Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part IV - 19 cases in ROI, 7 in NI (as of 7 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

antodeco wrote: »
    Why did the HSE need to wait to tell GPs (let alone anybody) to self isolate for 14 days when returning from an infected area. This should have been the first thing that was said. That's the only way you could have actually contained this. They are morons.

No they are 'asking' medical professionals who have travelled from infected regions to undergo voluntary self isolation for 14 days. WTF???

First of all any medical professional heading of to any infected region against current travel advice - would be negligent in the first instance and grossly incompetent in the second - where they return to treat patients either in a medical practice, hospital or other healthcare facility

Morons doesnt start to describe the inherent stupidity of this tbh ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,107 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Can they not get a microphone to these reporters? Worse than the WHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

How long do you wash your hands for in order to make an incoming flight from italy turn around on its heels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

It's not containment phase any more when there's a case and the history can't be tracked to travel or a contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,444 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Chong wrote: »
    I do believe though his hands are tied here and he is being hung out here to dry as a scapegoat.

Harris is hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Tomato1

fwiw they STILL wont tell ambulance staff and emergency dept nurses where the cases are either.

You'd think it'd be a relevant and very important bit of info for us to know? Nah. The HSE are more concerned we'll tell people outside the HSE so they're keeping us in the dark also.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Exactly.
    That is one of the most dangerous posts on this thread.

Zero evidence and just scaremongering for the absolute sake of it

Wow, you're the crazy ott ones really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I see the mass panic has set in.
    In the country? It's been present since the very few posts on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Your username will become even more apt over the next few months...

Its not Ebola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

fritzelly wrote: »
    Community transmissions is not community transmission because we know where it came from

Jaysus these guys are incredulous
    He is was stumbling over his words and contradicting himself , so it’s not a community transmissions because that know who they got it off ... but it is a community transmission in a way.
    Some gob****e this lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Like in court cases in involving minors you dont have to name the person but you can give details.

We all end up knowing sooner or later

They are living in fear of being sued really, it is shocking they are putting peoples lives over money / court cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

The whole modus operandi is so Irish... whatever you say say nothing. Play it down..

It's stage Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Naggdefy wrote: »
    From RTE website.

20:26
    BREAKING: Seven new cases of coronavirus have been confirmed in Ireland today, bringing the total number of cases here to 13.

A further three cases have been confirmed in Northern Ireland.

That's only 13 tested. There's way more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,707 ✭✭✭irishgeo

What did people expect the HSE to do? Some of the talk here is just **** talk.

People raging about flights from Italy. All these people were irish. We can't leave our citizens to be looked after by other countries. Good to see the amount cured increasing. The snowflakes generation we have here is fuelling the panic. Only 0.00027% of the population are infected.

13 confirmed. Bound to be multiplies of that infected. Reckon we'll hit 1000 cases by March 31st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-merseyside-51762074

Child at Alder Hey tests positive.

Very grim news given that particular facility.

It's becoming very clear that the UK is riddled with it. Was just in London and tremendous numbers of people coughing and sneezing all over the place, trying to convince themselves it's 'just a cold'. The vast majority of people who have it probably will never know. They'll keep taking the tube to work and infecting everyone around them and only vulnerable and elderly people will pay the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Harris is hiding.
    Not his job this time. These are the lads running the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Has the virus spread to Africa?

few cases in algeria (17) and egypt, morocco senegal tunisia

one in Nigeria, one south africa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

'We are naming cuh because we want to try and trace the cases' , Also HSE just now 'We wont give a timeframe of how long he has been sick and when he left hospital' ffs they need to cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Italian related travel, from what I've read. Would be odd otherwise for such a small country dependent on tourism from all over.

I was thinking of moving their. Will have to be the Faroe Islands or Aran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

circadian wrote: »
    A mask of relevant standard has been proven to provide some protection against viruses. Obviously good hygiene is also needed for this, there's no point in throwing a mask on and saying that's me sorted.

I would wonder what proven ability to stop anything other than dust the masks on sale have.

And yes the bolded bit why masks could be more of a threat than a help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

No darcc, just that some posts are based in an understanding of epidemiology and virology. Come back in a year and compare my numbers to the numbers then.

Understanding or qualification?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Whatever about panic now, when the casualties start coming in is when it will really go into overdrive.

owlbethere wrote: »
    It's not containment phase any more when there's a case and the history can't be tracked to travel or a contact.

Let's be honest, it never really ever was

Seamai wrote: »
    Neither would I, my elderly mother attends a warfarin clinic every couple of weeks, I've just told her to stay well clear of it.

IWhat's your mother been treated for? Probably something like atrial fibrillation. Do a chad2Vasc score on her. This tell percentage risk of having a cardiovascular event.if your mom does not turn up to the warfarin clinic, she will not get any warfarin. Warfarin is quite a dangerous medication if not closely monitored.

Your mom is at way more risk of dying or been permanently disabled from a massive stroke rather than dying of COVID-19. This is an example of the panic that I feared would happen on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

The HSE come across so badly. Acting cagey, being dismissive, you would swear they were trying to do a cover up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,786 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Just being done. Terrible, dismissive response given, indicative of their inadequate testing capacity.

I missed it, what was asked and what answer was given?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Tomato1

Aye this is why the WHO are screaming 'you can't give up on containment' because you need to slow this down to give enough time to do just that: get the sh!t we realised we need.

We definitely can't give up on containment. Most of the hospitals around my region have set aside 1-2 isolation rooms.

probably under 50 beds in the country if I'd hazard a guess.

Unfortunately this pandemic is also having a massive knock on effect on other medical procedures and emergencies. The side-effects alone are going to have massive health implications.
    and we were already struggling with waiting lists and lack of resources. This is just the cherry on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭Speak Now

tillyfilly wrote: »
    Boards.ie will crash in 5, 4, 3, 2,1 ....

It will from you posting that over and over :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Tootsie_1

4 males in the east is that teenagers back from a ski trip do we think ?