Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,468 ✭✭✭✭walshb

GM228 wrote: »
    It's still possible, he based it on average 30% day on day increase, yesterday was above at 30.9%, today is below at 25% - there will be fluctuations.

Today it’s very low...

5 up on 69 is under 8 percent, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,016 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

How could this be if people are on trains and buses and walking around in groups?

Perhaps they are all off taking scenic drives in the countryside. :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Christ, a lot of ye almost seem disappointed.

Pathetic isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,307 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

rob316 wrote: »
    And we have yet to see the inpact of the measures in place the last week. This is encouraging kudos to the HSE

But time for maximum vigilance now. No let up at all in the social distancing.....keep contact down to a bare minimum and all the hygiene measures in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Cheltenham and Spain holiday returners say hello.

You do realise that not everybody in Spain and Cheltenham have the virus?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Strazdas wrote: »
    The whole point of his speech is that we as a country are doing everything to stop it getting to 15,000 : he wants it to be well under that

Fair play to him for picking such a high number because he is going to come in way, way lower that. Thank God.

His address to the nation yesterday was, as i posted yesterday, scaremongering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

wadacrack wrote: »
    Only 74, great day. Time to head to the pub for a few bottles?

Crack on duckie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Daily numbers are just that. Plus 25% today, under the 30%. Yesterday 30%. Tomorrow could be 35%.

Italy was to have flattened after 3days plateau. Then high surge today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Great to see Holahan & the gang having a laugh there.

We will beat this I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Syncpolice wrote: »
    Number is meaningless isn't it

Not if you are one of them.

@Roger This

What are you modelling on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,974 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

harr wrote: »
    74 is a good number, seems like we might have caught this before the worst of it caught hold . Numbers will go up but hopefully they will stay Bon the low side .
    Anyone know how we compare to what Italy’s figures were like at this stage .

it does seem encouraging but let's not count the chickens before they hatch.

I went for a long walk this evening and there were other people out and given there aren't as many cars on the roads either I or the people walking towards me made moved out of the way even if there was space to pass each other. It was good to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭scotchy

spookwoman wrote: »
    7 days waiting for a test? or results?

Waiting since last Thursday here. My doctor rang me today to see if id heard anything yet. Doctor has contacted HSE twice so far before today.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

owlbethere wrote: »
    60 cases related to community transmissions

People need to play their part. We need Social Distance Warriors :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

How many test are they doing a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Russia lads.

63 cases.

How are they managing that?

Strict borders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Are they changing the ISL guys all the time to stay under 15 mins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Only when it's low it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

statesaver wrote: »
    Fair play to him for picking such a high number because he is going to come in way, way lower that. Thank God.

His address to the nation yesterday was, as i posted yesterday, scaremongering.

Rubbish. He laid out the salient facts in as anodyne way as possible. It was the complete opposite to scaremongering. If you think that was scaremongering, then you must have been living in a cave for the past three months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Ask the Italians if their numbers are meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,448 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

How many test are they doing a day?

About 74.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

we will pre-veil

no symptoms up to 24 days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

How long do test results take?

We could be 2 days behind here with results.

Lets not get too confident.

I am still waiting on a test, my gp sent the referral Monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Russia lads.

63 cases.

Strict borders?

Or lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

scotchy wrote: »
    Waiting since last Thursday here. My doctor rang me today to see if id heard anything yet. Doctor has contacted HSE twice so far before today.

Could be over it by the time you get the results. thats terrible time to wait

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Russia lads.

63 cases.

Strict borders?

Not telling us their actual numbers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

I was dreading the numbers today so happy with 74. Way, way too early to be complacent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Larbre34 wrote: »
    There is insufficient testing and diagnosis going on.

An additional 30,000 test kits are due to enter the system in the next couple of days, but whether the NRV lab can keep up is another matter, it may require the repurposing of pathology and agri science labs to keep up.

In other words, I believe that level of 60/70 is the ceiling of daily diagnosis and when capacity increases we will see numbers jump up.

The NVRL have blown past the 60 test limit.
    They have had days of over 660 tests and are a model of how to ramp output.

The other regional labs are coming on line now too.

The NVRL and the team there really are a model of process excellence that I hope can be emulated across our HSE in the days to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭RogerThis

STB. wrote: »
    @Roger This

What are you modelling on ?

The 30% a day, going to 15,000 by the end of the month. It's the only official Irish figures that I've heard of. Do you know a better model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

That projected number is an unmitigated total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

A high number would have kept people on here busy for the night posting.

Now they have nothing to do.