Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Exactly, I’ll spend 3 hours tomorrow on packed public transport, but it’s an OUTRAGE that I went for a pint earlier.

You work in the HSE ffs...

Your colleagues are battling to save people's lives, while you go out and potentially add even more patients to their workload. Classy stuff! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

People clogging up public transport and a&e are just as culpable as those in pubs. Don't let that get in your way of your outrage

There are things that can be done.

Working from home should be an option where it can be done.
    Staggering working hours for people who need to take public transport might be an option for some.

Here's a brief overview of some of the stuff that we have done.

1. No international travel from last week.
    2. If you're returning from a country with COVID-19, no work for minimum of 2 weeks.
    3. If you have a cough or any of the symptoms, don't come to work for two weeks and then you need a cert to come back.
    4. If you develop any of the symptoms, fcuk off home for 2 weeks and then you need a cert to come back.
    5. Washing/hygiene/cleaning upped bigtime.
    6. Work from home if you have a job that allows that.
    7. Social distancing, no face to face meetings if possible, use phone, skype etc.
    8. Break time staggered so that only a few people are in the canteen at any one time. People must have an empty chair between themselves and others.
    9. Working times staggered so that everyone doesn't have to be crammed onto public transport at the same time.

Now I know not every industry can do that, but people will have to be flexible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

When I see Simon Harris I see Brian Lenihan 10 years ago. A man not in the whole of his health doing his best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Will restaraunts still sell alcohol? Will bars with restaraunts still open??

FFS people are going to get sick or die people are going to become unemployed and all we here is drink drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Just back from the pub there. Last few pints until this blows over. Great craic and good to see people spirits up despite all the scaremongering. Was an almost Xmas eve feel.

Despicable. Let us know what the craic is when your closest relatives go down with this....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Agreed.

We need to keep our immune systems strong as chances are many of us will get it. A walk or run as long as you practice distancing and hygiene should be fine.

Tony O Holohan was advising people to go for a walk yesterday ffs.

at a guess, just trying to figure the logic...

In order for a curfew/lockdown to work, you need to ask people why they are out.

If people are genuinely out for a quick bit of exercise, grand, but there'll be people who say they are when in fact they're heading off to some gathering, etc. Especially gangs of youths, who will congregate outside at the best of times.

And so it becomes easier to say "No walks outside", and turn a little blind eye if someone is obviously doing a little exercise, than it is to give a bit of leeway and let everyone roam around.

I'd hope if your exercise is an individual thing, you're obviously dressed for it, etc, there won't be as big a push by the authorities to get annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,750 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

25 in the east, 9 in the west and 6 in the south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

People clogging up public transport and a&e are just as culpable as those in pubs. Don't let that get in your way of your outrage

Yeah I find that I need to spend a couple of hours boozing in a pub to even get to work myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,674 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I think 40 new cases

Yet again, whoosh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Shn99 wrote: »
    Not seeing any of the large spikes like we have seen in other countries....Thankfully
    And may it stay that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Border closing on Thursday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Shn99 wrote: »
    Not seeing any of the large spikes like we have seen in other countries....Thankfully

Equivalent of 500 new cases if we had a population the size of Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Simon Harris looks like death on legs..

Always has. A sandwich and vitamin d might help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I was out this evening walking the dog along the coast. It was an absolutely beautiful evening and for a few minutes I forgot all about the events of the week. I had been feeling stressed and nervy all day but was completely recharged by the walk.

Loads of people out walking and cycling too.

Get out and enjoy the nice weather, but observe social distances and avoid big groups. A walk with your loved one (or dog - same thing for some!) is a great tonic.

My thoughts on the 40 - concern but also slight relief. If it remains flat, and our isolation practices work, then we are doing what we're supposed to - flattening the curve.

Well done to FG and also great to see the pubs closing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,034 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

You work in the HSE ffs...

Your colleagues are battling to save people's lives, while you go out and potentially add even more patients to their workload. Classy stuff! :(

Ah here at best hes a binman most likely. Doubt he is let near any patient or animate object.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Where is Vlad? I am not impressed at all with that sock muncher.

This is a Government decision re C19 measures, so Ministers should rotate and give others a bit of a break.

No one cares who says what, it is the message we want.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Pubs close as if the virus knows people are gargling
    Don't say you were not warned:

Beasty wrote: »
    Seriously take your own advice or you will be banned from posting in this thread again

Do not post in this or future threads on this topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭appledrop

Holy F**k sounds like all airports could be shut after Thursday. Simon Conveny has just told anyone that's abroad to get home now even if holiday for to last longer as cant guarantee they will get home after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I think 40 new cases

Was joking so many mentioned it must not really read the thread before posting.

Not too big of a jump but probably thousands at this stage already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,281 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Yet again, whoosh!

I actually think you were the whooshy one here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

He has alot to deal with.
    Though completely at odds with current government, have always felt that Simon Harris genuinely wished to effect real change, but was was up against DOH and HSE intransigence, and lacking wholehearted Cabinet support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

MD1990 wrote: »
    How many new cases? didn't quite catch it

Monorail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

paul71 wrote: »

Whats the harm in laying off it for a few weeks? really?

In these anxious times I’ll probably end up drinking twice my norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭leck

Toffeeboy wrote: »
    Restaurant and cafés can stay open
    Many offering takeout and free delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭appledrop

Border closing on Thursday?

Yep looks like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

Jogging is the perfect solitary exercise you don't need a gym for. There are tracks, trails, beaches and hills for us to explore and enjoy.
    Its disappointing to see people wanting to continue with weekly park runs in large groups, or holding races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Xertz wrote: »
    I honestly think Simon Harris and probably quite a few other Irish ministers for health have been given impossible tasks over the years. In business the role would be called 'a widow maker' as it's basically a job nobody can succeed in. The ones who escaped unharmed tended to either disappear out of the job very quickly, or back some positive public health measure like the Smoking Ban.

I'm not saying the policies have been great or that the reforms have been radical enough to make a big difference, but they've been generally very well intended and I honestly think the comparisons with right wing Tories and all of that is a bit nonsensical. The system is a complex mess and has been for decades and needs radical reform.

All I could say is right now, he's doing a his best. He's communicating facts well and he's taken some pretty seriously tough decisions in the face of what are often very powerful vested interests and we haven't melted down into some kind of chaotic mess, as is apparently happening in some of our peer countries.

If out of this horror, a true public health system somehow emerges at least that will be something we can chalk down to the legacy of this nightmare.

Sometimes a crisis like this can be what changes a system. It's how the NHS emerged after WWII.

On a personal level though, I wish him well and hope we all succeed in this, no matter what nuance of Irish politics we're looking in at this from, we're all on the same page when its comes to this.

Well said.

I’m a floating voter and I am now also in the will vote FG next time camp. Tbf I'd have voted for them last time for the first time ever but for the RIC thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Scenes of Paris, Madrid etc empty, clowns here having a great time down the pub.

Some nation of morons.

“Scaremongering” yeah remember China welded people into apartments to stop this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

It’s not that simple. So do the staff of these pubs. They need money to pay utilities.

Fed up reading moronic posts.

I work in the food chain and I also have elderly folks I am terrified about giving it to them.:(

The pubs are closed stupid fooking selfish morons on top of each other getting pissed will spread this everywhere fast.

I assume you still want to eat?
    People like me will still have to go to work in the event of a full lockdown.