Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

Absolute carnage in Athlone Lidl today with people parking anywhere they like. Do these people not work is what I'd love to know. I went in to Lidl after work anyways for a nose and the chicken & meats sections were cleared, no cereals, no veg, no water, no breads and you've guessed it no toilet roll or pasta. F*cking a#sholes the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭buried

What has betting got to do with the spread of Coronavirus? Asking for a friend

Wait till next week and the week after the punters come back, you and your friend will know all about it then

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

[PHP][/PHP]
    buried wrote: »
    I don't want a levy to go back to the horses and the dogs, I want a excise duty placed on every single bet, just like its placed on every single drink, every single pack of fags. To help pay for wider society. Lets see that come in to force like it used to be.
    A fixed rate levy will only encourage the gambling of larger amounts to offset the levy. There are loads of gamblers that gamble one or two euro at a time so under your proposal that €2 punt will now cost them €4 but they'd still only get a return on €2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Ah, the apologist for the dog abusing industry is in to deflect. I would not piss on you if you were on fire.

Nor would I. Not least because using bodily fluids would be an inadequate method of extinguishing a burning person. It'd be highly disrespectful too. I mean, it's bad enough that they might die from their injuries, but I wouldn't want someone's last seconds on this earth to be spent watching me standing over them with the old chap in my hand, spraying them with the warmed-up contents of my bladder.

I think it makes much more sense to smother the flames with a wet towel, or roll the victim on the ground, and then dial 999, keeping them as comfortable as possible until the emergency services arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,386 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Keeps the country afloat??? lol Keeps Paddy Power and Willy Chancerballs afloat more like

Judging by yours and others posts, this thread is slowly turning into a gambling/horse racing bashing thread because you simply don't like the sport.

Horse Racing contributes to Irish tourism, plenty jobs, massive factor in areas outside of Dublin economy wise and a sport where Ireland are massively successful whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Big blowback these days against gambling (not that I agree with that). Horse racing is something that exists purely for gambling, there’s no other reason for its existence unlike most other sports.

Oh yeah, I getcha! Like all the other horse sports! Oh wait...
    What has betting got to do with the spread of Coronavirus? Asking for a friend

People like to get their digs in. Start a thread about anything at all, and someone will be along to twist it to get their shot in at whatever the current hot topic is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Started preparing mid-January when Wuhan was getting bad. We always have about two months of supplies but did three big shops between then and a week ago. We had stocked up on all essentials by then and haven't left the house since, except once to run a few errands on Monday. Wore disposable gloves, sprayed all clothes and everything that had been in contact with the outside (cash from the bank, lots of bottles of alcohol) with bleach and antiseptic and wiped down with disinfectant wipes, including clothes and shoes. Left everything in the hall to ensure any virus was dead before bringing it inside.

Might be over-cautious, don't really care. We have three immunocompromised here so taking no chances. Seven days since we've been anywhere and we're doing grand. I love staying home and gardening, playing music, reading, writing, talking to friends and family online. I've done a good bit of work from home but nothing too strenuous. Mostly I'm just planting and harvesting veg, prepping meals for the freezers, baking, relaxing, writing songs and stuff like that.

Never used to watch the news or listen to the radio but we're regular viewers at the moment, we yell at it like it's a sporting event as the facts being given by officials are in opposition to what's in peer-reviewed journals or reported facts by journalists. Quite surprised the apocalypse started like this and not optimistic for humanity, but I think with a support network, anyone can be optimistic and enjoy life.

Predictions for this time 2021 - probably a dystopian bureaucratic dictatorship, I'm starting a rebellion front in advance of this development if anyone wants to drop me a pm.

Fancy a feed of gargle in the pub later? We can head to a lap dancing joint/casino after, maybe even catch a cheap flight and get the last day of Cheltenham. You seem like a fella that could do with a bit of loosening up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You will find some of these morons selling stuff to others.....

Army should have been sent out to the shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I work in a venue which is now closed to the public for the next few weeks. Off to the dole with me tomorrow.

Judging by yours and others posts, this thread is slowly turning into a gambling/horse racing bashing thread because you simply don't like the sport.

Horse Racing contributes to Irish tourism, plenty jobs, massive factor in areas outside of Dublin economy wise and a sport where Ireland are massively successful whether you like it or not.

I don't give a monkeys f**k about horse racing man, what I do give a f**k about is bookmakers making multi millions a week, multi millions taken out of this country every week by foreign shops like Ladbrokes, not only by horse racing but by a whole myriad of gambling activities, these are recreational activities that cause severe damage to sections of our society, same way that booze and cigarettes do, those things have excise duty placed on them, so why not gambling bets?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

I don't want the people who bought all the toilet paper to get the coronavirus ... but a little diarrhoea would be nice. :)
    It would be a shame not to use all that paper.

[PHP][/PHP]
    A fixed rate levy will only encourage the gambling of larger amounts to offset the levy. There are loads of gamblers that gamble one or two euro at a time so under your proposal that €2 punt will now cost them €4 but they'd still only get a return on €2.

Maybe it might keep them out of the f**king kips so they never have to keep searching for a "return" that never arrives anyways?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The scenes of mass retardation in my local supermarket today were truly terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Woman wearing a mask outside Aldi. People parking arseways (normal enough, tbf!).

Inside, not a loaf of bread, egg or bag of pasta to be seen. A few unloved packs of toilet paper.

Not the bedlam I expected, but I suspect most of the potty proles who had to panic buy did it earlier in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭recyclebin

With so many people in the shops today, it could spread the virus even more. I couldn't believe the amount of people in Aldi this morning at 10:30am. Car park was full and all the tills were open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,946 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You will find some of these morons selling stuff to others.....

Army should have been sent out to the shops

They don't need to go out to the shops they have a canteen :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

A few unloved packs of toilet paper.

WHERE?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,324 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Been digging out me vinyl record collection and having a great time of it.

If I have to self isolate I'll be doing the same. Plus I just inherited a large collection that I'm currently going through. I'll be happy out.

those things have excise duty placed on them, so why not gambling bets?
    There is tax on betting. The government get a cut of the action.
    Suppose they put a 100% tax/excise duty on bets.
    The average outcome at present is punters lose about 20% - to the bookmakers and the government. Recreational punters accept this.
    Increase the take massively and punters will stop betting, especially bigger punters.
    If I average 5% profit on betting (average is a 20% loss) then any increase of 5% or more and I will stop.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,324 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

28 Days Later.
    Shaun of the Dead.
    The Road.

For starters.

Outbreak
    12 Monkeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭enricoh

Hospitality industry is gonna be in for a rough ride. It's a tough game to be in at the best of times. Government really gave it a kick in the nuts last year putting vat back up with brexit still not sorted
    I'd start doing deliveries on justeat and the likes of I had a cafe or restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,374 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Lundstram wrote: »
    Self isolate if you're so worried.

You keep on saying this line over and over.

The staff in the HSE can't self isolated because they'd have to look after any clown who contracted it because they didn't want to lose their 70 euro Ryanair flight.

But sure look . Me me me me me me

Wha......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,398 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Time for the old joke about the Englishman, the Scotsman and the Irishman.

They were to be locked away for 10 years and could ask for whatever they wanted.
    The English asked for best Port wine and the finest foods.
    The Scotsman asked to be locked away with 10 red haired women and a suppy of finest Scotch whisky and porridge.
    The Irishman asked for a 10 year supply of Major cigarettes.

After 10 years they found that the English had died of heart disease and the Scotsman had 30 red haired children. When the opened the door to the Irishman's room, he was surrounded by boxes of fags, his first words were "have any of ye got a match"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’ll admit that I’m over here in Cheltenham. I wasn’t going to go, but made the decision on Tuesday that I would as I’d everything booked. It’s normally the highlight of my year, even if the atmosphere is slightly more subdued at this running of the festival.

I’d say both countries are riddled with the corona at this stage so it wouldn’t have made a blind bit of difference calling it off.

There is tax on betting. The government get a cut of the action.
    Suppose they put a 100% tax/excise duty on bets.
    The average outcome at present is punters lose about 20% - to the bookmakers and the government. Recreational punters accept this.
    Increase the take massively and punters will stop betting, especially bigger punters.
    If I average 5% profit on betting (average is a 20% loss) then any increase of 5% or more and I will stop.

Good. There is a serious problem with it in this country. Same way there was a problem with smoking and drinking. It effects the working and lower class in this country in a major, major f**king way, I see it every day of the week. Be no harm if the addicts stop betting, put it out of ther price range so that can spend the money on important things, like their families.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Was in the shops just before it was all announced - was freaky to see the slow but steady stream of people coming and there was a strange eerie silence , but panic. Car park was kind of chaotic with unusual parking.

My own wife has a low enough immune system - so she can't be exposed to this.

One comment I would make , is how much Irish people have changed. 20 years ago , there would be talking, joking no mater what. It is the curse of the mobile phone, you see it on a bus , the gym. People have lost the basic skills of interaction, manners - there is an extraordinary element of self isolation anyway these days. Never mind imposed.

To be honest , you would be more worried about people in general as opposed to Covid. The changes in society are being exhibited now in the mass selfishness. I have 6 slice pans - that is all that matters. Most of the stuff will be wasted. It sort of highlights why the planet is fecked anyway - we are not supposed to waste anything,.

There is very little sense of community - was reading online that apparently a female in SCD was heard saying could we fill up the freezer in the holiday home as well as the two at home.

I'll watch Long Way Round, Charley Boorman and Ewen McGregor.

listermint wrote: »
    You keep on saying this line over and over.

The staff in the HSE can't self isolated because they'd have to look after any clown who contracted it because they didn't want to lose their 70 euro Ryanair flight.

But sure look . Me me me me me me

Wha......

That’s still the big problem in all this. It’s all me me me me me, even aside from Cheltenham. Fools travelling for the sake of it because they can’t get money back, bigger fools emptying shops because other twats are. Maybe a mass cull and restart wouldn’t be the worst thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I’ll admit that I’m over here in Cheltenham. I wasn’t going to go, but made the decision on Tuesday that I would as I’d everything booked. It’s normally the highlight of my year, even if the atmosphere is slightly more subdued at this running of the festival.

I’d say both countries are riddled with the corona at this stage so it wouldn’t have made a blind bit of difference calling it off.

In fairness Johnny that was a selfish decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,374 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Getting tens of thousands of people on top of each other then packed into hundreds of planes wouldn't have made a blind bit of difference.

It feels strongly like you've no idea how this thing is spread. Do ya.