Home of the Year RTE 1 - 8.30pm Tuesdays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Found the final episode to be a total borefest.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Uuurgh, I hated the winner. A castle, like! :rolleyes:

well I was glad the church didn't win because the catholic iconography alone was creepy and the smug owners won rte's supergarden also, he was looking for a double title to pad out the CV!

fooking wayne manor, sure who can compete with daddy deep pockets, yer wan planning her house in PHASES!! Phases no less, the children's hospital had less of a budget than that gaff, it;s not a home, it's a monument to style and opulence.. the word museum comes to mind. that stepford wife never washed a dish in her life, she fell over and landed on yer man..:D

I agree, the railway house from a year or so ago was smashing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I KNEW it would be that one! I hated it. Don't like that smarmy new guy either. Bring back Patrick Bradley.

Missed tonight’s final. Have not liked recent episodes with Peter-Paddy was a dote...his own Grand Designs remains one of my favourite GD episodes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,191 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

It's a shame they went away from good design and the basics of what makes a great home, and reverted back to "most money spent"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Home Castle of the Year :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Posy wrote: »
    Home Castle of the Year :pac:

"Chateau of the year"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭recipio

What's with the blue green paint everywhere.? Kitchen fitters are charging 20K to fit kitchens that are nothing more than painted MDF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I'm not that surprised that house, sorry castle, won in the end. Now IMO I thought it was very well done, well decorated inside. I'd love to have a proper nose around it. But it wasn't really a "home" in a way, not like a standard Irish home anyway. I've stayed in hotels smaller in size than it!

I'd like for the next series (if there is one) for more homes selected to be "normal" houses, eg a 3-bed semi with a great job done inside, use of garden etc. It would show people the potential you could have with your own home, that you don't need a mansion, a period home or a white and glass box to be on the show. Also they don't really seem to include apartments.

Couldn't agree more, Sunny Dayz. Also, that's a good point about apartments- I can't even remember seeing one on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,792 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Anyone know when this is returning, think I saw an ad for it but missed the time/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,875 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Anyone know when this is returning, think I saw an ad for it but missed the time/day

Tuesday 8.30.

Anyone watching?!

First house was beautiful tonight! The view!!

Couldn’t not cope with the decor in the last house. Each to their own of course but not for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

The first house was gorgeous! Those views!

I'm surprised the second house got planning permission, that looked like it was in a 1950/1970 housing estate... Totally not in keeping with the neighbours :) wouldn't really have been my style, but still nice.

The third house was also nice, but I wonder at the thought process for a new build... I know what we need, a turret!! :D the wallpaper was bonkers. The kitchen, jesus so many grooves, your heart would be broken trying to keep it clean. It was a nice house though. The dressing room was a girls dream (well a high proportion of girls :))

I thought the first house in Cavan deserved to win. They showed some restraint and have a liking for campaign furniture which I share.The second house was Art
    Deco inspired so you either love it or hate it. The last house in Tyrone has an ostentation which we seem to see in NI houses - lots of money thrown at it turning it into a dolls house of sorts. I'd prefer if they all toned down the interiors a bit.

I thought the right house won- gorgeous, extended, amazing views, but not too 'up itself' like the third house.
    I'm surprised the second house got planning permission, that looked like it was in a 1950/1970 housing estate... Totally not in keeping with the neighbours
    That was my thinking!! I'd love to see it on google streetview, I'd say it's an eyesore!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Loved the first house, so tasteful. The view was maximised throughout and that terrace at the back was to die for. I was also surprised that the second house got planning permission, I liked it but not as much as the first.

The third.. oh god. I *hated* it so much, every single thing about it. There wasn’t one thing about it that I liked. I wondered whether they’re hard up for candidates that it was included at all or perhaps they knew it wouldn’t be liked but hoped it’d get people talking.

I liked the first house but thought that the original character / old house was no longer evident......but that may not be a bad thing.

The second house had elements that I liked and it had nice art work

The only thing I liked about the third house was that the turret room with the couch looked like it probably had a nice feeling when in it.

I think the right house was chosen to go through to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,191 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The first one tonight, was more a "room of the year" rather than "home of the year"

I liked the first house, I really liked the mezzanine. However, that ladder, seriously how do you get up there with a cuppa and pack of biccies?

The second house was very straight lines, alot of corners, the furniture was rigid. Definitely needed a curve or big cushiony couch.

The third house, jeepers, definitely wouldn't be for me, the attic was nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,678 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I loved the house that won tonight.
    It is so very different to most homes.
    One of my favourite in all the series.

I hate when the judges moan about little things, like the need for a soft rug under the table.
    How long would a soft rug last with a 2 year old toddler?
    Practical and sensible decisions before style surely.

It was good to see a 'normal' house tonight- not a turret in sight!

My thought exactly regarding the rug. All you'd be doing is hoovering crumbs/rice krispies etc out of it. The chairs won't make noise if you don't slam them onto the ground. :rolleyes:

The third house stressed me out, oh no! I can't believe Hugh gave it a 10- whaat??

He gets very snippy with the other fella Peter when they have differing opinions. Like, taste is subjective, no need to take it so personally when another judge doesn't like mad colours and clutter as much as you do!

Aubergine kitchens, plum bedrooms, avocado hallways. When did the madness start ? :D The barn conversion was nice but not so sure about the brick shower.
    Peter is the only judge pleading for some restraint and I agree.

I liked the first house last night, it was nice to see an old barn converted to residential and I thought it suited the occupier. I do think the living area could have made a bit more inviting maybe with soft lighting.
    Second house wasn’t bad at all, a great renovation done. It felt to me a bit cavernous If that makes sense - there seemed to be a lot of space between the table and the kitchen. But I’d say that would be where the child plays. The issue with noise and chairs can be reduced with felt pads on the bottom of the chair legs.
    The last house the couple were very proud of it and you could tell they’ve enjoyed getting their house to where it is. There were elements I liked, but I found it too busy and cluttered personally. They got the attic spot on with the feature wall. They have great features downstairs also but I feel they havent really given them a chance.

The lighthouse house in Cork omg talk about perfection. Absolutely gorgeous, I wouldn't move from that swing chair.

Second house was an interior design magazine, no personality to it. Don't get me wrong it was gorgeous, but felt like a hotel penthouse.

Third house, didn't really like the bedroom window, it felt like you were in the middle of the road outside, if it was a Seaview or forest view it would have worked better. I can't remember much else about house 3.

Definitely right house won, can see that winning overall.

The lighthouse was gorgeous - a good restoration. The other two were a bit 'blingy' for me - all mirrors and chrome. Definitely inspiration derived from glossy interior magazines.

I think I can echo other posters about last night's episode - loved the Lighthouse - it was very well done, surprising amount of room in it and a place I'd love to visit or rent as an Air BnB.
    The second house - it was like a cut and paste from a glossy interiors magazine - it had none of the home owners personality, not so much as a personal photo frame, a book, a child's toy, nothing.
    The last house I did like, it had more personality, colour and texture to it than the second one.

+1 for the lighthouse cottage. Loved it. Then, I really love lighthouses, so that was always going to help.
    Nice to see a cottage, and not a house with balconies/turrets/a moat winning an episode. :pac:

Thought the other homes were great too, but the second was a little ostentatious for my liking. And, like Sunny Dayz said, no personality. Like a showhouse- beautifully decorated, but with no character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,678 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Final on now, result about to be announced...