CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Anyone get the feeling that the government are loving this crisis. Never saw the likes of Harris and Donohoe so animated, they are almost giddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,193 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Just seen this in my Facebook feed, fair play to them rallying for the cause.

90350050_3063821540336821_5441271342630436864_n.png?_nc_cat=110&_nc_sid=8024bb&_nc_ohc=W8S7iPc7TyQAX-NdXoY&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub5-1.fna&oh=eb12875e3837243d1966f70606c0d885&oe=5E992C62

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Silver lining, Eurovison Song Contest cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,138 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Anyone get the feeling that the government are loving this crisis. Never saw the likes of Harris and Donohoe so animated, they are almost giddy.

Harris looks worried and concerned and impassioned to me..

bekker wrote: »
    Silver lining, Eurovison Song Contest cancelled.

But wait for it, probably replaced with Mr. Browns Boys!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

walshb wrote: »
    Are we expecting close to 90 people testing positive today?
    Yeah the numbers will probably be 400-500 total after tonight. I don't think they are really that important anymore because they don't give a remotely accurate picture of the spread.

Unless they "granulate" the cases so we can actually see the distribution across the country. But I doubt that's coming tonight seeing as they didn't even bother to do a press conference yesterday. It doesn't seem like the general public are actually very high on Tony's list of properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Early reports indicate Irish Racing is set to continue behind closed doors.

Utter madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,747 ✭✭✭Allinall

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Differences in cultures in regards to Italy and the UK :o

https://gofile.io/?c=j3YVTV

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Seriously?

So many probably barely getting sleep.
    They are doing their best job they can and I doubt anyone would want to be in their shoes.

Comments like this are making me check this thread less often.

BoroMan32 wrote: »

Utter madness.

This is why the govt need to enact emergency powers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭KGLady

bekker wrote: »
    Did HSE advise your daughter and yourself to self-isolation regime from the rest of the family, use separate sets utensils etc. Have you been provided with masks?

Not suggesting above is necessary in your case, just seeking to find out what HSE SOP* is for suspected cases awaiting testing, or waiting for results of tests, as an increasing backlog appears to be building up.

*standard operating procedure

Still waiting on HSE contact with our test, so nothing provided at all. And yes we were advised to try self isolate the both of us away from the others and we were really trying hard last week, she slept in with me and we used the en suite, tried as much as possible to keep the older pair at a distance and stop physical contact, but it was just too stressful on them. Older ones were more afraid and stressed without hugs and the wee one was devastated to be 'left out' and wanted her Daddy to tuck her in to bed.. her own pink bed :D, and sure small houses in Dublin there's not really much room to spread out that much.

In the end the kids got up and were playing together in the morning :o and sure they live in a pile up all the time, and were like that while the symptoms were developing. So for everyones emotional well being we just decided to relent and suppose that they'd already been exposed. Trying to keep some distance to himself so he can keep working from home and manage mealtimes and such, being careful about hot cycle on dishwasher and washing machine, antibacterial spray and wipes and lots of cough hygiene. It was just too much for us to maintain full isolation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

No, I'm really not seeing that. Harris especially looks drained and tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭circadian

Yes I'm sure they're loving every minute of a pandemic that could completely cripple our health services and crash the economy. Fun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

No. They looked scared shítless at times.

Nobody is enjoying this. The madness prevailing in the background is unknown to the general public.

The "fun" hasn't even started yet. Wait until the numbers skyrocket and people are shacked up in field hospitals.
    walshb wrote: »
    This is why the govt need to enact emergency powers..

Will be in by end of week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

They are now relying on these countries for crucial supplies, why wouldn't he bring this up especially if this crisis persists. Strategic importance and removing complex supply chains along with having that expertise and knowledge back home would be huge win for America. Also the US has the most expensive meds in the world and the likes of Ireland are clearly faciliting this through their tax games on patented products.

What can he do about it now? Fit out new factories and labs in the midst of this crisis? He should have done it 4 years ago if he was going to do it at all.
    His problem is he is always looking for scapegoats to deflect his contradictions whether it is the Irish, The EU or the Chinese.
    Trump is a waste of carbon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Herd Immunity is playing Russian Roulette.

That's it in a nutshell. Its overly complicated, hugely expensive, impossible to properly enforce - you'd want a police officer patrolling every elder person's home, and you'd have to isolate older people when they need to go to hospital which they will.

The only viable approach is the one used by 99% of countries at the moment - slow the virus, hope not too many elderly are affected, allow a very slow controlled spread which does not overwhelm health services and try to eliminate it from areas. Anyone who is infected and cured should be trained up in medical services, testing, etc.

Our best hope is a vaccine or treatment for the symptoms. I'd like to see companies and governments working together on this. At the moment they seem to be engaged in a competition to come up with a vaccine which is the wrong approach. This is likely bigger than one company alone to solve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭shoes43

My boss has just decided to tell me he is getting tested tomorrow - he hasn't been in the office much the last few day and we do not sure the same office space, I am upstairs him downstairs but he decided to come in for about 40 minutes this morning. But as a matter of precaution as I have parents in their 70s I am now going to have too avoid them for then next few days til he gets his test results. I am hoping he is just been a drama queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,747 ✭✭✭Allinall

BoroMan32 wrote: »

Utter madness.

Reports from where?

All British racing is cancelled until May at the earliest.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,817 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Call me Al wrote: »
    No, I'm really not seeing that. Harris especially looks drained and tired.

To be fair he always did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭jarvis

shoes43 wrote: »
    My boss has just decided to tell me he is getting tested tomorrow - he hasn't been in the office much the last few day and we do not sure the same office space, I am upstairs him downstairs but he decided to come in for about 40 minutes this morning. But as a matter of precaution as I have parents in their 70s I am now going to have too avoid them for then next few days til he gets his test results. I am hoping he is just been a drama queen.

I would say to everyone to avoid your elderly relatives no matter what if at all possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

shoes43 wrote: »

What the hell was he doing in this morning, the selfish wank3r.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

Canada and America closing their border.

Announcement by Trudeau last few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Allinall wrote: »
    Reports from where?

All British racing is cancelled until May at the earliest.

https://twitter.com/Ui_Maine/status/1240290564068737024?s=20

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Seriously?

So many probably barely getting sleep.
    They are doing their best job they can and I doubt anyone would want to be in their shoes.

Comments like this are making me check this thread less often.

From a mental health point of view, I’m clicking less and less. I’ve reached a point where I’m not getting any new helpful info. All it does is raise the stress levels.

There aRe some who, even in a global crisis, still can’t help but stick to personal agendas. Hey, maybe it’s their coping mechanism...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Just been told that a lad in my workplace(different shift) has turned up to work despite a member of his family having it.

Company* isn't paying people who are self-isolating...so he just told them he hadn't any contact with this family member in the last number of weeks...could get very dicey as nobody believes him

*company's worth a fortune & share price has increased since CoVid-19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Anyone who returned from Spain or Italy in recent weeks (and possibly Cheltenham) should be subjected to isolation orders by the government. The gardai should pay random visits to their house and if they aren't home, impose substantial fines.

These people should be at home, not out and about pretending life can continue as normal and potentially spreading the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I assume this mortgage repayments deferral/holiday or whatever is most appropriate to call it isn't a blanket thing. They'll only allow it to people who can prove they can't repay currently due to loss of employment or income, right?

Details have yet to be released but I would say people will have to contact their banks.

TBH - personally I think a blanket deferral would be simpler - just hit pause on all mortgage repayments for 3 months - but I doubt that is what will happen.
    And yes, I know some people will be able to continue to pay but surely from an admin point of view it would be easier if those people got in touch with the bank to say so.

One concern is that according to the Indo interest could keep accruing. So perhaps it's really interest only on offer...

I'm sure we'll find out the details later.