Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

fritzelly wrote: »
    Something different...something racism...

🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,976 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

US2 wrote: »
    We are failing miserably. A month now since social distancing, pubs schools close and still increase in cases every night. We are on course to be the worst affected country in the world

Still your head in the microwave and press start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Cheltenham lads, pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Coyote

Number updated to match today's report
    I have included all cases, including the German tests
    I understand that including them changes the numbers but feel it's best to record them

No Change in number
    509211.PNG

Slow Change
    509212.PNG

Big Drop in numbers
    509213.PNG

again with all of this I'm just trying to show people the 14 day delay in an change in how we deal with this
    if you wait till we are overloaded it's too late

interesting visualization of covid19
    http://91-divoc.com/pages/covid-visualization/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Would supermarkets be a hot-spot for picking this up?

I would like to think I shop smart. I'm not able to get a delivery slot with tesco or supervalu. I will aim for a local shopping for now. Would standing outside dunnes in a queue be madness?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Sat night cork city unreal compliance to this fair play streets empty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

wakka12 wrote: »
    Ireland now 8th in the world in number of cases per capita(excluding microstates), and 10th in the world in deaths per capita

Where are Ecuador in that list, out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭rosiem

Some people in here accuse others of having their head in the sand when in actual fact they have their heads lodged firmly somewhere else. I don’t understand the need of some to only point out the negatives they almost revel in it and want to be right we need to focus on the facts and reality.

Now off to light a candle for the heroes of this disaster and those poor unfortunates who have become the statics we argue over and take some time to ponder that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Is that true for laboratory testing?
    It depends on the platform used.

Not every lab in Ireland is using the same analyser or reagents.

The sensitivity and specificity of each platform will vary between manufacturers.

That 30% was quoted early in China, and hadn't been peer reviewed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

KiKi III wrote: »
    I've seen figures today that suggest our daily rise in cases is now 7-8%. Harris said today it needs to be below 5% to start reopening. I think three weeks is enough to get there.

I actually think the three week closure was a strategic decision made so avoid having to extend it again to cover the May bank holiday - they wanted that included in this one so we don't relax things and then immediately see a big spike.

20 more days folks, we can do it.

I definitely think that spooked them.

They could have postponed the bank holiday until September or something, where it might actually be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

owlbethere wrote: »

I would like to think I shop smart. I'm not able to get a delivery slot with tesco or supervalu. I will aim for a local shopping for now. Would standing outside dunnes in a queue be madness?

Assuming you are in lock down and not working. First is family. Then supermarkets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

G'wan Sinead O'Connor!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,408 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

G'wan Sinead O'Connor!!
    That voice still sends shivers down your spine doesn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,490 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

where else you going to get your food, you just have to do it.

mean gene wrote: »
    Sat night cork city unreal compliance to this fair play streets empty

I bet there won't be too many pictures trending on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It depends on the platform used.

Not every lab in Ireland is using the same analyser or reagents.

The sensitivity and specificity of each platform will vary between manufacturers.

That 30% was quoted early in China, and hadn't been peer reviewed.

Apologies if this has been covered Martina.

I guess the sensitivity is massively limited by actually capturing viral genetic material on the swab. The specificity therefore seems quite high.

Is it the possibility of not capturing the genetic material on the swab makes it less sensitive or is it a limitation of the assay itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

gmisk wrote: »

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,504 ✭✭✭ongarite

This is very good reflection on RTE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

froog wrote: »
    if we hit 60 ish deaths a day we would match italy's peak for per capita deaths.

We*d match Italys worst single day so far if we reached 75 deaths in a day

That's not allowing for the fact that Italy was so overwhelmed, they were probably under reporting the number of deaths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Grand go on spreading your b****x scaremongering rubbish. It won’t affect me or the majority of rational people on here. Extrapolate whatever you want from uneven numbers that even you have admitted contain too many unknowns. But sure why let that stop you ranting and raving. Work away, you’re only fooling yourself

Who is ranting and raving?

The people who are questioning cases/deaths per capita, are only speculating on the potential inaccuracies... you don't have any actual hard evidence that these stats are incorrect.

The same way people are speculating that Germany or China or wherever are fiddling their numbers, just because you don't like their numbers... It's mostly all just speculation and much of it wild speculation! (often motivated by your own agenda)

I'm sure pretty much all the stats we have on this pandemic, are somewhat inaccurate and/or incomplete right now. But that's pretty much across the board, not just for the stats you personally don't like!

So no, I'll keep watching the stats that I find useful... and a huge amount of people find cases/deaths per capita useful and reasonably reliable. (I couldn't give two sh!ts if that pisses you off lad - I suppose you'll just have to deal with it). ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭howareyakid

gmisk wrote: »

It was a great rendition to be fair.

Use your left hand all the time to push the trolley, pick the products, load onto the conveyor and pack your bags.

The only thing I couldn't manage was a case of beer. I could get it into the trolley but not out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Cheltenham lads, pricks.

Would people ever just give over about Cheltenham. You’d swear the virus started there.
    It didn’t the Italian visitors for the called of rugby match were a lot worse.

Our biggest problem in this country is the nursing homes. Everyone missed out by not acting quicker around these vulnerable areas.

Most of our deaths are linked to nursing homes. For god sake we had agency staff moving between numerous homes for weeks.

If someone can 100% identify exactly how many cases returned from Cheltenham it would give some reason to be going on about it.

Almost 9000 cases did not all come from Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

So following on from the concert going for the last 5 hours here, which included a lovely variety of eras of music, a man trying to be a DJ by mixing tracks together and several quizzes where lots of neighbours and kids in the same garden stood up, walked to the mic and answered what song they guessed had just played to win chocolate... we’ve got fireworks going for the last 10 minutes. Get ready for the surge everyone... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

Where are all these accounts coming from? Posters with less than 200 posts in 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,758 ✭✭✭weisses

Yup its on sale now ... buy one get one free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

Logan Roy wrote: »
    Where are all these accounts coming from? Posters with less than 200 posts in 10 years.

I don’t use Boards often, but when we’re in a pandemic and I want to discuss and see what other people in the same country are thinking, it’s the best and only place. Why are you obsessing over people’s post counts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Would people ever just give over about Cheltenham. You’d swear the virus started there.
    It didn’t the Italian visitors for the called of rugby match were a lot worse.

Our biggest problem in this country is the nursing homes. Everyone missed out by not acting quicker around these vulnerable areas.

Most of our deaths are linked to nursing homes. For god sake we had agency staff moving between numerous homes for weeks.

If someone can 100% identify exactly how many cases returned from Cheltenham it would give some reason to be going on about it.

Almost 9000 cases did not all come from Cheltenham.

Let's be clear here, nobody is saying Cheltenham was ground zero for this virus but at the same time and i want to be very clear about this every single person who went to Cheltenham is a selfish pr1ck and it certainly didn't help our cause in stopping the spread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

is what you referring too, somebody got a test back as invalid https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1248304591030095873

No, it might not have been fergal bowers, not sure who it was. I can't find it but it definitely said a healthcare worker was first told they were negative and a phone call a few days later saying they were positive.

Edit: Found it, it's a long read but it's in here

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1129892/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,758 ✭✭✭weisses

rm212 wrote: »
    I don’t use Boards often, but when we’re in a pandemic and I want to discuss and see what other people in the same country are thinking, it’s the best and only place. Why are you obsessing over people’s post counts?

Too much spare time