Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

Underlying conditions is such a catch-all. Is a dodgy knee included for instance. Had red hair? I mean who knows what could have contributed to their death. If you take Germany's approach they wouldn't get counted.

It is a respiratory illness. If a patient has asthma, is a smoker or has heart conditions it would make it more likely that they would develope complications.

I had covid19 and still having difficulty in walking any distance. I get out of breath so quickly.

It is easy to understand how this illness could have serious implacations for the elderly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Germany's stats are a pile of bollix too.

They claim that their total number of deaths due to COVID-19 is 31 but France's total number of deaths is 8.5 times higher even though France has 4000 less confirmed cases.

Another stat that sticks out is that Germany are claiming to only have 2 people in serious, critical condition.

Source. https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

There's some suggestion that there is a big difference between northern Europe and southern Europe (including France) but not a clear consensus on whether this is due to testing (the UK clearly not doing enough testing would suggest this isn't the reason), a different strain of the virus, or something unknown.

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1240396106917347335

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

BattleCorp wrote: »
    The problem is that we could easily have 223 new cases today but might not know it because of the lag in getting test results back/lack of testing.
    Yes more than likely have 223 + new cases today but probably not returned tests and all we can go by is the official figure , anything under 100 today would be a good sign but probably should expect to have a big jump probably on Monday. I recon tonight’s figures will 86 and one new death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

farmchoice wrote: »
    we would need to 223 cases reported today the lag is built into the figures.
    Indeed it's not a couple of people with an Excel spreadsheet at work on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

London tube this MORNING!

26156004-8128743-A_busy_Green_Park_station_in_London_this_morning-a-8_1584610025371.jpg

26155990-8128743-Passengers_were_forced_to_cram_into_carriages_after_services_wer-a-12_1584610025378.jpg

26157048-8128743-image-a-21_1584610447038.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dummy_crusher

Although Sky News is reporting +209 for Spain

"The death toll in Spain has risen to 767 - up 209 from yesterday."

11:20 newsflash here:
    https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-china-records-no-new-cases-in-hubei-province-11960005

Hmmm not quite by the looks of things...

It looks like total 767 total deaths at this point in time.

This is up 129 from 638 yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

The coronavirus COVID-19 is affecting 176 countries and territories around the world today.

The UN recognizes 195 countries.

https://virusncov.com/

Good luck with them getting any stats from Libya or Zimbabwe

Boggles wrote: »
    Jesus H Christ. America have not been testing largely because your hero claimed it was no worse than the flu.

Is there something wrong with you?

An ignoramus with his head buried in the sand until too late:

https://twitter.com/therecount/status/1240043597434687489?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Cuckoo7 wrote: »
    Well that’s not exactly like that. You don’t need a permit to go for groceries or to a pharmacy, but you do have to go alone.
    There were two exceptions, if you were accompanying an elderly person or someone with special needs. Later they have added minors, meaning you can take your children to the supermarket.

In this article they say that not even to go to work is obligatory to show a permit, although is appreciated by the authorities if you do have one.

https://www.elconfidencial.com/espana/2020-03-17/coronavirus-permiso-estado-alarma_2503099/

I did suspect the lazy article was telling porkies - or his wife whose Spanish is much better than his is looking for a break from him and the toddler. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Graham wrote: »
    I suspect it's for the posties benefit not the recipients.

But then the postie has to go through the day not touching his face same as you would have to do without gloves.
    If he touch his face with the gloves then he's transmitting to himself.
    I don't see the point or benefit. Just do the job and wash hands thoroughly after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Ok whatever suits the orange man bad narrative. If he throws on a hazmat suit and does the testing himself will it count more.

Orange man isn't bad. Orange man is useless with no real understanding of how the virus starts or spreads.

He literally denied it, then claimed it to be a hoax, then said it "It's not that bad, lots of people get the flu", then claimed it was the Democrats and fake news and now says it's under control and he knew it was a problem the whole time.

He's a god damn liar and it baffles me you can't see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭maximo31

In some good news for Americans i see Abbott are going to produce up to a million test kits a week. :
    https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-abbott/u-s-approves-abbott-coronavirus-test-company-set-to-ship-150000-idUSKBN21540U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Do the maths taking your example. Yesterday 475 people died. If each truck takes 10 coffins as you say? I'd say it's more like 6 or 7 if laid out flat.but even using your estimate of ten. Thats the whole of Italy. So not just that town but Bergamo is an epicentre so a video with 10 trucks transporting coffins is not fake news IMHO.

475 / 10 = 47.5 trucks.

I don't think it is an exaggeration at all. People are finding it hard to grasp the scale of this problem. Glad the government is procuring equipment on a grand scale to deal with this. Turning a stadium into a testing centre. Extraordinary times call for extraordinary measures.

Its 20% of the average daily death rate in italy. I know things will get worse but how can they not cope already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Sure Thing

https://www.thejournal.ie/exams-cancelled-5051120-Mar2020/

Leaving cert and junior cert Orals cancelled.
    My kids going wild !

yup - the German stats are quite frankly unbelievable too

https://virusncov.com/covid-statistics/germany

I wonder what their death rates are like for other conditions right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Daily New Cases

https://virusncov.com/covid-statistics/italy
    March 18: 7733

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/italy/
    March 18: 4207

Why the wild divergence?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

People are trying to place too much reliance on reported "cases". It seems there is little if any consistency in testing, or indeed how long it takes test figures and results to come through

Even the deaths figures are being distorted as some countries are not including people with underlying symptoms where this virus may have contributed to the death. However they are the most reliable stats we have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,013 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Do we really need to see people here arguing and bickering
    folks we are at war here civilisation is being torn apart can we all try and be a bit nicer we haven’t a clue what’s going on in a usernames life.

foxyladyxx wrote: »
    It is a respiratory illness. If a patient has asthma, is a smoker or has heart conditions it would make it more likely that they would develope complications.

I had covid19 and still having difficulty in walking any distance. I get out of breath so quickly.

It is easy to understand how this illness could have serious implacations for the elderly.

When did you get it foxy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

niallo27 wrote: »
    Its 20% of the average daily death rate in italy. I know things will get worse but how can they not cope already

You are assuming a uniform geographic death distribution. Much in the same way people divide the number of people who have the virus in china by its TOTAL population. We all know that there are clusters that are overwhelming locations and that if left unchecked every location will be the same.

You are either being disingenuous or obtuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dummy_crusher

Ok whatever suits the orange man bad narrative. If he throws on a hazmat suit and does the testing himself will it count more.

Ok, orange man aside, do you think their government has handled this well so far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

farmchoice wrote: »
    these are roughly the figures the government used to get to the projection of 15,000 cases
    T17: 292
    W18: 389
    T19: 589
    F20: 682
    S21: 923
    S22: 1,230
    M23: 1,640
    T24: 2,187
    W25: 2,916
    T26: 3,889
    F27: 5,185
    S28: 6,913
    S29: 9,218
    M30: 12,290
    T31: 16,387
    so to get back on track to hit 15000 we would need 223 new cases today.

You don't need to get back on track in just one day though. A jump of 20 extra and today and 31-32% jumps thereafter will bring you to the same figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

The testing numbers is the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Beasty wrote: »
    People are trying to place too much reliance on reported "cases".

Exactly. You could probably double the number of reported cases and still not be close to the true figure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Do we really need to see people here arguing and bickering
    folks we are at war here civilisation is being torn apart can we all try and be a bit nicer we haven’t a clue what’s going on in a usernames life.

Only anti Trump opinion is permitted. I have been called stupid, not well I'm the head, asked what is wrong with me etc.

If I say anything of a similar nature in return I will be reprimanded. Only one opinion permitted.

Such is life. It's ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Achasanai wrote: »
    There's some suggestion that there is a big difference between northern Europe and southern Europe (including France) but not a clear consensus on whether this is due to testing (the UK clearly not doing enough testing would suggest this isn't the reason), a different strain of the virus, or something unknown.

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1240396106917347335

It is pointless making assumptions about ICU /death rates in a country like Germany which has just 113 recovered patients and nearly 13,000 active cases. South Korea had a death rate of 0.2% for a long time and now a few weeks later it is over 1%, for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

To be honest, a higher number of cases in the coming days in Ireland is more likely to be indicative of success in clearing the backlog of testing requests than an indication of whether the problem is deteriorating or not.

We would probably need to know how many tests per day were built into that 15k figure by Leo in order for us to assess whether we are improving versus that scenario as a baseline.

Agreed with the points above about death statistics. Germany are less inclined to report Covid-19 as a cause of death.

Apparently the Germans are deliberately not factoring in underlying causes, which is completely dishonest and comes across "see our health service is the best in Europe". Losing a lot of respect for them.

But like Thailand last month - they didn’t have many virus deaths but those who died from pneumonia increased considerably.

Is there anywhere to see how many deaths in Germany (for all reasons) there have been and perhaps compare with previous month or year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Trump would be good as comedy value if it wasn't so serious. He's like a South Park character.

Anyone who thinks he is a good president is immensely dumb.

There is a lot of dumb people in the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

No, it's too late. He has cost countless lives.

He's finished.