Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Says your man who went to a party and on the piss less than 2 weeks ago without a care in the world and now all of a sudden it's the government's fault

has followed HSE and government advise since the very beginning.

Doesn't have quite the same ring to is as personal attacks does it?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Isolation isn't having the desired affect. New cases per day numbers are still rising.

If there's no forced lockdown it will continue and we'll be in the same position in 6 months time.. just do it now for a month and get it over with.
    But look at the rate of the rise, it's well below that 30% threshold that needs to flatten the curve.
    That's what's important, slow the rate so the health services are not overwhelmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,807 ✭✭✭threeball

has followed HSE and government advise since the very beginning.

Doesn't have quite the same ring to is as personal attacks does it?? :rolleyes:

So you followed government advice when it allowed you to go on the lash but now they're a bunch of clowns. Good lad, keep digging

threeball wrote: »
    So you followed government advice when it allowed you to go on the lash but now they're a bunch of clowns. Good lad, keep digging

I've followed HSE and Govt advice all the way through, it's the only official advice we have. They've been clowns for the past ten years. You missed the disasters they've been in power for??

FF/FG brown nosers up early today. Must be trouble on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I've followed HSE and Govt advice all the way through, it's the only official advice we have. They've been clowns for the past ten years. You missed the disasters they've been in power for??

Did the hse and government advise you to go for pints?

When did he say it was time for pints? Just wondering.

14th or 15th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

voluntary wrote: »
    They aren't really going anywhere so they do have all the time in the world really.

Apart from the make shift morgues.

Did the hse and government advise you to go for pints?

They didn't. But they did state that groups of less than 100 indoors was fine.

They then revised it to 50, from memory, with a metre between people.

Handy enough to comply with on a Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,589 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Aww the poor crathurs. Guess they shouldn't be in areas they shouldn't be then eh? Gardai should be allowed use their batons to move people on or break up groups who are refusing to break up.

You missed my point. The videos shown looked clearly like the police were simply beating people for no reason. They did not need to use force. The people were not resisting, and were trying to move...no need to inflict violence like that on anyone...

If people are aggressive, combative, resisting and refusing, yes, the Gardai should be able to use reasonable force.....

I certainly do not want to see our force beating people that are clearly no threat to them, and not resisting or causing disruption....

Just people who may have happened to be in an area where they shouldn't.

You know, the presence of Gardai and their words can serve us just as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Be right back

BREXIT BREXIT BREXIT GLOBAL WARMING GLOBAL WARMING BREXIT BREXIT BREXIT GLOBAL WARMING GLOBAL WARMING BREXIT BREXIT GLOBAL WARMING CHINA VIRUS GLOBAL WARMING CORONA VIRUS CHINA CORONA VIRUS CHINA GLOBAL WARMING CHINA CORONA VIRUS CORONA VIRUS COVID-19 ITALY CORONA VIRUS ITALY COVID-19 ITALY COVID-19 ITALY PANDEMIC CHINA ITALY COVID-19 PANDEMIC IRELAND COVID-19

What did you say, couldn't hear you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

14th or 15th.

15th. Three days after Leo recommended against large indoor and outdoor gatherings and closed the schools. "Scaremongering" you said.

Maybe you counted the folks in the pub though. Maybe it was technically fine. The virus will often turn a blind eye if find a loophole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I think something a lot of people might save some energy by realising now is that the type of people who wilfully went out for pints etc two weeks ago will never have the personal insight if they are sick or worried now, they will argue the technicalities all day long with you and you’ll be wasting your breath. I know people who went out and frankly are smart enough to know better, who are now moaning the government isn’t doing enough because it has got a bit scary for them personally now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

BREXIT BREXIT BREXIT GLOBAL WARMING GLOBAL WARMING BREXIT BREXIT BREXIT GLOBAL WARMING GLOBAL WARMING BREXIT BREXIT GLOBAL WARMING CHINA VIRUS GLOBAL WARMING CORONA VIRUS CHINA CORONA VIRUS CHINA GLOBAL WARMING CHINA CORONA VIRUS CORONA VIRUS COVID-19 ITALY CORONA VIRUS ITALY COVID-19 ITALY COVID-19 ITALY PANDEMIC CHINA ITALY COVID-19 PANDEMIC IRELAND COVID-19

Lager... lager... LAGER...... SHOUT IT!!

walshb wrote: »
    You missed my point. The videos shown looked clearly like the police were simply beating people for no reason. They did not need to use force. The people were not resisting, and were trying to move...no need to inflict violence like that on anyone...

If people are aggressive, combative, resisting and refusing, yes, the Gardai should be able to use reasonable force.....

I certainly do not want to see our force beating people that are clearly no threat to them, and not resisting or causing disruption....

Just people who may have happened to be in an area where they shouldn't.

You know, the presence of Gardai and their words can serve us just as well...

They were in an area they should not have been. We use the carrot approach in Ireland and have scum with over 100 convictions roaming the streets. The stick approach is an option we should try.

They didn't. But they did state that groups of less than 100 indoors was fine.

They then revised it to 50, from memory, with a metre between people.

Handy enough to comply with on a Sunday.

And you had no problem going ahead with what they said if it meant you looked edgy on social media but now they're a bunch of morons. Odd.

As I said, people like you are the reason we have the figures we currently have in this country.

They were in an area they should not have been. We use the carrot approach in Ireland and have scum with over 100 convictions roaming the streets. The stick approach is an option we should try.

Maybe they should have tased you when you went to the pub and tried to laugh this whole thing off. Or maybe you think disproportional authoritarian reactions are only for people in groups you don't like.

15th. Three days after Leo recommended against large indoor and outdoor gatherings and closed the schools. "Scaremongering" you said.

Maybe you counted the folks in the pub though. Maybe it was technically fine. The virus will often turn a blind eye if find a loophole.

Large indoor gatherings. There were 4 people in the entire pub (me, another local lad I know to say hello to and a couple), 6 if you include staff. They had removed most chairs, so you'd no choice but to sit 2-3 or more metres apart.

I'd love to see where I said govt advice was "scaremongering". If you've to make stuff up, you're losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

whiskeyman wrote: »

MEGA MEGA WHITE THING.

Amazing the way headaches like Briexit & Global warming have faded into the background, for the time being anyway....

Yes, when your house is on fire you tend to stop focusing on the bigger picture, which of course means it was all just a big overreaction, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

Uriel. wrote: »
    She may not have needed to wear a mask depending on the circumstances at the time. You can't just make grand pronouncements like that.

There is a global shortage on PPE. Access and use needs to be prioritised and usage needs to be responsible given the circumstances. This is HPSC guidance.

Even in the acute hospitals we can only wear masks when dealing with a suspected or confirmed case. Unfortunately it isn't possible now to put on a mask when going to every patient.

And you had no problem going ahead with what they said if it meant you looked edgy on social media but now they're a bunch of morons. Odd.

As I said, people like you are the reason we have the figures we currently have in this country.

Hahaha, were you asleep for the past ten years?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

I mean. Surely it is better to shout at them to move on and have them move on. Now you could have had it spread to the gards on further throughout the force if they go in batons swinging? Seems silly if people are moving on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Fruks

Large indoor gatherings. There were 4 people in the entire pub (me, another local lad I know to say hello to and a couple), 6 if you include staff. They had removed most chairs, so you'd no choice but to sit 2-3 or more metres apart.

I'd love to see where I said govt advice was "scaremongering". If you've to make stuff up, you're losing.

Really, yeah? This is what you actually said, on 19 March:-

“Same. Was out for Cheltenham Thursday and Friday, as was most of the town, pub was packed. Was at my aunts 70th in a local pub on Saturday and went for food and a few pints on Sunday.

Since Monday it’s been boring af though. Worked on Monday, went for a spin with a mate on Tuesday and Weds, was meant to be a Paddys Day party on Tues but my mate broke up with his bird and cancelled it, although got a Mickey Ds and had a stroll around a shopping centre and for a few games in case there is a lockdown. Back to work again today and tomorrow. Not looking forward to the weekend”.

Maybe they should have tased you when you went to the pub and tried to laugh this whole thing off. Or maybe you think disproportional authoritarian reactions are only for people in groups you don't like.

When I was following the HSE and govt advice?? Why would they do that?? Logic not your strong point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

What did you say, couldn't hear you?

My point being; Amazing the way headaches like Briexit & Global warming have faded into the background, while Covid-19 has emerged from the background into the HEADLINE news while Brexit & Global warming have faded away.
    ...for the time being anyway.

Hahaha, were you asleep for the past ten years?? :rolleyes:

I don't care what happened in the past 10 years, you quite happily went along with the guidelines at the time ya big edgelord ya.

You agreed that what you were told was OK despite all the evidence disagreeing with it. Pints were more important to you than keeping your distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

whiskeyman wrote: »
    MAGA MAGA white thing!

Fruks wrote: »
    Really, yeah? This is what you actually said, on 19 March:-

“Same. Was out for Cheltenham Thursday and Friday, as was most of the town, pub was packed. Was at my aunts 70th in a local pub on Saturday and went for food and a few pints on Sunday.

Since Monday it’s been boring af though. Worked on Monday, went for a spin with a mate on Tuesday and Weds, was meant to be a Paddys Day party on Tues but my mate broke up with his bird and cancelled it, although got a Mickey Ds and had a stroll around a shopping centre and for a few games in case there is a lockdown. Back to work again today and tomorrow. Not looking forward to the weekend”.

"Scaremongering" you said.

Times I said scaremongering: 0.

Bravo. :rolleyes:

6 people in the pub and you described it as a Christmas Eve vibe? Weird way to characterize it. You called the reaction to Covid "scaremongering" in that very post. Maybe you meant everyone's reaction except the government. You weren't very specific. Maybe you should consider your words more carefully when the stakes are high though.