Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Has anybody seen this documentary? It's a bit conspiracy theory / anti Chinese. I know this is not the conspiracy theory thread but seeing more and more stories in the media broaching the subject so revisited when I saw this. I know daily mail is ****e also.Does reference lots of verifiable facts. Main one in my mind is that there are lots of wet markets in China but only one biosafety level 4 lab in China that happens to be in the same place the virus originated. Posting if anybody interested.

Hope none of it is true but I doubt it.

If you hoped it were not true you wouldn't have posted it.

I posted this before:

https://www.livescience.com/coronavirus-not-human-made-in-lab.html

No.

Nothing about this ****ty disease makes me happy.

Every day many people are fighting for there lives in Ireland due to COVID19.

These people fight and die alone. I won’t celebrate that mate.

So.. you are happy that fewer people died today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

FVP3 wrote: »

I posted this before:

How can you possible know what I hope. Why the fvck who I want something so horrific to be true. jog on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Would you ever cop on to yourself after posting this ****e.:(

It’s true though, I also saw a thread on twitter complaining that the uk media doesn’t give a ****e about reporting on figures in Ireland.

That’s because they don’t give a ****e, Ireland give a ****e because it is politicised. Fintan o’toole’s column in Irish times is uk obsessed for example. Uk would rather report on what is happening in US than what is happening in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Most other countries would give their right arm for our health service.

Togo and Gabon

bekker wrote: »
    Please provide some evidence (sources) for your assertions, infectivity of those who recover, R0=1 means it's beaten, likelihood of a COVID-19 vaccine.

I have to explain simple mathematics? If you don't understand this stuff then please look it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

If Tony Holohan said 54% of our deaths were nursing home cases, would those nursing home residents who were moved to hospital prior to dying be classed as part of that 54% NH deaths, or would they go down as hospital deaths?
    AFAIK depends on where death certificate was issued, if removed to hospital and died there the they would be counted as a hospital death.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

FVP3 wrote: »

I posted this before:

Yeah, is it not still possible though that the virus did exist in a lab without being engineered?

I just don't know enough about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

No.

It could be a lot worse though, and we need to look at the overall picture, like if it got really bad then other things like cancer screening etc. start to be forgotten about and people will die anyway.

We have 11000 extra people on hospital waiting lists now.

A lot of people out of work etc.

Potentially a lot of mental health issues ahead of us, suicide etc.

But lots of people don't want to consider any of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭Micky 32

No.

A lot of people on this forum including myself were expecting between 30 -40 deaths today. I find it disturbing that you don’t seem bothered that at least 15 people you thought were going to die alone didn’t die today. Give over....

How can you possible know what I hope. Why the fvck who I want something so horrific to be true. jog on.

You have form. I have debunked your points with the science. This type of virus doesn't have the markers of a lab made one. I've heard conspiracies about the US introducing it as well, which would make more sense in terms of warfare, but thats also debunked by science.

Did you think you could post insane conspiracy theories and we all would go "Oh yeh. Fair play."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Finally got the population mortality done and not looking good for us. The numbers are based on 2018 population for each country up to the 11/04/2020

Ca1NSvT.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,490 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

mariaalice wrote: »
    They had a man aged 45 with no underlying health conditions on the news he was from Cork he had to be put in an induced coma because of Covid 19. Maybe this Will get the message across that it is not just old people.

I think induced coma is part of being on ventilation. Which is still serious, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

syngindub wrote: »
    Will the trumpster have a press conference today?

That's very clever what you did with his name.

Trumpster/dumpster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

is there a trace of cabin fever setting in...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,108 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

lbj666 wrote: »
    Fridays presser, he said that infections that originated from NHs but died in hospital were nursing home deaths,

Off topic I know but....when did this "presser" nonsense creep in?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

bekker wrote: »
    Please provide some evidence (sources) for your assertions, infectivity of those who recover, R0=1 means it's beaten, likelihood of a COVID-19 vaccine.

Bekker, the point about an R0 below one is a mathematical one, as it changes exponential growth to exponential decay. It can be modelled very easily in an Excel spreadsheet.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    A lot of people on this forum including myself were expecting between 30 -40 deaths today. I find it disturbing that you don’t seem bothered that at least 15 people you thought were going to die alone didn’t die today. Give over....

Some lads are still hoping for peaks, surges and scary graphs this coming week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Yeah, is it not still possible though that the virus did exist in a lab without being engineered?

I just don't know enough about it.

Yeah leaving out the bioengineering there are some mighty coincidences.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8211257/Wuhan-lab-performing-experiments-bats-coronavirus-caves.html
    Wuhan lab was performing coronavirus experiments on bats from the caves where the disease is believed to have originated - with a £3m grant from the US

The laboratory at the centre of scrutiny over the pandemic has been carrying out research on bats from the cave which scientists believe is the original source of the devastating outbreak.

Documents obtained by The Mail on Sunday show the Wuhan Institute of Virology undertook coronavirus experiments on mammals captured more than 1,000 miles away in Yunnan – funded by a $3.7 million grant from the US government.

Sequencing of the Covid-19 genome has traced it to bats found in Yunnan's caves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

https://twitter.com/datavizireland/status/1249386740340731904?s=19

https://twitter.com/datavizireland/status/1249387282295029760?s=19

Hospitalisation and ICU percentages, this shows that the measures taken prior to implementing the current restrictions are working, I'd expect to see the current restrictions reflected more towards the end of this week in the numbers. ICU numbers are very steady and that's a huge positive.

People can argue all they want about testing, testing doesn't make much of a difference in these numbers, your isolating as soon as you show a symptom regardless of a positive or negative test result and regardless if it takes 5 days or 15 days to get that result. If your in a bad way your admitted to hospital.

Very positive trends. Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

easypazz wrote: »
    Some lads are still hoping for peaks, surges and scary graphs this coming week.

not hoping, but we're not blind either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

spookwoman wrote: »
    Finally got the population mortality done and not looking good for us. The numbers are based on 2018 population for each country up to the 11/04/2020

Ca1NSvT.png

What's the story with the Togo figures? Surely they couldn't have tested that many people. Something wrong with the figures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

spookwoman wrote: »

Ca1NSvT.png

There was endless talk about our rank in this thread and it has to be taking within a level of scrutiny. The definition of a covid death is different in every country. Some dont count deaths where covid was not the primary reason, some have been slow to tally nursing home figures, some have been hospital only.
    We are counting everyone nearly , nursing home , in hospital , primary reason or not.

joe_99 wrote: »
    Very positive trends. Thanks for sharing.

Won't suit a lot on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Micky 32 wrote: »

As I said. Stats removes emotions. You can celebrate numbers.

I won’t celebrate lives lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

If any country had the daily new cases we have, and the daily deaths we have they'd be open for business in a flash. So it begs the question what do we need to see for us to reopen, as I believe we could see 350 new cases a day for next 20 years, so where does it end

you clearly have never heard of the curve and flattening it

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

What's the story with the Togo figures? Surely they couldn't have tested that many people. Something wrong with the figures?

thanks need a 2nd set of eyees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://english.kyodonews.net/news/2020/04/3a9aebe957d2-tokyo-sees-total-coronavirus-infection-cases-top-2000-up-by-166.html

The province of Hokkaido in Japan has reactivated it's state of emergency which was relaxed just a few weeks ago at the start of March.

Tokyo has also broken it's highest daily total for new cases the last 4 days in a row.

Laura Perrins (née McGowan), co-founder of the website The Conservative Woman, tweeted earlier today:

Same type that would use free labour, sorry jobsbridge candidates in their businesses.