Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Risteard81

paul71 wrote: »
    You still have not answered the question you were asked about the last lie you told. What part of the constitution means the current Government is unlawful?

I didn't state that they were either lawful or unlawful. My views on that are clear. But I simply pointed out that they are a junta regardless of whether you perceive them to be lawful or not. They should get lost and stay under house arrest where they belong and not order everyone else around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭paul71

cnocbui wrote: »
    So it's only the hedges that are more than 2k from my house that are dangerously infected? I know what the circumference of a circle is. I'd ask if you know what 'reaching' is, but clearly you could win gold if it was an olympic sport.

So you know that 14.56 km is the distance you can go on 1 radius, the circumference and back. Well done your problem is now solved.

Will you now make the effort the prevent the deaths of any more nurses in our ICUs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭ThePopehimself

Quote:
    Originally Posted by sasta le View Post
    https://mobile.twitter.com/SindyLJoy...43740394328064
    Travellers given priority testing

fritzelly wrote: »
    Only one question - why?

Because of their living arrangements; halting sites, mobile homes, tight crowded communities - the Virus could spread quickly.

That's ICU beds gone very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

What an asshole thing to say. The dangers that emergency services go through for self entitled asshats like you. They die helping people like you!

Stop getting emotional.

Accidents occur in the home and out of the home. Most accidents happen in the home. Saying that anyone who leaves their home is overburdening emergency serices is untrue. Hiding in your house doesn't reduce the amount of emergencies, how could it? Think for a second.

You need sunshine and fresh air, especially in the context of an upper respiratory tract infection. Just try not to come into contact with surfaces or people.

Risteard81 wrote: »
    I didn't state that they were either lawful or unlawful. My views on that are clear. But I simply pointed out that they are a junta regardless of whether you perceive them to be lawful or not. They should get lost and stay under house arrest where they belong and not order everyone else around.

You said Junta, they are the legal Government and thus entitled to pass laws. ANYTHING else but that would be a junta.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    its an essential service

Makes sense now, you work in fabrication. All the nonsense you conjured out of thin air, can't imagine it's the most lucrative profession however.

cnocbui wrote: »
    So it's only the hedges that are more than 2k from my house that are dangerously infected? I know what the circumference of a circle is. I'd ask if you know what 'reaching' is, but clearly you could win gold if it was an olympic sport.

Once again, it's not about stopping YOU getting infected, it's about spreading it out so the system can cope.

The 2km is because people do require some degree of outdoor like to prevent cabin fever setting in. In Spain the limit is in time, 10 minutes from home. Same principle.

If the government thought they could tell people to stay inside fully without it resulting in lot of lunatics, domestics and mental illness, they would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

Quote:

Because of their living arrangements; halting sites, mobile homes, tight crowded communities - the Virus could spread quickly.

People living in apartment blocks are more at risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

growleaves wrote: »
    Stop getting emotional.

Accidents occur in the home and out of the home. Most accidents happen in the home. Saying that anyone who leaves their home is overburdening emergency serices is untrue. Hiding in your house doesn't reduce the amount of emergencies, how could it? Think for a second.

You need sunshine and fresh air, especially in the context of an upper respiratory tract infection. Just try not to come into contact with surfaces or people.

yes you need sunshine but you can stand at door to get it or sit in garden or sit at open window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

BoatMad wrote: »
    No it’s not , because the Gardaí now have specific powers and a well defined set of limits. ( fir example husband and wife in car , Nono, where do you live , there a supermarket over there , good evening can yiu show me proof of your address , you are 8km away from home , two or more people together and clearly am adult and kids , nono , etc)
    These new rules are clearly designed to be enforced and enforceable

Are you sure about that? A husband and wife live in the same house and sleep in the same bed. Why should it matter if they are in the same car. My understanding is that households can go out together as long as they keep 2m from everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

We have been asked to stay at home and restrict our movements for the greater good - protecting the elderly and vulnerable in our society from contracting this awful disease, and to help the health services manage the inevitable influx of patients who do contract it.

Is it too f**king much to ask that people, for now, forego their cherished freedoms for a (hopefully short) period of time?

The past number of posts today banging on about 'mah freedoms' and civil liberties being curtailed have me weeping for society.

I have elderly parents (one in a nursing home) that I haven't seen in a month and I fear I won't see again.

All of you giving out about not being able to roam as you wish, or those looking to score political points - grow up, for the love of God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Need a Username

pgj2015 wrote: »
    if you cant even look at the list and think of 1 business like i described:confused: i thought you were a journalist.

it is no of your business what i do. all i am going to say on the matter.

To be fair, she/he never said they were a good journalist.

Stop getting emotional.

Stop being so flippant and self entitled.

Most accidents happen at home because that's where we spend most of our free time and sadly, are idiots when health and safety isn't forced on us.

Medical experts have said stay at home. Medical experts and the emergency services have said they are stretched and the best course of action is to stay at home as much as possible.

You can easily go a few weeks without sunbathing. Go to your garden, your balcony and if they don't happen, stick your head out a window. Sunshine problem solved.

Now stop being so bloody arrogant and self entitled, stay at ****ing home like the actual experts have said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

We have been asked to stay at home and restrict our movements for the greater good - protecting the elderly and vulnerable in our society from contracting this awful disease, and to help the health services manage the inevitable influx of patients who do contract it.

Is it too f**king much to ask that people, for now, forego their cherished freedoms for a (hopefully short) period of time?

The past number of posts today banging on about 'mah freedoms' and civil liberties being curtailed have me weeping for society.

I have elderly parents (one in a nursing home) that I haven't seen in a month and I fear I won't see again.

All of you giving out about not being able to roam as you wish, or those looking to score political points - grow up, for the love of God.

Ive to give up seeing my children,I would have thought giving up going for a 10k run would be no bother....but no!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭ThePopehimself

It's here and lots of nice comments (the odd vile one)

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=3046484045403718&redirect=false

Thank you so much for that, I really got stuck in to watching that! He's doing a terrific job :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Quote:

The only people that should be getting priority testing is frontline health care workers followed by the elderly or high risk groups (e.g. cancer, lung issues etc), after that everybody else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I work for a pharmaceutical company and got a text to say we are essential and should show up for work. The thing is, we aren’t, and have not yet, made a commercial batch so we do not make any medications for patients. Does this sound correct? Surely we’re doing more harm than good by going to work?

What kind of pharmaceutical? Chat with the local TD
    Some businesses see profit above employee health - and by law employers have to provide a safe working environment not withstanding taking in to account a government advisory about non essential work having to close

Without knowing what you make, the actual organisations workplace and your role, it's hard to say.

Maintenance is an essential position even if not directly involved depending on what's being maintained (esb, bord gais are prime examples)

Course that could be covered the the one man with a van that's running around expressing his freedoms apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

What kind of pharmaceutical? Chat with the local TD
    Some businesses see profit above employee health - and by law employers have to provide a safe working environment not withstanding taking in to account a government advisory about non essential work having to close

Anti-cancer. But as I said we aren’t actually manufacturing it at the minute and won’t be until early next year. I would contact a local TD if I could be sure to remain anonymous. In fact, the Taoiseach himself is local!

Stop being so flippant and self entitled.

Me being entitled? Why do you think I've spent the last two weeks arguing with on this web site? I haven't gone anywhere (non-essential)

Everything is being subordinated to controlling this virus. Not just 'the economy', every semblance of normality.

Yet it still isn't enough. People still call it 'soft' that people can roam outside their apartment for five minutes, without seeing a single person, in spite that you woud wither away if you spent last winter, this summer and next winter indoors (1.5 years without sunshine).

You need to wise up. All the massive stress putting everyone under will be tanking immune systems all over the shop.

Anti-cancer. But as I said we aren’t actually manufacturing it at the minute and won’t be until early next year. I would contact a local TD if I could be sure to remain anonymous. In fact, the Taoiseach himself is local!

Presumable the factory can't just stop completely? There's prep work, maintenance of systems, supplies and lab work required. I guess only you know how important a wheel in that system you are.

Is everyone still going or skeleton crew?

I work in the Pharma industry as a lab tech so I can't work from home. We were handed letters on Thursday morning to say we are essential workers - to be shown to the Gardaí in case we are stopped on the way to work. I also got a text tonight to say I am an essential worker and I am to com into work. We are practicing very effective social distancing and hand hygiene at work. I get the feeling they were on the know about what was coming. Both my parents are over 70. My sister has an autoimmune condition. I expect all of them will have to be cocooned, so I'll be doing the shopping etc. for them if they can't get online deliveries. There is no way my parents could managr online shopping unless I did it for them. My wife and kids are asthmatic - I'm not sure if they are in an at risk category. So I don't know if I should go out at all even though I need to for work and to help my family out. I think the current government have handled this pretty well so far, but I hope I can get some more clarity by tomorrow. Sorry if this is a bit rambling. I suppose I'm just venting really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

To be fair, she/he never said they were a good journalist.

Well, I ain't that bad but I won't win awards for what I do.

Me being entitled? Why do you think I've spent the last two weeks arguing with on this web site? I haven't gone anywhere (non-essential)

Everything is being subordinated to controlling this virus. Not just 'the economy', every semblance of normality.

Yet it still isn't enough. People still call it 'soft' that people can roam outside their apartment for five minutes, without seeing a single person, in spite that you woud wither away if you spent last winter, this summer and next winter indoors (1.5 years without sunshine).

You need to wise up. All the massive stress putting everyone under will be tanking immune systems all over the shop.

Yes self entitled, being asked to sit on a coach and go for walks within 2 kilometers of your home is SO stressful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,513 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Not really for you to decide. If pharma activity is allowed by the regulations, go to work and use precautions.

If you have vulnerable people in your household, declare yourself unable and claim social welfare for the duration.

Yes self entitled, being asked to sit on a coach and go for walks within 2 kilometers of your home is SO stressful.

No people are objecting to anyone leaving their house at all. That's what I'm responding to.

I work for a pharma company too, although we are making product atm and I got a similiar text. If you practice correct social distancing at work then maybe it will be ok

Wouldn't know enough about the prep work required whereas it may be needed now for the future to advise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Fine but they dont need to go on 150 mile drives, or marathon runs, just get out in sun for 20 minutes a day for vit D levels. They dont need to go for long drives becuase they were asked not to and perhaps put an overstretched emergency service under more strain