Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

and this Easter, The HCPT and IHCPT, organisations which bring children to Lourdes every Easter, are supposed to be there today; sadly, not happening this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭domrush

I need to go from Galway to Dublin to complete an exam in my office on Stephens Green at the end of the month. The exam will be done online but requires software only available in my office, it’s not an option to get another copy of the software.

The office itself is open but manned by very few people, will likely speak to no one during the day. Have an apartment in Dublin that is currently empty so no danger of meeting anyone there either. Will I be turned away by the guards on the motorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Carbon125 wrote: »
    Digital contact tracing is possible without invoking Big Brother.

The concept is explained here, in comic form for easy understanding.

I think something like this is almost inevitable.
    There are some trust issues but the big problem I'd see is that you need it's use to be quite widespread so you probably need incentives for people to use the app.

Now, if those incentives become things like 'you gain entry to Lidl if you have the app', then I can see big problems.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

domrush wrote: »
    I need to go from Galway to Dublin to complete an exam in my office on Stephens Green at the end of the month. The exam will be done online but requires software only available in my office, it’s not an option to get another copy of the software.

The office itself is open but manned by very few people, will likely speak to no one during the day. Have an apartment in Dublin that is currently empty so no danger of meeting anyone there either. Will I be turned away by the guards on the motorway?

You'd want to get a letter from your company saying you are needed on premises. And whether they would consider your visit essential is dependent on them I guess, do they need you to do the exams right now? Were they not postponed...etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

RiceCrispy wrote: »
    2 special needs kids myself and our trampoline is 100% essential for their wellbeing. Maybe they did have one and it broke? Trampoline is the main sensory regulator we have and a massive change in routine has been very difficult for all special needs kids. Smyths are sold out so maybe they had little options. I don't know the details, none of us do. Be great if people didnt jump :) to conclusions though.

If this was the case they could have obtained a letter from healthcare professional to say the trampoline and journey was nessecary. The gardai will allow any journey if there is proof its essential. No evidence the trampoline was essential in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 RiceCrispy

I'm sure there's other online shops other than Smyth's. And if they care enough about their special needs kids, shouldn't they also be protecting them from this virus. An unnecessary journey like that is not helping them. Protecting their kids/family from this virus should come first and not a trampoline.

If they care enough about their special needs kids.... Wowsers. Would put my life on the line for my kids any day and anything they needed for health & wellbeing wouldnt be unnecessary.

More than likely it was just an eejit buying a trampoline....But like i said best not to judge..
    Its not an endearing trait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

20silkcut wrote: »
    There are plenty of grocery shops in Nenagh. There is no need for any one to drive from Nenagh to limerick to shop for groceries.

Who said they came from Nenagh?

Could have been birdhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭domrush

You'd want to get a letter from your company saying you are needed on premises. And whether they would consider your visit essential is dependent on them I guess, do they need you to do the exams right now? Were they not postponed...etc etc.

Okay thanks, will get a letter. Just postponed until the end of the month unfortunately, being run by an international body rather than the company itself

If this was the case they could have obtained a letter from healthcare professional to say the trampoline and journey was nessecary. The gardai will allow any journey if there is proof its essential. No evidence the trampoline was essential in this case.

Agreed its more than likely not the case but theres no healthcare professional i would be able to get a letter from if mine needed replacing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

If they care enough about their special needs kids.... Wowsers. Would put my life on the line for my kids any day and anything they needed for health & wellbeing wouldnt be unnecessary.

More than likely it was just an eejit buying a trampoline....But like i said best not to judge..
    Its not an endearing trait.

An 11 year old died in the UK. But sure a trampoline is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Can you contact the exam organisers and explain the situation? - it's a global pandemic, I am sure that they are being asked by others to make allowances in order to comply with emergency conditions. They might postpone the exam or allow online access by other means. Nothing is operating normally anywhere in the world at the moment, there has to be allowances for that.

In a trampoline accident? Oh Lord very sad to hear that but ours is very secure. RIP the poor pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭This is it

Get your IT to set up a remote desktop session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Discodog wrote: »
    The story that the virus may of originated in a Laboratory was discussed, I think by Luke O'Neil & has a lot of merit.

This 2004 article refers to lab accidents with Sars in China.

https://science.sciencemag.org/content/304/5671/659

There are two labs close to Wuhan that research viruses & at least one of them researches coronaviruses spread by bats.

https://www.businessinsider.com/boris-johnson-government-coronavirus-may-leaked-chinese-laboratory-covid-2020-4?r=US&IR=T

There are clear traces from labs when they are manufactured like that. This isnt evident there:

https://www.livescience.com/coronavirus-not-human-made-in-lab.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Gynoid wrote: »
    Feels like Christmas in here, the family bleary eyed, drinking left over glasses of red wine before breakfast, and at each others throats over trampolines and dildos.

Oh, hi Dad

In a trampoline accident? Oh Lord very sad to hear that but ours is very secure. Rip the poor pet.

From covid 19. So protecting your family from this virus should come first over any need for a damn trampoline.

Should trampolines be banned?

From covid 19. So protecting your family from this virus should come first over any need for a damn trampoline.

Did the child get the disease from a trampoline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭This is it

Away with the fairies by name, away with the fairies by nature.

Your user name is perfect by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Leo saying a plan in place to ease restrictions at the start of May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

You risk bringing covid19 to Galway from Dublin and its fairly prevalent in Dublin according to stats.

Use your head. Its not worth risking your life or someone elses over an exam. Remote Desktop is very easy to use. Or other desktop sharing apps.

Your company sounds like its stuck in the 20th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

In a trampoline accident? Oh Lord very sad to hear that but ours is very secure. Rip the poor pet.

Sorry for being pedantic but saying Rip really bugs me (TA'd :))It should be RIP at a minimum.

easypazz wrote: »
    Did the child get the disease from a trampoline.

Others have pointed out that trampolines are essential to some kids. My point is protecting your family from this virus should come first over any need for a trampoline. Kids will survive without a trampoline.

RIP, the seven people who died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

branie2 wrote: »
    RIP, the seven people who died

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jackboy

Others have pointed out that trampolines are essential to some kids. My point is protecting your family from this virus should come first over any need for a trampoline. Kids will survive without a trampoline.

They will survive without Easter eggs also. I’m sure most parents took those non essential items from supermarkets.

??

update in the title of the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Rvsmmnps

So has there been a spike in deaths yet?
    Suppose it's a good thing people are moaning over trampolines and travel ristrictions as opposed to the death count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

Away with the Fairies do you have children? Perhaps it’s how you are phrasing things but it just comes across that you may lack understanding of the pressure some parents are finding themselves under at this time. I haven’t read up on this particular story of the guy trying to buy a trampoline but even leaving him aside , I know families with severely autistic children and I have thought of them the last week or two and how they and their families are coping without their usual supports. It must be incredibly difficult for them and tbh strength to them for being able to cope with the very challenging behaviors of their special needs children. Please actually spare a thought for them. Some of these people have extremely complex special needs.