Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

mosii wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJlLVpJu7ZQ

Spreading exponentially ,its going to be a long few months,take care everybody.

Interesting video. Says to drink plenty of fluids (water etc) in order to combat thickening of the mucus in the lungs. He's blunt about smokers: just stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

Was in Tesco Rathmines today and in the carpark people were disposing of crate loads of beer bottles. Clearly people are taking the opportunity to have house parties!

Couples out walking two abrest holding hands making it impossible for others to observe 2 metres social distance while passing.

Irish people are incapable of doing the right thing unless the Guards force them to. Gombeen nation.

Can't read anything into that.

I've a **** load of empty beer cans and bottles, whiskey bottles and coke cans in the garage, all ready for the bottle banks, built up over the last 2 months. I've not had anyone over to my house since Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

john_doe. wrote: »
    :( This thing is frightening.

Everyone prob reads the underlining health news or elderly and thinks it wont get them , but the disease is dangerous and can take anyone.

That is so sad, not looking great for the UK.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭JP100

I see today's briefing is due to take place at 7.30pm. I wonder why they haven't one regular time for these announcements but instead have different times pretty much every other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Mate. You obviously have never worked in a hospital. To look after a patient on a ventilator, you need specialist training. Tell me how you manage PEEP in a mechanically ventilated patient if it's so easy.

Is it more complicated than someone needing a ventilator to survive, but not having any free to give them?

Like that spanish doc on twitter, who had to take a ventilator off a 65yo patient... so he could give it to a young kid?

That's a whole different type of complicated... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

We've just being getting our weekly shop lately and some people will come up to you and say are ye stocking up or panic buying?
    Local Centra looks like a F1 track with red stripes everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

jim-mcdee wrote: »
    I have had mild symptoms last 5 days that are starting to clear up. Anyone know if it's possible to pay for a test as mine has been cancelled I think. I would like to get back to work if I don't have it and would like to have some idea of I have some immunity. Thanks

See out the isolation period, talk to your gp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭john_doe.

That is so sad, not looking great for the UK.

ya shocking it can kill a 21 year old with no health issues.
    people think maybe she had something, but really this thing can just bloody kill you irrelevant of the age or condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

To be quite honest, the vast amounts of beer bottles arriving at those bottle banks would tend to indicate there were a spate of house parties because the pubs are closed. You can be damn sure of it.

We have a huge issue with alcohol and inability to cop on, as do many countries, but I think there was definitely a spate of people being stupid.

There's no way around that and people need to cop on immediately. This stuff isn't some kind of joke or conspiracy to spoil their fun. The fact that we've all had to take these steps, even if they destroy the economy, should be signal enough that it's INCREDIBLY SERIOUS.

On the plus side, the transmission rates do seem to have gone down and the number of contacts people are coming up with have been cut drastically, so the message is clearly getting through in a large way.

I think we need to get the message across more clearly on how social distancing actually works and what it aims to achieve too. There' a lot of mythology going around out there and it's not all coming from Ireland either. The communications elsewhere are terrible.

If you explain it clearly and give people an object to achieve, then it starts to work.

In a lot of the world it seems to be being interpreted as an arbitrary use of lockdown powers, particularly in the way it's being picked up on social media by some in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

God knows how many PCR machines we have in the state with all of the Pharma / biotech companies here? Tweet below saying Trinity have one. Are we really using all of our available resources

Why would pharma have loads of PCR machines? They aren’t needed by anyone I have ever worked for.
    The university’s research labs have them however they do not maintain, calibrate and validate their equipment the same way as a hospital or industry does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

I'll post what I want, its blood boiling, one minute hes looking for nurses personal details, the next hes having a dig at the people trying to move the country through this. What's that jumped up tosser ever done here ?
    Get real, the man is on a pure agenda run.

What have I done, as a private citizen I've obeyed the social distancing, I stay home as much as possible, I've made myself available to volunteer groups locally and I've signed up to volunteer to the HSE.

And you?

With an autoimmune problem I'm staying at home because I am high risk along with my 2 elderly parents.

Good for you if you are volunteering but I'm sure most of us don't want to hear your constant complaining about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1126361/?__twitter_impression=true

NI testing only around 40 people per day and moving to 1000 soon.

I presume they're only testing those in hosptial same as the uk ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

spookwoman wrote: »
    With an autoimmune problem I'm staying at home because I am high risk along with my 2 elderly parents.

Good for you if you are volunteering but I'm sure most of us don't want to hear your constant complaining about him.

Best wishes to you and your parents, stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

JP100 wrote: »
    I see today's briefing is due to take place at 7.30pm. I wonder why they haven't one regular time for these announcements but instead have different times pretty much every other day.

Probably because the work they are doing behind the scenes and the meetings going on are far more important than giving us a brief at the same time every day.
    Which they are correct about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

bekker wrote: »
    Italy Dead/Resolved 7,503/9,362 = 44.49%, within the 44.+>45.+% for the last 10 days or more.

When is Italy predicted to reach the peak of their cases?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Well, that shows why so many healthcare workers are being infected. They are treating people of varying severity of the disease all day long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Vile vermin coughing in peoples faces. Should be kicked to bits. Dragged up scum.

Fair play to Tommy Robinson the other day battering a few youths who did it to an old couple. Need the same attitude in this country.

Is it more complicated than someone needing a ventilator to survive, but not having any free to give them?

Like that spanish doc on twitter, who had to take a ventilator off a 65yo patient... so he could give it to a young kid?

That's a whole different type of complicated... :(

If you have ventilators and they are improperly managed, a patient may die due to the mismanagement of them (due to lack of training). I'm not saying that ventilators aren't essential. I'm just saying that the number of ventilators we have is more than the number of suitably trained health care professionals who are needed to make the equipment work effectively.

Issues that can arise from been on a ventilator: Basis, pneumothorax, ventilator lung injury, alveolar damage. These are not easily recognised by untrained staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

fritzelly wrote: »
    Why don't you just spell out your agenda against the government - instead of searching for every twitter post trying to feed it
    Maybe the conspiracy forum would be more suited to your ramblings

Haha love it.

This morning I was told no problem with PPE. Where's you're proof? Now I've an antigovernment agenda. I don't. I think they are doing a good job on the whole. Sending people to effectively die because they don't have adequate protection is like sending a soldier to fight a war without bullets or a rifle or a helmet.

We wouldn't stand for it. Although we have a high tolerance for spin. And I'm not talking about 103.8.

I've an anti bull**** / antihorse**** / antifvckwit agenda. Guilty as charged. I'm blessed that I can count. The testing thing looked great. Oh we have naval ship on the Liffey etc. It's all PR spin to keep extend and pretend. What was point of taking samples if we can't process them.

https://twitter.com/handyman1543/status/1242776686749499394?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Well, that shows why so many healthcare workers are being infected. They are treating people of varying severity of the disease all day long.

Or they're in contact with people showing no symptoms like other doctors and nurses. Cannot presume they are getting infected from patients

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

MOR316 wrote: »
    Can't read anything into that.

I've a **** load of empty beer cans and bottles, whiskey bottles and coke cans in the garage, all ready for the bottle banks, built up over the last 2 months. I've had not had anyone over to my house since Christmas

Yeah so true. People are so quick to judge other people. Like someone might want to go to Smyths to buy a playsation game for their child so they can get some peace while they work from home. Or go to woodies to buy some paint to pass the time because they've not been out or to see their family or friends for weeks now.
    I've done both of these. I've also went for a walk on the beach. But everyone of these things I've kept more than my distance from other people. I've sanatized everything and I've went back home afterwards. I'm so tired of the calling people out when you don't know what precautions people are taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,068 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

GM228 wrote: »
    Tuesday, March 03, 2020 - 02:35 PM

The ill-wind of coronavirus has blow a jobs bonanza to a Co. Limerick company.

Due to a worldwide shortage of face masks, even the Chinese are queuing up to purchase masks made by Irema in Kilmallock..

Irema, a wholly-owned Irish company, is busy recruiting new workers as it has to double output over the next week..

Marketing manager, Kieran O'Brien said: "We have a full time workforce of 50 and because of the worldwide demands for face masks we are in the process of adding another 15 as we need to ramp up our operation from 24/5 to 24/7. The last time we had to ramp up was when the Sars virus struck in 2003. "

Irema exports most of its masks internationally to Western Europe and the Middle East,

It also sells a certain percentage of its product to China
    which is finding it hard to keep up stocks from its own manufacturers.

Mr O'Brien said: "Up to now we would manufacture about 1.3 million masks a week and with demand due to the coronavirus we will need to double output to 2.6 million masks a week.

"We supply the HSE with surgical face masks and also supply many manufacturing companies which need to have a clean room work environment. We make two types of face mask: a surgical and a respirator.

"We make masks for international companies which market them under their brands and we also have our own brand 'Facemate'."

Contrast the Irish governments apparent innaction with the German governments. who's health system is in a vastly better position then the HSE, to start with:
    A diplomatic spat has erupted between Germany and neighbors Switzerland and Austria over a decision last week by Chancellor Angela Merkel’s government to ban most exports of protective medical equipment.

Switzerland has called in the German ambassador to complain about the decision to block a shipment of 240,000 face masks, while Austria’s economy minister demanded her German counterpart order the release of supplies destined for her country.

The appeals for Germany to be more generous in sharing vital supplies with its neighbors come after it declared an export ban of medical protection gear last week unless for use in aid operations. They also highlight growing tensions among European countries amid a rapidly increasing count of coronavirus cases across the continent.
    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-03-09/germany-faces-backlash-from-neighbors-over-mask-export-ban

And India:
    NEW DELHI: Indian manufacturers of the N95 respirators masks are in a bind, with the government banning exports in anticipation of an increase in domestic demand due to the coronavirus scare.

There are only two companies in India that manufacture these N95 respirators that have largely been exported for industrial usage to countries in Europe, the Middle East and the US for the last 20-25 years.

Indians are using these as a preventive measure against the virus. But the prospect ..

Read more at:
    https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/foreign-trade/exports-ban-ties-hands-of-n95-mask-producers/articleshow/74091865.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

And France:
    Countries including Germany, France and the Czech Republic have announced bans on exports of protective gear to avoid shortages at home, measures that go against the spirit of free movement of goods within the EU.

Irish government doesn't mind health workers potentially dying in this country while companies are seemingly allowed to export life saving protective equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

mohawk wrote: »
    Why would pharma have loads of PCR machines? They aren’t needed by anyone I have ever worked for.
    The university’s research labs have them however they do not maintain, calibrate and validate their equipment the same way as a hospital or industry does.

So we do have them and now they are not calibrated. Seriously FFS. Why would we not use them. Here's a mad idea. Let's calibrate them and put them to a better use than someone's Phd thesis.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I have had mild symptoms last 5 days that are starting to clear up. Anyone know if it's possible to pay for a test as mine has been cancelled I think. I would like to get back to work if I don't have it and would like to have some idea of I have some immunity. Thanks

The test won't tell you that - It's just a snap shot in time . Positive/Negative at the time of the test , that's all

It's an antibody test that's required to see if you've had it before and recovered - Don't think they are readily available if at all at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

I'll post what I want, its blood boiling, one minute hes looking for nurses personal details, the next hes having a dig at the people trying to move the country through this. What's that jumped up tosser ever done here ?
    Get real, the man is on a pure agenda run.

What have I done, as a private citizen I've obeyed the social distancing, I stay home as much as possible, I've made myself available to volunteer groups locally and I've signed up to volunteer to the HSE.

And you?

I agree with you he is a tool , but it's his arrogance that gets me like trump hes just an echo chamber repeating what people actually doing the job are saying and passing it off as his own idea.. I can't help but think hes position himself for some future gain , a smug Steve jobs meets trump . Get off the stage people are doing it stop pointing g at the obvious it's not helping ( anything but his own massive ego )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    I'll say it again. Population density and the amount of people in a country will come into play here. The potential for growth in countries with a smaller population just isn't there. Our population although more urbanised than in the past still has a large amount of people living in small towns and rural villages. There's a natural social distancing that comes with that.

Absolutely. Population density is key, IMO. I knew that the Netherlands and UK had much higher population densities than us but I’ve learned that many other European countries do too.

There's probably an argument to build prefab accommodation blocks with individual dressing areas and wash down facilities, or commandeer hotels with ensuits near hospitals and ensure that medical staff have the appropriate facilities to ensure they are able to keep themselves safe and not cross contaminate each other too.

They need breaks and need space to keep themselves safe etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭CitizenFloor

Im not sure if Ireland is doing the antibody test, or if its the antigen test. Only the former will tell you if you have immunity, if you are no longer positive for the virus (Disclaimer: This is just my understanding - Not a doctor)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,068 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

If you have ventilators and they are improperly managed, a patient may die due to the mismanagement of them (due to lack of training). I'm not saying that ventilators aren't essential. I'm just saying that the number of ventilators we have is more than the number of suitably trained health care professionals who are needed to make the equipment work effectively.

Have you seen those radio headsets they use in Lidl/Aldi? I think one respirator expert could supervise at least 3-4 other less well trained personnel by using such equipment.

Absolutely. Population density is key, IMO. I knew that the Netherlands and UK had much higher population densities than us but I’ve learned that many other European countries do too.

Also while I know we've overcrowded accommodation due to the housing crisis the majority of Irish urban housing is fairly spacious suburban individual homes. That's not the case in a lot of the big cities of the world.

When you think of the challenges China faced (and I know China fairly well) - you've dense apartment complexes, shared washing facilities in some cases and by western standards, sanitation isn't great especially things like public toilets etc. It's improved but you can see how big a challenge they had to overcome to contain this.

It just shows in the medium to long term we need to ensure that we see housing as infrastructure, not just a commodity.

I'm not going to get political on this, but it just is something to bear in mind that a lot of our slum clearance projects and all of those improvements were done in the late 19th to mid 20th century with the idea of eliminating TB, polio and other transmissible diseases which spread like wildfire in overcrowded tenement housing.

While it was far worse than modern over crowding, you can see the logic of it now in a pandemic situation.