Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Tomrota

maebee wrote: »
    Looks like we can't join the EU shutdown coz of the Brits. We would have to close the border.

Ridiculous. We’ll be dragged down with them for the rest of time it seems.they were the ones who decided not to enter it. So they’re making decisions for us still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

I'm not fully convinced on Coveny and vardkar

They've earned a lot of statesman brownie points with Brexit and Corona

End of the day they're mostly talking heads with speechwriters and others pulling the strings

Exactly.not 2 weeks ago he was staring into a flood like a donkey looking up at the moon and all the talk of flood relief and works carried out to prevent it happening.
    Don’t be dazzled by the waffler

Couldn't agree more, we're not all goldfish. It was a reassuring speech, and more power to Leo. However, some perspective is needed in the face of borderline idolatry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Satturnfalls

Fer jesus sake, id say the man decided to give us a message on saint patricks day. OUR national day that we had to spend indoors and cancel celebrations. Cut varadker some slack. Also pleases don't turn this thread into politics theres enough stuff to worry about wit the virus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,993 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well it seems the speach from Leo varadkar has gone down well which isn't surprising as it was a very good speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

I can't believe anyone would cry listening to that mealy-mouthed speech. For one thing, the government have not acted soon enough on almost anything. They've actively made the virus sweep the country by not taking measures soon enough and spoonfeeding the public information too late.

A woman I know who wasn't feeling great in school during last week was finally diagnosed today and her test took so long to come back that several people she worked with were not aware she was awaiting results. Three of her colleagues are now showing symptoms and had no idea that they even needed to self isolate until today. That is what we're dealing with.

If the system worked, these types of situation would not be occurring with the regularity they are.

While I understand that speech was made to fill in the public who aren't online, I can't understand why anyone would be upset by what was said, unless you were upset by the person saying it.

Was there no f*cking HSE briefing today??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Leo is thoroughly unlikeable. Disingenuous .

And 30 quid for a phone call to a GP. Gouging bastards. Heroes my bollocks.

Are you working for free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

People falling over themselves to put him on the highest plinth. It's one scripted speech, let history be the ultimate judge.

Useless political point scoring. You have the thread destroyed with this nonsense.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

There's nobody on trolleys. This just proves the GPs and the old folks homes are the reason our a+e's are full. We just need better triage

I would imagine that our hospitals have been emptying out their beds and postponing elective surgery, that would have freed up space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

I can't believe anyone would cry listening to the mealy-mouthed speech. For one thing, the government have not acted soon enough on almost anything. They've actively made the virus sweep the country by not taking measures soon enough and spoonfeeding the public information too late.

A woman I know who wasn't feeling great in school during last week was finally diagnosed today and because her test took so long. Several people she worked with were not aware she was awaiting results. Three of her colleagues are now showing symptoms.

If the system worked, these types of situation would not be occurring with the regularity they are.

While I understand that speech was made to fill in the public who aren't online, I can't understand why anyone would be upset by what was said, unless you were upset by the person saying it.

The hatred for Leo runs pretty deep for plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭2016

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Going to be honest, I hope a good chunk of the elderly got a bit of a wake up call.

The few times I've been out the last few days, it's the elderly who aren't taking social distancing seriously. I've had to queue up in shops a few times, and young people are spacing out while the elderly, the most at risk group, are all huddling up on everyone.

I get you don't want panic in general, but the ones most at risk are the ones refusing to adjust.

Bingo!

I've talked to only 4 >70 year olds, but the complacency was shocking ("if I get it, I get it"). They needed a wake-up call.

This speech alone will save a few lives if it gets them to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

fuerte1976 wrote: »
    Agree. And I'm no fan of FG. Covney is the real deal here ..

Simon Coveney has been outstanding for the last 2 years - through Brexit and now this.

I'm no fan of Leo but in fairness he was excellent this evening. I know he has speech writers and all that but I get a genuine sense that our government know what they're doing and they're in control and making sure we're informed. Nor will they be afraid to take tough decisions if and when necessary.

Simon Harris has played a blinder too.

Finally, the HSE crew (Tony Holohan, Paul Reid et al) inspire confidence and assurance.

Once they got the fiasco of the St Patrick's Day parade over with, they've been on the ball and they're maintaining control.

I get the impression they're expecting banks to do the decent thing - they should be able to look at individual cases and apply common sense. The politicians have made numerous references in recent days to the fact that the taxpayers bailed out the banks. I work in an industry that is going to be seriously impacted by the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

JRant wrote: »
    Remember folks, the most important part of his speech was that there is a big Bill coming and it needs to be paid.

Emergency budget in a month to increase tax rates without a doubt.

Yeah I noticed that too, but what did we expect. They are supporting a lot of citizens right now to minimise the overall damage.

If they didn't take these measures then they'd be wrong so I'm sure like many others I won't mind paying extra if I still have my loved ones plus a job when we come out the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Bravo to speech. However, masking lack of planning re testing kits and equipment. Wtf have the HSE been doing for the last month? The fûkin dogs on the street knew what was needed. Quoting Churchill FFS, Enda kennyesque.
    Leo did a good job tonight, though context played to his strengths, and whoever put it together is irrelevant.

Presentation struck the needed note for domestic and international audiences, did the Churchillian bit a lot better than BoJo.

For what's worth, wouldn't for vote him, and haven't voted for his ilk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

If Varadkar is predicting 15,000 by end of month , why aren't we on a lockdown. That's a huge number for a country of our population. I'm not feeling like we a re doing enough. 6.600 tests conducted. We are moving too slow with a virus that grows so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭4Ad

There's nobody on trolleys. This just proves the GPs and the old folks homes are the reason our a+e's are full. We just need better triage

And families using hospitals as a care/ nursing home..My niece is a nurse, she always said the same !!
    Empty beds in Limerick and Ennis last weekend !

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Well it seems the speach from Leo varadkar has gone down well which isn't surprising as it was a very good speech.

It was a very good speech. I applauded it. But, words are words. Let us see how this progresses and hold them to account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

froog wrote: »
    i know we're not supposed to get political here, but thank F they are not in power right now.

Not sure it matters.
    Dr. Tony Holohan is running the country now.
    The politicians are doing what he says and I for one am grateful
    that we have him doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I can't believe anyone would cry listening to the mealy-mouthed speech. For one thing, the government have not acted soon enough on almost anything. They've actively made the virus sweep the country by not taking measures soon enough and spoonfeeding the public information too late.

A woman I know who wasn't feeling great in school during last week was finally diagnosed today and because her test took so long. Several people she worked with were not aware she was awaiting results. Three of her colleagues are now showing symptoms.

Hard to blame one woman you know not following advice that if they has symptoms to isolate on the HSE or government. It's obvious there's going to be delays on testing when the numbers ramp up, it's on us to not be stupid and go out mixing with people if we have symptoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭freddie1970

Hurrache wrote: »
    New SF TD being a dick as par for the course
    [url]

Stupid tweet ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Mary Lou is gone to ground completely. In fairness she’d have struggled coming up with a plan once she realized she couldn’t knee cap the corona virus

This is as bad as the people knocking Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Mary Lou is gone to ground completely. In fairness she’d have struggled coming up with a plan once she realized she couldn’t knee cap the corona virus

She’s working from home aswell as being a full time mother to kids off school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Going to be honest, I hope a good chunk of the elderly got a bit of a wake up call.

The few times I've been out the last few days, it's the elderly who aren't taking social distancing seriously. I've had to queue up in shops a few times, and young people are spacing out while the elderly, the most at risk group, are all huddling up on everyone.

I get you don't want panic in general, but the ones most at risk are the ones refusing to adjust.

Parents here especially father knew something was going to happen. Has the cop on wears disposable gloves(watched video on how to remove them properly) Been wearing a snood cause he couldnt get mask. Today managed to trace p3 masks used for sprayers etc and collecting tomorrow. and he's going to wear his and doesn't give a sh*t what anyone thinks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

So we’re all just going to ignore the fact the flights from Italy were allowed come in, weeks after the dog on the street knew they should be stopped. All our cases were imported....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,073 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Eamon Dunphy self isolating, saying we are hoping for South Korea situation only 81 deaths, any death is bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

The modeling doesn't seem to take any impact from the measures already put in place.

They've used the term flatten the curve and we're doing that but they wont be 30% per day say 3 or 4 weeks down the line if the measures being put in place are effective.

Like I said if its 15k that gives us the highest number of cases per capita in the world

I have been running some fairy basic modelling for the past week. I used data from other countries. My prediction last week was 120 cases by tomorrow based on a 20% per day increase. We have actually being running at close to 31% per day for the past week which gives 10,500 positives by end of month in my model. I suspect reported numbers are not accurate as we are not testing fast enough and they admitted to a testing backlog today. If the scale up testing the positives will increase at a faster rate than 30%, so 15,000 cases by month end looks probable in my books.

What we have done in the past few days has been done in most other countries, and has not stopped the virus. There is more to come as we are seeing in other countries. Leo's speech tonight was the reality check.

I have skin in this game as my partner is frontline HSE worker and I have heard about some of the preparations that are currently being undertaken. They are truly preparing for a war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭threeball

Syncpolice wrote: »
    I'm not fully convinced on Coveny and vardkar

They've earned a lot of statesman brownie points with Brexit and Corona

End of the day they're mostly talking heads with speechwriters and others pulling the strings

So you want to blame them for housing and health but they're only mouthpieces for scriptwriters when it comes to Brexit and this.

Good lad yourself. You've put alot of thought in to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,481 ✭✭✭✭walshb

SF with the half assed praise.

I can’t take Louise seriously at all..sorry..

Straight to the money and take take take...

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

Are you working for free?

90% chance im about to be laid off. But if i could do my job over the phone i wouldn't have the temerity to charge 30 for a phone call.

Your retort was some sort of attempt to put me in my place but im doubling down .

Heroes my bollocks. 30 euro per phone call. They don't get to be heroes and gouge us at our biggest time of need.

Id say their throughput will go the through the roof now. I cant get a same day appointment with my GP but i won't be surprised is he rattles through the phone consultations at an unseen before rate. He won't need to update his collection of golfers digest in the waiting room either.

What a load of bollox. And the taoiseach surrounded by medical people in his circle too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Feck sake if they hold an election tomorrow I'd be tempted to vote for him.

Few weeks ago he was the only person on the ballot I didn't give a preference to.

That was the idea I'd imagine.