Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Turkey leads the way in demonstrating how not to implement a lockdown.

https://twitter.com/BNODesk/status/1249405543569121282?s=19

Turkey is looking like it will be the most affected country in the world, it has nearly 60,000 cases only a month after its first case, and 1100 deaths 3 weeks after it's first death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Not been following but, why have China put restrictions on investigating the origin of this virus?

Seems peculiar no? Or is it yet more media bollocks?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

easypazz wrote: »
    Some lads are still hoping for peaks, surges and scary graphs this coming week.

HOPE:

hope [ hohp ]
    SEE SYNONYMS FOR hope ON THESAURUS.COM
    noun
    the feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best: to give up hope.

a particular instance of this feeling: the hope of winning.

verb (used with object), hoped, hop·ing.
    to look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence.

to believe, desire, or trust: I hope that my work will be satisfactory.

verb (used without object), hoped, hop·ing.
    to feel that something desired may happen: We hope for an early spring.

Archaic. to place trust; rely (usually followed by in).

EXPECT: (SEE 2.)

expect [ ik-spekt ]
    SEE SYNONYMS FOR expect ON THESAURUS.COM
    verb (used without the object)
    1. to look forward to; regard as likely to happen; anticipate the occurrence or the coming of: I expect to read it. I expect him later. She expects that they will come.

2. to look for with reason or justification:
    We expect obedience.

Informal. to suppose or surmise; guess: I expect that you are tired from the trip.

3. to anticipate the birth of (one's child): Paul and Sylvia expect their second very soon.

***************************************************************************************************************

That's beyond them

"One life lost is too many" is their mantra.

No credit at all to the front line staff, all the people from truck drivers to shelf stackers to pilots to Gardai who are pitching in.

No thanks to all the people who are "Staying at Home"

No thanks or positivity towards anybody.

Just for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

wakka12 wrote: »
    https://english.kyodonews.net/news/2020/04/3a9aebe957d2-tokyo-sees-total-coronavirus-infection-cases-top-2000-up-by-166.html

The province of Hokkaido in Japan has reactivated it's state of emergency which was relaxed just a few weeks ago.

Tokyo has broken it's highest daily total for new cases the last 4 days in a row.

that won't suit some on here though....

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Exaggerate much?

Two of their children and a granddaughter, who all live within 2km, left gifts at the door and stepped well back. Four neighbours across the road stood at their own walls, while the couple never came outside the front door, and applauded them for 65 years together.

"This old couple" - lovely! :rolleyes:

Ridiculous isn't it?

My entire road had a party last night.
    All stood in our own gardens, talking to each other from 2 metres/6 feet away, with music being played from cars and each of us with a few bottles

Fantastic fun and all within the safety guidelines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

leck wrote: »
    So why post it then?

So to be clear.
    • It doesn't matter what I think.
    • It doesn't matter what I hope.
    • It is or it isn't.

Not up to me. I posted because I read a story in the daily mail and thought it strange that traditional media outlets are discussing this as the source of the virus seriously. I wasn't aware that the US had funded research about bat coronavirus' based in wuhan.

It's all very strange.

Here's an unrelated story. I hope it's not true. I really do.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8211727/Dozens-ambulances-filled-suspected-coronavirus-patients-wait-hours-outside-Moscow-hospitals.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

No I didn't.
    The virus infects everyone. Thousands of people have probably had it but don't even know they had it.
    It's mostly the old people who suffer the worst consequences from it.

It amazes me that the people who spend most of their day on this covid19 thread know so little about the topic. Maybe read more and post less?

The below is the comment you replied to and your initial response - "Everyone also knows it's nearly all old people"

You say it's mostly the old people who suffer, yet 66% of those in hospitals are less than 65 - you seem to ignore this stat.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    They had a man aged 45 with no underlying health conditions on the News he was from Cork he had to be put in an induced coma because of Covid 19. Maybe this Will get the message across that it is not just old people.

Everyone knows it's not just old people.

Everyone also knows it's nearly all old people.

It's the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Can someone post our current R number ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    That's imbecilic. You know rightly that that is not true. Perhaps you need to put this situation, and the deaths, in perspective and context.

'Imbecilic' ? I dunno - while it's a creepy enough thought and may or may not apply in this instance -it's not unthinkable.
    I believe that some folk do find a morbid attraction or get a weird psychological kick in contemplating doomsday scenarios. The human psyche is bewilderingly complex...witness phenomena like masochism, sadism, schadenfreude etc.

Others will hope for grim news so they can blame the government. They only hit the crossbar with Brexit but hope to bury it in the net this time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

wakka12 wrote: »
    Turkey is looking like it will be the most affected country in the world, it has nearly 60,000 cases only a month after its first case, and 1100 deaths 3 weeks after it's first death

A river in Egypt springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If any country had the daily new cases we have, and the daily deaths we have they'd be open for business in a flash. So it begs the question what do we need to see for us to reopen, as I believe we could see 350 new cases a day for next 20 years, so where does it end

I guess It ends when the foremost experts in health decide it can end. All of us lay people can absorb any number of statistics and information we are seeing online and come up with an opinion. But an opinion is all it is, it’s not an informed opinion.

I’d rather we overkill lockdown as opposed to opening a couple of weeks early and actually killing people. I’m sure all the grab all, dollar hunters are foaming out their arseholes while maintaining that restrictions should be lifted... it’s bad for business etc...

It’s a real eye opener, so many people value healthy balance sheets ahead of healthy and alive people. If it meant a person staying alive vs 10 or however many businesses hitting the wall, let them hit the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Jesus, this taking swipes at each other is getting tiresome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Matt Damon is stuck in Ireland apparently

https://twitter.com/jillydowney/status/1248964572289159168

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

It's good to see programs like this being aired.
    There are a lot of people trying to control the narrative about who is to 'blame' for COVID-19.
    I'd be very sceptical about any of it right now, especially when it comes from governments who should be concentrating on fixing it, not finding a scapegoat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭h_orse

Does anyone know how many flights came into Ireland yesterday and how many passengers were on those flights please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Matt Damon is stuck in Ireland apparently

https://twitter.com/jillydowney/status/1248964572289159168

At least we know hes immune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jesus, this taking swipes at each other is getting tiresome

cabin fever

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

h_orse wrote: »
    Does anyone know how many flights came into Ireland yesterday and how many passengers were on those flights please

Don't have a clue but not much people are travelling. Friend in the UK came home last week, had pictures of an empty airport, shops, restaurants closed and only 10 people on the flight home.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    The below is the comment you replied to and your initial response - "Everyone also knows it's nearly all old people"

You say it's mostly the old people who suffer, yet 66% of those in hospitals are less than 65 - you seem to ignore this stat.

Look, I don't know why you want everyone to believe that old people aren't by far the most at risk category for this pandemic.
    Maybe you genuinely believe they aren't or maybe you are playing some weird point scoring game to sooth your ego.
    Whichever it is, you're wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

No.

Nothing about this ****ty disease makes me happy.

Every day many people are fighting for there lives in Ireland due to COVID19.

These people fight and die alone. I won’t celebrate that mate.

'Mate' ...lovely touch there pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

I think somebody said 300 passengers arrived in Dublin airport.

Cargo is keep most flights in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

See McGregor is taking pot shots at the Stena Line PR guy on twitter bringing up the fact he is British and generally acting the pr1ck. Useless idiot doesn’t understand how lorries are getting into the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Heard the Clayton on Pearse St is on lockdown

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Back to Mid March apparently.

Do we know how many tests went to Germany?
    Was this a once off to remove the backlog or will it be used going forward?
    How many more older tests are outstanding to come back from Gernamy?

30000 of which just over half are back according to Simon Harris yesterday
    Primarily for the backlog but may be used in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Our national debt is what 150 billion so we obviously can't afford it.

It's a lot but due to the diaster that is the Euro it can be financed for very little.

Long term we can borrow for free.

Not that that isn't a concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Danzy wrote: »
    It's a lot but due to the diaster that is the Euro it can be financed for very little.

Long term we can borrow for free.

Not that that isn't a concern.

you have been watching too much donald trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭Talisman

I would imagine not very many. My neighbour flew back from Germany on Friday morning, she said that there were only three passengers on the flight - herself and two work colleagues.

cabin fever

Funny thing is that it appears that the posters who normally act like hard men/won't someone think of the children in other threads are being most affected by having to stay in with their family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

triple checked
    LCtxkEi.png