Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

BLATANT ADVERTISING ALERT

If any of you would like to distance yourself from this thread for a while but can’t bring yourself to distance yourself from boards completely - then head on over to Forum Games. We’re nice over there and don’t bite. Well, not unless it’s a game of werewolf and you’re a villager ;)

Anyhoo, there’s a few different types of games going on right now. All quiz types. Looking for some players for the game “Just the one”. So find that thread and say hello. The guys will guide you to the game thread.

https://touch.boards.ie/forum/1770

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Canada and Australia have pulled out of the Olympics, will only compete in a post poned games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Does anyone know the average turn around for testing in other countries? I feel our figures are due to the delays in testing. I personally know of people waiting over a week at the stage for their families to be tested.

Hopefully I’m completely wrong but it doesn’t look like we are testing fast enough
    For the current backlog we are not but it is supposed to go to 4,500 tests a day from today and eventually hit 15,000 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

snotboogie wrote: »
    Which major "intercontinental" air freight company are close to going bust?

I'm speaking of air-mail being shipped by conventional carriers. If you're sending something from Europe to Asia for instance by EMS or registered post that's more or less ground to a halt. Many smaller businesses would use this method to get goods or whatever to people.

Don't know how the likes of DHL and FedEx are coping who would have their own fleet leased. Many businesses would find these services too expensive however.

There will almost certainly be casualties in the conventional carrier game, and their slowdown is already effecting intercontinental postal services severely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Mac-Chops wrote: »
    The Old Military Road was like the M50 at rush hour in places yesterday.

Have never seen as many cars/cyclists/walkers out in force.

Just goes to show how many would otherwise be in a beer garden on a sunny day like that!

Just wait until the good weather kicks in. This corona thing could be here for months because of feckin ejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,613 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

cloudatlas wrote: »
    At least Harvey Weinstein got it, there's the upside.

Some good news alright.

We were driving through the Dublin mountains on Paddys day and decided to drive through Glendalough, the entire place was jammed. There were people sitting outside having coffee with their mates, walking in groups of 5 - 10.

It was infuriating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭moritz1234

https://twitter.com/BBCkatyaadler/status/1241394343472218114?s=20

Nice to see compassion and help out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

London tube this morning..

article-8141665-26288234-870_636x393.jpg

It's not unreasonable to assume that London is fast becoming an enormous petri dish for corona.

28 year old Irish guy on the radio there saying that he almost died from Covid-19, and that he only survived because of the emergency ambulance available. Healthy and leads an active lifetstyle, but with mild asthma.

I think it did the world a disservice describing this disease as only something geriatrics had to be afraid of, and that young people had to be responsible, because they were otherwise totally immune.
    It does predominantly put the aged at very serious risk but it is also a risk to anyone with an underlying condition, which this chap has. Glad to see he has recovered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Does anyone know the average turn around for testing in other countries? I feel our figures are due to the delays in testing. I personally know of people waiting over a week at the stage for their families to be tested.

Hopefully I’m completely wrong but it doesn’t look like we are testing fast enough

A lot of other countries have stopped community testing because they are overwhelmed. We are keeping it going but its slow.

The uk or spain or italy only test people presenting to hospital and our test turnaround for those people is 12 hours similar to those countries.

It's not unreasonable to assume that London is fast becoming an enormous petri dish for corona.
    London looks like it may become a version of Italy, but one would hope sense or restrictions will prevail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

walshb wrote: »
    Our bus and rail services...

Any restrictions on them, or about them?

Or are they taking full loads of passengers if presented?

The policy was to keep running with the full schedule.

Meant that with so few people using each one whoever had to could comply with social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,746 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

running a reduced service to almost corral the people left needing transport on to even more crowded trains..

very little of the UK approach makes any sense whatsoever... they should be running at full capacity.

however that image is another "why won't everyone but me stay at home?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

A lot of other countries have stopped community testing because they are overwhelmed. We are keeping it going but its slow.

The uk or spain or italy only test people presenting to hospital and our test turnaround for those people is 12 hours similar to those countries.
    Yeah I don't know why the wait for testing/results would be any longer here than anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Come on, they are flat our testing. Simply down to resources and scaling up to test more. Please read or listen to official news for full info on testing. Its discussed at length multiple times every day. Social media is not a news channel.

Confirmed cases from tests is currently running at 4%. With a backlog of 40,000, thats an estimated 1600 additional cases out there.
    I wouid not be surprised if people with smokers cough are looking to be tested for the craic. That would be a wasted test but if they have respiratory symptoms, they have to test them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Coronavirus: The Hammer and the Dance
    What the Next 18 Months Can Look Like, if Leaders Buy Us Time

https://medium.com/@tomaspueyo/coronavirus-the-hammer-and-the-dance-be9337092b56

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Weren't you were posting about how you were enjoying your time in the pub(true) and at a party your aunt(true) who arrived in from the U.K.(false) and how everyone was being a bellend for wanting the pubs closed (false), when this advice was being provided by the Chinese, Italians etc.

I followed the HSE guidelines at all times. Unfortunately, they seem to be absolute bollix now. This advice was not being provided by anyone back then, Italy wasn't even on lock-down back then. (March 14th and 15th). The fact that you have to resort to making stuff up to try and make some point is pathetic.

we should be going off the best available worldwide advise. The Chinese doctors who arrived in Italy were quite clear. People shouldn't be out walking dogs, roaming the streets. Everyone should remain indoors barring necessity i.e. getting food or medication.

old_aussie wrote: »
    Australia is now closed.

Sport, Everything cancelled.

Cancel's Kayo subscription.

Bottle shops still open.

On the list of ‘businesses essential to society’

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Achasanai wrote: »
    Feck all passengers though. The bus that passes my place would be jammed right now, but there were four passengers that I could see.

There were 2 people directly in front of me today and one directly behind. It's generally quieter on the way home though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

wakka12 wrote: »
    Canada and Australia have pulled out of the Olympics, will only compete in a post poned games

Chinese Olympic team rubs hands together and smirks.

We only team ready to go, we win ALL medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,012 ✭✭✭kingshankly

lawred2 wrote: »
    running a reduced service to almost corral the people left needing transport on to even more crowded trains..

very little of the UK approach makes any sense whatsoever... they should be running at full capacity.

however that image is another "why won't everyone but me stay at home?"

Uk still business as normal schools are still open for front line services as you can imagine front line services is very broad
    My sister teaches across the border and school is still got 45% of kids as their dads are breadmen lorry drivers nhs staff bus drivers shop workers even factory workers
    so imagine trying to get 4 year olds to social distance in a class room while keeping your own social distance
    It’s a nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

The ordinary surgical masks that you see people wearing to prevent Covid-19 spread are next to useless in preventing inhalation of airborne viruses, which easily pass through it (high-particulate filtraters like FFP3 only work).
    At this stage of the game however, we should all start using them if we need to go out: 1) they stop you touching your face, a major means of transmission 2) it'll show we are treating this seriously, and mark out those who aren't. People might feel silly wearing them in self-conscious Ireland, but the message needs to get out that this is far more contagious than what people think it is.
    They are in plentiful supply, and can be distributed by the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,428 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The ordinary surgical masks that you see people wearing to prevent Covid-19 spread are next to useless in preventing inhalation of airborne viruses, which easily pass through it (high-particulate filtraters like FFP3 only work).
    At this stage of the game however, we should all start using them if we need to go out: 1) they stop you touching your face, a major means of transmission 2) it'll show we are treating this seriously, and mark out those who aren't. People might feel silly wearing them in self-conscious Ireland, but the message needs to get out that this is far more contagious than what people think it is.

Where can I get some?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1242001658307055616?s=19

When did he become a health expert and not an IT entrepreneur ? I'm sure haris and the rest of gov that he keeps going at are fed up. What a gob****e

why not just wear a badge to show we are serious about it rather than known useless facemasks?

I mean, if the intention is just to show who's serious and who's not..

When did he become a health expert and not an IT entrepreneur ? I'm sure haris and the rest of gov that he keeps going at are fed up. What a gob****e

self appointed expert on everything... makes me shudder

wadacrack wrote: »
    Coronavirus: The Hammer and the Dance
    What the Next 18 Months Can Look Like, if Leaders Buy Us Time

https://medium.com/@tomaspueyo/coronavirus-the-hammer-and-the-dance-be9337092b56
    I see he's calmed down a bit! He could still do with losing the graphs or at least having them as pop-ups. It's also far far too long and really quite a chore to read the text. Having waded through it I'd say most of us would be happy with the summary at the top!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

They aren't plentiful in supply. There is no point in using them when most people wouldn't have a clue how to put them on correctly.

Our healthcare staff need the supply more than we do, unless you have the virus it is pointless wearing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

lawred2 wrote: »
    why not just wear a badge to show we are serious about it rather than known useless facemasks?

I mean, if the intention is just to show who's serious and who's not..
    No, the intention is firstly to prevent touching your face, an unconscious extremely common habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Maybe its a demand thing. People are told they are non esssential as a run on them will result in a shortage for those most in need (first line medics)