Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,042 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

dublin99 wrote: »
    A second dog has tested positive for coronavirus in Hong Kong. It is a German shepherd whose owner was also a confirmed case.

The first dog that was diagnosed, a 17 year pomeranian, died earlier on this week.

I thought animals could not get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,145 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Thoughts on the emergency legislation and power to detain?

Do you think it will come into effect immediately, or will hold of until things get worse?

For me this is a very worrying development. Emergency legislation has a habit of always being too authoritarian and gives government agencies far more power than is warranted.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

jamesf85 wrote: »
    This is really something.

I wonder, and this is just me thinking out loud, but does the fact that we are from a colder climate help? Are our immune systems better at handling cold and flus?

Generally the worst flu outbreaks are after mild winters?

The German numbers are both astonishing and comforting. I’d question them but it makes no sense for any EU country to skew their numbers, it could only serve more harm than good to your economy. I know they only count true covid19 cases as the reason of death, but maybe that’s more accurate anyway.

one factor possibly is that Germans don't culturally like bringing their temperatures down with drugs. The average German wouldn't even consider taking otc fever reducing pills

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Didn't someone say that Germany are being a economical with the figures tho. Such as deaths which had the virus and an underlying condition not being recorded as a covid death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭acequion

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Jesus, so did I!! :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

iguana wrote: »
    Germany's figures are so utterly weird. 13,486 active cases. 2 serious/critical. 2!!!

There is indeed something very strange about these numbers. I can't explain them and I tend to believe they shouldn't be taken at face value.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Drumpot wrote: »
    This should go in “positive things” about the virus. Well done store manager and checkout person, there’s no need for them to take that crap.

Actually considering what we are facing here he should have been told the Gardai would be called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭imokyrok

A second dog has tested positive for coronavirus in Hong Kong. It is a German shepherd whose owner was also a confirmed case.

The first dog that was diagnosed, a 17 year pomeranian, died earlier on this week.

That's an elderly dog so it's not surprising an illness would have weakened it to the point of death. My two little 9 year old JRs are my shadows and would howl uncontrollably if I tried to keep them from my bed if I were sick. Difficult to manage that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think the testing here needs to be stepped up, more tested even without symptoms

Between 10,000 and 15,000 people are now due to be tested on a daily basis, so said Harris on radio this morning, think it was on SOR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Loughc wrote: »
    Gives student trial run at a government exam sitting.

Helps sort the students into Honours and Ordinary levels for Leaving Cert.

Without it first 3 years become redundant and a waste.

If the first 3 years of second level education become redundant and a waste if there is no Junior Cert., then you'd have to conclude that this part of the education system is completely dysfunctional. Education is not all about exams.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

RIP to the victim in the North

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

In fairness Trump admin does deserve blame.

Both US and S Korea discovered their first positive test on the same day.
    But look at the different trajectories both have made since.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-testing-specialrep/special-report-how-korea-trounced-u-s-in-race-to-test-people-for-coronavirus-idUSKBN2153BW?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=twitter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Didn't someone say that Germany are being a economical with the figures tho. Such as deaths which had the virus and an underlying condition not being recorded as a covid death

Plenty have stated that. I would be inclined to believe it.

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »
    What are Germany at? Covering up deaths by attributing them to underlying illness? I can't see the point in doing this.

Or are they just putting down Pneumonia as the cause of death for all Covid-19 cases?

As much as I want to believe that they are having much better success in treating this I just don't...

Agree. Plus even if their ICUs are better at treating critical cases (they do have more ICU beds than most European countries), those critical cases should still show up in the stats. There is something clearly inconsistent with the figures IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Bob24 wrote: »
    There is indeed something very strange about these numbers. I can't explain them and I tend to believe they shouldn't be taken at face value.

Maybe Germany is just doing a very good job so far. Sure look at our stats, 2 dead and and 366 cases, we'll be doing very well if that death count stays in single digits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,743 ✭✭✭✭josip

Even with the poor doggies it's the older ones at risk.
    Was the pom a 'he' and did it smoke also?

madcabbage wrote: »
    Maybe Germany is just doing a very good job so far. Sure look at our stats, 2 dead and and 366 cases, we'll be doing very well if that death count stays in single digits.

What doesn't add-up to me is the even if they are doing a better job at handling critical cases, they should still see those critical case (except they would end up cured rather than dead). But there are very few in the figures we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭regedit

Drumpot wrote: »
    This should go in “positive things” about the virus. Well done store manager and checkout person, there’s no need for them to take that crap.

This should be in the news. Not to stigmatise the family but just to reinforce teh need for physical distancing which may save a few lives. Everyone deals with stress differently so, who knows how that guy handled it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

madcabbage wrote: »

Its nothing to do with doing well, 2 patients out of 13,000+ presenting in a serious condition would put it at about ten times milder a disease than seasonal flu. Its just impossible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I wonder, and this is just me thinking out loud, but does the fact that we are from a colder climate help? Are our immune systems better at handling cold and flus?

The German numbers are both astonishing and comforting. I’d question them but it makes no sense for any EU country to skew their numbers, it could only serve more harm than good to your economy. I know they only count true covid19 cases as the reason of death, but maybe that’s more accurate anyway.

Yes you may be on to something.......
    Maybe the Chineses and the Eyetalians are just weaker, genetically speaking of course.
    Yes I believe you've stumbled across a theory........Racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

More than likely The German government/establishment would like to keep some sort of stability to the Euro currency. If they turn out to be like Italy and Spain, the currency would crash for sure.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

imokyrok wrote: »
    That's an elderly dog so it's not surprising an illness would have weakened it to the point of death. My two little 9 year old JRs are my shadows and would howl uncontrollably if I tried to keep them from my bed if I were sick. Difficult to manage that situation.

What's scary isn't that it's an elderly dog that got it, but that it's a dog. It means the virus has jumped species again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »
    What are Germany at? Covering up deaths by attributing them to underlying illness? I can't see the point in doing this.

Or are they just putting down Pneumonia as the cause of death for all Covid-19 cases?

As much as I want to believe that they are having much better success in treating this I just don't...

They probably want to keep stability in the Euro currency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Bob24 wrote: »

Why?

Sometimes the Germans are just better at stuff than other nations...

I know that's not a very concrete conclusion, and a bit of a sweeping generalisation... but they kind of just are very efficient and organised as a group of people. And they tend to approach things differently to most of the countries around them!

I'd love to know more details about how exactly they're tackling it. My guess is that they must have put in place some very strict measures, and to a man (and woman) they are probably rigidly following those protocols!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Why?

Sometimes the Germans are just better at stuff than other nations...

I know that's not a very concrete conclusion, and a bit of a sweeping generalisation... but they kind of just are very efficient and organised as a group of people. And they tend to approach things differently to most of the countries around them!

I'd love to know more details about how exactly they're tackling it. My guess is that they must have put in place some very strict measures, and to a man (and woman) they are probably rigidly following those protocols!

Similarly, the mortality rate in Norway and Sweden is negligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

The GSD tested positive weeks ago, the Pom tested clear of the virus twice before it was left home - it's initial positive test was classified as 'weak' and believed to have been the result of it's infected owner kissing it.
    The dog was 17 years old, had many conditions, and the owner refused an autopsy so actual cause of death is unknown.

Please don't scaremonger. Vets -in Ireland! - are already reporting people are requesting perfectly healthy dogs be PTS 'in case' they get the virus, and rescues are reporting a notable increase in 'stray' dogs which they suspect have been abandoned out of fear they can get the virus.

The HK government made this statement on 4th March - when both dogs were under quarantine.
    The spokesman emphasised that there is currently no evidence that pet animals can be a source of infection of COVID-19 or that they become sick. Apart from maintaining good hygiene practices, pet owners need not be overly concerned and under no circumstances should they abandon their pets.
    https://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/202003/04/P2020030400658.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Un****in believable

That post is gone now, thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,475 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

this is interesting NYT health correspondent talking about how Chinese separated suspect cases from families and sent them to fever clinics so they couldn't infect their families https://twitter.com/MikeIsaac/status/1238604080571772928 (excuse the Maddow)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Fair play to Aldi.

I think they are correct in saying the grocery sector should be added to the list of critical/frontline services, along with supply chain, ports & farming/agri.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0319/1124141-aldi-ask-government-to-add-key-status-to-grocery-sector/

And also fair play to them for this;
    Group Buying Director of Aldi, John Curtin, said that the company will be increasing its workforce to meet demands.

He added that it will target workers laid off so far as a result of recent closures and will work with the Restaurants Association, Hotels Federation and Retail Groups in order to offer "opportunities to those who need work during this time of crisis".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

iguana wrote: »
    Germany's figures are so utterly weird. 13,486 active cases. 2 serious/critical. 2!!!

Possibly in a previous edition of this thread, someone posted an age distribution of positive cases in Germany and they were on average, decades younger than in Italy, with relatively few people in the 70+ age bracket getting it. If that age distribution was correct, it is more than enough to explain the low death rate, but of course begs the question of why such a huge difference in age distribution?