Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

China. A (not) great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

For info, it wasn't started because someone ate a bat.
    The new COVID-19 is caused by the virus SARS-CoV-2. The most likely ecological reservoirs for SARS-CoV-2 are bats, but it is believed that the virus jumped the species barrier to humans from another intermediate animal host. This intermediate animal host could be a domestic food animal, a wild animal, or a domesticated wild animal which has not yet been identified.
    https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200221-sitrep-32-covid-19.pdf?sfvrsn=4802d089_2

• Registered Users Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭Cordell

Eating the meat was not the cause, you're right here. Handling all kind of animals for the purpose of eating them (or any other purpose, but probably eating) is likely the cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Cordell wrote: »
    Eating the meat was not the cause, you're right here. Handling all kind of animals for the purpose of eating them (or any other purpose, but probably eating) is likely the cause.

And possibly for the use in their bull sh1t medical cures. The pangolin is a good candidate for the source and it is trafficked for its scales.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ipso wrote: »
    And possibly for the use in their bull sh1t medical cures. The pangolin is a good candidate for the source and it is trafficked for its scales.

We take the pistachios our of their witch doctor medicine however loads of spud pickers still believe in various cures and seventh son nonsense.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    We take the pistachios our of their witch doctor medicine however loads of spud pickers still believe in various cures and seventh son nonsense.

Back in the day I went to see an auld fella to cure my sprained ankle, he had d'cure (someone else had one for nosebleeds). Don't hear too much about it now.
    To be fair to the auld fellas, they didn't bring Tigers to the brink of extinction so someone with a case of MMTS (more money than sence) could eat their langer in soup.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Back in the day I went to see an auld fella to cure my sprained ankle, he had d'cure (someone else had one for nosebleeds). Don't hear too much about it now.
    To be fair to the auld fellas, they didn't bring Tigers to the brink of extinction so someone with a case of MMTS (more money than sence) could eat their langer in soup.

For shame, I got the cure for a back issue :o

Edit - it didn't involve langers!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Man i thought that there was something off about that sausage soup that I had the other day.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,720 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Their practices have costs a lot of lives, and many countries millions upon millions of dollars. They are liable and should be forking out compensation.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

All dictatorships are terrible in this regard. It's why Iran is struggling too.

It's interesting.

I know a lot of people from mainland china now living here. And from Hongkong. Generally speaking people from the mainland living here and from Hongkong here and still in hong kong think that most Mainlanders are living in a bubble and fully signed up faithfully to the chinese leadership.

What is interesting is that the coronavirus has shown that's not true. Actually chinese people when speaking frankly on youtube seem to know their govt lies to them.....they know that the Drs who were at first arrested for 'SPREADING RUMOURS' (A serious charge in china) were being honest and the govt wasn't.

The corona virus has not only damaged the chinese govt. But its shown other chinese people who are suspicious of the govt that they are not alone.

There was always this facade in China put about that all Chinese people fully trusted their govt etc. I think that's put about by the govt themselves.

Cordell wrote: »

This.

We also need to be careful that it doesn't turn into bigotry.

People have different eating habits the world over. Its like chinese people hate to have people walk in shoes in their house its dirty. Etc We have to be sensitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Titclamp

BanditLuke wrote: »
    The Covid19 event has and will continue to have a massive effect on our world for months/years to come. If one positive comes out of it it's that it has shone the spotlight on China and some of the disgusting practices that nation is partaking in and will continue to partake in unless they are called out on it by the international community and we stand together to stop it.

Yeah the guy in the following clip has an agenda against China but a lot of what he say's is true in particular there pillaging of africa and it's resources for their own good. Iv'e found the media to be missing in action in regards calling out Xi Jinping for what's happening in his country whilst at the same time spending ludicrous amounts of time focusing on the American president (himself no angel).

This post isn't meant as an attack on the people of China but rather it's leadership and the direction it is taking as regards the destruction of the planet. We need to do better at addressing the issue for the good of us all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msrqE87yTRs

Most of your stuff in your gaff is made in China.

You're a facilitator just like is all.

Their practices have costs a lot of lives, and many countries millions upon millions of dollars. They are liable and should be forking out compensation.
    That's silly.

Titclamp wrote: »

Honestly though .....boycotting them right now would destroy their economy. I think it would hurt the wrong people.

Honestly OP Asian people are facing a lot of racism right now. You could maybe change the title.

This.

We also need to be careful that it doesn't turn into bigotry.

People have different eating habits the world over. Its like chinese people hate to have people walk in shoes in their house its dirty. Etc We have to be sensitive.

Not if there are massive health implications for people inside and outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

many serious diseases have their origin in the consumption of animals which are off limits

HIV originated from west african tribes eating bush meat , the same chimps that had eaten other monkeys

Honestly though .....boycotting them right now would destroy their economy. I think it would hurt the wrong people.

Boycotting wouldn't happen in the numbers needed to destroy their economy, or really hurt their economy. The truth is that, for the most part, people are selfish bastards. They might go online and rant about injustice but they'll still buy whatever they want/need without considering where it comes from.

Anyway, it would be easy enough for companies to sell and rebrand their products... while it would be produced in China, many purchasers would think it was made elsewhere. That already happens as it is.
    Not if there are massive health implications for people inside and outside.

The double standards are easy to point out though. You'll complain about China because of it's links to the Virus, and the environmental concerns raised online... but you won't do the same for a dozen other countries who do similar, although on a smaller scale.

Wet markets are a fairly common sight across Asia, and Africa. It's not something exclusive to China.. and such markets have been known for decades to be a breeding ground for disease.

https://www.brandsouthafrica.com/investments-immigration/africa-gateway/informal-traders-28115

"“Our work across eight countries found that we are right to be concerned about food safety in informal markets – from milk in Mali, to fish in Ghana, to chicken in Mozambique, to beef in Kenya – particularly for spreading gastrointestinal diseases that are a leading cause of sickness and death in developing countries,” said Delia Grace, the programme leader for food safety and zoonoses at ILRI.

“But it also shows that we are wrong to think that we can just adopt solutions developed in wealthy countries that favour large commercial operations over small producers. That will just exacerbate hunger and further limit money-earning options for the poor.”

In most developing countries, more than 80% of livestock product purchases occur at informal markets and in places where there is no formal alternative such as a western-style supermarket close at hand. And the studies find that this is unlikely to change for decades to come.

Importantly, the studies in east and southern Africa have found that where supermarkets are an option, because of a poorly patrolled chain of custody between producer and seller, milk and meat sold in supermarkets may pose a greater health threat than what is sold in traditional markets."

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Not so much in my case TBH. MacBook and Iphone would be about it, So American and Chinese. Other than that I can't offhand think of anything else made in China. Or America for that matter*. I try to buy as local as I can, Ireland and then Europe. To be fair I'd not be much of a gadget buyer so there's that and any household/car tools and items I try to source within the EU. I'm quite prepared to pay some premium to do so.

*the only made in America item I own is an old fly fishing reel. Nowadays I think they're made in China too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    many serious diseases have their origin in the consumption of animals which are off limits

HIV originated from west african tribes eating bush meat , the same chimps that had eaten other monkeys

And many serious diseases have their origins in the consumption of "normal" animals. It's not necessarily the risk of eating an exotic or weird food sources. It's also to do with the butchering of the meat, along with lack of hygiene, and the storing of blood/internal organs near the cut up meat.

You should take a look at some vids of wet markets to see the lack of hygiene, and how most parts of the animal including it's blood is to be used.. and for it to be used, it's stored somewhere... usually in ways, which are a breeding ground for disease.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

The better China does, the worse Europe does overall.

China will not willingly lose power and influence. So, fair play to the corona lads, if people don't have the stomach to kick China in the bullocks, then nature will. I hope it up-ends the robbing bastids :p

• Registered Users Posts: 18,485 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The Covid19 event has and will continue to have a massive effect on our world for months/years to come. If one positive comes out of it it's that it has shone the spotlight on China and some of the disgusting practices that nation is partaking in and will continue to partake in unless they are called out on it by the international community and we stand together to stop it.

Yeah the guy in the following clip has an agenda against China but a lot of what he say's is true in particular there pillaging of africa and it's resources for their own good. Iv'e found the media to be missing in action in regards calling out Xi Jinping for what's happening in his country whilst at the same time spending ludicrous amounts of time focusing on the American president (himself no angel).

This post isn't meant as an attack on the people of China but rather it's leadership and the direction it is taking as regards the destruction of the planet. We need to do better at addressing the issue for the good of us all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msrqE87yTRs

Eating animals isn’t a disgusting practice, they just eat a different range than we do, that’s just a cultural difference, many people find it disturbing that they eat snails, frogs and horse in France, but again that’s just cultural difference.

There will be no change while it’s an oppressive communist party in control, and there is no breaking their tight grip on the country.

Yes Covid19 is bad, but 100 people have died this season in Ireland from coronavirus and nobody is outraged, that’s a typical death toll here from coronavirus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

100%. I'm willing to change though and I'm going to.

And many serious diseases have their origins in the consumption of "normal" animals. It's not necessarily the risk of eating an exotic or weird food sources. It's also to do with the butchering of the meat, along with lack of hygiene, and the storing of blood/internal organs near the cut up meat.

You should take a look at some vids of wet markets to see the lack of hygiene, and how most parts of the animal including it's blood is to be used.. and for it to be used, it's stored somewhere... usually in ways, which are a breeding ground for disease.

True it makes no sense to eat carnivores though. Most vit D in plants we can't absorb whereas cows can get it from sun cured forage. You then eat the cow or drink the milk and get the vit d.

Things accumulate both bad and good. Shrimp absorb mercury as they eat ..fish absorb mercury as they eat shrimp. Thus a lot of boney fish contain mercury just as cows contain Vit D.

Carnivores are species that usually have a greater impact on the environment if you eat them. Eat too many tuna the shrimp population might explode ..eat wolves the deer population explodes etc etc. Then the deer eat all the trees etc..birds can't nest etc.

Carnivores in general AVOID eating carnivores. Even if its dead and presented to them.

Its called trophic level. A lion can get nutrition from a herbivore that the lion can't get from a fellow lion. The lion can use the herbivores diet in a way.

Its rare for carnivores to kill or eat other carnivores its usually an act of dominance.

And it does allow them to be exposed to pathogens that are dangerous.

Some carnivores that DO eat other carnivores are leopard seals secretary birds etc.

Its MORE dangerous for humans to do this though ....as most carnivores can eat meat raw ...as their stomachs can kill all the basteria and a lot of pathogens.

Even if you cook meat that is bad for a human or has parasites or pathogens it can be dangerous. Its why we need to monitor our food chain a lot more.

Plus developing countries have diseases, that’s just life.

When we were at the same development stage as general Chinese population we were riddled with TB for example from damp small squalid living conditions and poor hygiene. Every single family had dead kids from mumps, measles, scarlet fever and god knows what.

People going onto YouTube or boards hurling abuse at conditions and practices in third world countries need to get a life, seriously. These people need help and support not abuse and scorn.

_Brian wrote: »
    Plus developing countries have diseases, that’s just life.

When we were at the same development stage as general Chinese population we were riddled with TB for example from damp small squalid living conditions and poor hygiene. Every single family had dead kids from mumps, measles, scarlet fever and god knows what.

People going onto YouTube or boards hurling abuse at conditions and practices in third world countries need to get a life, seriously. These people need help and support not abuse and scorn.

And now a geansai load of other countries have the disease too.

If this virus takes hold and becomes an annual killer, is that acceptable?

What about Chinas next disease gift to the world? And the next? And the one after that?

Whatever shape or form it takes, that area is going to get a hard slap soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

100%. I'm willing to change though and I'm going to.

Op what was your previous username?

I think you post a lot of borderline fascist sentiment. You seem to be in the middle of everything. I don't think you really care about China, the Chinese or what they eat? Yesterday the HSE were your enemy, and it is worth adding anyone who dared disagree with you.

Get out much?

As regards your vitriolic and frenzied interpretation of the Covid virus indicates, I think you typify the type of poster who consumes themselves quite willingly in the chaos, it is all about the row really isn't it? You need something to say " I am right and you are wrong" about. Nothing like an unknown newborn potentially lethal virus, it really is an excellent opportunity for you to post something tainted about a foreign culture or a countries' health authority?

beejee wrote: »
    And now a geansai load of other countries have the disease too.

If this virus takes hold and becomes an annual killer, is that acceptable?

What about Chinas next disease gift to the world? And the next? And the one after that?

Whatever shape or form it takes, that area is going to get a hard slap soon.

Diseases have been around for a long time, it’s part of life.
    Europeans killed millions of native Americans when they conquered America.

There have been other flu pandemics, there will be more.

_Brian wrote: »
    Diseases have been around for a long time, it’s part of life.
    Europeans killed millions of native Americans when they conquered America.

There have been other flu pandemics, there will be more.

Yeah but how many countries have been the source of global epidemics?

And, you know, within the last 200 bleeding years?

Funny how these acceptable epidemics have a very common denominator, don't you think? What are the odds...

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭sameoldname

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Get out much?

The OP has been registered on this site for 23 days and has over a thousand posts. That's 1.84 posts an hour assuming they don't sleep or 2.76 posts an hour assuming they sleep for 8 hours a day. Adding time on for actually having to read what they are replying to, I can hazard a guess as to the answer of your question.

Don't judge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Don't judge.

Rich words all things considered?