As a person, Simon Harris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Never liked him.
    Kinda warming to him now.
    He has a job I wouldnt do for all the tea in china.
    And I cant imagine the severe stress he must be under at the moment.
    Im going to give him a pass.
    Hes playing a blinder

Met him at a wedding and he was lovely to talk to, no ego whatsoever and he bought me a pint.

Saw him at breakfast the next morning glued to his phone, never off the job. And there were 2 articles in The Journal that morning slating him. Wouldn't trade jobs with him that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

He looks allot older than 33, id put him at 43. Cant imagine the stress of his job and the long hours he works, im sure his ginormous salary makes it all worth while and tbf what did he actually do before the pandemic? The hospitals were in dire straits, they wouldn't even pay the nurses or other health care staff properly, even went so far as to threaten them if they went on strike. All the while they had spare few billion to spend on an unneeded hospital and in Dublin of all places because you know, Ireland revolves around Dublin according to our Dublin focused government. They may aswel give up and join Dublin city council for all the good they do for the rest of the country.

As a person, he's probably fine, a nice man even, as health minister, he's appalling. He is too upper middle class to relate to any of the issues effecting most people, such is why most of the spending goes into supporting middle and upper middle class people. He's not bad, he's just misguided and ignorant.

I honestly think the only reason theyre making such an effort to help people during this crisis is because middle class and rich people are being effected. They didnt care when the average joe lost his job in the supermarket or on the construction sites during the recession, but now middle class people are losing their jobs and they introduce a basic wage of 350 a week, all the while they expect 67 year old men on low wages continue manual work and 67 year old nurses work long shifts and do back breaking work for buttons as they increase the retirement age.

Dont be fooled because he comes across as a nice lad, he's just as out of touch as the rest of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,656 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

The children's hospital is unneeded? Really???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

If I was building a national children's hospital, I would locate it where the largest concentration of the child population is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mountai

He reminds me of one of those nodding dogs that used to be on the back shelves of cars years ago . He usually appears with a concerned frown , clasping hands , and does his best to look sinceer . He hides behind the line " We are guided by the Medics " . I remind people of his handling of the Cervical Cancer debacle , where he backed Tony O Brien to the hilt and remember he was "As mad as hell" on one occasion . He promised much, and delivered nothing, during that debacle . He has never shown willingness to take on the established self interest groups within the HSE and is not capable IMHO . Otherwise , hes grand .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I have absolutely no criticism of him as a person. In fact I think he seems quite likeable, if a little old before his time. I have a lot of criticism of him as a politician, pre-dating this crisis. I don't have an issue with his actions during the crisis as I think he's doing what he's told by the health experts, and that's all I would expect of any Minister for Health right now. I honestly don't think it would make an iota of difference who is in charge of Health at the moment, with the exeption of the very tiny few extreme lunatics we have in this country. Regardless of political leanings, we have very few extreme nuts in public office and they're the only ones who would be in danger of not doing what they're told. So basically, well done for doing what he's told, but it's no great feat anyway. Though I do think he's impressive in terms of knowing his brief and being on top of information, so all credit there.

However, I certainly feel for him in terms of the massive stress and pressure of his job. I don't envy him and I sincerely hope he is doing ok. I honestly wish him well and hope he comes through this without too much personal damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

A decent guy, I believe.

He was given a portfolio far beyond his experience and he’s done his best with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 cilantro54

Pure speculation on my part, but he seems decent and going by previous posts seems to be popular with colleagues and subordinates in the Dept. That said, popularity among subordinates and colleagues may not always be the best quality in a minister. Ministers have to make tough decisions... and should be working against vested interests as another poster pointed out.

Is there a prize for those that provide more piercing insights, perhaps incorporating psychoanalytic terminology and such? I have another browser tab open on Psychology Today and am more than willing to do me bit for the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

I find it amusing reading the armchair political strategists on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mountai

Jim Root wrote: »
    I find it amusing reading the armchair political strategists on this forum.

You must lead a very boring life so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I think he's doing a great job under immense pressure and a lot of unknown variables. He always talks in a very calm, measured way and I'm impressed with that given his age and his lack of experience in this kind of national emergency. I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Savecoronabeer

Harris is also cockney for ass...

Make of that what you will!

(I'll keep posting it you blueshirt)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

He looks allot older than 33, id put him at 43. Cant imagine the stress of his job and the long hours he works, im sure his ginormous salary makes it all worth while and tbf what did he actually do before the pandemic? The hospitals were in dire straits, they wouldn't even pay the nurses or other health care staff properly, even went so far as to threaten them if they went on strike. All the while they had spare few billion to spend on an unneeded hospital and in Dublin of all places because you know, Ireland revolves around Dublin according to our Dublin focused government. They may aswel give up and join Dublin city council for all the good they do for the rest of the country.

As a person, he's probably fine, a nice man even, as health minister, he's appalling. He is too upper middle class to relate to any of the issues effecting most people, such is why most of the spending goes into supporting middle and upper middle class people. He's not bad, he's just misguided and ignorant.

I honestly think the only reason theyre making such an effort to help people during this crisis is because middle class and rich people are being effected. They didnt care when the average joe lost his job in the supermarket or on the construction sites during the recession, but now middle class people are losing their jobs and they introduce a basic wage of 350 a week, all the while they expect 67 year old men on low wages continue manual work and 67 year old nurses work long shifts and do back breaking work for buttons as they increase the retirement age.

Dont be fooled because he comes across as a nice lad, he's just as out of touch as the rest of them.

"most of the spending goes into supporting middle and upper class people"

What does that mean?

I would have a lot more respect for him if he was sat (at a 2 meter distance) alongside his CMO and fielded some of the harder questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

All them videos he does answering children's questions - that's just so cute. I like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

How many votes of no confidence aswell, useless minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

KiKi III wrote: »
    A decent guy, I believe.

He was given a portfolio far beyond his experience and he’s done his best with it.

But that's not good enough and a reason to give him a pass, personal responsibility has to play a part in it. If ego and being deluded enough to think you are capable of something is enough for someone to accept a high profile job than the system currently in place for appointing ministers needs to be reviewed. These ministers are offered briefs not based on experience on competence which should be at the fore, but the Taoiseach and Tánaiste playing politics which is why we have had so many disastrous ministers, Harris, Ross, Madigan, Zappone, Mitchell O Connor, and I would add Coveney to that list as housing minister in spite of all the spin about him an amazing diplomat and single-handedly getting Brexit over the line.

Thorough interview process with a panel of experts would be a good start rather than the current format of the Taoiseach whispering 'if you scratch my back I'll scratch yours'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,301 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Aegir wrote: »
    I would have a lot more respect for him if he was sat (at a 2 meter distance) alongside his CMO and fielded some of the harder questions.

I'm quite sure the fact that he's not is deliberate and in the best interests of the public. The government have been very clear that they will follow the advice of the experts and are leaving it to the experts to present that information. It's certainly not like he's been absent from the media.

The government are not perfect - the NCH location and overspent is an example of a shambles - and while they haven't handled this crisis perfectly by any means they have nonetheless really stepped up.

Harris in particular comes across as knowledgeable, caring and not one of the old boys with background interests and mates to give jobs to. Health is the most difficult portfolio to take on, it has ruined many people's reputations and with such a large cohort in this country who expect world-class everything just grown on a money tree and handed to them it is very hard to succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

BraveDonut wrote: »
    If I was building a national children's hospital, I would locate it where the largest concentration of the child population is...

The largest child population is....

On Boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I couldn't stand him, I was ready to hang him from the highest tree (after a fair trial of course) for his handling of the Children's hospital, but that was in the old world, IMO himself and Leo have done a fantastic job leading us through this crisis.

Sure they've made some awful mistakes in the past, their day of reckoning for those will come but right now I can't think of anyone better to lead us through Covid-19, including who I voted for (SF & SocDem).

I think both Simon and Leo's statements have been clear and apolitical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

I couldn't stand him, I was ready to hang him from the highest tree (after a fair trial of course) for his handling of the Children's hospital, but that was in the old world, IMO himself and Leo have done a fantastic job leading us through this crisis.

Sure they've made some awful mistakes in the past, their day of reckoning for those will come but right now I can't think of anyone better to lead us through Covid-19, including who I voted for (SF & SocDem).

I think both Simon and Leo's statements have been clear and apolitical.

That's pretty much my sentiments, too.

I also voted Soc Dem and SF, and would never have had any time for Harris or Varadkar before now. They've made some truly appalling errors of judgement and awful decisions.

But they've handled this situation in a way that other world leaders should be watching and learning from. They've done a fantastic job IMHO and any public speaking they've done has been clear, concise and most importantly calm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    That's pretty much my sentiments, too.

I also voted Soc Dem and SF, and would never have had any time for Harris or Varadkar before now. They've made some truly appalling errors of judgement and awful decisions.

But they've handled this situation in a way that other world leaders should be watching and learning from. They've done a fantastic job IMHO and any public speaking they've done has been clear, concise and most importantly calm.

I voted Labour & SF, after this I can guarantee I'll be voting FG.

I've actually never given FG a vote and swore I never would.. If we were to have another run at the election right now, knowing what we know now I think FG would win by a landslide.

I'm not looking at this through rose tinted specs, I'm a member of the defence forces, we've been treated appallingly in the past. But when Covid-19 hit and we were tasked with supporting the HSE, NAS & Dept of Health FG made sure nothing stood in our way in setting up an infrastructure which even after 36yrs military service left me overwhelmed and hugely positive (and very proud to be a soldier).

When Leo visited the DF Covid-19 Joint Task Force HQ there was absolutely no politics played, the visit was a 'well done & what more do you need'. Ordinarily a VIP visit to work would do nothing for morale but Leo's visit left us all feeling great about things.

I haven't met Simon, but his interviews have been very comforting and full of empathy.

Bravo, take a bow team FG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

I've actually never given FG a vote and swore I never would.. If we were to have another run at the election right now, knowing what we know now I think FG would win by a landslide.

I'm not looking at this through rose tinted specs, I'm a member of the defence forces, we've been treated appallingly in the past. But when Covid-19 hit and we were tasked with supporting the HSE, NAS & Dept of Health FG made sure nothing stood in our way in setting up an infrastructure which even after 36yrs military service left me overwhelmed and hugely positive (and very proud to be a soldier).

When Leo visited the DF Covid-19 Joint Task Force HQ there was absolutely no politics played, the visit was a 'well done & what more do you need'. Ordinarily a VIP visit to work would do nothing for morale but Leo's visit left us all feeling great about things.

I haven't met Simon, but his interviews have been very comforting and full of empathy.

You're kids will still be paying for this in 50 years.

They knew how bad everything was under their leadership, open the money flood gates, temporary fix, into the sunset fat pensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    "most of the spending goes into supporting middle and upper class people"

What does that mean?

Most of the spending in this country goes on social welfare and healthcare.

Middle/upper class people get very little back from the state and certainly a fraction of what they contribute financially.

FFVII wrote: »
    You're kids will still be paying for this in 50 years.

Imagine that eh!.. How else is this going to be paid?.

Back when the last recession hit on boards.ie and just about every other social media platform people called for huge cuts to the public sector.

Well guess what, when Covids hit us that's what a public sector cut to the bone looked like.

So we're going to pay a hefty price for CV19, and so will the rest of the world, get used to it and stop whinging about it.

some of the nauseating adulation ‘playing a blinder Simon’ being the go to spin phrase. I’ve got to hand it to you, “bravo, take a bow team FG” trumps the lot, little bit of vom came up when I read that one, take a bow yourself for that.

I’ve asked it again and again in different places, what exactly have they done to deserve all this adulation?

Reading out pre-prepared speeches, the worst of which was plagiarised in parts?
    All they are doing is following advice from WHO and expert groups.
    The COVID payment whilst necessary has been a disaster in terms of how it’s been handled, there’s stupid dance videos going around of kids celebrating quitting/asking to be laid off for a good pay increase which we will all end up paying for.
    The PPE from China which was embarrassingly handled with Leo brown nosing Chinese authorities, only to be sent boxes full of unusable shįte.
    We have yet to see them do anything and believe me, we are all going to suffer when they kick the austerity packages back into gear to pay for this mess.

So what is that they have done exactly? Would a generation of our elderly be getting wiped out daily be called a massive success and playing a blinder and taking a bow for it?

some of the nauseating adulation ‘playing a blinder Simon’ being the go to spin phrase. I’ve got to hand it to you, “bravo, take a bow team FG” trumps the lot, little bit of vom came up when I read that one, take a bow yourself for that.

I’ve asked it again and again in different places, what exactly have they done to deserve all this adulation?

I've a feeling you'll keep asking and asking and no matter the truth you won't stop asking until you hear the answer you want to hear, negative people are like that. You'll do nothing positive for nothing and no one.

Now why don't you sit back and let the people who are working very hard at beating Covid-19 get on with it and stop your whinging & crying, its helpful to no one.

My last reply to you btw.

I've a feeling you'll keep asking and asking and no matter the truth you won't stop asking until you hear the answer you want to hear, negative people are like that. You'll do nothing positive for nothing and no one.

Now why don't you sit back and let the people who are working very hard at beating Covid-19 get on with it and stop your whinging & crying, its helpful to no one.

My last reply to you btw.

Ah, very good. No answer so...seems to be case whenever the question is asked.

And as for the ‘people who are working very hard’...we are discussing TEAM FG here aren’t we? Because that’s what you were congratulating and who I was commenting on.