Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

A post a little bit back got me thinking, if there's any house burglars on this thread, you will probably be dealt with severely if you are caught in a house now. Dirty bastards probably wouldn't even wash theur hands before coming into someone's house.
    Oh, and to any coke users, stop shoving something into your respiratory system that's been handled by the dimmest and most narcissistic 'don't give a flying feck about anyone' people in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

Never argue with idiots, ull never win!
    Still seeing this on my what’s app groups as well , a mother giving out yesterday that the barbers were closed and her two precious boys were being denied a trim ..
    I honestly didn’t think this country had so many thick people till this virus took hold. Had another friend asking everyone over last night for birthday drinks, like he invited 20 people into his sitting room , not teenagers that people are giving out about but grown men and women in their 50s in a small room getting pissed .. the mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Italy is only testing people who are hospitalised

They are turning away anyone who isnt critical because their hospiteals are overrun

This is surely to blame for their death rate being out of kilter?
    How many are recovering at home there,who never get tested?

Never even mind that. Have a look at their concluded cases. So far 56% recovering and 44% dying. This will improve over time for sure but right now that's an awful stat and has been at 44% for at least three days now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Are all passenger flights going to be grounded soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,463 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I still think my 1500 prediction be much closer to our March 31 total than say 8, 10, 13, 15 k..

We’re looking at 200 + today to bring us back to the 25-30 % increase...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Not in Kansas

Just to say I might know a few people who seem to have got it at a family event 4 weeks ago in this country. They didn't know they got it at the time. One in their 70's got a dry cough for roughly 10 days. One in their 80's felt fatigued/tired for two days. One in their 30's got a sore throat for two days and another in their 30's developed no symptoms. They weren't tested/ tested positive but someone else (a few) who were at this family gathering were since tested positive. That was only disclosed lately and then people backtracked on what occurred to them after the event.

Might. Seem. No symptoms. Someone else or a few? Which is it?

This post is absolutely ridiculous.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

With regard to death rate/percentages, I would take South Korea's as fairly indicative of what the virus is/will do. Death rate in South Korea is approx. 1.17%.

For western areas, i suspect death rate will end up being a bit higher for health reasons (like diabeties/obesity).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

I'm in a WhatsApp group where some people are still quoting the number of deaths from flu per year. They're even throwing up deaths from poverty and C02 emissions. Basically their point is that this is all scaremongering. I give up.

Your at nothing I work in the hse frontline
    Iv gave up arguing the point with people so many think it’s all overkill and are basically doing everything they used to do as normal they might use a bit of hand sanitizer or put on a pair of gloves like they are magic and give them 100% protection

I’m just keeping myself and my wife and kids at home safe the people who are going on as normal well best of luck lads I hope you are right honestly do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

marno21 wrote: »

The only closed system we've seen a mortality rate from so far is the Diamond Princess. From the Diamond Princess we had 712 cases and 9 deaths (with 567 confirmed recoveries). That yields a death rate of 1.26%, which is a far more reliable indicator than any country to date. Given there being 136 remaining open cases we could see this figure rise - or it could be a case that resources aren't being concentrated on closing cases.

From what I've seen as well total passengers and crew numbered 3,711

So total on board: 3,711
    Tested positive: 712
    Deaths: 8
    Critical condition: 15

An interesting one for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

wakka12 wrote: »
    South East Asia is really going exactly the way of Western Europe..huge increase in numbers of cases being reported in Indonesia, Malaysia, Phillippines and Thailand

Very true. I'm unsure how it has taken so long for them to start . They mush have 100s dead already and not putting it down to covid19 until now. Thialand Cambodia etc all had cases 6 weeks ago

deisedevil wrote: »
    Never even mind that. Have a look at their concluded cases. So far 56% recovering and 44% dying. This will improve over time for sure but right now that's an awful stat and has been at 44% for at least three days now.

This is true

We have 5 recovered at the min and 3 dead (i hope it stays low like this for deaths)

A 37.5% death rate......i dont want to appear downplaying italys horriffic death rate,

But theres people getting hysterical now,what will they be like when we getting 500 plus cases a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,044 ✭✭✭✭fits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Gods Gift wrote: »
    You’d make a bad get away car driver.

But a decent covid 19 hitman. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

macnug wrote: »
    I dont know why they are not saying this more, obesity is a big risk factor imo. Larger mass = more oxygen requirement yet lungs are the same size. You also have the comorbidities that come with it, hypertension, diabetes etc. I had a cousin that was very obese who died from a kidney infection in her 40's. If you dont look after your weight you can die from (usually) benign conditions.

I guess it's not highlighted so much because the virus is here now and it takes months/years to safely lose weight. Someone who is obese/morbidly obese may not have time to safely get to a healthy weight before they get the virus. What we could see is 100s of people going on dangerous crash diets which could damage their organs and leave them even more vulnerable if they get infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Independent reporting 14 cases in a old people home, I’d be fearful we could see a big spike in next few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

silverharp wrote: »
    this made me laugh , might be a good one to keep the industrial sh1tters at bay

https://twitter.com/boblister_poole/status/1241461325383024643

My local supermarket is also doing that, but not so extreme. An extra 5€ for each additional pack of kitchen roll, toilet paper, etc with the money being donated to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

DOCARCH wrote: »
    With regard to death rate/percentages, I would take South Korea's as fairly indicative of what the virus is/will do. Death rate in South Korea is approx. 1.17%.

For western areas, i suspect death rate will end up being a bit higher for health reasons (like diabeties/obesity).

Obesity is much lower in Korea than any Western Country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

jester77 wrote: »
    My local supermarket is also doing that, but not so extreme. An extra 5€ for each additional pack of kitchen roll, toilet paper, etc with the money being donated to charity.

Then the rich will just snap it up and the retailers makes more, just limit purchases.

gozunda wrote: »
    Are your car keys not at risk when you unlock car, place shopping in boot and then remove gloves?

Clean your hands well. Clean car keys. All inside car controls and door handles. Then clean ur hands again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Although this could easily been predicted, it would have been handy to have had this sort of graph for the 'it's only flu' morons a couple of months ago.

Is_COVID-19_like_a_flu%3F_ENG.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Valhallapt wrote: »
    Independent reporting 14 cases in a old people home, I’d be fearful we could see a big spike in next few days

That's just awful :(

Same happened recently in Würzburg, so far 9 from the 160 inhabitants have passed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭john_doe.

sjb25 wrote: »
    Your at nothing I work in the hse frontline
    Iv gave up arguing the point with people so many think it’s all overkill and are basically doing everything they used to do as normal they might use a bit of hand sanitizer or put on a pair of gloves like they are magic and give them 100% protection

I’m just keeping myself and my wife and kids at home safe the people who are going on as normal well best of luck lads I hope you are right honestly do

If you are in HSE Frontline, how are you keeping your wife and kids safe by staying home , I would have thought the Frontline carries with it huge exposure to virus.

I'm genuinely interested as in same situation and even though we are staying home , risk of it coming back from hospital far outweighs that and there doesn't seem be thing can do for that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Not in Kansas

In addition to dietry advice I think the messaging for smokers should be hammered home also. Give up now and within a day your blood pressure is lower and within one month your lungs are beginning to heal thus giving you a better chance against this thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Keep good distance.
    If you're not mixing and a bit of a loner.
    If you're mixing a lot, you've a bigger chance of getting the virus.

Until you wash your hands.
    Just dont touch your mouth, eyes
    or pick your nose after touching something that could be potentially infected.

Its very simple advise.

If people can't adhere to this, there's seriously something wrong with them.

Unless your like the characters in zoolander or as daft as a brush you should be able to adjust to these practical suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,707 ✭✭✭irishgeo

wadacrack wrote: »
    The silence round this has been deafening. Been said by a few experts but has been left out. An Italian doctpr stated the number one factor was obesity. Time for people to wake up to this start to lose weight and eat a healthier diet

The Mediterranean diet was best diet in the world according newspapers and magazines a while back.

There's a point at which sensible precautions become OCD to the point at which it's severely harming your mental health, and it sounds like you've passed it. I would be far more careful than most, being OCD diagnosed myself, but I was advised by my doctor not to be going to these kinds of lengths.

As Covid 19 is seriously contiguous. I be more than OCD to prevent it. People walking around in supermarkets could have it and if they coughed into their hands and then handle food packaging or wrappers in shelf you are then bringing the disease home with you. Be OCD, nothing wrong with it in these uncertain times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭RiseAbove4

I’ve just read that 30% of all Irish cases have been hospitalised and it’s filled me with dread

So the maths on it is;

- 60% of us will get it (At least. I think it’ll be closer to 90%)

- And almost one third of those cases will end up in hospital?

Our hospital system will never cope with this!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

wadacrack wrote: »
    Obesity is much lower in Korea than any Western Country

That's why I said death rate should be higher in the west (Europe and US).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,044 ✭✭✭✭fits

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Ugh the dailymail.

It’s a personal account from a doctor.