Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

It's a pity they weren't closed for good.

edgy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There are all over in the drink aisle killing each other.:D

Dying for a drink?
    Or making it up as you go along?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    The point was made by my grandmother that she's never seen mass stopped in her life time. I couldn't think of a time when they would have closed. Whatever you think about the church good or bad, it's been a consistent part of Irish life through good and bad times. It does kind of wake you up to see them closed.

To be quite honest, during the Polio outbreaks it almost certainly should have been but, Ireland and much of the world was a far more superstitious and devout kind of place and that would have been seen as far more dramatic than it is now.

We're a lot more pragmatic about pretty much all aspects of life now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,019 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

It's a pity they weren't closed for good.

Right okay thanks for missing my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,947 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

PsychoPete wrote: »
    My local will be open, just need to use the back door

I hope every pub doing this loses their license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,655 ✭✭✭secman

Listen. You can still go buy a couple of slabs of booze in the offie and get liquored up at home.

So what's the problem?

Liquored up people tend to make bad decisions ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭paul71

Do people think they bolted people in Wuhan into their apartment blocks for no good reason? For the craic?

What is it about us that makes us think we will be any different?

It’s an abominable arrogance.

It was mentioned here earlier that they have started opening those locked apartments today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭mosii

Stop making silly statements like 40,000 people will die. Just over 3,000 in china have died. There are many variables to consider and you coming out with silly bold statements like that is not helping one bit, you are just as bad as all the fake crap thats doing the round on WhatsApp. Jaysus whats wrong with people.

did you watch the video ,?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

elperello wrote: »
    Dying for a drink?
    Or making it up as you go along?

I don't drink.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

France moving towards herd immunity approach it seems

The French gov has changed approach in the last few days, first by closing schools and yesterday evening by closing bars, restaurants and non essential shops.

However, as per today, not everyone has got the message on social distancing.

Source: https://www.bfmtv.com/sante/coronavirus-des-rues-et-des-parcs-bondes-a-paris-malgre-les-nouvelles-interdictions-1875511.html

ETKkteeXYAE2PiP?format=jpg&name=large

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

You can be guaranteed pubs will be packed tonight as everyone knows it’s their last chance for a few for the foreseeable

Not where i live.
    Hopefully they'll be packed where you are, it'll give you something to give out about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,109 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Most the rural pubs near me will remain open thats for sure

Both pubs in this rural parish closed last night. The one in our neighbouring parish also closed yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

PsychoPete wrote: »
    My local will be open, just need to use the back door

We will see how many of them stay that way when people concerned start reporting and they end up with huge fines.

That is if it is an actual directive to close. I am unclear if they have been asked or told they must close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Another 40 insane. Yet the government is proceeding to bring people home from Spain etc. without any screening? What the hell is going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Listen. You can still go buy a couple of slabs of booze in the offie and get liquored up at home.

So what's the problem?

I don’t have one. House party sorted for Tuesday. Off on Wednesday. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

What stopping people from walking into ticking bomb? If you don't name the town, village or city you don't what is happening there. Revealing, how the 40 people got it, and where will stop further spread in the community.

If you name the town then just like the mass panic you saw for the bog rolls, there'd be a bigger mass exodus out of the infected area spreading the infection elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭kfrp

Prob not true but still, could be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭revelman

Portugal closing its border with Spain from tomorrow until Easter

https://twitter.com/lucasrohan/status/1239260315205939200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Boggles wrote: »
    There was an Italian Doctor on Sky news last night who gave an interview from the center of it.

He was pretty fúcking clear what not to do.
    Well there were a lot of things they did not do themselves and they were playing catch-up. There's a team making calls on this and their approach is to apply measures as they feel they are required. I don't know if we'll end up like Italy or Spain, I don't believe we will but we do seem to be managing the crisis in a measured way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Anyone who's out and about in the pubs is an absolute prick end of story. Frankly the response from European government and certain sections of the public has been awful. You had that clown Harris saying cancelling flights from Italy wouldn't do anything, loads still traveled over even though the Rugby was called off. Boris Johnson is even worse and either doesn't get it or just doesn't care about the vulnerable.

Then you had the morons who felt horse racing was more important and are landing back home without any mandatory quarantine. For anyone who says "It's just a bad flu" really you think China would put tens of millions of people on lockdown and shut down vast sections of the economy if it's only a bad flu. Get real people stay the fcuk home unless absolutely essential to go outside. Ye maybe you won't die if you catch it put maybe the 2 of the 20 people you gave it to in the meantime will.

It sucks believe me the last 6 weeks have been the longest of my life but it's the only option. On the plus side I've noticed things have improved slightly in the last week here in Beijing, still mostly shut down but definitely over the worst of it. This will pass but it will only go on longer and have a worse impact if people still continue to be selfish assholes and not taking it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,241 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

What stopping people from walking into ticking bomb? If you don't name the town, village or city you don't what is happening there. Revealing, how the 40 people got it, and where will stop further spread in the community.

I don't get this obsession with needing to know where the confirmed cases are. Just assume it's everywhere and act accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Turtwig wrote: »
    Tony Holohan said there was nothing wrong with family members walking side by side. As long as they practice good hand hygiene and cough etiquette both inside and outside the home.

They aren't family members. Thye are neighbours from different houses walking together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

Do people think they bolted people in Wuhan into their apartment blocks for no good reason? For the craic?

What is it about us that makes us think we will be any different?

It’s an abominable arrogance.
    There are a lot of people posting here with dogged determination to distance themselves from their "you're being hysterical" posts last week. Many of them weren't convinced of anything having seen those videos. Showing them this week to people I know who have not been taking this seriously, I was met with the same type of attitude.

By way of explanation, I'll adapt the Elbow lyric I posted a few weeks ago;
    "It's easy to ignore until they're welding shut the door of your homes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

thomas 123 wrote: »
    Scenes of Paris, Madrid etc empty, clowns here having a great time down the pub.

Some nation of morons.

“Scaremongering” yeah remember China welded people into apartments to stop this.
    There were scenes of large groups singing outside pubs in France last night, arm in arm etc. Stupid seems to be an international commodity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I’ve decided to give up going to the pub for lent.

To set a good example for the young ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

otnomart wrote: »
    The French gov has changed approach in the last few days, first by closing schools and yesterday evening by closing bars, restaurants and non essential shops.

However, as per today, not everyone has got the message on social distancing.

Source: https://www.bfmtv.com/sante/coronavirus-des-rues-et-des-parcs-bondes-a-paris-malgre-les-nouvelles-interdictions-1875511.html

ETKkteeXYAE2PiP?format=jpg&name=large

Looks like killiney hill and dun laoghaire this afternoon, went for a run thinking it would be a quieter Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

kfrp wrote: »
    Prob not true but still, could be
    It was the army last week, almost identical message too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I don't drink.:)

No dog in this fight so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

VinLieger wrote: »
    I hope every pub doing this loses their license

You would have had some craic during Prohibition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

They really should close big shopping centres like Dundrum.
    Kids off schools will just hang out there in large numbers and spread everything amongst themselves.