Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Dr Li's post on December 30th 2019, warning his friends about 7 patients in his hospital with a Sars like pneumonia, was posted widely on the Chinese equivalent of Facebook. It included the patients notes and CT scan.

He was later ticked off by the local security police and went back to work in his hospital the same day.

December 31, 2019…Chinese Health officials inform the WHO about a cluster of 41 patients with a mysterious pneumonia.

Where is the delay ?

You do realize that China and the USA are both involved in a disinformation war against each other. You have to take everything they say about one another with a BIG pinch of salt.

We can get into this after.

Why did you go straight for Chelsea Manning instead of addressing the point? You have switched arguments on this entirely. Yes I am well aware of China and the US not liking each other and both have attempted to pin the blame on the other. The truth is the virus happened and both reacted badly to it.

Never mind that Li was made promise he would stop with such social media posts and the public (not the WHO) was left uninformed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Lay off Boris why don't you.

Because he's a terrible, terrible human being.

I don't wish him any ill, but I've zero sympathy. His inaction has caused the scenario he's now suffering with.

I feel sorry for his wife if that's any use to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,201 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    Why isnt the Swedish leader getting the same grief that people are giving Trump and Boris?

For what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

Tea Shock wrote: »
    I don't understand why they're not hiring Johnny who lost his job from the shop next door to use his own vehicle to make deliveries for them, until his shop reopens - at which time, they won't need him anymore.

Everyone wins! Tesco, their customers, Johnny and the exchequer!

Do they need to have refrigerated vans I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Why isnt the Swedish leader getting the same grief that people are giving Trump and Boris?

Probably because those two are an absolutely abhorrent pair of scummy cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

gabeeg wrote: »
    Because he's a terrible, terrible human being.

I don't wish him any ill, but I've zero sympathy. His inaction has caused the scenario he's now suffering with.

I feel sorry for his wife if that's any use to you?

Go away..
    He's doing his best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Can you name the "Swedish Leader"?

I can't.

Go away..
    He's doing his best.

Remotely.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Tesco would be more than happy to hire staff that will want to leave as soon the crisis is over. That's exactly who they should want!

The missus tells me our local Tesco home deliver service is booked up solid for the next 2 or 3 weeks. I don't understand why they're not hiring Johnny who lost his job from the shop next door to use his own vehicle to make deliveries for them, until his shop reopens - at which time, they won't need him anymore.

Just rang 4 local Tesco's pretended I was out of working and looking to fill any temporary roles.

2 asked me for my age and once I responded told me they didn't have anything at the moment.

the other 2 told me they'd e-mail an application form, both pretty much said fill it in as quickly as possible and they'd get the ball rolling, one offering 8 hours a week contract for 3 weeks trial and the other 6 hours a week for 4 weeks.

Not exactly mortgage payment monies there is it. Not as simple as you make out my friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

Boggles wrote: »
    Can you name the "Swedish Leader"?

I can't.

No lol...just seems the handling of the virus in Sweden is "ah sure itll be grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mick987

silverharp wrote: »
      I just wear a pair of woolly gloves in the supermarket, its not a surface that they can survive on long, other than that no reason to be touching anything outside with your hands, elbows will get pedestrian lights etc.

Fishing must try harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

For what?

Sweden has very few retrictions in place - society is open - bar banning gatherings of 500 , and asking people to behave sensibly - sounds like Herd immunity plan to me -

The reason I believe Sweden have not got the backlash like Trump and Borris ,is the Swedish figures are not too bad in comparison to other countrys that have virtually locked down ther society.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Tony EH wrote: »
      Seriously, people need to be very careful in what they wish for and the likes of a cashless society won't be of any real benefit to the man in the street.

And just think about how much it would fuçk things up for the tooth fairy!:(

iguana wrote: »
      And just think about how much it would fuçk things up for the tooth fairy!:(

That Bítch is due an audit, no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

Boggles wrote: »
      That Bítch is due an audit, no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

Logan Roy wrote: »
      There's a difference between a "message" and "facts". Are you advocating the governments lie about the age profile mostly impacted to try and get all ages to comply with measures?

Ah here, i am going to bow out before i start insulting and losing my cool.

There have been NEEDLESS deaths because of the MESSAGE that was sent.

Everyone needs to be careful and wary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

source.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Yeah it's just weird that every other country seems to have army with guns on the streets and empty city centres, i dont get why we are an outlier.
      The armed forces have actually proven to be a great asset in this epidemic - in some Countries like France and Italy for example.
      In France, they have built a field hospital in Mulhouse.
      In Italy, they have also built field hospitals and the Air Force has been key in transferring patients (in special biohazard trolleys) to Regions that have more ICU capacity. Photo below.

I expect that in the UK the armed forces will also play a key role.

010394e3b479ee6b33b52c09efaa6f9a.jpg

thebaz wrote: »
      Sweden has very few retrictions in place - society is open - bar banning gatherings of 500 , and asking people to behave sensibly - sounds like Herd immunity plan to me -

The reason I believe Sweden have not got the backlash like Trump and Borris ,is the Swedish figures are not too bad in comparison to other countrys that have virtually locked down ther society.

They are higher than ours and is it true Sweden isn't that bothered about testing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

The missus tells me our local Tesco home deliver service is booked up solid for the next 2 or 3 weeks. I don't understand why they're not hiring Johnny who lost his job from the shop next door to use his own vehicle to make deliveries for them, until his shop reopens - at which time, they won't need him anymore.

Simple reasons as to why not, traceability and food safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Jostef

BattleCorp wrote: »
      There are a few issues.

1. Is Johnny trained? Manual handling training, risk assessment training, COVID-19 training etc.

2. Is Johnny's car insured for business purposes?

3. Who is responsible for the maintenance of Johnny's car?

4. Tesco don't know about Johnny's driving history? Is he a safe driver? Has he a heap of penalty points etc.

5. Is Johnny's car/vehicle temperature controlled? Can't have cold-chain perishables sitting in the back of a car on a sunny day.

5. Does Johnny carry around his dog etc. in the same car he carries groceries?

While it's a good idea in principle, it's not as straightforward as people think.

The army are on standby. Why not use them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

They are higher than ours and is it true Sweden isn't that bothered about testing?

given we have been in semi-lockdown for 2 weeks, i would have expected Sweden to have a much higher infection rate and death toll - I trust the Swedish figures , be very intersting to see how this plays out in 10 days , particuly for developing countrys that just could not enforce the lockdown plans the West are doing today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

Interesting conversation on the radio about experiments in the US where people will take blood from people who have recovered from Coronavirus - and hopefully developed immunity to it, so that others who have the virus will more easily recover, and those who don't will never get it. That seems to be where it's going next. Will take a couple of weeks to see if it works to any extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,190 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Truly a golden age for political leadership around the world:

https://twitter.com/cillianwalsh_/status/1243498544566239232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Jostef wrote: »
      The army are on standby. Why not use them?

Same reasons, I doubt few are familiar with HACCP, and fewer refrigerated trucks. Grand for most ambient food but not for fresh and refrigerated. Food companies themselves have to jump through hoops when it comes to usage of cages and the likes.

There is no plan that makes sense other than some kind of herd immunity. The only variable is how much a country tries to flatten the curve, and that should largely be based on the ability of the health services to cope. And is specific to every country (I think Ireland right now has it about right)

You can’t stop the virus and even if you did, through literally locking everyone away so the virus had nowhere to go, then everyone would have to be locked away until there is a vaccine. Which could be a year or more. And that is out of the question

given we have been in semi-lockdown for 2 weeks, i would have expected Sweden to have a much higher infection rate and death toll - I trust the Swedish figures , be very intersting to see how this plays out in 10 days , particuly for developing countrys that just could not enforce the lockdown plans the West are doing today.

They have 53 new cases so far today. They seem, like us, at the start of the curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mick987

cloudatlas wrote: »
      Many countries stalled on implementing measures but they didn't use the words 'herd immunity' and that is why the Uk Gov has been crucified because they actually named it. Varadkar says you can meet with 4 people outside your family. What if one infects one of those four and then they go off an infect people in turn. Would that create 'Herd Immunity'?

The only difference between the UK and Irish Governments is the UK government said herd immunity and we did not, both doing the same things at slightly different time scales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

cloudatlas wrote: »
      Many countries stalled on implementing measures but they didn't use the words 'herd immunity' and that is why the Uk Gov has been crucified because they actually named it. Varadkar says you can meet with 4 people outside your family. What if one infects one of those four and then they go off an infect people in turn. Would that create 'Herd Immunity'?

Yes but the group must keep social distancing. People have to take responsibility themselves on this.

I don't think 'herd immunity' is any part of the Irish thinking at all.

Britain and Netherlands did and it has failed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Thargor wrote: »
      Truly a golden age for political leadership around the world:

https://twitter.com/cillianwalsh_/status/1243498544566239232

Fcuking eejit!!