Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

I'm Awful at maths can someone explain how its 25% not 5%, I believe ye just don't know the formula being used (I'm dumb :o )

Update to running total, rather than the daily figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Cases in Turkey soar, 93 new cases today.

Another Iran.

Can hide the numbers only so long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Mirium and her FF connections can't help herself.

This isn't meant to be a government bashing broadcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

walshb wrote: »
    I don’t think we get near 15000

Lets hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭cozar

He said they were planning for this since January??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Syncpolice wrote: »
    Of course it would be more effective

I see young lads car pooling to work today and then mingling with others all day

Aldi no hand sanitizer or anything at the entrance

Well at least the Greens will be happy about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

cozar wrote: »

He did.

What's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,098 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Naggdefy wrote: »
    If you look at it this way. We're up 74. Pop 4.8million.

UK pop is 68 million.

So it would mean an increase of 1,048 ppl today in the UK per head of pop. Very scary. Italy figures 12 days ago.

The UK actually went up 676 today.

The UK was doing very little testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So was the 15,000 number if we did **** all and opened what's closed now then ?

No we are still on target to hit those numbers at the current daily rate of increase. There is a certain amount of fluctuation in the data from day to day but we are still increasing on average at 30% per day. At this rate we hit just under 14,000 cases by March 31st. That is what logarithmic increase is about.

In fact our rate if increase is slightly above other countries so I do not share the optimism here tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

namloc1980 wrote: »
    We are also doing more than the UK and US per capita

It's not a competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

scotchy wrote: »
    Waiting since last Thursday here. My doctor rang me today to see if id heard anything yet. Doctor has contacted HSE twice so far before today.

I know someone symptomatic since last Tuesday and still not tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

Loughc wrote: »
    Where was that confirmed?

Not sure it’s been confirmed in media but the persons daughter said it on Twitter: [url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Your man on prime time making excuses for the HSE already.

Like what? What should he be saying...?

Have you ever tried to go forward when being knocked backward everytime you try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,302 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

sdanseo wrote: »
    If the amount of new cases per day only increased by 7% every day
    To be clear, that is NOT to say an increase of 7% per day, but an increase in the rate of increase of 7% per day.. think acceleratrion, m/s^2 etc)
    We would have just 1782 cases on 30th March not 15000
    And 4972 cases on 11th April not 202,000

And we should be aiming to get it even lower of course. The lower we get these numbers, the better we give our country the chance to recover from this crisis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Wouldn't say its scaremongering from Leo but I'd say they want to put the fear into everyone so that they follow the instructions.

It worked.

At least four people I work with were going to go into the office today and after the speech decided against it for another two weeks at least.

They can work from home.

Less people in the office = less social contact = less spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    That's wonderful but not how it works unfortunately. Increased testing will increase cases.
    But also increases isolation of cases and should reduce possibilities of further infections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

366 cases now in Ireland, Leo reckons they're be 15000 by the end of the month, that's 13 days away!

Is leo just scaremongering or is that realistic?

About 11,000+ if it keeps consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

2900 deaths in Italy, that’s a small town

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Panrich

beolight wrote: »
    Hard to believe that they wouldn’t be notified within minutes

I’m guessing that HSE figures are complied at 2pm or sometime everyday and that’s the figures he is sticking to his figures for other countries never match the update number either

A lot of the global figures he was giving were out of date too. The report must be done this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭crossman47

Man from HSE on prime Time is very impressive. Makes me glad to see someone like him in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

I recommend doing this.

Wear sanitary latex gloves and squirt some bleach on them or soap on them.
    Then go shopping or whatever you set out to do. Not only will you not be relying on hand sanitizers, but you will not touch your face unconsciously and every time you touch a door handle you will sanitize it too.
    Adhere social distancing too.
    What about wearing a mask too in order to minimise cough and sneeze contamination?
    Use shopping lists and move quickly to the place you know where the item is.
    Pay by card.
    No small talk other than hello or I'll call you later.

I bet we would be on a winner if we did this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭celt262

That 5 in cavan all from a stag in Newcastle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    The UK was doing very little testing.

True. But when you put our figures in the context of Spain, Italy etc we're still very much on the graph of where those countries were at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,874 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

walshb wrote: »
    I don’t think we get near 15000

1500 more like!

True yeah Leo might have added an extra 0 to that number for impact.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

366 cases now in Ireland, Leo reckons they're be 15000 by the end of the month, that's 13 days away!

Is leo just scaremongering or is that realistic?

Based on Italy, it isn't, but it's hard to know if the measures that have been put in place have worked just yet. I think we have a chance to achieve the flattening of the curve strategy, but still a long way to go.

I am a little more optimistic than I was a week ago, but I still completely accept that the worst times are still yet to come in Ireland. We've made the hard choices early and done a good bit of prep in terms of testing, equipment, gearing up the army/Gardai to assist and setting up places that can be used during the crisis. The goal is to be ready and to not let the health service be totally overwhelmed.

I think the leadership in Ireland has been good. I think Dr. Holohan is excellent and comes across as in control, while Leo has played a blinder and that is from someone who would be a big critic of his. For the people taking the piss out of his speech, just take a step back and think about the purpose of what he said, it was to create solidarity in what we are going through and what is yet to come. However, I think a national government should be formed during this crisis with all parties involved. A national government has never happened in the Republic of Ireland and the only close precedent is in the UK during wartime, but I feel this crisis warrants it. The sooner the better so we can focus on the time ahead.

The UK are not so lucky. I think the leadership shown there has been very poor during this crisis so far and don’t seem as prepared. Add to that a leader that seems to care more about the economy and the fact they are now even more isolated, you get a total ****show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,018 ✭✭✭jackboy

Anyone else think this virus has been on the go a lot longer. There was a nasty bug doing the rounds around december and January with all the covid symptoms.

This was mentioned before. Someone here said that was an unusual strain of the flu. Also, that dose did hit children hard with many sent to A&E. So, that is a difference from covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭cozar

He did.

What's the problem?

Should have told us in January if they had such good foresight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Lunchtime live ciara Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

cozar wrote: »

They were. I’ve a family member in the health service and remember them mentioning their planning back then. Just because you’ve not heard about it doesn’t mean it wasn’t happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

What symptoms did Dr Ciara have?