Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,702 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

USA and Europe Should be compared as a whole, not USA v Spain or Italy.
    Europe is far ahead in cases and deaths than USA

10 deaths today is terrible, but people need to realise that for the past two weeks and for the next couple of months we are fighting the battle between thousands of deaths and 10’s is thousands of deaths. It may not be comfortable for people to face this but it is reality. This is why we have taken the measures we have taken. And if we had shut air space in February we may have delayed things, but inevitably this was coming in the absence of a vaccine. What we need to see now are nationwide adherence to the restrictions for the next 6-8 weeks followed by vigilance for the following 12 months with the likelihood of 2 to 3 periods requiring a return to current restriction levels during that time to minimize the impact as much as possible.
    There was never a way we were going to avoid this. And skiers or Cheltenham punters or whoever you choose to blame are not responsible. This is a global pandemic of a virus to which we have natural immunity, An it is now endemic in every country in Europe and much of the world. It was coming here one way or another. Now the fight is to minimise the impact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I thought gatherings ere to be limited to 4, Is there any point on ringing the Gardai on a large group of kids out?, I'd imagine they're stretched pretty thin atm, why isn't there a curfew?
    Gardai should 100% be called. If their parents can't control them someone else has to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Mirium and her political broadcast for her bro at it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,194 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Where any of the deaths related to the nursing home in the east?

Is there a home in the East as well as one in the South?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Talk about timing, having this clown in at a time like this. Obama would have been the perfect man for this job.

Let's lick not Obama's arse, he made mistakes, notably his balls up in the Afghanistan war, drones etc. But yeah, Dubya aside, virtually every president in the past 100 years would better of than Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

cnocbui wrote: »
    When was the last time you got down on you knees and licked a street?

Kiss the tarmac after every journey!

Why do all the other countries do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭LasersGoPewPew

Trump alluded to the manipulated infection/death figures coming from China

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I do worry about fomite transmission, and also think it's being disregarded.

Re the disinfecting streets...it's the why I'm wondering about. Can understand hand level stuff...rails, statues, benches etc but the actual pavement, tarmac, grass...like you say I'm sure the levels are low...could it be more than optics?
    I doubt it L. I really do. Now I do take off my shoes when I get home and leave them on a matt soaked with bleach, but maybe I'm taking it too far. :eek::D But I would be shocked if roads and paths were a real risk.

And yes fomite transmission is a big thing, but fomite means any object humans interact with that can spread contagion. Roads are way down the list compared to door handles, cars, handrails, phones, keys, money, cards, wallets, purses, shopping, shared areas in apartment blocks etc.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,565 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

We are so slow at testing you can expect this figure to keep this my for some time yet.
    I think we are going to be lucky if the figure of infected people is under 100,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I thought gatherings ere to be limited to 4, Is there any point on ringing the Gardai on a large group of kids out?, I'd imagine they're stretched pretty thin atm, why isn't there a curfew?

You could ring your local station (rather than 999) and give them the option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Pence is behind him. I'd say he's wanting the ground to open up and swallow Trump
    Pence a nutter too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Tandey

And the winner of the most unnecessarily spikey and pedantic post goes to.......

Whatever floats your boat man.

Question still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

USA and Europe Should be compared as a whole, not USA v Spain or Italy.
    Europe is far ahead in cases and deaths than USA

Europe consists of different countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Pence is behind him. I'd say he's wanting the ground to open up and swallow Trump

Pence is like one of those nodding dog toys people used to put in their car rear windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Talk about timing, having this clown in at a time like this. Obama would have been the perfect man for this job.

Explain why you think Obama would have been perfect for this job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

255 new cases! Time for people to get the message: stay at home, buy groceries once a week.

Your right but everytime I hear the "we are doing grand phrase" it annoys me.

There is absolutely Zero and I mean Zero room for complacency on this as long as other countries have active cases.

10 deaths today is terrible, but people need to realise that for the past two weeks and for the next couple of months we are fighting the battle between thousands of deaths and 10’s is thousands of deaths. It may not be comfortable for people to face this but it is reality. This is why we have taken the measures we have taken. And if we had shut air space in February we may have delayed things, but inevitably this was coming in the absence of a vaccine. What we need to see now are nationwide adherence to the restrictions for the next 6-8 weeks followed by vigilance for the following 12 months with the likelihood of 2 to 3 periods requiring a return to current restriction levels during that time to minimize the impact as much as possible.
    There was never a way we were going to avoid this. And skiers or Cheltenham punters or whoever you choose to blame are not responsible. This is a global pandemic of a virus to which we have natural immunity, An it is now endemic in every country in Europe and much of the world. It was coming here one way or another. Now the fight is to minimise the impact

Stay at home.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Trump alluded to the manipulated infection/death figures coming from China
    My major concern beyond the obvious about this pandemic is when it gets worse in certain regions, moronic hotheads like Trump could kick off an actual war.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

He's coherent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,194 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RogerThis wrote: »
    In the briefing, Dr Tony Holohan said that about 1000 deaths are contributed to flu in a normal flu season in Ireland.

I really did not know this :o

I hear of people, older, dying of pneumonia a few etc.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Pence a nutter too.

Couldn't be as bad as his boss though, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

MD1990 wrote: »
    time to stop all non essential work now I think

Too many cases in Dublin now & ICU's (49)

Hopefully stores can start delivering groceries for people
    protection for social care staff would probably make more of a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is there a home in the East as well as one in the South?

There are many care/nursing homes.

9 deaths in the East
    1 in the South

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Yurt! wrote: »
    This is bringing out the worst in Trump. He's disgracing himself in ways I thought weren't possible

And yet his approval rating is at the highest of his presidency.

Stay at home.
    +10000000 as I noted in another thread: I mean how fcuking hard is it for these morons? Stay the fcuk away from other people you don't live with. It's that fcuking simple and it is literally a matter of life and death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

RogerThis wrote: »
    In the briefing, Dr Tony Holohan said that about 1000 deaths are contributed to flu in a normal flu season in Ireland.

HSE website says between 200-500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Because he comes across as compassionate, calm and reassuring.

But Obama's strength was his eloquent speeches, his actions weren't as impressive sometimes.

I don't know how much better Obama would be on the ground, but he would at least give the impression he cared for the American people rather than not looking primarily concerned about the stock market.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Re the disinfecting streets...it's the why I'm wondering about. Can understand hand level stuff...rails, statues, benches etc but the actual pavement, tarmac, grass...like you say I'm sure the levels are low...could it be more than optics?

You walk. You come home and you either walk into your house with your shoes on, or you take off your shoes at the door or you put them in a press. Using your hands. You immediately wash your hands. But your shoes are indoors now. You walk around in your socks, or your slippers. You curl up on the couch to watch telly. You touch your toes because your feet are sore/cold. Will you remember you walked where your shoes where? You change the channel using the remote. You get up, make a cuppa, switch on a kettle, open the press to take out a mug.

Or, you bring your dog for a walk. You come home, give your dog a cuddle, touch his paws, let him lick your face. You wash your hands. Ten minutes later, when he's begging for a treat or another cuddle or he wants to jump on your bed or on the couch, wil you remember his paws walked on that street and dragged whatever was out there inside with him?

Do you see where I'm going with this? There's a reason why spitting was banned (and even fined, in some countries) when TB was rampant.

Your guard is lower when you're at home. How many times do you touch your face?