Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

My point is they do not know if anyone is immune. Without testing everyone they won't know.

It's a paradox which can not be accounted for without testing everyone. The logical conclusion is no-one is immune because there have been so many cases. But the lack of symptoms in confirmed cases should be enough evidence that some people are immune. Immunity means you are resistant to the effects it has on you, it does not necessarily mean you will have no symptoms it just means your body is more adept at fighting the infection that makes you feel unwell. Someone else's immune system may not be as proficient!

The catch is: with immunity comes a more proficient pathogen. If this mutates into something stronger the next time around you may not be immune. With more cases the more chances it has at mutating.
    Incorrect. Immunity means you cannot be infected by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭dougm1970

I think the point is that if everyone goes for a walk then it will be chaotic. More unhealthy if people transmit the virus. I live in a rural setting and in the good weather there are lots of people around unfortunately.

then the message should be as is....keep a distance.
    not going out adds to the growing problems in the long run that are attached to this.
    you'll have people in apartments getting sick from lack of good fresh air and vitamin d, in a health system that wont be coping with whats coming.
    peoples mental health and positive attitudes need to be maintained.
    i know its proven a total lockdown works, and me saying that may sound like contradicting myself...but it'll be an awful shame if it comes to that here, when we know other countries had to resort to it and all we have to do, to maintain that aspect of quality of life through this, is just keep a distance apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Immunity probably means the virus cannot replicate in our respiratory tissue and is destroyed by our specific immune response. So doesn't shed other viruses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭babybuilder

dougm1970 wrote: »
    then the message should be as is....keep a distance.
    not going out adds to the growing problems in the long run that are attached to this.
    you'll have people in apartments getting sick from lack of good fresh air and vitamin d, in a health system that wont be coping with whats coming.
    peoples mental health and positive attitudes need to be maintained.
    i know its proven a total lockdown works, and me saying that may sound like contradicting myself...but it'll be an awful shame if it comes to that here, when we know other countries had to resort to it and all we have to do, to maintain that aspect of quality of life through this, is just keep a distance apart.
    Lock down will come when the numbers keep increasing. It's inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

paddythere wrote: »
    Incorrect. Immunity means you cannot be infected by it.

Exactly.
    The term that should have been used is “Asymptomatic carrier”

An asymptomatic carrier is a person who has contracted a virus, but isn’t manifesting any of the symptoms it causes.

Idris Elba is one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

murpho999 wrote: »
    Seriously, you're quoting an opinion piece on a blog from a retired senior lecturer in arts and communication to state that masks work.

Yes, they'll work in stopping you spread the virus if you have it but won't stop you getting it as you walk the streets or do your shopping.

The advice is not just to protect stocks as many say, it's just sound advice. People often buy masks that doctors don't use anyway.

That was just one of several I can quote:
    CIDRAPCenter for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
    Bruce Ribner, MD, medical director of the Serious Communicable Diseases Unit at Emory University Hospital, said the two masks serve very different functions. A surgical mask, or procedural mask, is meant to protect the environment from the wearer.

"It's meant to keep the surgeon's respiratory issues away from a patient," Ribner explained. A surgical mask does a good job of trapping large droplets, and some aerosol transmission, he said. Many of the masks being worn in China, though, are not designed for medical use or to any standards and so their effectiveness in trapping droplets is unknown.

A respirator, such as an N95, fits tighter to the face and is meant to help protect the wearer from inhaling infectious droplets in the environment.
    For Ribner, the issue of correct mask use will linger until the exact route of transmission is documented, and it is established if an asymptomatic person (one having no symptoms) can shed the virus before becoming sick.

"If we have a person who is shedding nCoV in the environment, the best way to stop transmission is to stick a surgical procedure mask on them," Ribner said. "In the best of all worlds, anyone coming into the room with an nCoV patient would wear a respirator."

But if a respirator is not available, because of cost or manufacturing, the next best option is a surgical mask, Ribner said. He said that likely contributes to the WHO's surgical mask recommendation.
    http://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2020/02/unmasked-experts-explain-necessary-respiratory-protection-covid-19
    In an adjusted analysis of compliant subjects, masks as a group had protective efficacy in excess of 80% against clinical influenza-like illness. The efficacy against proven viral infection and between P2 masks (57%) and surgical masks (33%) was non-significant.
    Conclusions: This is the first RCT on mask use to be conducted and provides data to inform pandemic planning. We found compliance to be low, but compliance is affected by perception of risk. In a pandemic, we would expect compliance to improve. In compliant users, masks were highly efficacious. A larger study is required to enumerate the difference in efficacy (if any) between surgical and non-fit tested P2 masks.
    https://www.ijidonline.com/article/S1201-9712(08)01008-4/fulltext
    Conclusion:

Hand hygiene and facemasks seemed to prevent household transmission of influenza virus when implemented within 36 hours of index patient symptom onset. These findings suggest that nonpharmaceutical interventions are important for mitigation of pandemic and interpandemic influenza.
    https://annals.org/aim/fullarticle/744899/facemasks-hand-hygiene-prevent-influenza-transmission-households-cluster-randomized-trial

TLDR - you are wrong. Masks work, particularly P3 respirator style ones, if the user observes care in fitting and removal - washing their hasnds after touching the mask to remove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

"the ability of an organism to resist a particular infection"...Thats basically what I said

I'm not going to get into semantics but that is not what you said:

"cannot be infected by it"

It can still infect you and you can still be a carrier. If it doesn't infect you, you are not a carrier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Seriously, you're quoting an opinion piece on a blog from a retired senior lecturer in arts and communication to state that masks work.

Yes, they'll work in stopping you spread the virus if you have it but won't stop you getting it as you walk the streets or do your shopping.

The advice is not just to protect stocks as many say, it's just sound advice. People often buy masks that doctors don't use anyway.

Do you have a reading comprehension problem, or were you practicing the old deceit through omission?

The article had several other authors, not just the one you mentioned, the ones you decided not to mention were:
    C Leung is an honorary consultant of the Hong Kong Tuberculosis, Chest and Heart Diseases Association.

Competing interests: None declared.

TH Lam is chair professor in community medicine and Sir Robert Kotewall professor in public health at the University of Hong Kong.

Competing interests: None declared.

KK Cheng is a professor of public health and primary care at the University of Birmingham. Twitter @KKCheng4

I'm not going to get into semantics but that is not what you said:

"cannot be infected by it"

It can still infect you and you can still be a carrier. If it doesn't infect you, you are not a carrier!
    Cannot be infected means the exact same as resisting infection larry. If you resist infection you also cannot pass it on. This is different from being an asymptomatic carrier who although showing no signs of infection can still pass it on. This is very simple stuff yet you don't seem to be able to understand any of it so please stop arguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,041 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

so so impressed with how we've handled this. Leo being a physican has really played a major part in this.
    Stay safe, wash your hands and self isolate lads! Love to ye all.

I hope all well for you

How long was your test swab wait?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭DisneyLover

dougm1970 wrote: »
    no.
    nothing wrong with going out, and all along we are told to get exercise and stay healthy.
    i took my 9 yr old for a great walk today in the sunshine around a large lake near us, nobody around, we both enjoyed it too.
    i have it drummed into him, if you meet someone and they have a head, then stay two meters away.
    the message is keep a distance away from other people, not dont go out..and it doesn't need to be....that'll end up very quickly with very fustrated and unhealthy people.

As someone who works in a hospital and keep getting work emails and a paramedic just left my house said to me yet again stay inside. Your garden is fine but avoid large areas like parks.

Do they call out if you cant make it to any of the drive through sites? Is that how it works?

Asking as my dad has heart failure and none of us at home drive and am worried about getting him seen ASAP if he gets it

Hey! No I got an ambulance because I work in a massive hospital / was in London / mum had a transplant. Every one of those meant I was fast tracked and they all meant because I had symptoms I had to self isolate as soon as I started getting sick.

I'd ring the GP, ask them to email the National Ambulance Service. If its fast track or high risk they will come and they will deffo come to your poor Dad. Thinking of you at this tough time.

Best of luck Disneylover Hope you get a negative result or at worst mild illness and quick recovery.

thanks murph

owlbethere wrote: »
    Thank you so much for your lovely message and for letting us know what the procedure is like. I hope you are doing well. I'm going to sleep now thinking I better clean the sitting room in case I get sick.

Omg stop lol. My uncle was over from London 2 weeks ago and I slept on a spare matress instead of my king bed. The matress is still downstairs so I had to get my dad to hide it incase they thought I was being forced to sleep downstairs :pac::pac::pac:

Yep, clean sitting room and nice pjs! haha

It was grand! Sore nose and nose bleed after and it feels weird but both swabs are grand.

Exactly.
    The term that should have been used is “Asymptomatic carrier”

An asymptomatic carrier is a person who has contracted a virus, but isn’t manifesting any of the symptoms it causes.

Idris Elba is one.

This is the main problem.
    The paramedic told me my HR being high most likely means I had it and now its almost or fully gone! So anyone can have it right now and not know. I self isolated cause I work a huge hospital and can't put people or my mum whos ill at risk.
    Self isolate unless youre going to work/the shops etc

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I hope all well for you

How long was your test swab wait?

I was refered Monday as a fast track ambulance swab took 7 full days! I don't mind I was only in work Wed Thurs Fri but got it off from GP. Should be maximum 12 hour wait as Im healthcare staff and needed back in work. I'm on annual leave as I was meant to be in Scotland yesterday for a week to see family but now if I dont have it will obviously be back in the hospital where Im needed! But means if I dont have it my mum whos ill will have to move to my granddads incase I do get it in work. My paramedic thinks I had it and that its gone now - hopefully-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

They should stop flights to the international space station to stop it spreading there.
    Just saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,631 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Watched this terrifying clip from Sky News, and have a question

When he was in the ICU, he says they observe the patients from a distance as the patients are so contagious.

I always assumed you got the virus from someone coughing or sneezing on you, or you touching a surface they have left the virus on?

But surely a patient lying motionless on a ventilator isn't dangerous to approach, especially when you are gowned up so heavily?

Am I wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

USNEWSUNDAY.png?itok=Tc_kgGGm

So much winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

NIMAN wrote: »
    Watched this terrifying clip from Sky News, and have a question

When he was in the ICU, he says they observe the patients from a distance as the patients are so contagious.

I always assumed you got the virus from someone coughing or sneezing on you, or you touching a surface they have left the virus on?

But surely a patient lying motionless on a ventilator isn't dangerous to approach, especially when you are gowned up so heavily?

Am I wrong?

In that scenario (ICU) you are dealing with a lot of different fluids which could be an issue. Also the gloves they are wearing rip easily and the masks though large dont prevent aerosol spread from certain directions. The reported was wearing sealed goggles so maybe that is a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Link to young women patient in ICU talking on Sky News

https://news.sky.com/video/covid-19-patient-warns-dont-take-chances-11961783

link to same video on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Has the patient who died of Covid-19 in Beaumont been mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

skimpydoo wrote: »
    Has the patient who died of Covid-19 in Beaumont been mentioned?

Just said male from east

"We're at war, in a true sense we're at war,"

...says Trump.

That's not what he was saying last week.

Aid being sent to New York and California

WHOTWO.jpg?itok=irtXFDOB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,746 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

emeldc wrote: »
    Yea I saw them alright. There’s another of a train pulling hundreds of army jeeps, I thought that one might have been some clever CGI.

To me looked like a collection of videos assembled together to make it look like all this was happening together..

Why would tanks be necessary?

More likely that that was tanks being transported from a manufacturing plant at some point in the past.

Fake I'd say

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

USA ended up with +9,339 cases and +117 deaths yesterday. Wouldn't be surprised to see that figure (near) double today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,746 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    :( so kids are not immune

All countries must have different variation strength strains of the virus

No one ever claimed that