Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Ce he sin

Have you a link to that?

here you go

https://www.bbc.com/news/live/world-52319956

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Map of deaths in the east and midlands
    map4.jpg

Link to other areas of the country here
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/04/17/under-the-microscope/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭bilston

WHO saying again that you can catch it twice, no immunity from having it once.
    Whats the point in a f*cking vaccine then ?

I think this is a really negative interpretation of what they have said.

They've said some people are getting immunity, but not large numbers (based on evidence so far). If some people are getting immunity then I don't see why a vaccine won't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Rvsmmnps wrote: »
    They are doing their job,they chose this vocation.And they are smart enough to understand the risk attached.Stop using the word ilk you wouldn't use it in real life.

When its windy and horrendous weather thats when pilots earn their salaries..

You really need to see the real world.

I've spoken to a young nurse this week, and another with over 30 years experience, and they are well aware what their jobs are but are struggling to see several of their patients die every day. This is not normal. This is not how outcomes in hospitals should be. None of them chose to work with inadequate resources, excessive understaffing and dealing with such a sustained onrush of severe cases. They didn't sign on to have their faces scarred from the constant wearing of masks and goggles. The risks are way beyond what anybody anticipated. You and your ilk need to cop on and spare a thought for the younger nurses, in particular, who are seeing four or more patients die every day despite them doing all their training had prepared them for.

bilston wrote: »
    The WHO have come out tonight and said that an antibody test could be pointless as there is little evidence that people who have had the virus have gained the antibodies required to fight off the virus.

Not sure what that means for a vaccine, but in terms of natural immunity, well it seems it isn't something we can rely on. At least not based on the evidence to date.

If true, that's not encouraging for the "herd immunity" fans either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,897 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

The WHO have come out tonight and said that an antibody test could be pointless as there is little evidence that people who have had the virus have gained the antibodies required to fight off the virus.

Not sure what that means for a vaccine, but in terms of natural immunity, well it seems it isn't something we can rely on. At least not based on the evidence to date.

But there is evidence, even news reports from just a few hours ago stating that people do produce anti bodies and that testing is detecting them in larger numbers than previously thought

https://abcnews.go.com/Health/antibody-research-coronavirus-widespread/story?id=70206121

They asking recovered people to donate plasma to help treat current patients also as there suggestions from China this treatment is successful. What are the WHO playing at putting out contradictory reports?

Ce he sin wrote: »
    If true, that's not encouraging for the "herd immunity" fans either.

Definitely not.

Of course it could be the WHO trying to direct governments away from such a policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Your covid is killing the old and ill,not enough of a reason to end your economy and any type of a functioning country in the future.

I don't know where to start with how wrong this is
    1. Old and ill are our family members and deserve to be protected the same way as you would expect if you were ill
    2. Covid kills people of every age and health

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

They've said some people are getting immunity, but not large numbers (based on evidence so far). If some people are getting immunity then I don't see why a vaccine won't work.

Yeah but if they weren't as grim and bitter as possible when posting it they wouldn't be able to get the dopamine rush I assume it gives them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

I've spoken to a young nurse this week, and another with over 30 years experience, and they are well aware what their jobs are but are struggling to see several of their patients die every day. This is not normal. This is not how outcomes in hospitals should be. None of them chose to work with inadequate resources, excessive understaffing and dealing with such a sustained onrush of severe cases. They didn't sign on to have their faces scarred from the constant wearing of masks and goggles. The risks are way beyond what anybody anticipated. You and your ilk need to cop on and spare a thought for the younger nurses, in particular, who are seeing four or more patients die every day despite them doing all their training had prepared them for.

He needs to grow up
    Thanks for adding some perspective, it's amazing how some people are still in total denial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭Be right back

Nicely put, thanks. Very true words.

A vaccine depends on large numbers getting immunity, not just some though. A slightly effective vaccine is almost as good as useless as people will be lulled into a false sense of security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Map of deaths in the east and midlands
    map4.jpg

Link to other areas of the country here
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/04/17/under-the-microscope/

Its cases not deaths. Easily available in the HSE stats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Rvsmmnps

Its sad,but from the numbers its elderly and sick.Average age is 80? 40 persons per day spread over how many hospitals,or are they dying in old folks homes? reports of quiet hospitals and nurses being sent home doesnt really sound correct?
    When there is no money left.What will happen?

doylefe wrote: »
    Media filled with hyperbole and populations unwilling to take responsibility and accountability have lead us here. They are just gagging to be held captive in thier own homes.

If people want to curl up in a ball in the corner of thier room for the duration of this they are free to do so. The rest of us should have the freedom to continue life as normal and take personal responsibility for the outcome.

So if your found to have infected someone outside your family what punishment would you accept?

For example a hacker I know of made sure that the people who joked and laughed about his dad being attacked were nearly destroyed financially, would you be happy with that if you infected someone?

As for your other posts you sound like a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

WHO saying again that you can catch it twice, no immunity from having it once.
    Whats the point in a f*cking vaccine then ?

Incredibly worrying if true. Have you a link would like to see that report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

doylefe wrote: »
    Sounds like most on here would love to live in a totalitarian regime full time.

Ahhh Gemma tis yourself.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    But there is evidence, even news reports from just a few hours ago stating that people do produce anti bodies and that testing is detecting them in larger numbers than previously thought

https://abcnews.go.com/Health/antibody-research-coronavirus-widespread/story?id=70206121

They asking recovered people to donate plasma to help treat current patients also as there suggestions from China this treatment is successful. What are the WHO playing at putting out contradictory reports?

I hadn't seen that.

It could be a political play by the WHO to try and persuade governments not to end their lockdowns prematurely.

Or the WHO are correct and those scientists in California are putting too much emphasis on antibody tests that may be unreliable.

Take your pick!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Incredibly worrying if true. Have you a link would like to see that report.

BBC news headline

Seems to be more an opinion than fact if I read it right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Ce he sin wrote: »
    What? You mean that only a few weeks ago 25% of cases were not health care workers?

As of yesterday cases to date. Percentage is not changing.

510016.png

510017.png

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/casesinireland/COVID-19%20Epidemiology%20report%20for%20NPHET%2016.04.2020_website.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Stheno wrote: »
    BBC news headline

Seems to be more an opinion than fact if I read it right

Cause it is, its more of a we dont know yet and they're telling countries to put their resources into fighting it and not to get side tracked by putting huge money into anti body tests that might not work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭threeball

The Polio vaccine is showing promise as a preventative measure and alot of patients are responding well to remdesivir has been used to help rapid recovery of many patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Tony on the Late Late now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Its sad,but from the numbers its elderly and sick.Average age is 80? 40 persons per day spread over how many hospitals,or are they dying in old folks homes? reports of quiet hospitals and nurses being sent home doesnt really sound correct?
    When there is no money left.What will happen?

What the hell are you talking about.? Is this just being contrary for the sake of it?

Beaumont is rushed off it's feet with severely and critically ill patients. They are short a couple of hundred nurses due to illness or quarantine.
    Sad? You think it's sad? It's a tragedy! And will have long lasting impacts on many lives when we get through this. But you rant away and play the hard chaw from the safety and comfort of your own home. I'll leave you to your skewed view of how our society should function at these times.

Thank goodness for the Ignore option here ...

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Howya Gemma ya mad ting wha.
    ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Ahhh Gemma tis yourself.
    Attack the post, not the poster

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I actually agreed with some of your points R, but this:
    The cfr is going to be as low as the normal flu.
    Eh no. Game Over. Best case it's five times as deadly, currently it's running way way above that. Oh and five times as deadly would be a CFR of around 0.5. Currently the stats are saying 3 to 4.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Will there be sanctions against the space bar key?

Well, all pubs are closed. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Need to stop asking Tony Holohan to lift restrictions. Hes under enough pressure. Lifting them early in May is completely unrealistic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

This thread has completely gone to the dogs, constant venomous bickering the last few days. The impact of weeks of restrictions is clearly affecting quite a few posters mentally......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

New Home wrote: »
    Well, all pubs are closed. :pac:

Ah here don't be mentioning pubs :D