are ‘actively monitoring’ the situation after receiving numerous complaints about a ‘blatant disregard of the social distancing rules’ among the Travelling community at the camp.

Over the bank holiday weekend, two vans ‘drove straight through’ a Garda checkpoint without stopping and in through the entrance.”

In fairness, what were the Garda supposed to do? They shouldn't have been allowed come here in the first place, British police should have gotten to them before they were getting on ferries.
    The Garda would have had nowhere to send them, it's a bloody convoy.
    You can't really apply normal rules to these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,957 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

You think people will respect social distancing rules in beer gardens after 7 pints?

1person at a time at the urinal.
    Can't see that working after 7 pints :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Dr Catherine Motherway on Sean O Rourke on RTE Radio 1 now saying she expects very limited easing of the restrictions from 5th May and that she is of the opinion that there will be continuous cycles of lockdowns and partial easing until such time as a vaccine is developed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It's not that you'd wish the infection on dumbass people attending parties or dumbass people attending funerals, or on their relatives. But to be fair to Covid-19, it usually attacks the selfish and the stupid or their relatives. So, in a way, it's quite fair-minded as viruses go.

Hilarious, I'd say you're some craic at parties. You do realize the majority of COVID cases now are health care workers and nursing/residential homes. Quite stunning really what some people get up to inside their own heads.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,106 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Augeo wrote: »
    But most of us aren't an at risk group, if we all wander around in a carefree manner the transmission rate will rise and the hospitals shall be busier then they are now. Both with covid patients and folk who were in accidents etc.

The lockdown was to give HSE time to increase capacity, I believe they've done that. The trolley crisis had disappeared, health care staff are taking hygine very seriously now along with the general public.
    We're going to have to go back to a place where there is accidents and loss of life we can't stay in this perpetual rainy weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,957 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Dr Catherine Motherway on Sean O Rourke on RTE Radio 1 now saying she expects very limited easing of the restrictions from 5th May and that she is of the opinion that there will be continuous cycles of lockdowns and partial easing until such time as a vaccine is developed.

and she thinks there will be a vaccine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

JRant wrote: »
    Hilarious, I'd say you're some craic at parties. You do realize the majority of COVID cases now are health care workers and nursing/residential homes. Quite stunning really what some people get up to inside their own heads.

Glad you find it funny and thanks for the ad hominem. I just don't hold or go to parties at the moment because I don't want to be part of spreading the infection and killing people. I'm surprised I have to explain this to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Or you could just go for a walk instead of wasting all that petrol

Legs are walked off me. Shouldn't we have a choice officer?

It seems like there's lot's of hysterical humans here with a strong urge to rush to a snap judgement on others.

We're 2 to 3 years away from a vaccine if any, we don't have one for other covids. We need to accept waiting on a vaccine isn't an option we have now.

The lockdown was to give HSE time to increase capacity, I believe they've done that. The trolley crisis had disappeared, health care staff are taking hygine very seriously now along with the general public.
    We're going to have to go back to a place where there is accidents and loss of life we can't stay in this perpetual rainy weekend.

Indeed, however it will be via an easing of restrictions. You mention pubs being reopened, that wont happen in May, nor should it.

We're 2 to 3 years away from a vaccine if any, we don't have one for other covids. We need to accept waiting on a vaccine isn't an option we have now.

Dr Motherway doesn`t agree with your viewpoint.

Indeed, it's mad.
    The seriousness of Covid19 is lost on so many.

I do think that it is lost on many. Personally I don’t know anyone who is sick, and I avoid the news other than a brief once-a-day check in. I just work and try to not be too much of a dick when it comes to the exercise etc. So it does seem abstract, even to me, and I can understand why the whole thing is not something that a lot of people can relate to. And in that context, I’m not surprised by the increasing level of rule breaking (exacerbated by the weather, which undoubtedly will break as soon as we are let out of this lockdown!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

In fairness, what were the Garda supposed to do? They shouldn't have been allowed come here in the first place, British police should have gotten to them before they were getting on ferries.
    The Garda would have had nowhere to send them, it's a bloody convoy.
    You can't really apply normal rules to these people.

I'd say the brits were only too happy to see them leave...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,957 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

so when does she think there will be a vaccine? does she have any expertise in developing vaccines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Indeed, however it will be via an easing of restrictions. You mention pubs being reopened, that wont happen in May, nor should it.

Nobody is suggesting pubs in May, at least not seriously. Middle of June for a phased reopening is more likely, assuming numbers of new cases stay where they need to be by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Glad you find it funny and thanks for the ad hominem. I just don't hold or go to parties at the moment because I don't want to be part of spreading the infection and killing people. I'm surprised I have to explain this to you.

You'll have to explain to me then how this is a fair minded virus then, as you described it.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

The imperial college London envoy to the WHO tweeted on Saturday that there is a chance that a vaccine might never be developed. When supposed experts differ so widely in their views re. availability and efficacy of a vaccine, then it seems reckless to base any plan around waiting for one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

JL555 wrote: »
    It seems like there's lot's of hysterical humans here with a strong urge to rush to a snap judgement on others.

Welcome to Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I'm sure she's immensely able in her own IC area but I wish they wouldn't stray out into other lanes. Not that I completely blame them. Journos need to fill airtime and print. Realise I've become a big fan of CMO not saying anything till it needs to be said.

Cyrus wrote: »
    and she thinks there will be a vaccine?

Going by her comments on the SOR programme she is more hopeful rather than confident.

We'll be back to 70% normality well before there's a vaccine. Most workplaces will be open again over May and June.

Hospitality and Tourist stuff, well I reckon 2020 might be a right off.

Local tourism only I reckon hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

It's not that you'd wish the infection on dumbass people attending parties or dumbass people attending funerals, or on their relatives.

But it kinda sounds like you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

That doctor may be excellent at running an ICU, but she has been almost hysterical since this began and should not be anywhere near decision making regarding restrictions.

Beer gardens should open, pubs weren't the cause of the spread. Health workers should keep away from them and their family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

We will follow Germany's relaxing of restrictions.
    As will most EU members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

JL555 wrote: »
    Things I have learnt during this crisis - Vol MCXXXIIII!