Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Wombatman wrote: »
    Crowds ignore coronavirus social distancing rules to watch arrival of USNS Comfort hospital ship in New York

26591618-8167815-Dozens_flocked_to_Pier_90_to_watch_the_ship_come_in_on_Monday_de-a-62_1585624176336.jpg

The irony.

Americans are Americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

joe40 wrote: »
    Since 1945 we have lived a charmed life in the west, ( that includes all the current elderly) near constant economic growth, all wars were foreign, (the nasty wee conflict in NI the only exception).
    This is our first real taste of a global life threatening crisis. On the scale of disasters, both natural and man made, that affect other countries, it's not even that bad so far.
    If we get over this with a few months restrictions in movement we can consider ourselves very fortunate, it could get a lot worse yet.

The generations immediately post 1945 did not have to be reminded of the dangers of right wing populist leaders, and the damage they can cause.

Unfortunately that hard lesson seems to be lost on current voters, with the rise of the likes of Trump, Bolsonaro, Orban, Duterte etc.

Bleak times ahead unless they are voted out.

have a look at what's happening in the UK, the country most comparable to ireland

In what way are the two “most comparable”?

Palmach wrote: »
    Guards stopping people and telling them to turn around and go home. Have they the legal powers to do this. Leo made it clear these are guidelines which we should abide by but afaik there is no legal powers given to the Gardai to force people

If you don't do it you should just be beaten to bits with a sack of old door knobs.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    The irony.

Americans are Americans

We had enough f*cking eejits ourselves here on beaches and Glendalough recently, packing out pubs and going to Cheltenham in their droves just before that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

More info about wuhan deaths coming out. Evidence that death count wasn't accurate. Surprise.

https://twitter.com/DrEricDing/status/1244864160434982917?s=20

Do yourself a favour and stop using twitter. It has infected your brain.

Palmach wrote: »
    Guards stopping people and telling them to turn around and go home. Have they the legal powers to do this. Leo made it clear these are guidelines which we should abide by but afaik there is no legal powers given to the Gardai to force people

Do what I do and reverse everywhere.
    Confuses the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

gozunda wrote: »
    I'll have whatever you're on :pac:

Better than what you are on anyway :)

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Do what I do and reverse everywhere.
    Confuses the guards.

Makes the fuel gauge go back up too, as well as reduce the mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

owlbethere wrote: »
    Testing doesn't change the course of the treatment either. You self isolate if you feel symptoms.

That's true for the actual individual infected, but as they keep saying, now that they have had resource issues with the testing, it was always being done for public health reasons - to get stats on case locations (clusters) and for contact tracing (apparently the most critical aspect in slowing the disease, after individual isolation, hand washing).

If we are not keeping up with the testing, we have less info to work off and it becomes more luck than science in tracking it down. If an individual isolates without a test, all well and good for them, but who have they been in contact with previously and how will they know it is safe to go back to a more normal life, did they have it and now have some immunity, or are they at risk again?
    My understanding is that if people are not tested, those questions are not investigated and answered.

The main stat to be concerned about, now that testing is apparently more random than it was, is ICU capacity. That is the next critical finite resource.

Disclaimer - I am not an expert but I have been keeping up with all the factual information, and have noticed that it sometimes changes to suit the particular circumstance of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

Was just on the phone to a mate of mine who is living in Spain. The police response out there is unbelievably more restrictive than anything we’ve experienced so far in both Ireland and Britain.

On the beach on your own? Immediate fine.

Didn’t get back from supermarket within an hour? Immediate fine.

Checkpoints setup on roads - they will check your receipt time stamp. Don’t have the receipt? Immediate fine.

Not allowed into supermarkets without face mask and gloves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Can you tell me anything about the background of these numbers?

Are they testing as much? Are the suffering a shortage of test kits? Are they able to keep labs going?

I'm sorry but Im not sure we can read anything into a dailly change like that at the moment.

Yesterday's Italian death rate was still horrific but we wouldn't expect to see that fall for another week or two if steps taken are working.

This refers to new cases. From the data I've looked at it takes ~20 days to die. Deaths won't slow for a while unfortunately but you should see new cases falling.

The last column is tests. Of course they may have seen a reduction in being able to process tests. I don't have that information.

http://www.salute.gov.it/imgs/C_17_notizie_4362_0_file.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

bilston wrote: »
    No doubt that the statistic for number of tests would be useful, but every other country in the world seems to be ramping testing up, not down, is there any reason to think that Italy is an different?

Lombardy (the worst hit Italian region) abandoned community testing a few weeks back. They may have gone back to testing since I dont know.

I'm just suspicious that if testing was abandoned in one Italian region maybe it was abandoned in others.

So if I see numbers go down I ask what's going on rather than yay numbers are down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

voluntary wrote: »
    If the 'already infected and cured' cert becomes a job requirement I can only imagine young but poor will be trying to voluntarily infect themselves just to get out and get good jobs now.

It says return to work, not a certificate to steal someone else’s job, at a time when common sense is required you can rely on the Germans to lead the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Was just on the phone to a mate of mine who is living in Spain. The police response out there is unbelievably more restrictive than anything we’ve experience so far in both Ireland and Britain.

On the beach on your own? Immediate fine.

Didn’t get back from supermarket within an hour? Immediate fine.

Checkpoints setup on roads - they will check your receipt time stamp. Don’t have the receipt? Immediate fine.

ireland tends to do what we're told so the more heavy handed approach is not really needed. not the same on the continent. having said that, there are fines in place now and gardai checkpoints so we're not far off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

Yeah our population is the same as Italys

This thread would melt your brain.

it's half per capita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

AmberGold wrote: »
    Assuming it's factually correct this is one of the most informative pieces I've seen written anywhere since this ordeal began.

And do you know how much an ICU Nurse gets paid for all of that expertise, never mind facing the fear of catching COVID-19? And not seeing their families for weeks/months for some of them now, if there is anyone immuno-compromised in their family.

Most of them are on €40,000 GROSS per year, despite having invested serious money in advanced training and Masters Degrees in some cases.

So never mind a round of applause for health care workers, show them the respect of paying them properly! That at least would give them the esteem they so surely deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Yeah our population is the same as Italys

This thread would melt your brain.

Ah now, you know well what he means, per capita.

The stats are here.

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00134-012-2627-8

Germany has 4.5 times our ICU beds, Italy almost twice ours.

Yes we will bring private capacity on board, but so also did Italy in this crisis. At best it buys you a couple extra weeks.

You can argue with posters, but you cannot argue with facts, unless of course you have facts of your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

gozunda wrote: »
    All lovely pictures for sure ..

It remains shuting down flights from known areas of infection would have limited transmission of the significant number of clusters here brought back from those travelling to and from Northern Italy. And yes people could still have been repatriated and quarantined.

As to which particular clade each strain of the virus belongs to. No doubt there were people from London / UK etc holidaying in those same hotspots in Northern Italy.

Restrictions on flights would certainly have helped here ...

You see: when people started heading out on skiing trips, it was not yet known that the German outbreak had not been fully contained yet.
    It was not yet known either that someone had died by Covid in Valencia as early on 13 February, and that the virus was already circulating in Europe.
    I mentioned earlier that Italy stopped all flights to/from China on 31 January, and immediately started checking temperatures at Arrivals from all other International flights, to catch anyone with a fever coming indirectly via London, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Paris. Still, the virus arrived to Italy (via Germany).
    With hindsight, Ireland should have also started checking temperatures at Arrivals from all other International flights. US included (COVID19 has been circulating in the US since 15 January , but undetected due to lack of testing https://bedford.io/blog/ncov-cryptic-transmission/ )

But, even checking temperatures, that would not have prevented someone flying to Ireland from the US, UK, Netherlands, Germany with no fever but still carrying the virus.
    That happened anyway, as Nextstrain clearly shows that the first cases in Ireland got the virus from contacts with the UK and the Netherlands (not Italy).

bb12 wrote: »
    it's half per capita

Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

This refers to new cases. From the data I've looked at it takes ~20 days to die. Deaths won't slow for a while unfortunately but you should see new cases falling.

The last column is tests. Of course they may have seen a reduction in being able to process tests. I don't have that information.

http://www.salute.gov.it/imgs/C_17_notizie_4362_0_file.pdf

OK they've done 477k tests on 30/03/2020. Given that all other figures are cumulative ill assume they were cumulative too.

The last place I can find a dailly total for Italy is 454k on 29/03/2020. That's 23k a day (note for those interested we do 5k a day as of Sundays press briefing. A twelfth of the population and a 5th of the tests).

A few days ago they tested 35k so testing seems to have gone down. That said testing in general is up from a week or two ago so maybe they have more of an idea of where they are.

https://github.com/pcm-dpc/COVID-19/blob/master/dati-andamento-nazionale/dpc-covid19-ita-andamento-nazionale.csv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

froog wrote: »
    ireland tends to do what we're told so the more heavy handed approach is not really needed. not the same on the continent. having said that, there are fines in place now and gardai checkpoints so we're not far off it.

I would tend to agree with you on this one, but i drove through a checkpoint this morning on my way to work and they waved me through without checking where i was going or even tax, Ins and NCT :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭forumdedum

froog wrote: »

I didn't hear anything about fines. Do you have a source i could read more on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

And do you know how much an ICU Nurse gets paid for all of that expertise, never mind facing the fear of catching COVID-19? And not seeing their families for weeks/months for some of them now, if there is anyone immuno-compromised in their family.

Most of them are on €40,000 GROSS per year, despite having invested serious money in advanced training and Masters Degrees in some cases.

So never mind a round of applause for health care workers, show them the respect of paying them properly! That at least would give them the esteem they so surely deserve.

Good god - that’s absolute pittance. No wonder we lose so many qualified medical staff to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

otnomart wrote: »
    But, even checking temperatures, that would not have prevented someone flying to Ireland from the US, UK, Netherlands, Germany with no fever but still carrying the virus.
    That happened anyway, as Nextstrain clearly shows that the first cases in Ireland got the virus from contacts with the UK and the Netherlands (not Italy).

Checking temperature would detect the 'open' cases, those who are already shedding virus all over the place. Stopping them at the airport would have saved a lot of heartache and clusters here later.

If you looked closer at Nextstrain you would find that the Netherlands strain of virus infected Northern Italy, and from there back to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Virginia Governor issues stay at home order until 10 June. Latest date I have heard issued so far.

https://www.joe.ie/news/virginia-governor-issues-stay-at-home-order-until-10-june-695656

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

To be fair the fact that we generally do what we are told probably relates to the fact that overall most of us are fairly decent people who want to just get on with their business. It's not necessarily a bad thing. I see there are mutterings of our civil liberties etc being taken from us but its for good reason. We can still be sensible and pop out for a walk. At the end of the day we are being asked to try and kill the resevior of virus for 2 weeks, not pick cotton in our bare feet either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Nermal wrote: »
    At €865M per week? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=113004587

Two new Luas lines a week? Two port tunnels?
    Another T2 or three new runways in Dublin airport a week?

It's not worth it, not in the slightest.

What all this economic output *for*, do you think? What're the Luas and Port Tunnel for?

It's not *people*, by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

OK they've done 477k tests on 30/03/2020. Given that all other figures are cumulative ill assume they were cumulative too.

The last place I can find a dailly total for Italy is 454k on 29/03/2020. That's 23k a day (note for those interested we do 5k a day as of Sundays press briefing. A twelfth of the population and a 5th of the tests).

A few days ago they tested 35k so testing seems to have gone down. That said testing in general is up from a week or two ago so maybe they have more of an idea of where they are.

https://github.com/pcm-dpc/COVID-19/blob/master/dati-andamento-nazionale/dpc-covid19-ita-andamento-nazionale.csv

Fair enough. The distribution of the spread is not homogeneous. Lombardy much more advanced etc. There wasn't a lockdown in place before it spread etc so that is not the same as Sardinia or Lazio where there was a lockdown in place etc.

Comparing to Total population not valid. Although probably the same in Ireland. I've not seen the case rate by county weighted for population. Would be interesting to see the extent of the spread.