As a person, Simon Harris

• 16-04-2020 06:07PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭

He is only a youngfella (33) I would not like his job. His phone must be in meltdown. Fair Play to him.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Wtf ? wrote: »
    He is only a youngfella (33) I would not like his job. His phone must be in meltdown. Fair Play to him.:)

Hi Simon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

He's pretty handsome but his voice sounds like a fecking cartoon so ruins it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hi there, who is this Simon says....

Simon says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,628 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That's the sum total of all you've taken from the last few weeks? Really??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

Is this thread fair? As a politician OK but as a person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Funny, that's how I imagine your voice after so, so, so many of your postings in After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

He's aged about 20 years in the last 3 or 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

He has Crohn's disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I don't know him personally, have not been a fan of the Children's hospital fiasco but he has handled Covid-19 well to be fair.

Simon says clap

Who cares about who he is as a person, if he's doing the job ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

Simon says
    Old joke, You were beaten to it, Inherently I assume originally is not your forte ?:confused:

is_that_so wrote: »
    He has Crohn's disease.

I knew a guy with Crohns.... looked like an drug addict he was so skinny.
    So there's probably something subliminal in there that people might be against him without knowing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I do think he tries his best but it's a brutal job he has. At least he's easier to listen to than Louise O'Reilly is she was minister for health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

Handsome....Is that you Anne Keller (or the ghost of)?

A very important question. I don't know, and couldn't be arsed speculating. All that matters is that he performs his job competently. The personal side of things means little, that's for the gossip hounds in VIP magazine and other non-entities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,708 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

How he's doing in the job will be known in the next year or 2/3/4
    The government hasn't done anything spectacular yet in the face of COVID19

Old joke, You were beaten to it, Inherently I assume originally is not your forte ?:confused:

In out in out and shake it all about

cj maxx wrote: »
    The government hasn't done anything spectacular yet in the face of COVID19

They locked down the country and closed the schools early.
    Compare that to Trumps response, where he is now personally responsible for more deaths of Americans than Osama Bin Laden.

I for one am glad of an ex-doctor (now reregistered) running the country in a health crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Watching the man age by the day is very sad I can only imagine the stress he is under no one deserves that stress.

It will haunt the world for a generation and the lose of front line workers throughout the world will be a huge loss to us all.

The physical and mental health these amazing people are under right now makes it even more astounding what they are doing for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I don’t have a lot of time for politicians but throughout this pandemic he has come across as someone who is sincere and trying his best. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

We are all aging by the day rapidly stress uncertainty loss of autonomy uneasy is the head that wears the crown he is in a terrible position making such decisions it would mentally crush most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭matchthis

Thought it was good when he said there’s a place in hell for anyone who tries to take advantage of people during the pandemic or something along those lines

matchthis wrote: »
    Thought it was good when he said there’s a place in hell for anyone who tries to take advantage of people during the pandemic or something along those lines

True that, about time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Big pressure on him, and he is doing well.
    Everyone is sitting at home, but he and the health service are working more than full time.
    If they get this crisis under control I will not begrudge the Dail a long summer recess, and the heath service will need a break too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭Homelander

He's an intelligent and fairly sincere guy. He gets unfair criticism as being an apparently terrible Health Minister simply because of the current state of Ireland's healthcare system, which took decades upon decades to arrive at, and can't be magically transformed by a single health minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I do think he tries his best but it's a brutal job he has. At least he's easier to listen to than Louise O'Reilly is she was minister for health.

Louise would just be blaming everybody but herself for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,894 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

I'm sure he is a decent skin in the real world but he is as inept a politician as we have ever had in this country. He picked up a poisoned chalice for sure but he should never have been put in that position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

He is a very different minister during this crisis than the one in the years leading up to it.

He is on top of his brief at the minute. Fair play.