Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

mohawk wrote: »
    This is Ireland. Do people really think that we are going to have an army enforced lockdown? Seriously do we have the numbers for that?

We will be depending on people thinking of the greater good and complying.

Most will and hopefully that will be enough.

I'd imagine anyone taking the piss like having parties etc will attract the attention of the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

paddythere wrote: »
    No I use my own brain and analyse the validity of the restrictions myself. What difference does it make if I run 2 km out of my zone

It's to keep people in the general vicinity of their home (i.e not galavanting off to a crowded beach or park). Just use your own cop on. I live in the countryside, I might stray a little more than 2km from my house along the empty boreens, it's not going to cause a problem for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I have not left the environs of my home for over two weeks now, and I will be getting the groceries delivered in a few days time.
    So I have stayed within the 2km limit well before it was implemented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,201 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

tom1ie wrote: »
    Why the hell is there 12 Irish citizens on a cruise ship in panama at this stage.
    Did they not know the **** was gonna hit the fan, no?

Maybe we can let Darwin take it's course with some of these things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

essential services

Anyone figure out what this actually means always clear as mud with this lot couldn't they just have spent a few minutes of that speech telling us exactly what these services are rather than the vagueness of it all

Shin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

ruwithme wrote: »
    The guards with the new community policing cars will be on every crossroads in the country for the next few days. anyone thinking of going anywhere will need the valid reason.

that was fake news :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

JTMan wrote: »
    Some questions:
    - If you work in a non-essential non-retail service are you still allowed travel to your office/work?
    - The official announcement states that there are additional shop closures. Which shops have been added to the list?

Thanks.

- No.
    - Not published yet. gov.ie is down atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

walshb wrote: »
    Come on, Paddy...

You don't want to be that person who appears online "this is Paddy. Paddy goes jogging during global pandemics when his country urges him not to. Paddy is a pr1ck. Don't be like Paddy."

It's been fine to jog 5 miles away for the last few weeks and it's fine to do it in every other country that is allowing exercise. It's a stupid nonsensical restriction

Come on, Paddy...

You don't want to be that person who appears online "this is Paddy. Paddy goes jogging during global pandemics when his country urges him not to. Paddy is a pr1ck. Don't be like Paddy."

It's been fine to jog 5 miles away for the last few weeks and it's fine to do it in every other country that is allowing exercise. It's a stupid nonsensical restriction

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

I work for a company that provide products to shops. Am I essential? Who knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why the hell is there 12 Irish citizens on a cruise ship in panama at this stage.
    Did they not know the **** was gonna hit the fan, no?

Madness. Unless they left 6 or 7 weeks ago, bloody madness.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Sawduck wrote: »
    My grandfathers funeral is tomorrow, I have to travel at least 10km,just around 10 people from 2 households but I guess that won't be happening now, his timing was always awful

RIP. :( I think he mentioned compassionate grounds.
    JTMan wrote: »
    Some questions:
    - If you work in a non-essential non-retail service are you still allowed travel to your office/work?
    - The official announcement states that there are additional shop closures. Which shops have been added to the list?

Thanks.

Those bits. So, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,042 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Come on, Paddy...

Enda Kenny said -
    Paddy likes to know the story.

This Paddy likes to make up his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭new2tri19

There seems to be 2 pandemics
    Covid19 and Stupidity

Hopefully we can flatten the curve of stupidity because some of these posts are painful to read. People are going to die and elderly are really nervous can we just cut the stupid posts please.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    I work for a company that provide products to shops. Am I essential? Who knows

Blue shoes are not essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I keep thinking that I may have seen my parents IRL for the last time :(

Same. Mine are locked down in Spain. I keep my mind distracted during the day but at night in bed I keep thinking they might never come home, might never get to hold the little girl I am due to give birth to shortly. Keep thinking about all that was said during our last fight. Because, basically people are inherently selfish and won't abide by simple instructions that most 5 year olds would comprehend. :(

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

That's really annoying though and ridiculous. How are they possibly gonna enforce it: stop people in the middle of a jog and ask them how far away they live?
    I'm all for restrictions but I wont be changing my jogging routines
    I'm not adhering to a restriction if its retarded, simple as

Do not post in this thread again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭LRNM

It's okay to admit you're wrong you know.
    You might learn something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭The Haven

This tweet contains the restrictions, and the places that are open:

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1243640806365429768

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

RobertKK wrote: »
    I have not left the environs of my home for over two weeks now, and I will be getting the groceries delivered in a few days time.

Well done Robert! Your trophy is in the post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Gintonious wrote: »
    Things are bad enough as it is.

Actually, has anyone seen her recently? :confused:

She is self isolating. She had a cough this week.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

RobertKK wrote: »

Same here, Tomorrow is my first day out to collect a click and collect and drop it to my folks. I couldn’t get a delivery slot for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭eldamo

gmisk wrote: »
    No it isn't. For one it might stop every Tom dick and Harry galavanting to the seaside, pier or forest park at the glimpse of some sunshine.

Before this we used to go to our local forest park every weekend. The past two weekends it has been more jammed than I have ever seen it, we turned around and headed back to our local canal instead.

That said, the forest park is more than 2k away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

new2tri19 wrote: »
    There seems to be 2 pandemics
    Covid19 and Stupidity

Hopefully we can flatten the curve of stupidity because some of these posts are painful to read. People are going to die and elderly are really nervous can we just cut the stupid posts please.

If only brain cells were multiplying as fast as the virus. I'm actually astonished how stupid some people are.

You sir are a self absorbed clown. The restrictions are in to save lives, just suck up the inconvenience will ya ffs!!

How will jogging 5 miles away harm lives? If it does then they have been lying to us from the start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

shinzon wrote: »
    Anyone figure out what this actually means always clear as mud with this lot couldn't they just have spent a few minutes of that speech telling us exactly what these services are rather than the vagueness of it all

Shin

A list will be published.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 DirtyHarry88

shocksy wrote: »
    Jesus christ what is peoples obsession with the jogs and runs. They can f*ckin wait.

Vanity and thinking only of themselves and Instagram likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

He answered questions today sent to him by children, it was lovely.
    https://www.facebook.com/rtenews/videos/3046484045403718/

Wasnt a huge fan of him before, but as has been said many times before he's playing an absolute blinder with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

For all those that want to go further on a run, bring some shopping bags.