Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

givyjoe wrote: »
    No, im talking about testing as many people as possible and continuing to try and ramp up the capacity. It quite clearly isn't a waste of resources if potentially 50% of cases show no symptoms, which means it will never be under control. We'll instead go through endless cycles of lockdown and easing of measures. There are no guarantees re: vaccines.

I should add, not looking for/testing for asymptomatic cases, puts those very same at risk people in danger.

That's what your looking at anyway if a suppressive/mitigation strategy is going to be followed. ICU capacity will govern things going forward. Raise in ICU admissions above a certain level triggers measures like closing schools/uni's etc. I can see a very disruptive couple of years for the education sector ahead.

https://www.imperial.ac.uk/media/imperial-college/medicine/sph/ide/gida-fellowships/Imperial-College-COVID19-NPI-modelling-16-03-2020.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

kowloon wrote: »
    Filing that away for use later on.

If anyone is looking for something to do without spending https://archive.org/ has free collections of books, audiobooks, music and games; they're all free.

Another good source for free books is https://www.gutenberg.org/.

And your local library (if you're not already a member, contact them and you should be able to get all signed up online). This will give you access to tons of new (and old) audiobooks, ebooks, magazines, and lots more through various apps (Borrowbox, etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Maybe if they stopped invading countries, took some of that astronomical military budget and used it for the good of its people it might walk away from this in somewhat of a better position

But they're spreading freedom all around the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

zinfandel wrote: »
    so much for self isolating due to underlying conditions , I managed to get a slot for home delivery of groceries for tomorrow which I made 13 days ago, I ordered enough to last us the next 2 weeks and made what I had at home last until today .
    The order has just been cancelled, this will now force us back out into the wild, feel like crying.....

Very sorry to hear that. Take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,402 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm convinced that's what this coccon tactic that Leo and Boris have come out with is

They know there is only so long they can provide all this social welfare relief as well as pay pensions and most importantly keep the HSE going in current restrictions without completly seeing some or all taking drastic cuts after a few months

I think they know they'll have to get the working age population back out there and take their chances trying to use the cocoon strategy to protect the vulrenable

Don't ask me what the solution for worker and vulrenable mixed household will be

I was listening to someone on CNN last night saying the current strategy of smashing down the virus is the correct one from the point of view of the global economy. Letting the virus run riot and opening the economy up would mean you would have huge numbers of workers off sick and inefficiency and delays creeping in everywhere (and the health service overloaded in every country).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,375 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

The US posts its worst ever unemployment data and yet the Dow Jones is rallying! Dead cat bounce?

No, the US Gov has just announced giving away US$ 2,200,000,000,000 to big business mainly. That is an awful lot of money that is bound to benefit the wealthy people that own shares.

Also Trump has said all will be back to normal by Easter.

Why would any one doubt that the future looks rosy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

The US posts its worst ever unemployment data and yet the Dow Jones is rallying! Dead cat bounce?

No, it's because Wall st just sent a couple runners out in search of much needed supplies and the euphoria set in when they came back with a couple pallets of the magic stuff.

Money-TP.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

so much for self isolating due to underlying conditions , I managed to get a slot for home delivery of groceries for tomorrow which I made 13 days ago, I ordered enough to last us the next 2 weeks and made what I had at home last until today .
    The order has just been cancelled, this will now force us back out into the wild, feel like crying.....

Are the offering click and collect or similar? There are many outreach groups offering to do the collection part of click and collect and leave it outside your house resulting in no contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,590 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Owl Dr. Harry Barry’s gone very quiet...

Remember Harry a few weeks back on the Late Late...

Nora’ bother, lads. We be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

No, the US Gov has just announced giving away US$ 2,200,000,000,000 to big business mainly. That is an awful lot of money that is bound to benefit the wealthy people that own shares.

May have been asked already but we were watching a US hospital drama last night and health insurance and lack of came up - what will happen to those people in the US who do not have health insurance? Will they be treated and risk running up huge bills or just ride it out at home and hope for the best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Let me just remind you why Northern Ireland has surpassed the ROI in terms of deaths and why it might disproportionalety have a higher number of fatalities unfortunately.
    image.png
    Some of it is to with the UK governments sluggish response to close schools and enact herding early on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,590 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Almost 500 deaths in Spain today..is that their highest? 498

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭francie81

Ok I got a question. Should you wash every grocery item in avoiding possible infection because my head is being done in with this am thinking this is extreme :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

The USA moves into 2nd place for cases... looks like they'll move into 1st place by the end of today.

walshb wrote: »

They had 680 and 656 in the past two days. Spain has a rolling update this is not done yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

government stimulus is not going to keep this going surely

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

walshb wrote: »

No, they had 738 in the previous 24 hour period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,190 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

What an arsehole:

eamxdQt.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

But if Covid19 comes back next winter in a different strain, will the vaccine be for nothing ?

No! The flu virus develops different strains and science adapts. If we find a coronavirus vaccine for the current strain, then we can work off that vaccine if the virus mutates. And though it's early days, it seems that the coronavirus is slow to mutate which also buys us time.

The USA moves into 2nd place for cases... looks like they'll move into 1st place by the end of today.

In comparison to European countries they always were, 330 million, which is closer to the population of the entire Schengen zone (420 million) than any individual European country.

Its mortality rate isn't too bad though relative to their population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭megatron989

francie81 wrote: »
    Ok I got a question. Should you wash every grocery item in avoiding possible infection because my head is being done in with this am thinking this is extreme :rolleyes:

We wipe down all our items once we get home. No telling who's handled them, kids touch everything in shops for example. People root through items like crazys looking for diamonds. Shops are weird places if you've ever worked retail.
    So yeah I'd recommend an oul wipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

The south of Italy next to be the Italian epicentre I read

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭zinfandel

Are the offering click and collect or similar? There are many outreach groups offering to do the collection part of click and collect and leave it outside your house resulting in no contact.

nope they wont even do click and collect, I asked if I could drive up and have it put in the boot, but no they said they are not set up for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,951 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

In comparison to European countries they always were, 330 million, which is closer to the population of the entire Schengen zone (420 million) than any individual European country.

Its mortality rate isn't too bad though relative to their population.

Ye I don't get why nay one is surprised give the population ,

That said the likes of India will blown the States out of the water when **** hits the fan there ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I'm not surprised though. Apart from a few of the small city states, the Netherlands is the most densely populated country in Europe (a useless fact I did actually know before all this started).

Weren't they also adhering to the debunked "Herd Immunity" strategy along with the Brits a few weeks ago? I think their PM went on TV about it

The physical stores are generally quite well stocked. Is there someone who can do a shop for you? And leave it outside your door? Whereabouts in the country are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Got the same from tesco yesterday, delivery between 8am-10am, text at 9.30 saying cancelled. Got slots booked for the next 3 weeks due to my daughter being a transplant recipient - cant get thru to them to ask will this happen every week. :(

where are you based?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

You know what I find interesting only 13 of the 30 had a cough, even if 13 of the 23 needing ICU were those that leaves 10 without cough in ICU

I would have thought nearly all ICU form this would have the cough as I assumed the lungs being effected would be the main thing and need oxygen and ventilator etc. I wonder if they 10 had underlying conditions that contributed to needing the ICU

Yeah I wonder .... Probably had underlying conditions. Everyone will be grand.