Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,949 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

NIMAN wrote: »
    There's no harm out walking as long as you keep your distance from others and don't squeeze on passers by surely.

If you have tested positive your a selfish p*ck if you even chance walking in public,

Jesus Christ a few days in self isolation if your past the worst won't kill you but walking might kill someone else,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

There's no harm out walking as long as you keep your distance from others and don't squeeze on passers by surely.

No, you isolate immediately if you feel symptoms. People are not fully informed it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

MD1990 wrote: »
    why it is very relevant to how its been handled in the US

You dont like it dont read the thread
    He isn't even mentioned that much anyway

Yea it's one thing discussing and giving out how he's handling it it's another thing listening to lads constantly repeating the same ****e about dump trump, all his supporters are dumb, the US is full of dumb people, there's plenty more threads on the site for that scutter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dummy_crusher

Oh Jesus can lads give it a rest with the Trump bashing FFS

Thread is about Covid-19. There is a discussion about the reaction of the "leader of the free world" to this crisis... Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Foxx92 wrote: »
    Annoying, and probably something that could be looked at for the next potential wave. Allow everyone to give forward their details for say 30 days. We could then have notifications sent to anyone that was in the same place at roughly the same time of a confirmed case notified and they could self isolate with the knowledge that there was a chance they were infected.
    It's not beyond our capabilities and to be honest is a lot more in line with the likes of korea and singapore and their ability to stuff this out before it gets to the general population

I completely agree.

I can understand protecting the anonymity of the early cases was really important, but at this stage anyone getting a positive result is just another statistic.

I'd like to see some of their data anonymised and shared widely. If nothing else it might scare some people who aren't taking this seriously into taking more precautions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Oh Jesus can lads give it a rest with the Trump bashing FFS

If the leader of a very powerful nation continually talks bollocks about a current subject, while at the same time trying to aggrandise himself, he's going to be criticised.

US2 wrote: »
    Seems it's almost impossible for anyone to get tested regardless of how bad symptoms are, yet most of the people tested showed no symptoms? My suspicions are being raised each day this passes.

An exercise by world governments to see if they have total control ? There certainly wont be any protests anywhere for a long time? There is always years of austerity ahead.

Reality is always strange and scarier than fiction,

"An exercise by world governments" would ye ever give your head a wobble ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

mick987 wrote: »
    If they stoped bashing Trump or Boris half this thread would disappear

Nonsense - there's always SF bashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,270 ✭✭✭Allinall

If you have tested positive your a selfish p*ck if you even chance walking in public,

Jesus Christ a few days in self isolation if your past the worst won't kill you but walking might kill someone else,

How, if you keep your distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,638 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Are we talking about people who know they are positive?

I'm talking in general. I go out and walk, and often have kids with me. We live rurally though and would rarely pass anyone as we keep to local lanes and roads.

Allinall wrote: »

Coughing/sneezing onto a surface. Someone comes along and touches the surface, then touches their mouth, nose, or eyes. Come on people, work with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Not everyone is on social media. Many, many older people were taking no notice of “the gossip”. Having the leader of our country on air telling everyone exactly what’s what was definitely needed.

Simon Harris and Simon Coveney haven't been off RTE 1 and the radio all week. Older people watch the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

So long as most new infections are in the younger age category, we are doing well. They will get over it mostly and it will create a pool of people immune to it. Also I think the experience from China is that females do better with this virus than males for some reason.

As a nation, more so the people, we are stepping up to the plate. This could be our finest hour! But lets not let our guard slip. Many months of this to go before we are on top of it.

Why chance it ? Such a terrible attitude,
    If your positive stay the f*ck at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Probably a good job that the last Brexit meeting was postponed.
    Barnier confirms he's got CoVid19 according to Sky News.

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-eus-brexit-negotiator-michel-barnier-tests-positive-for-covid-19-11960128

Link added

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,666 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

walshb wrote: »
    Just on state exams...

Very likely they cancelled/postponed?

I'd say the Junior Cert will definitely be cancelled. They might try holding the Leaving Cert with social distancing measures - using Junior Cert exam halls to spread students out. Too early to say yet though.

Are we talking about people who know they are positive?

I'm talking in general. I go out and walk, and often have kids with me. We live rurally though and would rarely pass anyone as we keep to local lanes and roads.

Someone said they tested positive and are doing ok but feel it in there lungs when they are out walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dummy_crusher

How to self-isolate - If you have to self-isolate, stay indoors and avoid contact with other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

gabeeg wrote: »
    I completely agree.

I can understand protecting the anonymity of the early cases was really important, but at this stage anyone getting a positive result is just another statistic.

I'd like to see some of their data anonymised and shared widely. If nothing else it might scare some people who aren't taking this seriously into taking more precautions

Exactly. I can imagine someone not taking social distancing seriously because they are asymptomatic or they think they are young and therefore okay. If they get a notification to their phone saying they are potentially infected, beware of being in public places, or near older or vunerable people they would take it more seriosuly. Especially if they are given an exact time and place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

who gives a ****e about Trump

have ye all run out of rubbish to post about the virus already?

some interesting projects tracking the spread of the virus by tracking its dna mutations, might shed some light on how exactly it got so bad in Italy, was it just one person kicked it off, did it come from the German case, was it multiple infections from China, why is it so bad up north and not in the south

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Great video on why mass testing and isolating infected is essential. This is a YouTube station that’s used by medical students in USA. Also the guy talking works in a hospital ( not as a janitor either :) ). He’s also done videos about patients being treated and the effects on the body.

Minute 5-6.45 is very technical stuff that I don’t understand and the stuff after is more about potential treatments that none of us will understand or get much out of. I suppose it does show that there are signs that there might be ways of reducing the impact of the virus in advance of a cure which would be nice to think.

Also has a link to HSE website on these videos which is great. I find this stuff interesting, most might not to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Achasanai wrote: »
    There's some suggestion that there is a big difference between northern Europe and southern Europe (including France) but not a clear consensus on whether this is due to testing (the UK clearly not doing enough testing would suggest this isn't the reason), a different strain of the virus, or something unknown.

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1240396106917347335

If those stats are true, that is genuinely remarkable. Anyone know why this might be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,015 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

How to self-isolate - If you have to self-isolate, stay indoors and avoid contact with other people.

'Shut yourself in a room with the window open.' It was 2° last night - no thanks.

They present a global image of ruthless efficiency. But Mossad, the Israeli intelligence service, has been lambasted today after it bought 100,000 Covid-19 testing kits that experts said lacked a crucial component.

Ynet reports comments from Itamar Grotto, the deputy director general of Israel’s health ministry, who said: “Unfortunately, what Mossad has delivered is not what we are in need of.”

According to the Jerusalem Post, the tests are missing a patented liquid in which testing swabs need to be dipped before carrying out screenings.

Israel so far has 529 confirmed cases of Covid-19, but has reported no deaths while 11 people in the country have recovered.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/mar/19/coronavirus-update-live-news-who-covid19-cases-outbreak-us-states-uk-school-closures-australia-europe-eu-africa-asia-latest-updates

oooof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Oh dear oh dear :eek:

We live in a very breezy country, I would certainly not advise someone with COVID 19 to go out walking. Don't be selfish and sit inside for a couple of days.

You could sneeze and someone could be 10 meters behind you and they will still pick up particles through aerosols as it carries in the wind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

mick987 wrote: »
    If they stoped bashing Trump or Boris half this thread would disappear

The deluded nonsensical opinions of 'the leader of the free world' keep appearing here... like what the seasonal effect will be on the spread of the virus (It will all be gone by April etc.)

And Boris Johnston's mishandling of the pandemic will have a huge effect here because viruses do not respect borders.

All very relevant IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Thoughts on the emergency legislation and power to detain?

Do you think it will come into effect immediately, or will hold of until things get worse?

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Oh dear oh dear :eek:

I think cars should be going around with loudspeakers informing/warning people. Amazing how people who are online don't understand how it can spread. What about those that live even a bit off the grid.

Achasanai wrote: »
    There's some suggestion that there is a big difference between northern Europe and southern Europe (including France) but not a clear consensus on whether this is due to testing (the UK clearly not doing enough testing would suggest this isn't the reason), a different strain of the virus, or something unknown.

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1240396106917347335

If you look at the the countries that constitute the South, they're all much further along this than those in the North.

I just think we're looking at it having taken hold earlier in southern countries than in Northern ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,015 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

If those stats are true, that is genuinely remarkable. Anyone know why this might be the case.

The virus can't compete with the level of alcohol in the blood and the Mediterranean diet isn't so hot, after all.