CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭standardg60

Personally i didn't like the reference to the 'few', there will only ever be one few. Also thought something like a moratorium on rents and mortgages would have been announced, but overall good.

Knowledge is learning something, wisdom is learning from it, intelligence thought of it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Louise O Reilly can feck right off, still political point scoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

I predict we won't get to anything near 15000 cases by the end of the month.

And your going off the modeling predictions that have been provided to the Taoiseach and Chief Medical Officer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

statesaver wrote: »
    If someone posted here what Leo said they would be attacked for scaremongering.

15000 cases by the end of the month....stop scaremongering.....source ?..........blah blah blah

If 15k in 3 weeks is right the following week it be 45 k and the following one over 400k, if his 30% a week is correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

This is as bad as the people knocking Leo.

actually it was just a joke. I we lose our sense of humour then we ar really no longer Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,509 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Will you complain if we don't because someone from FG said it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,075 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I suppose Leo is coming in for abuse here after that..

Even though it's undeserved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,139 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Not a sniff of humanity off her...

In your face type demanding..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Shops are going to be cleaned out tomorrow morning after that scaremongering speech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Look if we get SF in now we will have no austerity and can spend an extra 25billion by 2025.

Crisis solved.

At least you had the good grace to admit it was a prediction instead of making a grand definitive statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,686 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

We will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,149 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Shops are going to be cleaned out tomorrow morning after that scaremongering speech

the oap's and carers at least will get it before the others :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,244 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

SF TD talking about someone who just took out a car loan. I wouldn't give a $hite how much in debt i was after this if I still had all my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

wadacrack wrote: »
    If Varadkar is predicting 15,000 by end of month , why aren't we on a lockdown.

Do you need to be spoon fed common sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    My mam had similar stories today.

I wonder if a certain group of our elderly are just not clued in to the news and live in their own bubble.

They aren't glued to the interweb like the rest of us. We have to pass the info on to them and stress the urgency. Again and again and again.

I speak as someone who has to call my elderly mother and convince her to stay in, every day. So far it is working, but she isn't as well informed as her keyboard warrior son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,142 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

and then the attendants take the money ?progressive

Card only , and tap. If you need more than 30
    Do it twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Tom1991

And they will be filled by the next day.we are still wasting food by the skip load even by current demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭chin nuts

I can't believe anyone would cry listening to that mealy-mouthed speech. For one thing, the government have not acted soon enough on almost anything. They've actively made the virus sweep the country by not taking measures soon enough and spoonfeeding the public information too late.

A woman I know who wasn't feeling great in school during last week was finally diagnosed today and her test took so long to come back that several people she worked with were not aware she was awaiting results. Three of her colleagues are now showing symptoms and had no idea that they even needed to self isolate until today. That is what we're dealing with.

If the system worked, these types of situation would not be occurring with the regularity they are.

While I understand that speech was made to fill in the public who aren't online, I can't understand why anyone would be upset by what was said, unless you were upset by the person saying it.

Was there no f*cking HSE briefing today??

That lady should have self isolated if she felt unwell. She put her co-workers and their families at risk. Can hardly blame the government for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

I've a feeling we're not going to have enough tests at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭threeball

lawred2 wrote: »
    I suppose Leo is coming in for abuse here after that..

Even though it's undeserved...

Leo released the virus so he could re-run the election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

This

No chance of them increasing taxes when half country won't be working. Whatever needs to be done economically will be done on the far side, nit in one month. And I think it will be more on the stimulus side rather than austerity given the experience people had with austerity already. More or less everyone whose opinion counts has said it didn't work including those who were the cheerleaders for it at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭cozar

Miriam o Callaghan looks like a tall leprechaun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,764 ✭✭✭storker

Not a bad speech to be fair, apart from the RTE-style unnecessary pauses that kill the sentence flow. The content was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Leo is thoroughly unlikeable. Disingenuous .

And 30 quid for a phone call to a GP. Gouging bastards. Heroes my bollocks.

Where is this 30 quid for a call coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭PhantomHat

Look if we get SF in now we will have no austerity and can spend an extra 25billion by 2025.

Crisis solved.
    I believe they have many highly skilled JCB operators that can access cash on demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

banie01 wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of Fine Gael, nor of Varadkar.

However, if the man is remembered for nothing else.
    The failings of government policy, the housing crisis...

That speech just now...
    Will be his defining moment as Taoseaich.
    He struck a balance between empathetic and statesman like.

I'd also like to think that his Churchillian borrowing was a direct dig at BoJo and his buffoon of a father!
    That confident and assured oration, that would put a nation on a war footing.
    That's what many in the UK expected of Boris.

I'll be quite honest, if Corona Virus was tangible I'd nearly be out trying to petrol bomb it ;)

It is going to be a long and cloistered summer for some of us.
    I'm probably going to be one of those people who are "cocooned"

I have however, far more confidence in our Government and it's willingness to listen to best advice, and to put our citizen's safety 1st.

I had to log on specifically to thank this post.
    People should never underestimate just how vital it is for the population of a country to be reassured that their leaders can be trusted to do the right thing in a crisis.
    Leo, Simon Coveny and Simon Harris, have all gone up in my estimation as a result of their actions during this crisis.
    That speech was needed tonight, and was perfectly weighted for the point we are currently at on the curve.
    There will be more of these needed unfortunately, as we move into different stages, and implement new measures, but I rest assured that these guys genuinely have our best interests at heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I haven't seen him as an effective leader (although the way he's spoken of as though he's the devil incarnate is laughable) but I thought he did a good job. Naturally, being this country, where the taoiseach would be slated if they implemented world peace, there has to be the usual bitter crowd painstakingly trying to find faults and coming up with nothing.

Yeah there will be a huge financial cost - it needs to be said. He'd no doubt be torn to shreds for not saying it, and "hiding the truth" and it's hardly the only thing he said.

"Why isn't there a lockdown?" Why can't people take responsibility for themselves too? And isn't there effectively a lockdown? Only essential businesses and services are open.

There was plenty to wake up to there. I thought I realised the potential ramifications. I didn't. And I'm being vigilant.

Also, has Ireland really let it get to as late a stage as Italy did before drastic measures were taken? I don't know if it has.