CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

wakka12 wrote: »
    Surprised that Burkina Faso has 4 deaths, it has one of the youngest average age in the world. The median age within the country is not even an adult, 17 years old

Non-existent health system though?

tom1ie wrote: »
    Will you ever wind your neck in ffs!
    You just can’t win with people.
    If you bought extra supplies back in December 2019 when this kicked off in Wuhan, you were labelled an alarmist nutcase.
    In january you start saying how this could possibly impact Ireland your told to stop scaremongering.
    You decide to self isolate and avoid crowds by not going shopping and using an online service, well then your being selfish!
    What is wrong with some people that they just can’t help but comment on something they’ve no reason to comment on.

Sorry Tom, I'll tell Tesco to change their statement to suit you.

People who NEED to self isolate need home deliveries.
    People who WANT to self isolate because they are afraid, need to glove up, mask up, and get out to do their own shopping so those who need deliveries can get them.

Is that clearer for you Tom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭enricoh

If these doctors are such heroes and care about ireland so much why did they let the tax payer fund their education and then f*ck off to sunnier climes? I think they just want to be lauded in the media tbh.

They left coz the workload is desperate in Irish hospitals and you pay half your wages in tax at a rediculously low threshold to fund spongers.
    Fair play to them coming back and putting themselves in harm's way to help out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

For anyone looking for additional information on pandemic's, what causes them etc. there is an excellent documentary on Netflix called, funnily enough, pandemic.

Made recently and scarier than a glass of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,442 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Things getting a bit tetchy in here? Cabin fever setting in I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭MOR316

NetChat101 wrote: »
    Ah come on!! The poster was only highlighting what everyone knows - certain elements of society couldn't give a damn about social distancing - if I lived on her road I'd be fuming at the morons living around me. Most responsible people at the minute feel a heightened awareness of what people around them are doing as it could impact on themselves and their families. That's not "curtain twitching" as you call it.

2frkoc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

TTLF wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure he meant they should give another time frame of school closures
    (e.g. Schools will remain closed until the Easter holidays, the situation will be reviewed then) for example

As a student, I would much rather a timeframe knowing how long school will be closed for (as of the current review) than just "hmmm yes schools will remained closed for now"

The answer to this is fairly simple really... they will stay closed until it's safe to re-open them!

Any other answer should make you very uneasy if you are a student or parent. (or anyone else for that matter)

Your schooling is not as important as saving lives!

If you have such a thirst for knowledge... there's nothing stopping you from getting the books out and doing some extra studying though... on this lovely sunny tuesday afternoon! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

You’re neighbors are blessed to have you, an all Ireland champion curtain twitcher living among them.
    I’d say a crow wouldn’t land on the street and his personal details, including special dietary requirements if any and next of kin details are entered in the diary.
    That's not fair. Multiple posts about ****e, without your castigation, and here someone is pointing the reality on the ground and you go on the attack.
    The mounting problem is -will we be able to point out this out to these idiots, with risk of confrontation- when we can see where the system is breaking down through this activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Not much use though - people that are in final years in college need a timeframe of when they expect to be closing until imo.

People that are in college are very low priority right now...we can worry about that when we get through this crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

This is from RTE News TODAY and not some outdated information from two weeks ago.
    Generally, you need to be 15 minutes or more in the vicinity of an infected person, within 1-2 metres, to be considered at-risk or a close contact.
    Why are people who need to get out to have a walk made feel like criminals?
    I was on Dollymount beach on Sunday and every group, mostly families, kept to themselves and well away from others. Everybody I saw was being very responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭MOR316

need to glove up, mask up

That's enough PornHub for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭mac.in

A new virus stepping in. It's reported in china. It's said to be more dangerous than Coronaviurs.

Link here

jG2yPmD.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Kerry mountain rescue to climbers who get themselves in trouble -
    If you are uninjured, lost or benighted, you will be asked to consider waiting until morning, and/or better visibility to extricate yourself.
    If you are 'walking wounded' you will be asked to consider extricating yourself from the mountain.
    If you are seriously injured, and/or not physically able to get yourself off the hill, we will attend with the absolute minimum of team members needed to complete the task. Because of this, the evacuation will be less straightforward and the overall time to transport you to medical attention will be much longer.

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,890 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Steve F wrote: »
    I'm surprised at the amount of "IT Experts" that haven't heard of Teamviewer or Splashtop
    both these can be set up in less than ten minutes and then you can log into your works computer from anywhere using any computer.
    You are literally "plugged in" and can access everything as if you are sat at your desk at work
    Can't understand these people saying they are "waiting for IT to set them up:confused:

That would be the very insecure teamviewer linked to multiple breaches by hackers. Data security and network security is huge. You cant just use teamviewer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Sorry Tom, I'll tell Tesco to change their statement to suit you.

People who NEED to self isolate need home deliveries.
    People who WANT to self isolate because they are afraid, need to glove up, mask up, and get out to do their own shopping so those who need deliveries can get them.

Is that clearer for you Tom?

That makes sense actually. I have a slot booked for the 5th of april. I think I might free up my slot for those who will need it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭Mezcita

If these doctors are such heroes and care about ireland so much why did they let the tax payer fund their education and then f*ck off to sunnier climes? I think they just want to be lauded in the media tbh.

You could make the same accusation to any university educated graduate who has left Ireland in the last 25 years.

Next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

This is from RTE News TODAY and not some outdated information from two weeks ago.

Why are people who need to get out to have a walk made feel like criminals?
    I was on Dollymount beach on Sunday and every group, mostly families, kept to themselves and well away from others. Everybody I saw was being very responsible.

The virus will only move if people move.

It's that simple.

The more people on the move, the more opportunity it has to move and spread.
    I know many people kept their distance, but many didn't or dropped the ball and went to queue for ice creams / food.

A person is smart.

People are stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

mac.in wrote: »
    A new virus stepping in. It's reported in china. It's said to be more dangerous than Coronaviurs.

Link here

jG2yPmD.png

OMG

Its nothing like COVID19 in any way.

Its not even passed from Human to Human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,890 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Link here

jG2yPmD.png

Spread by rodents not humans so it's not really relevant.

This is a very uneducated opinion. They didn't just f*ck off... the conditions here were deplorable for doctors & nurses, working ridiculous hours and getting paid f*ck all.

One of my best mates is a doctor, he's just returned to Ireland after over 10 years. He's walked into a disaster zone which he is only too happy to do what he can. He's cancelled his wedding, parties and everything else that's going on in his life to help fight this.

So please, educate yourself before you make idiotic comments. At the very least, have some respect for doctors. Your life or the life of one of your loved ones might depend on one of them in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭facehugger99

My next-door neighbor works in a care home and her son comes to visit her every day at the house. He works security for the LUAS. The fact she's not taking the provided social distancing guidelines seriously is very worrying. The fact she works in a care home and her son works as security on public transport who then visits her daily has the potential to be catastrophic. He should be distancing himself because of the nature of his work and she should have more cop on!!!

It's the same with another house on my road. An elderly lady constantly has visits from the same people who don't live there. Kids coming and going in and out of the houses playing on the road.

Same with three houses across me, they are all related to one another and continue to go in between each other's houses. The elderly woman who lives in one of them has had cancer and has been in-and-out hospital. One house with the father out working, has a newborn, a 3 y/o and a 8 y/o were all out together on the green playing with other kids on the road and their parents.

Lot of curtain-twitchers on this thread.

Mind your own business and stop looking out the window would be my advice.

Link here

jG2yPmD.png

Also, you get it if you have sex with Hanta Claus...

More utter nonsense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Cousin of mine works there. Team she is on is now in isolation.

What facility is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

TTLF wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure he meant they should give another time frame of school closures
    (e.g. Schools will remain closed until the Easter holidays, the situation will be reviewed then) for example

As a student, I would much rather a timeframe knowing how long school will be closed for (as of the current review) than just "hmmm yes schools will remained closed for now"

How about looking at what happened in China/Italy/Spain and how long this has been going on. If you really need a date in order to keep you focused then 1st September is looking very likely at this stage...however is subject to review in August.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

Fit and able bodied and subject to self isolation here due to a pending test and mild symptoms.

Thanks Tesco! I know you're under pressure but, what exactly can I do?

I probably have enough beans and pulses and stuff for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Lot of curtain-twitchers on this thread.

Mind your own business and stop looking out the window would be my advice.
    It's everyone's business, you so-and-so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,843 ✭✭✭weisses

While admirable on face value I can't help but think it might have the unintended consequence of keeping prices higher for the native catch.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/minister-not-proposing-fishing-fleet-tie-up-despite-covid-19-impact-1.4208243

Fish landed in Dingle is transported straight to mainland Europe AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭TheDenialTwist

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    A company over there called The Range are the same - they bought in freezers to claim they were essential!
    They sell Ikea type stuff.

Is that the same as The Range here in Little Island in Cork? Or is that a totally different store?

Turns out that yes indeed The Range here in Cork is part of the UK Chain. One of the fastest growing retailers in the UK.

I wonder will the Cork branch procure some freezers in an effort to be considered as "essential" now also. They sell housewares, gifts, lighting, arts and crafts, furniture and so forth. So, obviously non essential. Well, unless they get the freezers delivered on time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.ajc.com/news/virus-claims-two-georgia-healthcare-workers/XTijtgzE6z2gcoZ7QLvPZN/
    42 year old healthcare worker in Georgia USA found dead in her home from coronavirus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,860 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

It wouldn't surprise me if you were one of the simpletons in that queue for the chipper in Howth.

If you read any of my posts you would have found that I am quite the opposite,having called those very people out on their stupidity and their sheep like behavior.