Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

saabsaab wrote: »
    I was showing how numbers can add up but the Supermarket is a risk.

How many unsanitized items does the checkout operator handle?

Are they wearing and changing gloves?

Do they all use sanitizer after each customer?

Does everyone keep their distance in the shop?

If you pay by cash how many have handled it beforehand or if by pin is that cleaned each time?
    Is the store wiping down the trollies?

I know that all of the above are are risk items and care not being taken all the time. Any cases resulting would be nigh impossible to

prove and classed as community transmission.

Fully Agree - I always make it a point of telling them how much I appreciate
    what they are doing. As far as I am concerned they are front line- just as much as health workers. Delighted they got a 10% bonus. Wasn't enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

This isn't aimed at you but I'm going to try and describe what I think is happening.

Every county in Ireland has 100 people who are particularly vulnerable. These are the ICU / deaths.

Week 1: It spreads a bit. Slow because of the incubation period.
    Week 2: More people have it. Some people see their parents and give it to them. Small increase in pneumonia etc.
    Week 3: A lot more people have it. Still mostly spreading it around the working age population.
    .. Very few of the 100 extremely vulnerable in each county have been exposed.
    Week 10: Loads and loads of people have it. People still barely even know about what this thing is. Now, these people see their parents, and unfortunately, there is simply so many people who have it that the extremely vulnerable start getting it from their kids and from each other.

It just makes sense to me right now that that is how it went down. Time will tell.

I think that's more or less what happens. It's how seriously and how quickly countries react that determines how health services can cope. Every country in the world is in trouble. However, by comparison to other western countries Britain, and to a greater degree the US, are unfortunately in deep sh1t.

wakka12 wrote: »
    11 passengers died on the cruise ship with 15 more still in a serious condition and over 100 hundred cases still active, I think it is astounding that this is still being compared to a flu. And the cruise ship was not full of geriatrics, average age of 58. Also 1/3 of the people on board were workers, presumably exclusively under 65

And yes those reasons you listed will be large contributors to why it has been so devastating so far. But the main reason it is causing a lot of deaths is because it kills elderly and vulnerable people in far larger numbers than flu does

I'm not comparing it to the flu. I said in the future, the estimated death rate could be similar. Pneumonia is very dangerous for old people, and therefore it's more lethal for them. My point is centered on how it got to those old people.. ie. massive rates of infection.

I'm not really sure why you're so against this notion. I mean, if you were a betting man, would you say Covid reach Italy from China in December or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Sure there's not groups of 4 people there so it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,143 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

vladmydad wrote: »

That's only been posted about 10 times today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

It's not great that we cant get test done faster so that we can identify the people with the virus. This slow testing does have an upside, those that are waiting for results at least 40000 it seems will most likely self isolate and stay out of harms way. Only a small % will be positive but we will see have the benefit of those of the 40000 that are not infected not moving around and being exposed to the virus.

You've really got to wonder about all of the idiots who came back from Spain etc. Whether they've had the cop on to self isolate when they didn't have the cop on two weeks previous to not go abroad.
    Spain is becoming a real European worry now. Some of that worry must be coming our way also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,182 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Trump looks baffled.

ET6gxEfUMAE5KLS?format=jpg&name=small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

MipMap wrote: »
    Fully Agree - I always make it a point of telling them how much I appreciate
    what they are doing. As far as I am concerned they are front line- just as much as health workers. Delighted they got a 10% bonus. Wasn't enough.

Can fortunately get a delivery. First time for everything. Not sure about the logistics of it all, ie taking the boxes in and all that, but better than going out to the supermarket if I don't have to.

Will give a tip to the delivery guy/girl but don't know if they are allowed to accept. They are doing sterling work, and should all get time and a half for every hour they are working. Supermarkets are really the only business that most of us absolutely need, and they are creaming it.

I have already sent an email to the shop I use about rewarding their staff, await a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,559 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You know it's ludicrous in here where people are blaming Trump for everything but it's poor Italy and poor Spain and not a word about their leaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

An Ri rua wrote: »
    You've really got to wonder about all of the idiots who came back from Spain etc. Whether they've had the cop on to self isolate when they didn't have the cop on two weeks previous to not go abroad.
    Spain is becoming a real European worry now. Some of that worry must be coming our way also.

Some of the worry coming our way such as what exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

saabsaab wrote: »
    I was showing how numbers can add up but the Supermarket is a risk.

How many unsanitized items does the checkout operator handle?

Are they wearing and changing gloves?

Do they all use sanitizer after each customer?

Does everyone keep their distance in the shop?

If you pay by cash how many have handled it beforehand or if by pin is that cleaned each time?
    Is the store wiping down the trollies?

I know that all of the above are are risk items and care not being taken all the time. Any cases resulting would be nigh impossible to

prove and classed as community transmission.

If a checkout operator is using sanitiser after each customer why would they need gloves?

Customers should be using contactless as requested. Ideally phone's with Apple or Google Pay as €30 does not apply, accept for Tesco which archaic.

Also, most supermarkets have now put up pespex screens at the checkouts.

I think all supermarkets apart from Aldi have done decent jobs and are controlling crowds.
    Up to the public now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

eagle eye wrote: »
    You know it's ludicrous in here where people are blaming Trump for everything but it's poor Italy and poor Spain and not a word about their leaders.

TDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I never said it wasnt old , I said there are many other countries in Europe and Asia with comparable age demographics. The way its phrased, is as if this is just a problem for Italy, its only bad there because they have such an old population, when almost all of Europe has an enormous over 65+ demographic exactly like Italy

Sure. But Italy had a cluster that they couldn't get under control. Add in their unusually elderly population and you have a serious problem. The median age in Italy is 47. For example, in Ireland it is 36.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭The Hound Gone Wild

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I use Zovirax for cold sores

Yep. Cold sores are caused by a herpes virus.

PS don't bother with ziovirax, it's €10 a tube and there's almost no evidence it does anything. It's a waste tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,182 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Lived in Spain For 20 years.
    They are fantastic people. When it is our turn they will flock to assist us
    because that is the way they are. We are all Europeans and we need to stick together.

eagle eye wrote: »

Becuase their leaders are doing their best in very difficult circumstances and were very quickly overwhelmed by the virus.

Trump delayed, denied and sneered at the virus. Refused to take action.

Played politics with it by calling it a Chinese virus or saying this is why they need borders.

Then he eventually had to back down as the numbers started ramping up. Assembled a team, huddle them all together on stage, shook hands with them al, whilst suspected of carrying the virus and pronounced what a great job he's done and gave himself a 10.

Now he's talking about stopping restrictions and claims they have a cure ready.

The man is dangerous, cares only about the economy and money and his hubris is costing people lies.

Spanish and Italian leaders are not like this, they're doing their best under extraordinary circumstances . They made mistakes but that is to be expected.

They''ve not made decisions that deliberately costs lives. Massive difference to Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

I never said it wasnt old , I said there are many other countries in Europe and Asia with comparable age demographics. The way its phrased, is as if this is just a problem for Italy, its only bad there because they have such an old population, when almost all of Europe has an enormous over 65+ demographic exactly like Italy

Yes, but Italy has multi-generational families living under the one roof and/or keeping in very close contact. Its another factor working against them to keep in mind.

Again people making massive deal about tiny numbers that are now coming into the country, mostly Irish citizens.

The virus is in our community now and spreading. That's where the fight should be.

People just to blame all the cases on those went to Cheltenham or Spain as if the infection rates were 100% there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,185 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is China retesting every few weeks or months?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

Yes. The province of Lombardy is not much bigger than the province of Leinster but has a population of over 10 million... Where so many of them appear to be living in pretty full apartments. We're pretty lucky in comparison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

Yes, but Italy has multi-generational families living under the one roof and/or keeping in very close contact. Its another factor working against them to keep in mind.

Yes it may be but shouldn’t make us complacent and I’m not suggesting you are saying that.I thought I read somewhere before that Ireland and UK have some of the smallest houses/ properties in Europe in terms of square feet or whatever. But true that multi generational families don’t tend to live together here.

Yeah, really big factor compared to say Ireland where people are living in Dublin away from their parents and having spent Christmas with them, aren't going home as much in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

murpho999 wrote: »
    Again people making massive deal about tiny numbers that are now coming into the country, mostly Irish citizens.

The virus is in our community now and spreading. That's where the fight should be.

People just to blame all the cases on those went to Cheltenham or Spain as if the infection rates were 100% there.

You went to Cheltenham didn’t you ?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is China retesting every few weeks or months?

You cannot depend on any information that comes out of China.

vladmydad wrote: »
    You went to Cheltenham didn’t you ?

No I didn't and it should never have gone ahead but the Brits were in denial than,

My point is though that people seem to think that every Irish person who came back was infected and they weren't. People are just looking for scapegoats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

MipMap wrote: »
    You cannot depend on any information that comes out of China.

That’s the worry.

I'm really confused. Is there a link to the new criteria for getting a test? I don't understand what qualifies you for a test.