Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

My wife redeployed within HSE today to a swab centre, starting next week. We knew it would probably come, but it's real now. It should be a controlled environment at least. I really feel for staff at hospitals and their families.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who went to Cheltenham or took their skiing holidays post February, et al. You are special kinds of Oirish, and no mistake. The best kind. I hope ye had your craic, because that's all that matters.

Well said. Don't forget the eejits heading to packed pubs on the last weekend the pubs were open.

Some of them coming on to this thread to brag about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Logan Roy wrote: »
    There's an awful amount of ****e being spouted about "lockdowns" in here. Has been for weeks now. They could announce every single business to close and everyone to stay in the home if they like, who's going to police it?

They will still need to hav shops open people need to eat but they might announce no going for walks etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

Gavin Riley just said there is a press conference at 8.30 with Leo and Simon.

Plus Dr Tony Holohan also at govt. buildings in this presser.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

There is no "etc". For most of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

If RTE isn't broadcasting it on RTE One, then it will just be an update on developments rather than a big announcement I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The vast majority of my friends and families work places that weren't shut all ready shut down today.

So if Leo is coming out announcing further shut downs like the last day, it's pretty pointless.

Staged panto to shut down building sites is just a waste of time.

Announce it on the 9 o'clock news and take a few one on one questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

very interesting C4 news interview with an Italian academic right now , in the whole "stay at home" area and the effects on society.

"for 20 years , my university wanted to move all courses online and nothing happened. Now in ONE WEEK, it's happened"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

There will be no Govt. announcement this evening. Maybe on Monday if there is a further steep rise in ICU cases/deaths over the weekend.

There is. It's just been announced on Virgin Media News.

Announcement at 8.30pm. I don't understand why this is not on Rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

My wife redeployed within HSE today to a swab centre, starting next week. We knew it would probably come, but it's real now. It should be a controlled environment at least. I really feel for staff at hospitals and their families.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who went to Cheltenham or took their skiing holidays post February, et al. You are special kinds of Oirish, and no mistake. The best kind. I hope ye had your craic, because that's all that matters.

It was always coming here anyway. The government knew this, there was no avoiding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Logan Roy wrote: »
    There's an awful amount of ****e being spouted about "lockdowns" in here. Has been for weeks now. They could announce every single business to close and everyone to stay in the home if they like, who's going to police it?

From the tone in this forum, I think we'll self police

marilynrr wrote: »
    Completely disagree. A certain % of the population are behaving exactly as they would be if they were in a full on lockdown.
    I'm not sure how many that is but I know plenty of people who are at home, with only one household member leaving the house once per week to buy the essentials.

There is no lockdown. No one in government has used that term once. There are restrictions in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    No DOH briefing tonight but Taoiseach speech, it's getting bad

No there isn`t, not tonight anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭growleaves

I think they might be preparing people for the gardaí to become more heavy handed after a week filled with incidents of kids and teens generally using the situation to cause havoc and spread fear.

Spreading fear? Try this for a solution:

Stop losing your nerve.

A few scattered reports of teenagers hanging around shouldn't cause a national outbreak of pure terror.

There's also no reason to believe that every city and region in the world will be as bad as Lombardy and Wuhan.

It's this sort of nonsense that got Trump elected.

there's no comparison. Cuomo is actually dealing with a real crisis right now.
    And Cuomo is a governor of a State.

And you mention how he says New York. Maybe you were joking, I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

No there isn`t, not tonight anyway.

There is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Think he was referring to the Nu Yawk nonsense

Gavin Riley just said there is a press conference at 8.30 with Leo and Simon.

Gavin is a very reliable source. I'll take that as gospel so.

Coveney & Leo ... deffo some sort of increased "lock down" - my guess is increased powers to the Gardai, along British police lines. Checkpoints, fines etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

I am surprised that no elite person has actually died from it. I try not to feed the conspiracy theoretic part of me but nothing surprises me anymore
    FFS. When an 'elite' dies from it there will be conspiracies that they were actually killed by Hillary or some sh*t like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Recovery takes 22 days even for mild cases, so recovery figures will be slow.
    No it doesn't, it can from take from as little as 5 days, to as long as 4/5 weeks.

A small minority of cases require hospitalization, ICU in a very small minority of all cases.

The elderly Cork woman diagnosed in late February was discharged on 9th or 10th Mar., say 2 days hospitalized following discharge from ICU and your talking in terms of 7-10 days in ICU. The lady concerned had comorbidities.

The context of my characterization of the HSE's attitude was the lack of clarity in, and delay in putting out the HSEs ICU figures.

They're still upto to their old tricks, the administration's mindset hasn't altered from the bad old days.

Boggles wrote: »

Press briefing indicates a general update, a repeat of the government message on social distancing etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Reading this thread is an education which is quite depressing. So many fools posting bar room interpretations of events that have yet to occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Yes at least it should be a controlled environment so try not to worry. Hopefully she will be perfectly fine.
    I'd be worried about the supermarkets and petrol stations that are close to the swab centres. I wouldn't be surprised if there were some stupid people who are supposed to be self isolating apart from going to their tests decide to go into a shop while they're out, and of course chances are that some of them may need petrol while they're out!! Of course we don't know where they might stop for fuel on their way to the test centre but personally i'd avoid all the shops closest to it if I was in the area or working in one of the test centres!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Correct me if i'm wrong, but didn't the Italians ask the EU first for help - or maybe EU member states - and they got diddly squat.

So if the Russians step in , I can't blame the Italians saying yes to their help.

Russia is using this as a time to excerpt its power. Russian military planes flying into Irish airspace. Russian warships intercepted in the North Sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Is briefing tonight live on RTe?

lawred2 wrote: »
    Think he was referring to the Nu Yawk nonsense

i dunno - Nu Yawk has a certain position within the American mythos because of 9/11. Look - either way - Cuomo has been damn impressive with his command of the brief. He's got extremely good leadership qualities. And that's undeniable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Hopefully tonights figures are mostly a younger crowd and less chance of deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Press briefing indicates a general update, a repeat of the government message on social distancing etc.

Instead of all there is there isnt my mickey is bigger than yours bollox can we just wait and see and then discuss it