Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Include all them favelas the Brazilians created around the Northside of the city sharing bedrooms filled with bunk beds. Breading ground for coronavirus spreading

The Brazilians didn't create them. They are victims, like the rest of us, of greed at all levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Not everyone clogs the A&E after a night out to be fair. But those that do now should be put waaay down on the list.

Then A&E staff have to deal with aggressive drunks and fights there.

FFS. Why can't people just do the decent thing and stay the **** out of the pubs for a couple of weeks.

Is it really going to kill you lot to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,579 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I know it has been asked, but my partner is a chef, where should he go to for financial support if the business shuts?

He'll have to make some dough some other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,457 ✭✭✭✭walshb

wandererz wrote: »
    Is anyone else watching "Saturday Night Takeaway?
    OH My God!

When was this filmed or is it really live?

Those folk have ZERO care whatsoever!

Possibly recorded?

Stuck in watching ant n Dec...this Covid really is a bitch!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

blade1 wrote: »
    They can have it in 2021 instead.
    What's another year

Why would you cancel it and then bring it back the following year?

Genealogy Forum Mod

“Sure everyone loves de Irish!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

bennyl10 wrote:
    Spain is keeping workplaces open. And advising people to go to work.
    Judy got clarify, I didn't mention workplaces. I meant shops and public spaces. Workplaces are another business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,425 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

walshb wrote: »
    Possibly recorded?

Stuck in watching ant n Dec...this Covid really is a bitch!

It’s live in the studio - there was a news story about it today and how it was still going ahead. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

France got to this point also due to this reckless behaviour

PSG supporters practising social distancing

3500 people gathered dressed as Smurfs to break the Guinness World Record

https://twitter.com/PSG_English/status/1237812836308586497

https://twitter.com/Europeisnotdead/status/1237074221999759360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Hermy wrote: »

It’s a Johnny Logan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Uneasy feeling today, sense something big approaching early next week.

Hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Keep howling at the moon so. that will get things sorted

I have absolutely no illusions about my hot air on teh interwebs (or anyone else's) and whether it has any impact IRL. Nonetheless I'll still call out BS such as yours when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Joke

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

France going into lockdown, was not expecting that.

Monday morning i expect Ireland will follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭tara73

I'm baffled by the italian numbers. From the BNO website as now:
    cases overall: 21.157 deaths: 1.441

do I get something wrong or is this a death rate of 6.8%? even if you multiply the cases with 15, as experts say the number of infected people could be 10-20 times higher than the actual confirmed cases it's still a death rate around 4.5%.
    this is sickening, pardon the pun...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Hope I'm wrong.

You aren't. Next week will be absolutely like nothing any of us have witnessed before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

There's a time to tell idiots where to go and that was the perfect time.

Listen lads. can ye not see the hysteria creeping in to your posts. immediately jumping to personal abuse is an obvious sign. it will solve nothing and will not lend anything to your points, but have at it if that''s what gets you through this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 biker16

i think alot of people in the pubs are not living with diabetics,people with heart problems,people that have recovered from cancer...i dont care about getting the virus myself just obviously dont want to bring it home and RISK killing someone in my family circle...if they are living with people with these underlying conditions them cmon thats reckless...go to the offo and get a few cans of dutch is all im saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Hope I'm wrong.

But what could it be?
    Closing down pubs & clubs for two months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Another thing.... let's say by some miracle pubs are told to close, there might be an even bigger trolley dash to the off licenses (I know supermarkets sell alcohol, but still).

Ration the alcohol purchases per person, just like the toilet rolls, the soap and whatever the feck people are grabbing by the dozen or more.

If they close the off sales along with the pubs there will be riots. I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

tara73 wrote: »

do I get something wrong or is this a death rate of 6.8%? even if you multiply the cases with 15, as experts say the number of infected people could be 10-20 times higher than the actual confirmed cases it's still a death rate around 4.5%.

It just suggests a lack of testing. The real number infected is probably 100k.

I think we should stop reporting on the number of people that have it. Or at least just give a vague figure. We don’t need to know exactly how many have it and we certainly don’t need to know the locations of each case.

It’s just creating more panic and hysteria.

And that webcam in temple bar should be switched off. Too many people stressing themselves looking at it.

The less we know, the better really. People just aren’t handling it well at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Hope I'm wrong.

You constipated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

tara73 wrote: »

Some serious maths. Extrapolation, ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭mrsWhippy

What would lockdown entail?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

paul71 wrote: »
    https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/99104a-covid-19-coronavirus/

Local social welfare office, there are arrangements in place already.

That’s the first thing that was done in this country aren’t they royalty!
    They should have given double bonus like Xmas , for any inconvenience my god this country is letting itself down !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Daz_

Hope I'm wrong.

Such as an asteroid or something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

I have absolutely no illusions about my hot air on teh interwebs (or anyone else's) and whether it has any impact IRL. Nonetheless I'll still call out BS such as yours when I see it.

OK then, Care to explain to me where the 'BS' was in my post?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

laugh wrote: »
    Joke

No - once it's gone it should stay gone!! :D

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Please tell me you're joking?