Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It's not just that, the last few days have seen large funerals going ahead and people visiting here from the UK and parking up in convoy in the Curragh - Travellers.

Ignorance and arrogance.

I'm sure the "open uppers" view those big groups as "legends"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

You do know he quoted lines out of the Terminator in his first speech, probably start quoting love actually on the 5th.

First speech - Batman Begins
    Second speech - Terminator 2
    Third speech - Seamus Heeney
    Fourth speech - ???? Could be anything

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

JRant wrote: »
    Okay so, it was anticipated then. That's my problem with these decisions. We need a clear set of guidelines on how to start opening back up society. Not some "opinions" by the minister but an actual plan.

Nothing in that tells me the government can abdicate responsibility. If you find a section that does please share.
    They have said there will be a plan available in advance of May 5. NEPHT meet twice a week so it may tie into what they say. I think we need to have a "leaked" version by this time next week.

is_that_so wrote: »
    It wasn't the Italians it was Irish people coming back from Italy, Austria, the US and elsewhere. I'd hazard a guess from this post that anything short of chaining people's doors would not have been evidence of doing something. Sure we'll learn a lot after this including just how people behaved during it. One big lesson ,already raised at a G20 meeting, is the systemic weaknesses of world health systems to be able to deal with a pandemic.

He cancelled the rugby match, rightly in my opinion, yet left nearly 10 thousand Italian fans still fly into Dublin. Many from the worst hit areas as rugby is very much centres around northern Italy over there. That was a terrible decision and far worse than the Cheltenham fiasco in my book.

is_that_so wrote: »
    They have said there will be a plan available in advance of May 5. NEPHT meet twice a week so it may tie into what they say. I think we need to have a "leaked" version by this time next week.

You are spot on. There's been kite flying this past week and we will see something leaked to the Indo by next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

pjohnson wrote: »
    I'm sure the "open uppers" view those big groups as "legends"

It's not that you'd wish the infection on dumbass people attending parties or dumbass people attending funerals, or on their relatives. But to be fair to Covid-19, it usually attacks the selfish and the stupid or their relatives. So, in a way, it's quite fair-minded as viruses go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Ah shur fcuk lives, the economy is far more important!

No economy= no social welfare or health services= ^ deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,106 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's not that you'd wish the infection on dumbass people attending parties or dumbass people attending funerals, or on their relatives. But to be fair to Covid-19, it usually attacks the selfish and the stupid or their relatives. So, in a way, it's quite fair-minded as viruses go.

In fairness to the travellers, their life expectancy is way lower than ours, it's about 60. There probably going to be the group least effected by Covid, the rest of us have seen life expectancy shoot up over the last 30yrs those medical advancements have now been reset, were trying to stop the clock turning back but it's not looking good. We may all have to accept we're not going to live as long now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I know a lot of people's livelihoods are dependent on them, but god am I sick of reading "when will the pubs reopen" every few posts!

How about we restore free movement (with precautions) in the country first? Reading this and similar threads makes it sounds like we have a nation of alcoholics - something I thought we were moving away from.

JRant wrote: »
    It's quite simple for me. I don't want to be governed by a small number of unelected officials. Call old fashioned but a government should take responsibility for their actions and not continually deflect to some "higher power".

I also have a huge problem with how FG have communicated during this entire thing. Remember, schools/creches were closed with absolutely no warning for parents to try make alternative arrangements. Now we have the drip drip kite flying communication style that FG have perfected over the past few years. It leads to confusion, and is completely unhelpful to the rest of us in try to make some sort of arrangements for the next few months.

What we need are clear guidelines and metrics as to what can open, when it can open and why it may have to be rolled back. This is not complicated stuff and has surely been part of their strategic group meetings for at least a couple of weeks now. They were able to wrangle a policy document together with FF for forming a minority government in this time so I would assume they have some sort of a plan in place to start lifting restrictions. Otherwise, IMO it stinks of using a crisis to further the party than actually leading the country in these uncertain times.

I would generally vote FG but would agree with much of this, some of their communication and drip drip to media has been hugely annoying. Give one clear message and drop the non sense and what ifs. People’s lives and economy are too serious for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

road_high wrote: »
    No economy= no social welfare or health services= ^ deaths

I think that sum is too complicated for some of the lads on here.

........ We may all have to accept we're not going to live as long now.

In conjuntion with that we might have to accept we will earn less, pay more tax (eventually), have less opportunity to travel and spend more time looking after kids while schools and creches are closed.

I think that sum is too complicated for some of the lads on here.

I’ve seen the response before and know what it’ll be- “ah sure borrowing is practically free at the moment so no worries..”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I know a lot of people's livelihoods are dependent on them, but god am I sick of reading "when will the pubs reopen" every few posts!

How about we restore free movement (with precautions) in the country first? Reading this and similar threads makes it sounds like we have a nation of alcoholics - something I thought we were moving away from.

It was the same when the pubs were even threatened with the idea of closure. It appears we have a far bigger drink problem than anyone expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

And with dribblers like them we can't open pubs. Hell it seems Dublin stupidity alone might manage to extend this for everyone else. It was that packed Dublin pub that led to them being shamed into closing completely.

Letting côckwombles like that roam freely is the biggest problem.
    It's exactly why Dublin needs special treatment. It's got the most cases and head cases.

I didn't see any Gardai rushing in to break up the street party, so seems like it was allowed to continue, maybe someone from Fortlawn would know?

I'm sure big parties like this occur all over the country where there's large populations of young people, and not just where there's massive numbers of Traveler families in Cork, Galway and Limerick.

It was the same when the pubs were even threatened with the idea of closure. It appears we have a far bigger drink problem than anyone expected.

They’re a huge part of Irish social and indeed economic life. Employ a lot of people right down the supply chain.
    Of course people will want to discuss it

I know a lot of people's livelihoods are dependent on them, but god am I sick of reading "when will the pubs reopen" every few posts!..........

Yup, a large percentage reckon easing of restrictions means pubs opening. It's mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

road_high wrote: »
    They’re a huge part of Irish social and indeed economic life. Employ a lot of people right down the supply chain.
    Of course people will want to discuss it

That's true but it's not what is being discussed. It's all variations on "I miss my pint/I am gonna go on some session after all this!"

I like a pint myself, but being able to go sit in a pub is wayy down on my list of priorities at the moment.

Augeo wrote: »
    Yup, a large percentage reckon easing of restrictions means pubs opening. It's mad.

Let the pubs with beer gardens open. Keep the benches apart. Every pup closed for years isn't any kind of solution. Discrimination is going to be key, if your pub can't keep people apart well then you can't open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

I had that theory as well, I thought the virus in many ways had a karma side to it especially when Boris Johnson contracted it after boasting about shaking hands in hospitals with Covid patients etc.

I have to say though the fact that both John Waters and Gemma O Doherty have escaped contracting it means I’m beginning to rethink my theory....So Far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

To be fair I don’t think it’s because people are mad to get out for a drink or anything.

I think it’s more to do with the timetable of lifting restrictions. Most people recognise that pubs opening and crowds gathering is really going to be one of the last things to be lifted therefore are looking at the last of the restrictions to be lifted and the timescale involved.

Funnily enough though I kinda think pubs might be opened before schools are so schools might be the last restriction to be lifted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Simon Harris is getting much too fond of the sound of his own voice imo. Why is he continually feeding the hacks in the likes of the Indo and the Journal sound bytes. He’s popping up everywhere.

There should be one clear message from the powers that be, fed to the national broadcaster and Harris should be keeping his bloody opinions to himself outside of that.
    I see a lot giving out about him, what did he say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Most people have lots there job and are earning less money....but sure let's charge them extra

People who have lost their jobs don't need to go to pubs and restaurants. I would be more concerned with pubs and restaurants closing down and additional jobs being lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Let the pubs with beer gardens open. Keep the benches apart. Every pup closed for years isn't any kind of solution. Discrimination is going to be key, if your pub can't keep people apart well then you can't open.

You think people will respect social distancing rules in beer gardens after 7 pints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Agreed. Stopping people getting out and about, even solo, doesn't make sense. And we get this sort of mad Garda enforcement, seemingly for the sake of it - https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/gardai-stop-man-on-spin-21893253.

Sorry Chief Clancy Wiggum, but driving 100km to clear one's head in the current circumstances seems perfectly reasonable to me, especially if you do it on your own.

And shutting the Phoenix Park? What's that about? When's the last time, other than when there was a pope about, that you were within 2 metres of another person there?

There are some bizarre policies that need to be looked at as we unpick the lockdown.

You think people will respect social distancing rules in beer gardens after 7 pints?

There not an at risk group, life needs to continue. I don't see the old boys heading back soon, they were the first to leave the pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

There not an at risk group, life needs to continue. I don't see the old boys heading back soon, they were the first to leave the pubs.

People still don't seem to get why the measures are in place. It's not about you or I being "at risk". It's that if you or I catch it, spread it, overwhelm the healthcare system and then put everyone else at risk.

There not an at risk group........

But most of us aren't an at risk group, if we all wander around in a carefree manner the transmission rate will rise and the hospitals shall be busier then they are now. Both with covid patients and folk who were in accidents etc.

It's not just that, the last few days have seen large funerals going ahead and people visiting here from the UK and parking up in convoy in the Curragh - Travellers.

Ignorance and arrogance.

I was just reading about this. How the Hell was it allowed happen?

https://extra.ie/2020/04/19/news/irish-news/convoy-uk-travellers-curragh

“A convoy of 25 families and caravans arrived in Ireland by ferry in the midst of lockdown before making their way to the Curragh in Co. Kildare where they set up camp, the Irish Mail on Sunday can reveal.

Gardaí are ‘actively monitoring’ the situation after receiving numerous complaints about a ‘blatant disregard of the social distancing rules’ among the Travelling community at the camp.

Over the bank holiday weekend, two vans ‘drove straight through’ a Garda checkpoint without stopping and in through the entrance.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,377 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Breezin wrote: »
    Sorry Chief Clancy Wiggum, but driving 100km to clear one's head in the current circumstances seems perfectly reasonable to me, especially if you do it on your own.

Or you could just go for a walk instead of wasting all that petrol