Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Top Part motor factors operating on an emergency basis.

https://bit.ly/2wJ2Y6r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I was with XS-Direct a fair few years ago after I was banned from driving for 3 years. I think I was paying a 1000-1500 a year with a pretty big excess. Luckily I was never in an accident while with them for 2 years during the 2 years endorsement.

I'm not sure if it is still the same company now as when I was with them as they closed up for 2 or 3 years if I remember correctly a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I was with XS-Direct a fair few years ago after I was banned from driving for 3 years. I think I was paying a 1000-1500 a year with a pretty big excess. Luckily I was never in an accident while with them for 2 years during the 2 years endorsement.

I'm not sure if it is still the same company now as when I was with them as they closed up for 2 or 3 years if I remember correctly a few years back.

XS Direct is throwing out a quote around 2k euro. I will tell him to try a broker but I remember trying before and a lot of companies just point blank refuse to quote you need 1 year NCB minimum for a lot of the bigger companies to quote.

Like if XS Direct are the only one that will quote I don’t see what choice you have if you want to own a car. Your screwed if you have to make a claim but then you are screwed across the board if you have to make a claim regardless of what company you are with.

CIP4 wrote: »
    XS Direct is throwing out a quote around 2k euro. I will tell him to try a broker but I remember trying before and a lot of companies just point blank refuse to quote you need 1 year NCB minimum for a lot of the bigger companies to quote.

Like if XS Direct are the only one that will quote I don’t see what choice you have if you want to own a car. Your screwed if you have to make a claim but then you are screwed across the board if you have to make a claim regardless of what company you are with.

It looks to be the only option though try a broker as insurance companies sometimes offer policies to brokers but not the general public.

A broker should know straight away if they could get a quote before even trying to contact a insurance company as it is what they do. Obviously they can't tell you a price but they should know which companies will provide a quote.

What type of car is it? Small engine size and between 2007-2020 would be best to get a quote.

It looks to be the only option though try a broker as insurance companies sometimes offer policies to brokers but not the general public.

A broker should know straight away if they could get a quote before even trying to contact a insurance company as it is what they do. Obviously they can't tell you a price but they should know which companies will provide a quote.
    What type of car is it? Small engine size and between 2007-2020 would be best to get a quote.

It's my brother trying to get it he only passed his test a month ago. But he is 21 so at least not 18. He hasn't bought a car yet but will get something along the lines of a Golf/Leon around 12-14 reg either 1.2TSI or 1.6TDI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Boxymo???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

CIP4 wrote: »
    It's my brother trying to get it he only passed his test a month ago. But he is 21 so at least not 18. He hasn't bought a car yet but will get something along the lines of a Golf/Leon around 12-14 reg either 1.2TSI or 1.6TDI.

I take it he’s not planning on having much change from about 5k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,957 ✭✭✭User1998

A 21 year old with no experience should have no problem getting insured on a 1.2 or 1.4 even, fair enough he’ll pay a few grand for it.

I was with Boxymo when I was 17 on a 1.4 Mazda 3 and it was around €3,000 and that was only a few years ago

Boxymo will probably be cheapest but if he doesn’t want a black box in the car then try Kenn Co, apart from those two companies I always found the rest very expensive

I take it he’s not planning on having much change from about 5k?

Well there quote on XS direct is 2,200 euro like even if someone else quotes I couldn't see them coming close to that. You are taking a chance on the high excess but if a policy with normal excess is 4-5K I know which I would go with. Like even with not much experience you would still be at <5% chance of claiming in the year so its a no brainer to take the high excess policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

CianRyan wrote: »
    For all looking for mechanics in Dublin, a friend if mine is still operation his indipentant garage, if it's alright with the Mods I can pass on their info.
    Working only on a booking basis, can also collect cars on a flat bed.

Would a gearbox oil change be too much at this time ?

I think it's supposed to be done in my car every few years, but I don't it's been done recently. I certainly didn't do it on the last service which I probably should've

Actually never mind that one... I think I may do it myself. 30odd quid for the fluid and it seems easy to change with everything easily placed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭g6fdyotp5nj2l7

CIP4 wrote:
    you're taking a chance on the high excess but if a policy with normal excess is 4-5K I know which I would go with. Like even with not much experience you would still be at

How much is the excess

3K euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Would a gearbox oil change be too much at this time ?

I think it's supposed to be done in my car every few years, but I don't it's been done recently. I certainly didn't do it on the last service which I probably should've

Actually never mind that one... I think I may do it myself. 30odd quid for the fluid and it seems easy to change with everything easily placed.

Wouldn't be too much at all, if you change your mind let me know and I'll PM you the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭g6fdyotp5nj2l7

CIP4 wrote:
    3K euro.

That's saucy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Why do people come on the motoring forum to give out and criticise people that spend money on cars?
    It seems there’s always at least one thread on the go where posters come on to say anybody who buys a new car is mad, anyone that takes a loan or pcp to buy a car is financially illiterate. Their car cost them buttons and is all anyone should want.

No other motoring forum I’ve seen is like this.
    They are usually just car enthusiasts that see cars as more than mere transport and like and enjoy them. They post to inform and be informed and help out others when they can. Why do these people come on a motoring forum in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Why do people come on the motoring forum to give out and criticise people that spend money on cars?
    It seems there’s always at least one thread on the go where posters come on to say anybody who buys a new car is mad, anyone that takes a loan or pcp to buy a car is financially illiterate. Their car cost them buttons and is all anyone should want.

No other motoring forum I’ve seen is like this.
    They are usually just car enthusiasts that see cars as more than mere transport and like and enjoy them. They post to inform and be informed and help out others when they can. Why do these people come on a motoring forum in the first place?

Boards isn't just a motoring forum though where most others are motors only. So people dip in and out and see latest posts from all the sub forums.

Those threads always turn into people trying to push what suits them personally. I couldn't give a shít about how the rest of ye manage your affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

An Irish thing is it not ? Not to forget there's people out there who don't believe in taking out a loan for a car.

My neighbour actually believes you should only buy what you can afford in cash and that loans/financing is wrong. Never stopped me telling them that the credit union assisted in my purchase of the E90. :)

I'd never buy brand new but thats only due to my financial situation, when I get older hopefully that changes. I'd never begrudge anyone buying new though. If they can why not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I couldn't give a shít about how the rest of ye manage your affairs.

I think that's the key here.

I couldn't care less how anybody pays for their cars. I will generalise a bit though and say usually in these threads, there is a theme of people in low cost of entry cars who are usually looking down upon people in more expensive cars who have them on finance.

Seen a good quote on here years and years ago, really simple piece of advice. Why would you want to purchase outright a rapidly depreciating asset? What's the benefit?

I can understand why some people may want to own outright a specialist car , something a bit rare, obscure, interesting etc but why you would want your capital tied up in a new Ford Focus and it all the while losing value would be beyond me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

An Irish thing is it not ? Not to forget there's people out there who don't believe in taking out a loan for a car.

My neighbour actually believes you should only buy what you can afford in cash and that loans/financing is wrong. Never stopped me telling them that the credit union assisted in my purchase of the E90. :)

I'd never buy brand new but thats only due to my financial situation, when I get older hopefully that changes. I'd never begrudge anyone buying new though. If they can why not ?

I've done bangernomics for years and my wife PCP. It's all about cashflow and I can't see the benefit of floating around in a bangernomic car vs brand new on pcp tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭jmreire

Damien360 wrote: »
    Yes. Mine is a Leaseplan skoda due every 30000km. It's now due and I cover 1000km per week on average depending on customers (mostly pharma). Needs brake pads and cabin filter at the moment. Not comfortable going at brakes but cabin filter looks a simple job.

Which Skoda is it? and what engine, petrol or diesel ?
    I regularly do all the change's on my Family's Skoda's, 2 x Superb, and 2 x Octavia's......all are 1.6 diesel engine's. As I don't have lift, I have to jack them up because you have to get at the oil filter from underneath, so I drain them rather than siphon out the oil.
    Things to watch out for is that a lot of the fittings are plastic, so you need to be very carefull. There is a small drain bolt on the filter so you can allow the filter to drain itself, before removing the main body, which save's a lot of black engine oil falling all over the place from the housing.
    Unless you have good mechanical knowledge, leave the pad's alone.. they too are not an impossible job, but better if you get some one who know what he / she is doing, and watch them the first time.
    Cabin filter is simple enough..plenty of videos online showing how to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Lads. Are tax offices still working? I need to buy tax in April. I always use online one, but do they still operate?

........ usually in these threads, there is a theme of people in low cost of entry cars who are usually looking down upon people in more expensive cars who have them on finance.

It's generally gobsh1ts trying to allude to having bucket loads of cash and they are far too savvy to splash it on a car. Usually operate from boxroom of the parents house.

You get folk who are also genuinely thick who don't understand concepts of affordability and that a lease is surprise surprise a lease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I've only ever paid cash (without borrowing) for a car once in my life.
    I've financed every single other time. I have paid 11.5k and 8.5k in cash, both financed. Some do, some dont. Going onto a motoring forum that you visit once in a blue moon and dish out your opinion and accuse others of doing it wrong is getting all too common.
    Hence my decreased activity on the forum as a whole.
    Not here per se, but other threads on Boards get tiresome very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

All NCTs now suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

CianRyan wrote: »
    Wouldn't be too much at all, if you change your mind let me know and I'll PM you the details.

Top man, thank you

I'm on the forums reading how to do it properly and they recommend 3 times over a few thousand miles. So I might crack on myself at it

But in regards to the service coming up I might have to take you up on it, I can be very OCD about going over the milage 😂 the stamp on the book is worth a lot to me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Top man, thank you

I'm on the forums reading how to do it properly and they recommend 3 times over a few thousand miles. So I might crack on myself at it

But in regards to the service coming up I might have to take you up on it, I can be very OCD about going over the milage �� the stamp on the book is worth a lot to me !

Tbh unless you are in a frontline role and need a repair carried out that is preventing you from using the car to get to work, I think ignoring this quarentine/ lockdown/ whatever it is for an oil service is a bit selfish. Like how often do the powers that be tell us to drop everything and stay indoors?

...... Like how often do the powers that be tell us to drop everything and stay indoors?

Indeed.
    Very irresponsible in the context of its to keep a service book stamped up.

FYI I am in a Frontline role and will be going to and from work 5 days week.

Don't assume just because you see a car on the road that they shouldn't be there.

FYI I am in a Frontline role and will be going to and from work 5 days week.

Don't assume just because you see a car on the road that they shouldn't be there.

Yes but what I think people mean is your oil service running a couple of thousand kilometres over won’t be the end of the world as most cars are using long life oil anyway these days. Granted I don't know how long your commute is maybe you are racking up big miles commuting.