Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

yet another potential Darwin Award

https://nypost.com/2020/03/26/21-year-old-who-posted-about-not-social-distancing-gets-coronavirus/

Tennessee woman gets coronavirus after bragging about not social distancing

A 21-year-old Tennessee woman who bragged on social media about not taking the coronavirus outbreak seriously has been diagnosed with the deadly illness, according to a report.

Ireland Tate joked about not following instructions to stay home and practice social distancing amid the pandemic just days before she fell sick, news station WZTV reported.

In a social media video, the Nashville resident told her followers that she’s “aware that we’re supposed to be self-quarantining and social distancing” to “keep everyone safe” — but that she wasn’t worried.

“Cool. I get it. I just don’t think that I’m going to get the virus,” Tate said in the video.

But just days later, Tate found herself suffering from symptoms associated with the dangerous bug and tested positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

josip wrote: »
    59 in ICU as of midnight Wednesday means we are on track to reach
      the original 260-bed ICU capacity on the 1st of April and
      an increased 500-bed ICU capacity on the 4th of April.

5th of April will see a big upswing in deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

I just don't see any positive news coming out of Italy. Nearly 1000 deaths in a day is beyond cruel and if anything the situation there is getting worse.

The sight of Russian military personnel vehicles rolling down their streets with aid was frankly as bizarre as it was frightening.

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Surely there would be no point in that?
    Current occupancy is the crucial figure.

This was the report a few days ago, to me it confirms that the icu numbers are the total numbers who have needed icu not the number currently there now.
    . Over 305 cases - 26% - have been hospitalised so far.

Of those hospitalised cases, 39 have been admitted to ICU.
    59 Covid 19 in total admitted to ICU as of midnight Wednesday means we are on track to reach

Except it’s not 59 in icu its 59 who have been in icu at some point since the outbreak started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,577 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

AmberGold wrote: »
    Got my 12 year old son Grand Theft Auto (looking for it for years), he’s betting on horses, playing roulette and now owns a night club. Haven’t seen him come out of his room in two weeks :)

A night club?
    More like a strip club :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

foxyladyxx wrote: »
    That doesn't make sense. So with every death potentially another ICU bed is freed up?

Well yes as awful as it is to say.
    They haven't said if it's the total or the current. So it's open to interpretation given its within the totals from the start.

Probably something that needs to be asked during a press conference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

It's not encouraging. They aren't testing enough.

You know 94% of tests up to a couple of days ago were negative, right? Which would suggest that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Coyote

Number updated to match today's report
    I have added a chart to the lockdown that i'm working for the curve
    remember the 500 ICU beds a lot of them are in use already just not for Covid19

No Change in number
    507252.PNG

Slow Change
    507253.PNG

Big Drop in numbers
    507251.PNG

again with all of this i'm just trying to show people the 14 day delay in an change in how we deal with this
    if you wait till we are overloaded it's too late
    everyone has to make up there own mind but at least look at the maths

3 weeks no change 44K
    3 weeks slow change 29K
    3 weeks big drop 9K

1 month no change 151K
    1 month slow change 56K
    1 month big drop 11K

intresting visualization of covid
    http://91-divoc.com/pages/covid-visualization/

you need to decide what you do today to affect 3 weeks from now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,093 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

This staggered release of figures isn't helping. 59 in ICU on Wednesday, a lot can change in 48 hours. We need up to date information, instead of a drip feed by the government so that Leo can reposition himself accordingly. Almost strikes me as a selective PR exercise, and I say this as a person who has been largely impressed by handling of crisis.

Its like they are trying to cover up something but theres nothing to cover up why are they fudging this no more than the ridiculously vague details they gave out?

Like 59 on Wednesay, well 13 have died since then but its highly unlikely theres only 46 in ICU now....so whats the point in 2 day old figures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭irishgeo

59 Covid 19 in total admitted to ICU as of midnight Wednesday means we are on track to reach

Where you getting them figures.

China?

Do they hug and kiss there?

It's a very contagious disease. People need to face facts and stop kidding themselves

indeed... as the Chinese have been warning for months now...

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/article/3074351/coronavirus-can-travel-twice-far-official-safe-distance-and-stay

2367f83c-61fc-11ea-8e9f-2d196083a37c_972x_161511.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

bekker wrote: »
    No idea, John Hopkins has 5 recovered has been for days.

Part of HSE's 'subject mushrooms' information dissemination policy I believe.

Recovery takes 22 days even for mild cases, so recovery figures will be slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

8:45 press conference is cancelled. No reason given to the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    Jogging is fine, going for a walk is fine....
    Being outside in general is fine.... just avoid large groups, crowds. Its pretty easy to do considering the circumstances.

Not according to the doctors in Italy or China.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    I just don't see any positive news coming out of Italy. Nearly 1000 deaths in a day is beyond cruel and if anything the situation there is getting worse.

The sight of Russian military personnel vehicles rolling down their streets with aid was frankly as bizarre as it was frightening.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but didn't the Italians ask the EU first for help - or maybe EU member states - and they got diddly squat.

So if the Russians step in , I can't blame the Italians saying yes to their help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Micky 32 wrote: »
    As long as you don’t have any other emergency like a heart attack etc.

This is the aspect of the crisis not being discussed, while there are going to be fewer industrial and motoring related injuries cancers, heart failure, renal failure etc will be continuing apace. How long until these people are being 'managed' to keep beds available?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    They have released the case numbers. What is the 8.45 press conference going to address so?

Or is there still one?

Some rumours circulating of another Govt announcement this evening. We will have to wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Video from NY hospital

https://nypost.com/2020/03/27/coronavirus-in-ny-video-shows-disturbing-crowded-hospital-er/

"A shocking new Facebook video shows disturbing, crowded conditions inside the emergency room at Jamaica Hospital Medical Center in Queens — with gurneys crammed side by side and sick patients waiting on chairs amid the coronavirus pandemic."

Very few of the health professionals seem to have adequate Personal Protective Equipment... many of them are bound to get sick soon, if any of the patients there have the effing virus. Then the real horror begins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,442 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

BanditLuke wrote: »

Positive news from Italy is that new infections seem to have peaked.

Every day from February 28th until March 21st Italy experienced exponential growth in new confirmed cases. Since then new confirmed cases have levelled off.

We should hopefully see a fall in new cases starting early next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

One wonders how China got this under control so quick when other no European countries could, they didn't even go through a prolonged flattening phase, it's was down as quickly as it was up. Miraculous really.

Not according to the doctors in Italy or China.

And those doctors in Italy have sent a very very strong message to the mayors of Italian towns and cities..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Coyote wrote: »

<snip>

Your last sentence is very sobering.
    Great responsibility on everyone in charge of this and on the population to adhere to the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

That Hunan bus graphic and story is one of the things that has impressed itself most upon me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

One wonders how China got this under control so quick when other no European countries could, they didn't even go through a prolonged flattening phase, it's was down as quickly as it was up. Miraculous really.

They didnt and they havent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Wibbs wrote: »
    In the UK it's already been noted that a majority of patients in ICU were overweight to obese to morbidly obese and almost none were underweight.

I'm bloody more delighted than ever I dropped some weight last year and got my BMI under 25!

I'm already in a high risk group, and mitigation of my risk is important.
    Can't say I say Covid-19 coming ;) but I certainly can see my toes! :D

Were the numbers leaked prematurely? HSE and journalists are obviously not singing from hymn sheet.

Dont know what happened. Somethings up. Remember we are seeing numbers from 1pm, Thursday 26 March and stats are from wed midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

Coyote wrote: »

No Change in number
    507252.PNG

Slow Change
    507253.PNG

Big Drop in numbers
    507251.PNG

again with all of this i'm just trying to show people the 14 day delay in an change in how we deal with this
    if you wait till we are overloaded it's too late
    everyone has to make up there own mind but at least look at the maths

3 weeks no change 44K
    3 weeks slow change 29K
    3 weeks big drop 9K

1 month no change 151K
    1 month slow change 56K
    1 month big drop 11K

intresting visualization of covid
    http://91-divoc.com/pages/covid-visualization/

Cheers for this Coyote.
    You're doing a good job giving people some idea of what we might be dealing with