Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    I agree.

Once morgue videos are leaked it's too late. Morgue videos from Italy should be the top item on the 6pm and 9pm news broadcasts.

Here's a morgue video from Iran, hopefully it will scare those still in denial:

Even if you don't get sick you will lose at least a month of pay because of ignorance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Nasty side to humanity very often seen in these ridiculous threads. No doubt a lot of ye are only a few days off turning into vigilante squads roaming the streets.

Good idea.
    Let’s arm ourselves with a measuring tape.
    And social distance the fook outta dis town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

Blueshoe wrote: »
    I didn't say an out of control Italian like situation where the army are bringing bodies en masses to crematoriums was inevitable.

We have been told over and over again that infections will rise rapidly by the government, medical spokespersons and from looking at other countries. It's going to happen.
    There is a difference between panic and acceptance. Obviously

Panic is pointless. Don't panic. Just be ready for the bad news.
    We will get through it though. Guaranteed

Well what about non acceptance and trying to change the trajectory? Like a lockdown straight away. Yes it’s a dreadful time but minimizing cases and deaths must be our end goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,386 ✭✭✭✭noodler

BluePlanet wrote: »
    40,000 people in Ireland waiting to be tested.
    Wow

But hey, doing better than the Brits!

But hey, how many of those are spurious?

Did they even require a GP referral?

If they did, how risk adverse was the GP in making his recommendation to them over the phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Give it a rest, every single one of your points is about a lockdown.

I've been out and about, being socially distant from people and seeing a large compliance.

Yes we've had idiots up the mountains and not keeping distance but let's not paint everyone worn the same brush

People complain about people being out walking down a seafront for example, theres nothing wrong with that if they're in the same family, no symptoms and stick to their own group.

Just because people leave the house doesn't mean they aren't conscious
    Absolutely there is a problem.
    Others see people out and about and will do the same.
    It's encouraging non-compliance.
    Needs to be nipped in the bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

One of the main things that does differ between here and Italy is the median age of those hospitalised. In Italy it's 67, in Ireland so far its 44.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Nasty side to humanity very often seen in these ridiculous threads. No doubt a lot of ye are only a few days off turning into vigilante squads roaming the streets.
    Another one of the selfish types in denial.

More bothered by people being worried about the spread of the virus... than by the spread of the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

noodler wrote: »
    But hey, how many of those are spurious?

Did they even require a GP referral?

If they did, how risk adverse was the GP in making his recommendation to them over the phone?
    There are no spurious tests in such an epidemic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

pH wrote: »
    Go listen to Varadkar's speech on the 9th March- expects 60% of the population infected, 3% fatality rate. That's the 'herd immunity' approach, here in Ireland announced by Leo.

Strangely though, even though the UK have officially changed their policy based on the Imperial College report of the 16th March, there has been no official announcement that we have done the same.

In fact many of the day to day announcements would suggest Ireland is currently following the 'herd immunity'/mitigation/'flatten the curve' approach.

Bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

is_that_so wrote: »
    Piece here mentions the possible effect of smoking and also considers why males have been worst hit.

https://www.latimes.com/science/story/2020-03-21/why-is-the-coronavirus-more-deadly-for-men-than-for-women

Looking at the comorbidities in the deaths with coronavirus in Italy, cardiovascular diseases are the main ones, by far.

That is consistent with the Irish statistics, where heart disease is the main cause of death - that was before coronavirus came along.
    Also, life expectancy for males in Ireland is much lower than for females.
    Source: http://www.healthdata.org/ireland

Alonside smoking, high alcohol consumption is also a cause of cardiovascular disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,712 ✭✭✭storker

Heckler wrote: »
    Car driving around Cork southside with a megaphone at the moment saying the rosary. Maybe comfort to older citizens. Be better telling young people to stay home how and ever..My elderly mother and her sister have wrapped up after 6 days not stepping outside the house for a walk around the Lough. Shes very social distancing clued in. She knows a dose could be the end of her but for her sanity she had to get out even for a little bit.

As yes, times change, but they don't change that much. :)

web3-black-plague-death-wiki.jpg?quality=100&strip=all&w=620&h=310&crop=1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Do you think in a back room somewhere the taoiseach and all of his advisors have met and someone has said we can't shut down the economy. The virus won't last forever and there will be a much bigger problem afterwards.
    Do you think someone might have said letting more people become sick and more dieing is a smaller price in the long run.
    The good of many over the few. It's not unheard of and is part of human nature in a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Yeah, it's the few that dont obey the rules that ruin it for everyone

Yes I can see this happening. They’ll just closing down parks etc if people aren’t adhering to the rules. It’s just easier from a disease control perspective to get rid of the issue as opposed to controlling it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭2016

bekker wrote: »
    'They found that COVID-19 was detectable in aerosols for up to three hours, up to four hours on copper and up to 24 hours on cardboard. The new coronavirus can also last up to three days on plastic and stainless steel, the scientists concluded, adding the amount of the virus left on those surfaces decreases over time. Aerosols are solid or liquid particles that hang in the air, including fog, dust, and gas commonly used in medical procedures like ventilation and nebulizers.'

US National Institutes of Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, UCLA and Princeton University
    {emphasis added, thanks to Gynoid original poster of link}

On the aerosols front, there is a special device called a Goldberg drum which is used to create and sustain aerosols, that was what was used for these studies.

It is not to be assumed that the virus is airborne for three hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

There are spurious tests if it means people unlikely to have the virus are getting the test I stead of people likely to have the virus.

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Handshaking. You’ll be so filthy by the time you’re finished that you’ll want decontamination. Don’t know if it’s an Irish thing as I’ve never been a chief mourner anywhere else.
    That poster was saying Irish people are really dirty and "Ireland is kill". Self loathing shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Bull

Which part?

Where is the official announcement we're no longer following Leo's original strategy of 60% infected and 90,000 deaths?

Perhaps you can quote his new figures for total infected and deaths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

In S Korea they use mobile phone location information for contact tracing.

South Korea is tracking individuals' phones and creating a publicly available map to allow other citizens to check whether they may have crossed paths with any coronavirus patients.
    That is efficiency.
    SMS alert informing you that you shared a train car with someone that tested positive, recommendation: self-isolate.

Bureaucratic systems and privacy concerns here mean that's not going to happen.
    Instead we'll stick with blind leading the blind.
    You can get the cell tower data with the infected person's permission. Each phone has an IMEI (or whatever) identifier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

fr336 wrote: »
    I heard on the UK radio that Muslims make up 2% of British population but 25% of Coronavirus cases! The presenter, raised a Muslim himself, compared it to the Italians (he has an Italian wife) and the very close family culture, visiting elder relatives very frequently and closely etc.

Well done him.
    Your average Brit will hear that, and take that Muslims are the problem from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Do you think in a back room somewhere the taoiseach and all of his advisors have met and someone has said we can't shut down the economy. The virus won't last forever and there will be a much bigger problem afterwards.
    Do you think someone might have said letting more people become sick and more dieing is a smaller price in the long run.
    The good of many over the few. It's not unheard of and is part of human nature in a way.

I'm guessing they are saying - we don't have enough Guards, no Army to speak of so enforcing a lockdown is not practical.

We will see in a few years when the documentaries come out

Of course there are.

People bare hypochondriaca.

7% of tests have been positive so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kucyk

Wow

Over 16k tests were performed in Ireland comparing to 73k in the UK. That’s over 2k tests per million citizens vs 1k tests per million in the UK, so yes, Ireland is doing better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

pH wrote: »
    Which part?

Where is the official announcement we're no longer following Leo's original strategy of 60% infected and 90,000 deaths?

Perhaps you can quote his new figures for total infected and deaths?

That's not the strategy - that's what happens without the strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

frillyleaf wrote: »
    If a distribution issue is affecting people on the frontline from being equipped with PPE there is a shortage issue. They may have loads of stock but if they are not getting to the staff that need them this is an issue.

It doesn’t matter if it’s due to numbers or to distribution - the end result is still the same - some staff do not have them hence there is a shortage. This is happening not particularly to people in hospital but with other care workers coming into contact with people - they don’t have enough PPE
    Eh, he said it was being addressed but rock on with the outrage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

MipMap wrote: »
    I'm guessing they are saying - we don't have enough Guards, no Army to speak of so enforcing a lockdown is not practical.

We will see in a few years when the documentaries come out

Shutting down all businesses except vital and necessary services does not require the army or Garda. The bill attached to that is just as frightening as the virus and will be here much much longer

It's a realistic type of conversation that could happen. There are people make these type decisions in wartime or during crisis. When morals are replaced with logic. The people who have to make that call are not the common man or woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Wow

Well the UK have "solved" that problem by deliberately not testing the majority of cases.

Phoebas wrote: »
    That's not the strategy - that's what happens without the strategy.

How is that not understood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭endainoz

I think you have no real input to this forum and have been wrong about most things you have said since the beginning.

noodler wrote: »
    Of course there are.

People bare hypochondriaca.

7% of tests have been positive so far.
    Can you clarify your second sentence? Genuinely interested. I know predictive texting is a pain in the hole the way it prioritises mistaken words over real words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

rossie1977 wrote: »
    One of the main things that does differ between here and Italy is the median age of those hospitalised. In Italy it's 67, in Ireland so far its 44.
    Indeed.
    Do we have numbers on comorbidities for these younger patients ?
    Were they hit by coronavirus when healthy ?
    Or do they have cardiovascular diseases, diabetes ....?