Home of the Year RTE 1 - 8.30pm Tuesdays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Worthy winner....but by god the whole show is passed its sell by date. Bore of the Year more so than Home of the Year

yeah this show has definatly run its course, the houses arnt show stoppers any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,191 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Hated the house that won. The owners favourite spot is some press her late husband assembled. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭recipio

Quazzie wrote: »
    Hated the house that won. The owners favourite spot is some press her late husband assembled. :confused:

Oh......a bit harsh:D -- the writing desk was made by the owners late husband . The house at least had character - too many houses look like they have been decorated out of TK Max. I'd love to see some more bespoke furniture in the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,792 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Just watching the final now. Agree with the comments on it being more like Bore of the Year, there wasnt anything special in this series and nothing anywhere near last years winner.

Also I hadnt realised before now how insufferable 'Design Legend' :rolleyes: Hugh Wallace can be. During the judging he was behaving like a spoilt child to get his way, some really bitchy and bullying comments from him and then when the decision is made he was patronising as fcuk to the other male judge. Id say he is an odious individual in real life, definitely comes across that way on camera anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,875 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Just watching the final now. Agree with the comments on it being more like Bore of the Year, there wasnt anything special in this series and nothing anywhere near last years winner.

Also I hadnt realised before now how insufferable 'Design Legend' :rolleyes: Hugh Wallace can be. During the judging he was behaving like a spoilt child to get his way, some really bitchy and bullying comments from him and then when the decision is made he was patronising as fcuk to the other male judge. Id say he is an odious individual in real life, definitely comes across that way on camera anyway
    I find the other male judge an awful eejit. I far prefered the original male judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,191 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Couldn't agree more. I would love to see the tantrum he would throw if it was the other way around and it was 2v1 and a house he disliked wssnt being allowed to be in contention.

I think some teasing between the judges is probably encouraged to keep the tone light. Peter Crowley for me is the best judge. He is able to cast an architects eye around the house and suggest how the layout could have been better. Hugh is OK - just wish he would leave the pink jersey at home ;)

Quazzie wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more. I would love to see the tantrum he would throw if it was the other way around and it was 2v1 and a house he disliked wssnt being allowed to be in contention.

yeah I know the producers want the judges to ham it up a bit for the cameras but just thought that Hugh had to get a few bitchy digs in at the other judge, things like saying sarcastically 'how could you like that' or being patronising; 'you've finally made your mind up, well done' :rolleyes: Theres a thin line between charm and assholery and Wallace is on the wrong side of it, he comes across as very pompous and up his own hole
    pjohnson wrote: »
    I find the other male judge an awful eejit. I far prefered the original male judge.

Yeah I loved Patrick Bradley and miss him as well. He had an infectious enthusiasm for architecture and would point out some good features of a house whereas the Wallace and the female judge seem to be more interested in what colour the walls or the curtains are, they're more like interior designers. I wonder why Bradley left the show, part of me wonders if he was just sick of Wallaces bitchness and said feck this.

RTE have a new show starting next week called Irelands Cheapest Homes which is about people taking on derelict farmhouses/cottages. It might be interesting as they'll be on tight budgets compared to Home of the Year where money is no object

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Agree with this. He really talks down to the other Male judge but I haven't noticed him speak like that to the female judge. I do get that there should be differences in opinion of places but they should be respectful of each others views.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Also agree with this.
    Hugh is 'allowed' to be opinionated on many matters, but when the other judge has a different opinion he is so rude, and dismisses him immediately.
    He really annoys me, tbh. He shows very little respect when someone doesn't agree with him immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭appledrop

Really dont like the winning house this year. Really old fashioned granny house! Sorry now lady was lovely but certainly not home of year.

Lighthouse one should have one. Would not have even minded any of other finalist but not the winner.

Posy wrote: »
    Also agree with this.
    Hugh is 'allowed' to be opinionated on many matters, but when the other judge has a different opinion he is so rude, and dismisses him immediately.
    He really annoys me, tbh. He shows very little respect when someone doesn't agree with him immediately.

Yeah hes just a bit of an all round plonker really. Probably thought he could be Irelands Kevin McCloud but even watching him you dont get the impression he is an architect (even though he is).

He comes across like an interior designer on Home of the Year where he is more concerned about the colour of the curtains or walls than any proper architecture. He was the same on the Great House Revival, you'd think would he would give good advice on camera for doing up these derelict homes, stuff like how to deal with damp, water ingress, etc. But instead he just lets them get on with it and then he comes back several weeks later to do some tut tutting when things have gone disastrously wrong and the budget is blown. For someone who is an architect he is really no help to them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

New series starting next week. No Deirdre or Peter this time around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Ah jaysus out of the 3 judges, the worst remains.

I just saw the trailer! There’s a house that’s near me on it! Cannot wait to legally stalk!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Ah jaysus out of the 3 judges, the worst remains.

He is awful... likely has no other demand for his opnions

This is back with a new series tonight and with two new judges. Im wondering did Hugh piss the last two off that they left as well as Patrick Bradley before them. Be interesting to see if he is still getting his snide digs in on the new judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭appledrop

I real liked Deirdre and Peter, don't think I'll like the change of judges.Peter and Deirdre were well able for Hugh, will the new ones be able to put him in his place?

Oh god can’t take to the two girls at all. They are so wooden or something. It’s so rehearsed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Clue Girl

Tonight’s winner here

Clue Girl wrote: »
    Tonight’s winner here

It’s fab isn’t it. It’s near me so couldn’t wait to legally stalk it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,678 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Eclecticism doesn't know what hit it with these 3 judges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

You’d miss Deirdre. She was like a mammy coming in taking her coat off and admiring all the bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭Lisha

I miss Deirdre’s lovely writing for the scores.

I Thought the black house was exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

Might take me a while to warm to the new pair, you'd wonder if Hugh is the reason for the changing of presenters.
    I miss Deirdre, she knew how to handle Hugh. Loved the black house but all the indoor plants would drive me mad. When I moved into our first 'married' home(hundreds of years ago) plants were all the rage. We all had spider, swiss cheese, umbrella plants along with ferns and loads of others. Then they went completely out of fashion, it's gas to see them back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭Lisha

I’ve no indoor plants Jos28.... we flat out to keep the humans and dogs fed at times...I admire people with plants...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

Lisha wrote: »
    I’ve no indoor plants Jos28.... we flat out to keep the humans and dogs fed at times...I admire people with plants...

Me too, I have black fingers when it comes to plants. A friend bought me a beautiful orchid in a big glass tube. I swore I wouldn't kill it - I did.
    I replaced the plant with a silk one and no-one has noticed yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

What was the story with your ones glasses at the start....looking for attention much?

First house had great potential, but was so sterile or something.

I'm not the biggest fan of open-plan I have to say, I much prefer being able to close off areas from noise/smells/mess/ privacy etc.

I liked the second house but it was like walking through an Ikea catalogue. Wouldn't be a fan of a pink bedroom though.

Liked the last house, wouldn't have a piano in the kitchen though.

You would certainly miss Deirdre and Peter. At least they offered a decent critique
    of the architecture. Its not good enough to be gushing about everything as the ladies are.
    Having said that the black house was the winner IMO although having a piano in the kitchen was daft.:rolleyes: