Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

frillyleaf wrote: »
    I do understand the lack of trust in the HSE but it’s very different experience being treated in a country where English is first language in my experience. Although most people in Spain speak English I was in a situation a few years ago where I needed to liaise with Spanish people and none of them spoke English. If was quite difficult and only for google translate I would have needed a translator to get the information I needed.

It’s easier to be at home if you have family that can help support you too. I hope anyone who chose to stay gets the support they need. That’s very hard on them
    When I was in hospital in Spain, treatment was excellent, and system functioned pretty smoothly.

But there was a requirement that if you didn't speak Spanish, you had to be accompanied by a Spanish speaker who could interpret between you and medical staff.

Luckily my fractured Spanish, and the fact that I came via the local centro de salud (who to be honest were pissed at my non-understanding of medical Spanish), led to the requirement being ignored and I was ambulanced to a full hospital about 30 minutes away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

The government signifying a willingness to spent 4 billion euro in order to keep employees from being unemployed/keep companies from going bankrupt is a really cool move, economically speaking. MacWilliams describes it as putting the economy in "hibernation" as opposed to letting it crash and then crash worse overtime as we reach 400,000 unemployed and businesses go broke. This way we get to avoid extremely negative shocks to the demand and supply side. Great movie in the right direction in terms of thinking what the state of the country will look like after the crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭accensi0n

They are only testing 2000 daily , they said they would bump it up to 4500. So does this mean they have only current capacity to process 33%of 2000 or 4500?

It seems pretty clear from what you quoted:

'IT reported this morning that HSE confirmed to them that we only have the current capacity to process 33% of 4,500 daily tests'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Yakult wrote: »
    I hear Madegascan hospitals aren't too occupied so we could send there :pac:

XS5LK.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,395 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The government signifying a willingness to spent 4 billion euro in order to keep employees from being unemployed/keep companies from going bankrupt is a really cool move, economically speaking. MacWilliams describes it as putting the economy in "hibernation" as opposed to letting it crash and then crash worse overtime as we reach 400,000 unemployed and businesses go broke. This way we get to avoid extremely negative shocks to the demand and supply side. Great movie in the right direction in terms of thinking what the state of the country will look like after the crisis.

It's a great idea. If people are still 'in employment', it gives the economy an excellent chance to begin to bounce back once the restrictions start to be lifted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

jam83 wrote: »
    Read the posts back again like a good lad and try to understand what's going on
    You've completely misunderstood my sarcasm. You saying that doctors are helping is like me saying that a production operator in a ventilation manufacturers is helping, when they're just doing their job, they're not volunteering for free. That was my point. It's simple, yet I had to spell it out for you.

What?

The doctors & nurses are offering to leave Oz and return here to help, noone said for free.. you brought the money into it..

They are only testing 2000 daily , they said they would bump it up to 4500. So does this mean they have only current capacity to process 33%of 2000 or 4500?
    Of 4,500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Jin luk

accensi0n wrote: »
    It seems pretty clear from what you quoted:

'IT reported this morning that HSE confirmed to them that we only have the current capacity to process 33% of 4,500 daily tests'

Need a good a sit down to get number crunching but that seems like its a high enough percentage of confirmed cases from the amount of tests that they are able to process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭jackboy

Could be another HSE screwup.

So, possibly the extra samples were taken for PR reasons to make it look like the HSE are doing something. But, unless there are more lab staff hired and new equipment purchased then these samples cannot be analyzed. This means that most of the tests will go in the bin rather than being analyzed.

Is this theory correct? Or am I off the mark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

frillyleaf wrote: »
    I do understand the lack of trust in the HSE but it’s very different experience being treated in a country where English is first language in my experience. Although most people in Spain speak English I was in a situation a few years ago where I needed to liaise with Spanish people and none of them spoke English. If was quite difficult and only for google translate I would have needed a translator to get the information I needed.

It’s easier to be at home if you have family that can help support you too. I hope anyone who chose to stay gets the support they need. That’s very hard on them

My Dad had a stay in a Spanish hospital last year when he broke his hip. He said the experience was a hundred times better than the one he had here. He had his own room, faster healing time, better follow up care etc. But, like you said, it is easier to be at home. A broken hip is one thing (and routine enough), but a pandemic that could end his life is quite something else and I wish he was here :( I can't stop thinking about what will happen if they get it and have nobody with them. And it does seem like we have it under control and have fewer numbers in ICU etc. Spain seems like a total mess right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,563 ✭✭✭✭walshb

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 is all the numbers that exist

Always hated those numbers!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

RE: the Irish medical workers coming back from Australia etc

I think it's mainly a good thing and fair play to them, however it also little bit ****ty as it leaves the hospitals they are currently working in a bit of a awkward position and will leave them under staffed

A lot of the medical workers in Ireland are foreign so imagine if they all decide to leave Ireland and go back to their country to help out.

Valhallapt wrote: »
    Can we send them abroad?
    Doubt it ! All countries will be pushing their own processing capacity to the limit, public in all countries that I have seen reports want a testing ramp-up.

The probable uselessness of older swabs is worrying as it makes a bollix of our current tracing methodology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Given yesterday was 1,125:

15% = 169
    20% = 225
    30% = 338.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,147 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭Jizique

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    RE: the Irish medical workers coming back from Australia etc

I think it's mainly a good thing and fair play to them, however it also little bit ****ty as it leaves the hospitals they are currently working in a bit of a awkward position and will leave them under staffed

A lot of the medical workers in Ireland are foreign so imagine if they all decide to leave Ireland and go back to their country to help out.

Australian hospitals will be slower to hire Irish doctors if they fear that they will be left in the lurch like this in future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

My next-door neighbor works in a care home and her son comes to visit her every day at the house. He works security for the LUAS. The fact she's not taking the provided social distancing guidelines seriously is very worrying. The fact she works in a care home and her son works as security on public transport who then visits her daily has the potential to be catastrophic. He should be distancing himself because of the nature of his work and she should have more cop on!!!

It's the same with another house on my road. An elderly lady constantly has visits from the same people who don't live there. Kids coming and going in and out of the houses playing on the road.

Same with three houses across me, they are all related to one another and continue to go in between each other's houses. The elderly woman who lives in one of them has had cancer and has been in-and-out hospital. One house with the father out working, has a newborn, a 3 y/o and a 8 y/o were all out together on the green playing with other kids on the road and their parents.

That's has just been on my road alone so God only whos what its like on the next road over or my area, the county or Country. I know its been discussed many times in the past pages but those who were/are out in busy public spaces etc are simpletons. It's impossible to be mad at people who lack basic comprehension skills. They are that dense light would go around them. Just utter ticks!!

Jeez, your poor curtains will be worn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Antares35 wrote: »
    Because they can't stay away from it :rolleyes: They spend half their lives there. I think it was late Feb when they travelled over. I'm so worried about them and also sad they won't be here when their granddaughter is born. I know it isn't the biggest issue right now, but just wish they had come home when it all kicked off.

Just don't get how it is so bad over there and no sign of rates decreasing:eek:

Im in Spain also. We are in lockdown like you say. There is food in the shops. If they are stíl clear of virus in a couple of days their highly unlikely to pick up virus cos not in contact with outside world. Even in shops everybody out here is wearing masks and at this stage less likely now, that infected people out and about.

We are close to peak here in Spain and with another 3 weeks lockdown they will be fine til then. By then the curve should be turning and things may start to get better.

Just stay in contact and make sure their using common sense until this is over. Same as if they were home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,184 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Given yesterday was 1,125:

15% = 169
    20% = 225
    30% = 338.

Frink.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

fritzelly wrote: »
    Who does he think he is?

As cringe as it was he has people that he appeals to and it might get some people to stay in so it all helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

xtal191 wrote: »

This is absolutely INSANE.

Has to be the most complete example of a narcissist I have ever encountered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/article-nearly-half-of-canadas-covid-19-cases-now-acquired-through-community/
    Almost 1000 cases in Canada have no known origin, result of community spread

Kunkka wrote: »
    As cringe as it was he has people that he appeals to and it might get some people to stay in so it all helps.

Utter cringe, but far more inspiring a message in comparisons to Holohan, who is now just an update machine...

No real sense of urgency from him or some others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

yermandan wrote: »
    This is absolutely INSANE.

Has to be the most complete example of a narcissist I have ever encountered

Here, if he gets through even to only one tosser, then no harm done.

jackboy wrote: »
    Could be another HSE screwup.

So, possibly the extra samples were taken for PR reasons to make it look like the HSE are doing something. But, unless there are more lab staff hired and new equipment purchased then these samples cannot be analyzed. This means that most of the tests will go in the bin rather than being analyzed.

Is this theory correct? Or am I off the mark?
    I really hope so, there is a genuine need to control information on detailed location etc. to counter adverse/counter-productive reactions.

But it is starting to look more and more like the old HSE duck waddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Who does he think he is?
    A friendly face that everyone loves! Celebs have been at this all over the place. They mean well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Who does he think he is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 ettravel

Cuomo is a class act.

is_that_so wrote: »
      A friendly face that everyone loves! Celebs have been at this all over the place. They mean well.

Ask the old man in the bar that he sucker punched if he has a friendly face....