Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Palmach

They will publish a list

Anyone know where this list is published.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

This goes out to all the f*cking eejits who spent their weekend at the beach last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Quite a measured response and let's be honest, this is quite likely the start of the 12 week lock down that was alluded to by the UK when they outlined their cocooning strategy.

That a government led by our right of centre, business and LL friendly party has taken the steps needed.
    That the citizen has been put squarely before the economy is a brave and forthright step.

Yes lockdown could have come sooner, and indeed my own posts in earlier threads will show that I believe it could have.

It's easy for me to say lock it up, It's not so easy for Government when the ability to pay for that lockdown needs a stable economic outlook.
    Brave action, strong leadership and I am sorry we have not seen this side of FG earlier in their tenure.

To everyone here, stay safe, stay healthy and above all else...
    Stay the fúck at home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Thargor wrote: »
    I work in a medical device factory, do you think that will be classed as essential or will it be shut on Monday?

Eh, surely essential??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    What is the point in everyone staying inside for weeks if we are still allowing flights to land from virus hotspots?

This is the thing I cannot get my head around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,589 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Anyone else notice Tony's left side twitching?jaysus if we loose him we are screwed.

He is a fidget

Same every time he is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

I think my cat goes out further than 2km.

Put it into isolation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

It's till midnight? My family have a place in West Cork it's okay to head there tonight so I presume? Better to be in lockdown by a beach rather in the city I think. Thank goodness I didn't have a glass of wine this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭eldamo

Don’t know how the airports are staying open makes this 2 weeks pointless if passengers are still coming in. Cargo etc is fine

Where are passengers coming in from? Irish people being repatriated maybe, but there are no tourists landing wondering what is going on. The whole world is at a standstill due to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Otherwise the returning doctors, nurses wouldn’t get back and also the government has an obligation to return its citizens safely from abroad such as the Peru situation.

The airport is still physically there.

Charter flights and cargo can go on and passenger flights can be stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

Have to say I think Varadkar, Harris and Holohan are doing a good job on behalf of the country. They have exuded a sense of calm, composure and a strategy about this pandemic. It is uncharted waters for all concerned. Sadly more people will die and I would take the 12th of April as being another date from which this situation will be reviewed. This looks likely to continue on for weeks to come unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

So NO ONE is to go to work now unless it's for essential public work and public transport is only for essential public workers?

Is that correct?

Farmers, people working in the food sector and people who sell the food are also essential workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Lundstram wrote: »

We are lightyears ahead of them.

The likes of the twats q'ing in Howth for a bag of chips has caused this lockdown.

How do you figure that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    This is an honest question...

If this was 1990 and there was no social media... would corona virus be a mere footnote on Page 11 of a newspaper??
    We'd have noticed the ICUs being overrun and there'd have been loads of experts on Spanish Flu, very much a living memory outbreak.

• Administrators Posts: 55,069 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If your local supermarket is further than 2k from you, what’s the story there? Will this actually be enforced like?

Lads, they're not commanding you to starve to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I work in a medical device factory, do you think that will be classed as essential or will it be shut on Monday?

Same boat, American company too... I'd say no.

blackcard wrote: »
    They are all banned

Are building sites shut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Life under the Black And Tans was easier.

Are all of your 52K posts this insightful? :rolleyes:

blackcard wrote: »
    They are all banned

Are building sites shut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

With new restrictions coming in tonight:

Would we be allowed to shop in a larger supermarket in town or do we have to remain local and shop in a small local shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Tomrota

So will the coffeeshops close tomorrow? No?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Definitely stay open, you'd think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,332 ✭✭✭obi604

dan786 wrote: »
    2Km radius is only for exercise and not for other essential needs. Food, Doctor, Medicines etc. I think you can go further for these.

Please everyone read and understand this.

And also stop going on about your bloody runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

These ‘extra’ restrictions are absolutely futile. Once you start making exceptions to the stay-at-home rule the thing falls apart. It only takes one person in any household to go out shopping or to work or for any other reason and they bring the virus back with them.
    All these measures are just window dressing. The horse has bolted long ago. All efforts should be concentrated on devising ways to protect the at-risk groups. The rest of us can just take our chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

walshb wrote: »
    He is a fidget

Same every time he is on

Hes always taking his glasses on and off, fixing his notes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,903 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Economy will take years to recover, we could be back to 1980's type unemployment.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

banie01 wrote: »
    cocooning strategy.

film__2777-cocoon--hi_res-f6f11bc4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭cnbyz

whats the story with rents ? missed that part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Tomrota wrote: »
    So will the coffeeshops close tomorrow? No?

Most have already, near me anyway. My fear is a lot of small shops will close, as customers dwindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Are all of your 52K posts this insightful? :rolleyes:

He is a good lad