Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

New Home wrote: »
    Just say out loud, "But hey, what's the worst that could happen?", and watch it all unfold.
    I am going to sleep in some Grave-yards just to see if I can stir things up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,664 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

blinding wrote: »
    I am going to sleep in some Grave-yards just to see if I can stir things up !

I wouldn't bother, they're generally dead ...

If you do believe in ghosts etc., I don't think you'd expect to find them in a graveyard as it's consecrated ground. That's what I've always heard anyway.

I wouldn't bother, they're generally dead ...

If you do believe in ghosts etc., I don't think you'd expect to find them in a graveyard as it's consecrated ground. That's what I've always heard anyway.
    They can’t be all good guys and gals in there ! ! !

Out of curiosity , Has anyone here ever slept the night in a Grave Yard or even a long nap in the day ?

I doubt if I really would have the balls to to the night sleep and possible even the day. I suppose the odd person that might have had one to many may have done so ! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Not slept, no. Spent most of the night sort of in one a few times.

Re. Ghosts, I like the stone tape theory, but I think anyone living could leave an imprint behind, at times of heightened emotion, good or bad, and continue living. So you could leave a ghost of yourself while you live. I think these ghosts are felt rather than seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,664 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

They can’t be all good guys and gals in there ! ! !

Out of curiosity , Has anyone here ever slept the night in a Grave Yard or even a long nap in the day ?

I doubt if I really would have the balls to to the night sleep and possible even the day. I suppose the odd person that might have had one to many may have done so ! !
    Some graveyards have old churches converted into homes, they're very desirable and eyewateringly expensive. I'd imagine many teens have camped out in them too as a dare.

How about the Ghost of when you got things very good and the Ghost of when you got things very badly wrong !

And the Ghost of Meh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Not that creepy or unnerving, more strange and kind of humorous. But I left my car unlocked last night by accident. I had two kinder eggs left in the back seat that I got for my nieces last week but never got the chance to give them. This morning I got into my car and noticed the eggs had been eaten, the wrappers thrown on the back seat and the little figurines assembled and left on my dash board. Nothing else was taken. I have two pairs of Ray Bans in the car and some money on the side and that was all still there. Boyfriend says it wasn’t him. Must have been a bored child. Just a strange thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^

c'mon now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,790 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I had a dream that a oil truck hit a car on the m50 at Red Cow last night....pretty random dream but woke up to news that a truck over turned at the exact location today!

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^

c'mon now

Yes, really :confused:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Yes, really :confused:

It was me sorry.

74fe3845d5897d7bce9489fcf43e4877.png

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

I knew it! The cat figurine gave you away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Brought back a memory when I was around 12 I was an alterboy at the local church, beautiful location but very rural. Church built in the late 1700's and the surrounding graveyard undulated like the curves of a duvet on an unmade bed.

The church yard entrance was through creaky old wrought iron gates, more rust than iron with the odd flake of forgotten paint. Inside the gates and walls rested an assortment of stones, pavings, tombs, celtic carvings and metal crosses, each one signalling the final stop of some poor soul or family, the names of some, indiscernible with the centuries of mother natures washing.

Sunday mass and other events would rake in everyone within 3 miles of the church which was usually filled to capacity with a few stragglers in the porch or outside the back door.

One November evening I had to go to the chapel to serve at a funeral with the parish priest, we did all the ornate rituals, blessings, incense burning and turable waving required and the priest had to rush off but some of the family stayed for a bit with the coffin, which would stay in the chapel overnight for morning burial. I had to stay with them to keep the chapel open as there was prayers for the holy souls later in the night to be lead by the curate.

At about half past six the last of the family members left as the wind picked up, howling in the trees and lashing rain and small branches off the big darkened windows. I heard a loud crack that I recognised as a tree breaking and falling at the same time as the electricity went out leaving the chapel in pitch darkness except for the dancing shadows cast by the candles around the coffin. Where does the love of god go when the wind turns the minutes to hours?

With a mixture of verbal utterances and gesticular references I performed prayers at velocity out the door and into the howling wet arms of the darkness. I had no idea exactly where in the graveyard I was but the next thing I remember was being shaken awake by the curate who found me when he came to say the prayers for the holy souls. I had tripped over a branch and fell into the tomb hitting my head and knocked myself out on the steps.

So, I didn't sleep the night in a graveyard, but I 'slept' about three hours inside an open tomb with coffins in varying states of decay on the shelves around me on a howling stormy night in November a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Very impressed ^^^ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Not that creepy or unnerving, more strange and kind of humorous. But I left my car unlocked last night by accident. I had two kinder eggs left in the back seat that I got for my nieces last week but never got the chance to give them. This morning I got into my car and noticed the eggs had been eaten, the wrappers thrown on the back seat and the little figurines assembled and left on my dash board. Nothing else was taken. I have two pairs of Ray Bans in the car and some money on the side and that was all still there. Boyfriend says it wasn’t him. Must have been a bored child. Just a strange thing to do.

Weird! If it happened on 1st April I would have said it was your boyfriend pullin your puddin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭oceanman

Brought back a memory when I was around 12 I was an alterboy at the local church, beautiful location but very rural. Church built in the late 1700's and the surrounding graveyard undulated like the curves of a duvet on an unmade bed.

The church yard entrance was through creaky old wrought iron gates, more rust than iron with the odd flake of forgotten paint. Inside the gates and walls rested an assortment of stones, pavings, tombs, celtic carvings and metal crosses, each one signalling the final stop of some poor soul or family, the names of some, indiscernible with the centuries of mother natures washing.

Sunday mass and other events would rake in everyone within 3 miles of the church which was usually filled to capacity with a few stragglers in the porch or outside the back door.

One November evening I had to go to the chapel to serve at a funeral with the parish priest, we did all the ornate rituals, blessings, incense burning and turable waving required and the priest had to rush off but some of the family stayed for a bit with the coffin, which would stay in the chapel overnight for morning burial. I had to stay with them to keep the chapel open as there was prayers for the holy souls later in the night to be lead by the curate.

At about half past six the last of the family members left as the wind picked up, howling in the trees and lashing rain and small branches off the big darkened windows. I heard a loud crack that I recognised as a tree breaking and falling at the same time as the electricity went out leaving the chapel in pitch darkness except for the dancing shadows cast by the candles around the coffin. Where does the love of god go when the wind turns the minutes to hours?

With a mixture of verbal utterances and gesticular references I performed prayers at velocity out the door and into the howling wet arms of the darkness. I had no idea exactly where in the graveyard I was but the next thing I remember was being shaken awake by the curate who found me when he came to say the prayers for the holy souls. I had tripped over a branch and fell into the tomb hitting my head and knocked myself out on the steps.

So, I didn't sleep the night in a graveyard, but I 'slept' about three hours inside an open tomb with coffins in varying states of decay on the shelves around me on a howling stormy night in November a long time ago.
    great post..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Where does the love of god go when the wind turns the minutes to hours?

great post but that line is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

ablelocks wrote: »

Happens when the gales of November come early.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Say, your engagement ring doesn't look plasticky and assembled from smaller pieces, does it? ;) :pac:

I thought all the way through you were having us on this was going to be a big anti-climax. Kept thinking of this as I read it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

ablelocks wrote: »

Adapted from the lyrics of Gordon Lightfoot's "The wreck of the Edmond Fitzgerald"

Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?

Say, your engagement ring doesn't look plasticky and assembled from smaller pieces, does it? ;) :pac:

...and makes a whistling noise when you blow it? :pac:

Now that you say it :eek:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

In that case, retro:electro, he's a keeper! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,833 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Can you quit the sniping over other posters' comments on thread. Everyone has a different level of what they deem creepy.

Draw a line under it

Posts deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

A few months ago, on a night out with a friend this man came over and started dancing with me, we got chatting in the beer garden and he seemed really nice so I gave him my number. The next day he text me, we were chatting, he seemed nice but over the coming days I got a funny vibe off him , he didnt say anything offensive id just lost interest so blocked his number.

2 months ago I got a whatsapp message from a strange number. Unbeknownst to me it was this guy who id blocked. I replied asking who it was, he didnt say his name but from what he did say, I thought he was someone else so started talking to him, just small talk like hows your day, that sort of thing, he asked me to meet for a drink, id no intention of meeting this person at all so just said I was busy the coming and following weekend. He then changed his picture and I realized it was the guy id blocked months ago so stopped replying to him.
    Usually when this happens the man takes the hint and stops messaging, occasionally a guy will persist for a couple of weeks but nothing more than the odd hi how are you? message or a bit of friendly flirting.

This guy has continued a one sided conversation with me for the past 2 months even though ive not responded to any of his messages. That aside, it's the content of his messages that are just bizaar.

It started off with the odd meme or how are u message. This progressed to the odd good morning and good evening messages until he started sending these every single day. This progressed to longer morning messages with him telling me to have a good day and giving me suggestions on what I should do. Its his suggestions that are so strange, he's not being flirty or romantic he's just being weird like telling me to 'go to the local market' and 'if the market is closed to go for a run' this as now progressed to me waking up to poems sent to me through whatsapp that he's made up himself.
    Whats really weird about it is the poems sound like theyre written for children, in the poems he is telling me to put on a warm jacket and boots and go outside. He said in one poem to go find a 'track and do a few rounds but made a point of saying to make sure I go in the day time when it's safe?. Words are put into them just for the sake of rhyming and theyre not very good at all, just creepy but its as if he put effort into them, theyre really long also.
    Honestly, the only reason I havnt blocked him is I feel a bit sorry for him but also genuinely interested in what he's coming to out with next.

Weirdo

Frankly, that, to me, sounds like stalkerish behaviour. In your shoes, I'd clearly tell him to stop and block his number. If he persisted I'd contact the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Noodles81

Frankly, that, to me, sounds like stalkerish behaviour. In your shoes, I'd clearly tell him to stop and block his number. If he persisted I'd contact the Gardaí.

I agree, I got chills reading that...definitely report that to the guards and tell your family about it too.

Sounds like a total space cadet. Tell him you have a boyfriend and he might pee off.

I’d definitely report it to the police now and not wait for him to get any stranger.