CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Every time I see her tweeting about Trump I have an out-of-body cringe, she's largely to blame for him being in the White House.
    But yeah, slay queen etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    204 in ROI
    That is quite promising no? Less than increase y'day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Martina1991

techdiver wrote:
    Thanks for the reply. Sorry what I meat regarding the analysis of the test was not any Joe Soap from the street, I meant acquiring technicians from another lab environments that may not necessarily be diagnostic in nature. Still qualified but from a different line of business. (Perhaps that is what the HSE are attempting at the moment considering they wish to ramp up diagnosis?)
    What i meant about qualified personnel carrying out the testing is that it is only done by Medical Scientists that are accredited by the Academy of Medical Laboratory Scientists (AMLS).

Three college courses in the ROI are accredited. Those with other science related degrees arent accredited and therefore not qualified to perform testing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Not offended in the slightest nor am I upset

Just pisses me off to see public sector digs when in fact they are doing a great job at the moment

Yes the workers in the health sector are. No doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,552 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The bloke in charge of the web summit. Was asking personal details about one of the people who died yesterday as a foreign journalist had asked him about it. On his Twitter page.

Apparently they are trying to generate some sort of statistical info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

elperello wrote: »

looking to get system like this one set up
    https://www.againstcovid19.com/singapore/dashboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭darjeeling

So, I still can't understand this. Or maybe I can.

Britain 66 million.
    Ireland 5 million
    66/5= 13

Britain coronavirus deaths: 424
    Ireland coronavirus deaths: 7
    424/7= 60

Pro rata, Ireland should have 37 deaths.

What are we doing right or what are they doing wrong? Or what have they done wrong more likely.

My basic assumption is that often it's just a question of who's a few days ahead.
    We're doing pretty much the same stuff as the UK, France, Germany.
    Some places started a bit earlier, some a little later, none as late as Italy.

But I'm not aware of any country in Europe (bar Iceland?) or the US doing what's going to be needed to stop this.
    Instead we've dithered and been indecisive due to a desire not to damage the economy and a defeatist attitude that it's just going to spread anyway.
    We're now all looking at crises in our healthcare services and, ironically, a much bigger hit to the economy.

And still we're not doing what we need to do, which is what worked in S Korea.
    Movement restrictions are just one part - at the same time we have to start doing huge amounts of fast turnaround testing to find & isolate cases, then massive scale rapid contact tracing / alerting, isolation and testing.

The testing and contact tracing we are doing right now is happening slower than the virus is spreading, so we are never going to keep it under control.
    We need to get ahead of it.

Otherwise it's going to be one lockdown after another each time we start to lose control again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Exactly this.

A stupid retarded jingoism among their dreadful media and a post-election glee and distraction in Number 10 that totally and utterly let down ordinary people when they needed guidance and leadership.

In another few weeks they would soil themselves to exchange their problems for some Brexit consequences. Brexit will likely never matter again.

You are just engaging in brit bashing Larbre34, don't be pointing out the truth now, some posters here won't like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

samples good for 7-10 days confirmed.

stop spreading ****e lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Anyone know do other countries like the UK or USA do these daily press updates with the cheif medical officer like this aswell ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

I have to say I am extremely impressed with Tony Holohan who must be under tremendous pressure. His answer when he talked about the other consequences of the current crisis such as the effects on the mental health and the increase of alcohol consumption shows that he is looking at the current situation from a holistic viewpoint is very encouraging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

Rjd2 wrote: »
    As long as its not in a big group and you can keep a distance of 2 meteres go for it.:)

On the other hand -so to speak - a spot of self-isolation might be a useful stop-gap measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

froog wrote: »
    dublin is getting out of control. it should be locked down wuhan style.

And the virus seems to be spreading there too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I don't know if I want to catch this now and be looked after or try fight it and end up catching it in a few weeks anyways and be left on the hospital floor.

spookwoman wrote: »
    looking to get system like this one set up
    https://www.againstcovid19.com/singapore/dashboard

That's it.
    I don't know if it is a useful exercise but it's fashionable to hate PC so he's probably on a hiding to nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭Be right back

Who are? Foreign journalists? Not sure why they would contact Paddy C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Blueshoe wrote: »

Social welfare are doing well. Gardai and defence forces doing well. Courts Service still open for business too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,931 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Apparently 2/3rds of private hospital beds in Spain are empty right now. Just goes to show what a fantastic move the government made today.
    https://www.elsaltodiario.com/sanidad/1.500-camas-sanitarias-menos-desde-2012-en-madrid-la-sanidad-en-cifras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

darjeeling wrote: »
    My basic assumption is that often it's just a question of who's a few days ahead.

But I'm not aware of any country in Europe (bar Iceland?) or the US doing what's going to be needed to stop this.
    Instead we've dithered and been indecisive due to a desire not to damage the economy and a defeatist attitude that it's just going to spread anyway.
    We're now all looking at crises in our healthcare services and, ironically, a much bigger hit to the economy.

Movement restrictions are just one part - at the same time we have to start doing huge amounts of fast turnaround testing to find & isolate cases, then massive scale rapid contact tracing / alerting, isolation and testing.

The testing and contact tracing we are doing right now is happening slower than the virus is spreading, so we are never going to keep it under control.

Otherwise it's going to be one lockdown after another each time we start to lose control again.

Tis gas the people quibbling about the fecking economy when a pandemic is sweeping across the land. I reckon its a comfort mechanism for them, perpetuates the notion that some day they can go back to the selfish keeping up with the joneses craic they were at before the virus hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,622 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Absolutely

Social Protection, Revenue, Dept of Health all those in the background too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

blackcard wrote: »
    I have to say I am extremely impressed with Tony Holohan who must be under tremendous pressure. His answer when he talked about the other consequences of the current crisis such as the effects on the mental health and the increase of alcohol consumption shows that he is looking at the current situation from a holistic viewpoint is very encouraging

He should also mention those who are currently awaiting treatment for serious illnesses, who have had it delayed due to the virus. There mental health will also suffer greatly.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What's the current ICU number for ROI?

https://twitter.com/andyazi/status/1242554760202522627?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

darjeeling wrote: »

Couldn't have said it better myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

BluePlanet wrote: »
    For a time i was really getting interested in the Inuits, the native population of Greenland and Canada.
    Then i watched a documentary and they showed one of their delicacies.
    A load of lads hunker down behind rocks on this steep incline island with like butterfly nets on these long poles.
    Flocks of these small birds cruise by and the lads pop-up and snag one or two.
    They are all day at it.
    They stuff them into a seal skin sack..
    When the sack is full they stand on it to compress it, then stitch it up.
    Then they bury it among the stones.
    After a couple months they come back and bring the sack to the village.
    Open it up and take turns dipping their hand in, grabbing one of the now rotting birds and proceed to eat it whole.
    Narrator was like: yeah this one dinner that needs to be eaten outdoors!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kiviak

Is that real?

I found worse, much much worse. It's very bad. I couldn't watch it fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Well I've been redeployed to contact trace along with a load of others, what are you doing?

He should also mention those who are currently awaiting treatment for serious illnesses, who have had it delayed due to the virus. There mental health will also suffer greatly.

Good point and when Niall Breslin was trying to do something about it the smart crowd dismissed his efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,365 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Good point and when Nial Breslin was trying to do something about it the smart crowd dismissed his efforts.

That’s because that lad is a right dose himself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Off licences essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Yeah exactly. Let's say I'm in my house with my wife and 2 kids and have been working from home for 2 weeks, rarely gone for anything other than milk. If I get tested, they're my close contacts.

If you'd been to the supermarket/shop, would the staff be traced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

mariaalice wrote: »
    Are the numbers from those who had the test 5 days ago and diagnosed today as it is taking that long for the tests to come back i.e today's numbers are from the 19th?

I know somebody who got tested last Thursday. Results this week some time they were told - I got a message this evening - no result yet.