Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I mentioned this here last night and someone disagreed. I'm 90% sure it's since the beginning.
    Surely there would be no point in that?
    Current occupancy is the crucial figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Video from NY hospital

https://nypost.com/2020/03/27/coronavirus-in-ny-video-shows-disturbing-crowded-hospital-er/

"A shocking new Facebook video shows disturbing, crowded conditions inside the emergency room at Jamaica Hospital Medical Center in Queens — with gurneys crammed side by side and sick patients waiting on chairs amid the coronavirus pandemic."

Guess thats the winning that Mr. Trump was referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Surely there would be no point in that?
    Current occupancy is the crucial figure.
    The hospitalized figure they release every night isn't current occupancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

ITV News a few seconds ago - interview with frontline NYC nurse - "we are in wartime medicine now"

looks like that "tsunami" is starting to hit NYC hospitals right now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Video from NY hospital

https://nypost.com/2020/03/27/coronavirus-in-ny-video-shows-disturbing-crowded-hospital-er/

"A shocking new Facebook video shows disturbing, crowded conditions inside the emergency room at Jamaica Hospital Medical Center in Queens — with gurneys crammed side by side and sick patients waiting on chairs amid the coronavirus pandemic."

It's like living through a horror movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭AmberGold

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    I know ridiculous. I bought my my 7 year old and XBox when the schools closed. I never would have dreamed of doing that during normal times. But I figure good parenting is out the window during this time. It's just about getting through it. Sometimes it gets to me seeing him plonked in front of the TV but it's vital during this time but it would be better if these parents did so.

Got my 12 year old son Grand Theft Auto (looking for it for years), he’s betting on horses, playing roulette and now owns a night club. Haven’t seen him come out of his room in two weeks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

If our ICUs are filling up, it's a case of fighting this virus yourself or you're fcuked?

then they start getting inventive. you'd be surprised what doctors and nurses can do with their backs to the wall.

josip wrote: »
    59 in ICU as of midnight Wednesday means we are on track to reach the original 260 bed ICU capacity on the 1st of April and an increased 500-bed ICU capacity on the 4th of April.

But as a poster is questioning above, is this the number actually in ICU on Wednesday, or the total since the start? Any stats on people released from ICU etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

If our ICUs are filling up, it's a case of fighting this virus yourself or you're fcuked?

As long as you don’t have any other emergency like a heart attack etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,089 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

fritzelly wrote: »
    Passed local kids park a few days ago - not a bother on them, 30/40 kids - many in groups of more than 4 - parents need to cop on

Unless its allowed to start beating/locking them up nothing will change.

I mentioned this here last night and someone disagreed. I'm 90% sure it's since the beginning.

Going by how the health emergency team word it, it is definitely since the beginning so either they are wording it wrong or it’s being incorrectly reported. My money is on incorrectly reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The hospitalized figure they release every night isn't current occupancy.
    Yes, but that's a few days behind as are the other numbers.

Why would that figure be how many occupied from a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Allinall wrote: »
    The testing criteria is more stringent, so you would expect the number of positives to be higher.

I think 302 is not too bad.

RIP to the three deaths.

302 not too bad, but it's still the 1st time the confirmed cases have gone over the 300 mark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,129 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Thats a bit harsh. I have seen a very noticeable difference in people these days. Definitely efforts being made across the board.

We also have to remember there will be a time delay for effects to be seen. Its only been a week and a half really and you wont see impact on numbers for a while yet.

The effects should only take 5 days to start to materialize as that is the median incubation period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,402 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

josip wrote: »
    59 in ICU as of midnight Wednesday means we are on track to reach the original 260 bed ICU capacity on the 1st of April and an increased 500-bed ICU capacity on the 4th of April.

Very hard to model that correctly though. Even the slightest percentage change in the next couple of days would alter the April 4th figure (but it's a real concern).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Guess thats the winning that Mr. Trump was referring to.

Yeh, sure they'll all be back to work soon according to the orange one.

They need to clarify this ICU number, as far as I read it that’s the total number who have been in ICU since the beginning NOT the number currently in ICU but it’s being reported as if it’s the number currently in ICU.

This staggered release of figures isn't helping. 59 in ICU on Wednesday, a lot can change in 48 hours. We need up to date information, instead of a drip feed by the government so that Leo can reposition himself accordingly. Almost strikes me as a selective PR exercise, and I say this as a person who has been largely impressed by handling of crisis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

It's like compounding interest. 7 days ago we had 683 cases now we have 2,121. Where will we be in 35 days.

Also today's numbers are actually Wednesday's numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

But as a poster is questioning above, is this the number actually in ICU on Wednesday, or the total since the start? Any stats on people released from ICU etc?

The totals they give are from the start so you would imagine thats since the start. There was a media report at the start of the week of a person leaving ICU.

But who knows it could be the current.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

302 Confirmed cases today, thats a 17% Increase. 3 New Deaths bringing the death total to 22.

507249.PNG

For charts:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1IMavHMFAT59NaRmSJxfHIVxAhiT46CmzL0tj0Esqalc/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

from the "you couldn't make it up" department

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8160611/Christian-pastor-said-coronavirus-media-mass-hysteria-dies-virus-holy-trip.html

"Christian pastor who said coronavirus pandemic is 'mass hysteria' dies from the virus after ministry trip to New Orleans"
    He already had bronchitis and pneumonia and then got Covid. The dumb was strong in that one. Note too not a thin man. "Robust" American sized. In the UK it's already been noted that a majority of patients in ICU were overweight to obese to morbidly obese and almost none were underweight. Now being obese raises the risks of co-morbidities so it may not be a direct connection, plus people in the west tend to get fatter with age. I did notice in the shots of the Italian wards a lot of chunky men. Maybe having abdominal fat impedes breathing? Might explain why fewer women die as they tend to put fat on in the hips and thighs? Though Asians tend to be much slimmer overall so maybe not.
    Covid ID :confused:

Why is he saying that?
    He's a bloody eejit at the best of times, so...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

302 Confirmed cases today, thats a 17% Increase. 3 New Deaths bringing the death total to 22.
    Thanks for these charts SC. Even for me who has the congenital dumb when it comes to numeracy these make for great illustrations.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

RIP to the three people who died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

redarmy wrote: »
    Fergal Bowers
    @FergalBowers
    ·
    2m
    It has been announced that the daily National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) Press Conference will not take place today.

Possibility and a possibility is just that this evening of further restrictions could be announced this evening, which is why the daily NPHET presser won't take place this evening. If true then I suspect we might see the Taoiseach and Tanaiste plus Dr Holohan among others making a statement tonight.

One journalist Richard Chambers is describing the situation as "fluid" at DOH HQ this evening.

Follow Fergal Bowers of RTE on twitter along with Susan Mitchell of the Business Post. They are the best at sourcing information and are really good at their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

This staggered release of figures isn't helping. 59 in ICU on Wednesday, a lot of can change in 48 hours. We need up to date information, instead a drip feed by the government so that Leo can reposition himself accordingly. Almost strikes me as a selective PR exercise, and I say this as a person who has been largely impressed by handling of crisis.

Those numbers are nothing to do with leo. The health protection surveillance centre that provides the numbers to department of health is an off spring of the HSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

They have released the case numbers. What is the 8.45 press conference going to address so?

Or is there still one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

The totals they give are from the start so you would imagine thats since the start. There was a media report at the start of the week of a person leaving ICU.

But who knows it could be the current.

That doesn't make sense. So with every death potentially another ICU bed is freed up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I'm not being smart, but did the Italian culture of greeting males and females with a hug and a kiss go against it? We are way more stand off-ish here for example.
    China?

Do they hug and kiss there?

It's a very contagious disease. People need to face facts and stop kidding themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

I understand it's the total number admitted to ICU since Covid 19 started.
    Deaths should probably be subtracted from that to get a more accurate number for those currently in ICU.
    There are probably not so many recoveries to be subtracted.
    On the other hand, you also have non-Covid 19 patients in ICU which are not included in the figures.

Strazdas wrote: »
    302 new cases is definitely encouraging.....still well behind the predicted curve

These new cases are people who were tested 7 days ago.!

Its behind the curve because its old data.

Don't get complacent, this will be exponential.