Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,271 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Try it. And let us know how you get on.

It's a genuine question. If these are mandatory, enforced restrictions, they need to be VERY clear about that and the exceptions.

Not couching it in softly softly vague recommendations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

On the 2k radius, does that mean I can go for a walk for 2k from my home and then 2k back to my home? Or 1K out and 1K back?

Jesus they are not gonna take out a measuring tape and measure the distance!

It's just a rough guidance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

paddythere wrote: »
    It's been fine to jog 5 miles away for the last few weeks and it's fine to do it in every other country that is allowing exercise. It's a stupid nonsensical restriction

You are dead right, you do what you want,

Can everyine please ignore Paddy from here on..
    Maybe if we stop giving him the attention he will stop missbehaving ..... Works with my kids...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

How will jogging 5 miles away harm lives? If it does then they have been lying to us from the start

It unnecessarily increases the length of a link in a chain of transmission. just run around in 1km circles for a couple of weeks, not a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Palmach

Yes because it's an unnecessary social family gathering.

Legally as has just been said on RTE there is nothing so far that can be done. Morally he shouldn't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

When will we see the list of who are essential staff who should still go to work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I don't think these will make much difference as most people in the country have been very well behaved, but the government is in a difficult place and has to be seen to do everything they could - just to avoid the people in the future saying "you could have done xyz".

One restriction I don't understand is the individual thing. Can I not go for a walk with herself, who lives in the same house as me? Just interested as to the thinking behind this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭dan786

growleaves wrote: »
    Public transport is shut down.

It is NOT.

All public transport and passenger travel will be restricted to essential workers and people providing essential services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭ressem

quartz1 wrote: »
    Anybody know what's Essential Work of if there a list published ?

Yeah, it's too simplistic I think.
    E.g. if you're manufacturing supplies that the HSE directly asked you for. Can they wait for them for a week+ after a factory restart after April 12th?

E.g. the garment manufacturers changed to making protective clothing, the distilleries and producers asked by the HSE to make sanitisers.

All the companies that support them.

Warehousing & transport companies that might be bringing supplies?
    Farmers get a named exclusion, but not the rest of the production chain.

Non-essential health procedures and services.

I know my parents can't get a grasp of the vague 'cocooning' buzzword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭growleaves

I'm still not clear on how mandatory these new restrictions now are.

Eg : there's over 150km between my house and my son. If I decide to travel between the 2 tomorrow, is someone actually going to stop me?

In theory yes. Although moreso you're being asked not to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Eg : there's over 150km between my house and my son. If I decide to travel between the 2 tomorrow, is someone actually going to stop me?

If you're caught, you'll be arrested/fined. You can see your son when this is over. Don't be so selfish. A nurse died today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

ComReg is opening up more spectrum and also liberalising spectrum i.e. allowing 4G and 5G to use formerly 3G bandwidth to ensure we're all getting good speeds and capacity.

Actually a very pragmatic move and will make life a lot easier for many of us:

https://www.comreg.ie/publication/covid-19-temporary-spectrum-management-measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

If they do it will be a farce.
    Why? They will be subject to 14 day isolation plus the new restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭Speak Now

cosanostra wrote: »

Not published tonight but applies from midnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,300 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

A few months back when the big issue of the day was using plastic straws in the pub seems to far far away now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,489 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

eldamo wrote: »
    Before this we used to go to our local forest park every weekend. The past two weekends it has been more jammed than I have ever seen it, we turned around and headed back to our local canal instead.

That said, the forest park is more than 2k away.
    I could say the same about my local park.
    It is normally pretty much empty
    I took one look last weekend and turned around, just ended up walking the dog a weird route with no people then a seriously early walk the next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

growleaves wrote: »
    Public transport is shut down.

No it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

Better get used to that imo.
    Get used to what? Incompetence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 DirtyHarry88

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

You are not supposed to. Stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

On the list of essential workers...

I'm willing to bet that all american pharma/medical device companies here will stay open even if they've NOTHING to do with helping the situation. Money money money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

No I use my own brain and analyse the validity of the restrictions myself. What difference does it make if I run 2 km out of my zone

Somebody should call the government, there's a super brain on boards going to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

Can all the people losing jobs and loved ones please go outside at 7 am and applaud all those who will have to sacrifice points and medals on Strava and MapmyRun, when Ireland asked, they gave it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

All these measures are pointless unless they are enforced. The people that will abide by them have probably always been staying at home unless absolutely required. The people that haven't been abiding all along won't be. They need the army and guards on the street. Just a few checkpoints that move around each county so the images will be on social media and on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭growleaves

It is NOT.

It is restricted to essential workers.

Okay I must've misheard that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

mohawk wrote: »
    This is Ireland. Do people really think that we are going to have an army enforced lockdown? Seriously do we have the numbers for that?

7k army, 1k reserves of which alot are deployed for testing, 15k guards.

Take the chases around finglas for example yesterday, that took alot of cars and vans for the guts of over an hour.

A full Chinese LOCKDOWN is unenforceable in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

spookwoman wrote: »
    I's say for shopping and essential it's ok the 2km rule is for going for your walk more than likely

I know that but I'm sure the daily newspaper isn't deemed essential yet it's a big part of many older people's lives at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

dan786 wrote: »
    I have posted this 3 times already.

2KM radius in only for exercise. You can go outside that for essential needs like food, medicines, doctor etc.

Sorry they have restated on rte news. People can only leave their houses under certain circumstances, food shopping, visiting pharmacy, medical appointments or exceptional family affairs and exercise within a 2km radius of your house.
    It seems pretty clear.
    Not being funny or trolling but why do some people have such an issue with following orders.
    Stay at home, not jogging for 2 weeks won't kill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Palmach

namloc1980 wrote: »
    When will we see the list of who are essential staff who should still go to work?

Still waiting myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Here's a SECONDARY reason for adhering to the new restrictions if some don't consider the PRIMARY one important enough -

Foreign investors - "Why not invest in Ireland? they handled themselves very well during the Covid-19 crisis"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

The Haven wrote: »
    That will come on gov.ie

Is that site down atm?
    It's down probably because of traffic. They probably don't have proper load balancing.